Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sykeside Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Sykeside Camping Park
Brotherswater
Patterdale (lake District)
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0NZ
Tel: 01768 482239
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 111
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 132 Reviews
                8/10 from 132 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 10 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  132 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: January 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Tomster 1 review from this member

We visited this site in the snowy wintertime and it was lovely. Surrounded by mountains, at the foot of the Kirkstone pass, it is probably one of the most scenic campsites in the area.

Bit of a strange layout on the site with the hardstands around the outside of a grassed area (not sure if this is used for tents in the summer).

The hardstands were level, with electricity provided. The pitches were quite close together with only a couple designated for awnings.

Even though it was freezing while we were there, there were still quite a few tents on site, from the hardy survivalists.

The Brotherswater Inn is a great pub, with lovely food and drink at reasonable prices. This was full of the hardy survivalists but even though it was full, we had a very short wait for our food and the service and staff were great. These are the same staff that handle the campsite.

Will we be going back? You bet!

Date of Visit: December 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: SlowTravels 5 reviews from this member

Well laid out site for a motorhome, level hardstanding with power close to hand, water was further away.

Showers and toilets are clean/tidy but closed between 12 and 2 for cleaning, might not be an issue of some but in winter it limited you as to when you could shower. The lights in the block are on a timer so if you end up having the place to yourself to shower be warned, you'll end up having to grab a towel mid shower to walk to the entrance to get the lights on again! Not fun.

The pub is friendly but the food could be better, it appears to be all bought in and warmed to order (the only cooking seems to be things such as steaks etc).

The walk to brotherswater is excellent both on the east and west side, patterdale is local and there are plenty of other walks so an ideal location.

Arriving at the site from the south in a campervan is not an issue but the climb through kirkstone pass going south is harder on the unit so either be prepared for a 1st gear slow climb or head north to the M6.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 493 reviews from this member

Location:

Stunning location in between Patterdale Village and the Kirkstone Pass. Dozens of walks start from this site, from easy valley strolls to serious mountain treks. The site is surrounded by several hills, yet easily accessible from Penrith via the A592.

Facilities:

Good toilet and shower facilities - hot powerful showers, cleaned regularly. Loads of space for tents and several pitches for motorhomes with electric. Two pubs on site - The Brotherswater Inn served amazing pub food and you get a warm welcome. The Barn End bar is more down to earth, but a fab little boozer with good beer, grub and coal fires. Good quiz on Saturday nights. There's also a good shop on site selling all the essentials and some fresh produce - all reasonably priced too.

Prices:

17. 50 per night for motorhome with two people and electricity. Price goes up in the high season. Great value for facilities and location.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MichaelBolton 1 review from this member

Camped here for one night on a short walking trip. The site is in beautiful surroundings although sadly we saw precious little of it as it rained and was covered in low cloud for most of our brief stay.

Staff were friendly enough and advised us of the best pitches on what was a fairly waterlogged site and warned us of the rampaging badgers - we didn't fall prey. There's a pub and a separate bar on / at the entrance to the site - we tried the pub for both breakfast and evening meal. Food was fairly standard pub fare but was fine - evening meal was slightly on the expensive side (11 for fish & chips) but you expect to pay a little extra in such a remote location. They also had some decent ales on tap - particularly enjoyed the Tirril. The breakfast was great and particularly useful for an impromptu post-work one-night visit as it meant we needed to pack only the bare minimum of equipment and supplies, and sitting in a warm pub having a cooked breakfast brought to your table certainly beat huddling over a camping stove cooking soggy bacon in the torrential rain.

If I have one gripe, it's that the per person + per tent pricing policy can make it quite expensive - 7 per tent + 5 per person. We were a party of 3 people with two very small tents. This meant that we were were effectively charged 13 / night for one person in a tent barely larger than a bivvy bag which I'd say is at the extortionate end of pricey. Other campsites manage to come up with pricing structures that don't throw in such anomalies so I'm sure Sykeside could do the same if they put their mind to it.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Davetvhuk 3 reviews from this member

This is a brilliant site in the heart of the Lakes.

We stay on the CL when we visit, but friends have camped or brought their Motor home.

The staff are friend and very helpful. The food is great at the Brotherswater inn, or the low Barn Bar. Ideal spot for walking and some walk routes available at the site show, which is well stocked with groceries and camping equipment.

Care is needed if you are staying on the CL when drive to the pitch take it as wide as possible, the corner of the barn roof sticks out a long way.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Simonpage 2 reviews from this member

Arrived Monday the 15th aug, was a bit wet while we where pitching up but soon cleared up.

Staff very friendly and helpful and the pubs on site are lovely especially the brothers waters inn. Very reasonable food and drink and very handy being on site.

Showers and laundry facilities are fantastic but be advised that the best time to shower is from 6am-to 7am latest, as then everyone uses them, so the water ends up being a lot cooler as it is coming from the fells and needs time to heat up again.

On site shop is very very cheap in some items cheaper than supermarkets!

The campsite is lovely and very scenic and we climbed the scandale fell to the left of the site, amazing views but tiring! Weather was good all week apart from 2days but we are in the lakes so this is to be expected.

Do take a decent tent because the weather conditions can make your stay awful if you get wet and cold, we have a good strong tent and was very comfortable.

The campsite could do with a childrens play area that would be my only fault, but apart from this I have absolutely no complaints and would highly recommend anyone to go here.

Please make sure you have food because the nearest supermarket (morrisons) is in penrith so would be better for you if you went prepared and stocked up.

Also do be aware and check your tent as this site does have some little visitors during the night (badgers) so don't be fooled and leave food in your tent ass they will and I mean they will pay you a visit, you must lock your food in your car at night time, great to see pure nature at work.

Once again great site for all familys, one more thing don't forget to book ass on Friday afternoon the site was empty by saturday morning it was full. Have a lovely time like wee did

Only given 5 out 10 child friendly due to not being a play equipment for the kids, but great for kids of an older age.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Graeme c 1 review from this member

1st time camping here and we were very impressed.

Lovely site, great facilities, the toilet block / showers very good clean and hot water, on site bar, shop, laundertte, freezer, cash back facilities, stunning views.

The barn end pub does great food too and is reasonably priced pint Cumberland ale 2. 80

The barn end pub on the main road is the same as its part of the complex too

All in all a great camp site.

Its not to over crowded either which is fantastic,

We really did enjoy our stay here and will definitely going back

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Beagle11 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 5 night stay at Sykeside. Had a fab time, the weather was really good, very warm.

The site is a fab spot very picturesque, amazing views. Ate in both the Brotherswater Inn and the Barn End bar, the menus are very similar, the barn a little cheaper, very nice food.

The staff were very knowledgeable and friendly and helpful. The showers were aways warm, a little busy but went in July so isnt everywhere ??! at that time of year.

We had a few groups turn up on our last night, far too noisy at night but full marks to the warden for this handling of them, nothing can be said against the site for this.

The only thing I will say is as somebody else has said is the closeness of other tents when it got busy, we have crossed guy ropes with our neighbours on the last night and they were very close and of course they had to be the ones that caused the bother and noise.

Would definitely recommend the site, great location, great food and friendly staff.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jayukchelsea 3 reviews from this member

Arrived 14/07/11 lovely sunny day and missed the poster re 'high ground' pitching -anyway, despite constant rain for 3/4 days - still had lovely views of the hills when sun was out -

Great to have the nearby pub for food and drink with the weather so bad - good food and beer! First day had a lovely walk down to Brothers Water, but rain too bad for more 'novice' walks.

Third day a 'family' group of three tents pitched far too near - I thought everyone should pitch at least 5-6 meters away - so the bad weather was a bonus to avoid that group who thankfully left after the weekend.

Good location though to visit nearby towns. Showers were good - no problem with hot water - shop had good value bits - wished I'd realised the gas was cheaper than all mainstream shops!

Would visit again, but ensure pitched up on side areas near walls or up up on the left when enter.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Buddygirl 5 reviews from this member

Stayed on this site for 2 nights. Nice and clean and had very hot powerful shower.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Food good, pub very nice. The barn inn was only open at weekends

We walked from the site to Glenriding which took us 2 hours but worth it ( not much in Patterdale)

I looked up quite a few places we could go by bus - but didn't notice that the bus only runs Saturdays and Sundays so had to take Motorhome to Ambleside.

Were warned about the Badgers at night

Site can be peaceful and away from it all, or you can go up to the pub at night and sit outside talking to people.

Previous     132 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2766 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019