Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Sandwich Leisure Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Sandwich > Sandwich Leisure Park Reviews

Sandwich Leisure Park
Woodnesborough Rd
Sandwich
Kent   (Browse area)
CT13 0AA
Tel: 01304 612681
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 187
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 127 Reviews
                8/10 from 127 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  127 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bulldogx2 2 reviews from this member

This site came recommended and the first time we had used it.

The toilet blocks are always well cleaned and checked including the showers (although low pressure and you have to keep pressing the button to make the water come out). It is within walking distance of Sandwich which is a lovely little town and we used it most days to buy milk and bread and ice creams as these basic essentials are not sold on site.

There is a very good playing area for under 12's but no field or large area for playing football, cricket, frisbee etc, this was definitely a downside for our family.

The 'one way' system only seems to apply to customers as more than once the staff flaunted these rules which are made very clear to customers on arrival. The 10mph limit should really be lowered to 5mph and ideally right of way given to pedestrians not cars as there are always people walking about to and fro and children riding bikes (as children would).

This site would suit you if you were only staying briefly visiting nearby towns etc, as we felt it was quite cramped and not a place that you would set up camp and stay for the whole week without having to leave.

Unfortunately, at our time of visit, there was building works being undertaken (not sure that at the height of season why it had to be done), from 8am if not before, you can hear the jcbs, etc start work.

Also, we felt a bit overlooked by the nearby houses, in our camping experience we have only had fields surrounding us, so this is something to be mindful of and the fact that a railway line runs along side too!

Lots of places to visit which we felt we had to, to escape the site FowleMead Park near Sholden, (about 5 minutes away) you pay 1.00 to park all day and there is a fantastic play area for all kids ages, a bmx track area, lots of long and short walks and bike trails, you could spend the day there, so take a pack up.

Deal nearby and Broadstairs which is definitely worth a visit.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Suephiltommysam 1 review from this member

2 families of 2 adults 2 children. 10/9/7/7yrs

Made reservation by email. Correspondence was very friendly.

Check in was quick and easy, although the lady appeared to be having a bad day and was not the friendliest.

We were travelling with friends and had booked 2 pitches, which were located one behind the other.

Warden patrol very frequent.

No nice views, but flat grassy pitch.

Toilets were never too busy. Very clean. Showers didn't have much pressure, but lovely and hot.

Great location for town. Less than 10 minutes walk. Good choice of restaurants / pubs.

Only 10 minutes drive to Deal, which has a great leisure pool for the kids with slides and wave machine. Beach is pebbles.

Deal castle is well worth a visit also.

Plenty of local attractions for the kids.

The only down side was that the kids love cycling around on camping holidays, and this site was not really child friendly for that. They are very strict about kids cycling the correct way around the one way system, and they were told only to cycle in the 'top' field, even though the kids play area (which had cycle stands) was in another part of the camp. The kids area by the way was great for younger kids. Max age is 12yrs but most enjoyed by younger ones. (8yrs ish)

The camp has a bouncy castle for kids.But costs 1 for 10 minutes. So was empty most of the time. There is a fast food stand open at weekends. Quite handy if you don't want to cook. 2.00 for a bacon butty.

Site is quite noisy. It is right on a train line (not too many trains though) and you can hear the road noise most of the night. Being near the coast you get the seagulls from early morning. Oh and the church bells ring every hour, 24hrs a day. (if the wind is in the right direction you don't hear these)

We would return to this site, but it wouldn't be our first choice.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Huzzlebugs 5 reviews from this member

Just spent three nights here in our tent and we were very disappointed.

We were charged extra for a utility tent which we use to put our cooking equipment in which bumped up the price quite a bit, surely if you book a pitch you should be able to put whatever you want on it!

The toilets and showers were nice and clean although on one day the male toilets were completely shut at about 10am for cleaning!

The site is very close to a train track and although the trains didn't bother us too much they decided to do some rail maintenance at 4am on a Sunday morning, making a load of noise! Although this wasn't the camp sites fault it's something to bare in mind!

Sandwich is like a little village, lots of one-way and no-through roads so don't trust your sat nav too much unless its really up-to-date.

The pitches were ok but seem to be on top of each other, and everything has to be 3 metres away for everything else!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Leisa71 1 review from this member

We love it here, this campsite is near to my step children, and only being one and a half hours away, it is great for our weekends. Having only bought our caravan less than a month ago, we have been here twice already!

I am mostly impressed with the cleanliness of the shower and toilet block, I saw them being cleaned at least twice in one day. The Owners are very friendly and accommodating.

The children love it here too, being able to ride there bikes is great fun for them and peaceful for us at the end of the day with them being so exhausted! I will continue to stay here again and again.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sarahk 20 reviews from this member

We have just returned having stayed on this site for a week. The weather has been great which has really helped. The site is lovely, spacious and very well cared for. It was handy having all services to the caravan too. They are certainly spending a lot on the site with improvements and although there is quite a bit of work going on it doesn't really cause any inconvenience.

There are quite a number of static vans on the site as you enter and all seem to be hemmed in but again very tidy. You drive through the statics and onto a very large camping field. There are a number of seasonal pitches and luckily bar a couple most didn't have pots of flowers outside (a real grumble of mine) most were occupied at weekends too and none looked neglected at all.

I felt that the pitch price should have probably been a little lower during week days as the facilities were reduced to the family area only. I felt it a bit awkward at the busy times, also perhaps music in this area would have been nice! The facilities were immaculately clean at all times including when the site was busy.

There are lots of cycle routes so well worth taking your bikes. The ride to Deal is only 5 miles and on a really quiet (flat) road. We used our bikes most of the week and they were handy for reaching the beach 2 1/2 miles away.

You can take your car down the the beach but as it is on a private estate you will have to pay a toll (I think about 6) but take everything you need for the day and you will be fine. There are loo's down there (clean) and the beach doesn't get too packed either.

Dover Castle and the cliffs well worth a visit and not very far away. Allow plenty of time to do both visits we took it over 2 days rather than cram it all in.

Definitely an area worth visiting and this campsite within walking distance made it all the better.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Atkinsx2 9 reviews from this member

If you're taking someone camping for the first time try here, as if they don't like this, they will never 'get' camping. Mind you, you might also set their expectations very high!

3 things that I loved about this site:

1. The pitches, which are large and allocated. We opted for a superpitch just because I get touchy about people pitching virtually on top of you elsewhere, but there was not chance of this here. The pitch was very large and flat and had EHU, water etc - we would have been just as happy in a normal pitch, these were also extremely generous.

2. Fantastic shower block, which was never even remotely busy. The showers are good and the cubicles are big. Top marks also to the washing up area, which is spacious and undercover.

3. It's a short & pleasant walk to Sandwich, which has restaurants and bars as well as lots of sightseeing to do.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cuppa T 2 reviews from this member

The toilets and showers are nice and clean. The site is situated a short walk from Sandwich. Which is good as you probably won't want to hang around on this site.

Arrived at reception where it was kicking off with disgruntled punters who had arrived to find out that they had been double booked. We were given our pitch, which we drive to to find out that it was. Double booked. Back to reception. Given another pitch. It was double booked! In the end we were given a caravan pitch.

We saw a picnic table and was told by a member of staff that no one was using it. Only to be told later by an understandably upset camper who's pitch it WAS on that the table was very much in use.

Every time I went to reception, there always seemed to be at least one person complaining. I can't see that there was much customer care going on either.

On top of that, against other reviews, I didn't find the camp spacious. Kind of looked like a refugee camp to me.

There are drainage ditches around the site. I may be wrong, but I didn't see any warning signs.

There's building work going on. I can't understand why they're doing this in the summer.

I was accused of burning the grass with a BBQ. I didn't use the BBQ on the grass. Tried to explain this, but it was like talking to a brick wall. The conversation was so soul destroying that I just walked away.

Can't say I'll be going back, which is a shame as I really like what Sandwich has to offer.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kpmkane 8 reviews from this member

We have used this site 7 or 8 times in the past 8 years. Last year we were disappointed to find some construction work being carried out, but we booked again this year for a weekend with 4 other families. Knowing the site well, we reserved particular pitches well in advance.

On arrival, we were told that a marquee had been erected on or next to our desired pitches for an Elvis night and that we had been moved to another part of the site. When we complained that it might have been idea to let us know in advance of our arrival, we were told that if we didn't like it, they would give us our money back and we could go home, totally ruining the long planned weekend for 5 families.

Too late to cancel, we decided to stay and accepted the alternative location nearer to the railway line. I'm sorry to say that the couldn't care less attitude of the staff has made us reconsider whether or not we will ever use this site again. Added to this, there was still construction work being carried out.

What used to be a marvellous site with flat pitches and good quality toilet/shower facilities has been ruined by the ongoing construction work and the lack of courtesy of the staff.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Compromise 15 reviews from this member

We had decided that we'd get away from all the hype over the World Cup, so called SLP on the morning of Friday 12th June to be told there was plenty of availability, arrived at about 2.30pm to be met by the ever cheerful Shirley.

Good weekend was had, there was a French weekend on in the town with a market and Tour De Sandwich, and fun stalls for the kids. (none with us though).

Highly recommend the Red Cow pub, very friendly with a beer garden with a bouncy castle, big screen TV screens outside too.

We noticed the facilities have changed slightly, the large vaulted ceilings in the wash rooms have gone, to be replaced by a closed ceiling, with poor lighting it has to be said. (It would appear that the loft space is now being used for something else)? We also thought the showers were not as powerful as they had been!

Even with the changes, I don't think it will put us off returning.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hiophiop 8 reviews from this member

Fisrt time camping with the kids and it was a real stroke of luck picking this site as a first try at camping.

The weather was superb and the camp site overall was A1.

We had a great pitch with electric and the well lined bushes gave good privacy.

The kids loved the play area and safe surroundings and made friends within 10 minutes of our arrival, which left poor old Dad on his own to erect the tent etc.

The staff were really helpful the toilet/shower facilities were spotless and the washing up areas were a welcome bonus. The site is very well looked after and the campers that were there on our weekend very friendly.

Sandwich town is very picturesque and unspoiled - not your usual UK town by any means and there are no high street chains that make most other towns all look similar. Sandwich benefits from this and we enjoyed walking around the narrow streets and exploring.

As mentioned in previous posts here the large and well-equipped Co-Op is just 5 mins away.

The only gripe I have about this site was the Wi-Fi which is advertised on their website, but unavailable during our visit. I was hoping to be able to see the England Vs USA match on my laptop by the tent, but had to settle for a few pints in the Red Cow public house (just near the Co-Op) whilst the kids played on the bouncy castle in their beer garden - not a bad back-up plan.

The kids are already asking when we are going back - so I expect to be visiting again very soon as we have been squarely bitten by the camping bug.

Previous     127 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Where is the nearest shop to Sandwich Leisure Park?   There is a shop within 1 mile    View all facilities

Is Sandwich Leisure Park dog friendly?   YES    View all facilities


Other Sites Near Sandwich      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 18/02 to 23/02
Birmngham - Caravans, motorhomes, tents, folding caravans and 1000s of accessories all under one roof! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3923 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020