Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Greenhills Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Greenhills Holiday Park Reviews

Greenhills Holiday Park
Crow Hill Lane
Ashford In The Water
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PX
Tel: 01629 813467
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: February To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 260 Reviews
                8/10 from 260 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  260 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bungle Bear72 10 reviews from this member

Great site which never stops improving.

My last visit was nearly 3 years ago and again they have improved, the dog walk area being the best I have come across, no roads to cross to get to it, an enclosed meadow field with lovely mazey paths cut thru it so ideal if you take a short walk or a long walk.

Shower blocks spotless and 2 blocks for both genders.

Great little bar with seating available outside also.

Well maintained grass pitches even after the awful weather we have had this year. I stayed on field with EHU and had no difficulty getting of although a tractor was on standby should assistance have been required.

Staff all friendly and helpful.

Plenty to do in surrounding area be it for thrill seekers at Alton Towers, those who like walking or just the historians amongst us with Chatsworth House being 10 minutes away. Not forgetting the ladies who like shopping with Meadowhall being half an hour and a beautiful drive away in Sheffield, Manchester is only a 40 minute drive also.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bobfromswad 9 reviews from this member

We have been to this site 4 or 5 times over the past couple of years and we love it. Does tend to get very busy so booking early is advisable. The electric field is on a slight slope at the top but quite a bit flatter at the bottom. There are 3 more non electric fields as well and fields for caravans and motorhomes.

There is also a large football field and play areas for the kids. The bar is good, stocked with local ales and the toilet blocks are always clean.

The showers are always warm if a bit cramped. There is also a shop but this doesn't seem to open very often. It is about a 20 minute walk down the hill into Bakewell which is a lovely place with the river running through it.

The Bakewell puddings are to die for.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nitnot 5 reviews from this member

This campsite is in a really good location just outside Bakewell which is about a 15 minute walk away, uphill on the way back. The pitches are slightly sloped but the views are amazing. There is a small shop and bar on site, which was a little pricy and the facilities are good. Bakewell is a busy little town with plenty of pretty shops and pubs and a small market area and riverside area too - well worth a visit although it does get very busy.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ah1975 8 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 2 night weekend break. Booked 2 tent pitches, campsite is in a lovely location with outstanding views out over the hills. We stayed in the Ashford area which was a mix of tents, caravans and motor homes, slight slope on some areas but this was not a problem in the slightest, facilities of a very high standard, members of our parties visited the showers at various times of the day and didn't have to queue at all, 2 different blocks, main next the the bar and reception then a porta Kabin block round the back, both with lovely hot showers and plenty of toilets. Big separate field for ball games and a great playground for kids, felt very safe for the children. There was a problem when we came back to the tent on the Saturday when the electric was off but the staff were on it and fixed the problem in minutes. You have to be off site at 12 but as it was such a lovely day we asked if we could stay, nobody was booked onto our pitches so for a further 5 we could stay until 6pm, was great meant a lovely chilled pack up with some time for sitting in the sun! Would not hesitate to recommend and shall be revisiting again soon!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Skydax 4 reviews from this member

Stayed here over may day weekend with friends. What a lovely site. From the moment we arrived everyone was so friendly & helpful.

We were on pitch 4 right next to the toilets which was handy! The pitch was a bit cramped for our large 8m x 5m tent & we had a water tap in front & footpath behind so it wasn't the most private pitch!

However we had a great time. The kids pay area is great & the pub really nice, serving local beers at reasonable prices.

The toilets/ showers were always kept clean although there were only 3 showers in the main block which could cause a problem at busy times

The walk to Bakewell takes about 20 mins but is well worth it when you get there.

We really enjoyed our long weekend here & will definitely be returning later on in the year.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kie68 36 reviews from this member

Just returned from May Bank Holiday weekend at Greenhills. This is our second visit to the site. We loved our first visit and our second one was even better.

It is a great site for kids, you can let them play without to much worry. There is a nice friendly pub, prices are reasonable (3 a pint) couple of nice local brews Bakewell Best Bitter and Chatsworth Gold.

The site was very busy but it is a very peaceful site and relaxing, the views are amazing. Bakewell is a lovely town and only a mile away.

We went to the Village of Eyam, which is about 8. 5 miles away. This is worth a visit as there is a lot of history about the village and the Plague. Even nearly 350 years later you can't help but feel for the people who died.

The worst thing for us is getting to the site. We have to travel through Stockport and on a Friday in rush hour wasn't good.

Well worth it once we got there. It is on our favourites list and we will return

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sue livo 3 reviews from this member

Nice site plenty of toilets & shower facilities. Very clean and kept tidy at all tines even in bad weather. The site is a bit hilly in some places so be careful when you book. Quite site never had any trouble with noise and the pub was a nice place to visit, there was a singer on Saturday which was good. When we were there they did the Hog Roast which was superb for the price. Park for the kids and a small shop stocking what ever you needed and if they didn't have they would try and get it next time. Nice touch was the reading room full of things to do and books. The hosts meet you and show you your plot and make sure you are happy with it. All staff very friendly and will be going back in the future.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Madgexox 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here at Easter time, just after the large snowfall. We were allocated a pitch with plenty of space for our 3 man tent. The surrounding views were stunning, especially just after the snowfall.

There are two large shower and toilet blocs for each gender. The water was nice and warm but the actual shower cubicles were a bit cramped. There is also a small shop that stocks all your basic provisions and camping supplies.

There is also a nice little bar that sells a decent selection of ales, lagers, wines and spirits.

The site is situated a small walk (20mins) from the market town of Bakewell, which is full of cute little cafes, shops and of course bakeries that sell Bakewell Tart. The town gets very busy and parking can be a problem so walk in if you can.

There are lot of fantastic walks nearby, the view up at nearby Monsal Head is to die for and the newly opened trail offers a great circular walk around Ashford in the Water, Great Longstone and Little Longstone. The Bulls Head in Ashford in the Water does great home comfort food.

I will be returning to this site again soon.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: BabsF 35 reviews from this member

Lovely site. Tidy and well set out, although a little bit cramped together. There is not enough privacy between pitches. The toilets/showers are very clean but also a bit cramped. The washing up area is outside which is fine in nice weather but not so good when cold or windy. There is no shortage of hot water.

There is a distinct lack of fresh water taps on site. We had to wander about a bit to find one. The waste disposal area is just a couple of big (very big) skips which are very open and unsightly. I would imagine they could smell a lot in the hot weather.

The dog walking facilities are very good.

The walking in this area is great. There are typed up sheets available for free from reception for local walks, (very helpful). You can walk very easily into Ashford in the Water or Bakewell. Both are lovely areas.

The shop on site was not open during our stay. There is also a bar on site but this was also closed. (Midweek)

The information room is tucked away behind the toilet block and although this was our second visit to this site, this was the first time I'd been aware of this facility. I heard about it from a fellow camper.

My biggest gripe about this site is the fact that dogs are charged for at 2. 00 each per night. We have two dogs and therefore paid 4. 00 per night more than our neighbours. Our neighbours on the first night were a couple of young lads in a mini-bus. They arrived on the next pitch, removed some of the seats, inflated two airbeds, lit a bbq, and drank beer, cider, wine etc outside for most of the evening. Their language was disgusting. They kept running the van engine for periods of time to use the lights inside the van as they had no electrics. They made very loud calls on their mobile phones. We were very surprised that they had been allowed on site in a minibus (not a motorhome). We did mention this to reception the next morning and they were very apologetic.

Dogs are not allowed in the on site bar but generally dogs should not be left in your unit, therefore dog owners (who have paid more in site fees than other people) cannot use the bar. If you take children under four they go for free and can use the toilets, showers, etc. Personally I think that dogs cause less work and trouble than children on a site. We always pick up after our dogs and they generally don't bother anyone else. We do not dislike children (we have some of our own - now grown up). Children use all the facilities, dogs don't. Why are kids free and dogs 2. 00?

I really like this site but think that because of the charges for dogs it may get too expensive for us to return.

This really is an absolutely lovely site which we would love to return to again and again. Please drop the charges for dogs and we will definitely return. 15 per night is really good value for money, 19 per night (inc. Dogs) is OTT.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Adyrep 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a lovely weekend at this site. Booked last minute and was very helpful. Was packed and hook up ready to go so arrived in an hour after booking. Very fast and easy check in. We liked want we saw as we pulled in the drive. Has its own pub and shop. Warden pointed out where everything was and took us to our pitch. Firstly noted was the amazing views over rolling countryside.

Now after setting up there was a problem with the power. I thought it was just my unit so checked box, but it was our neighbours too. Then it appeared that it was the whole section. Once told of the fact the Wardens started work on sorting the problem. It turned out to be a large problem so they set about reconnecting units to supply posts nearby where they could, but they started rewiring things to get every unit back online. We managed to get power after 10 mins or so. However they worked relentlessly to get everyone back online in the darkness and within an hour or so had everyone back with power. I was impressed with the work they put into this as I was near the main supply box I could see just how hard they worked and ran around to get this sorted. (Beleive me when I say ran around I actually mean ran around too)

The facilities are really clean and upto date. You must try the pub also its really cosy and its nice to be able to have a proper drink. Nice converted barn so its got a nice feeling too.

Close to Bakewell, Buxton Matlock & Chatsworth all within 1/2 hours drive max. Although no pets or kids with us. It looked like there was plenty of walks for dogs and what looked like good play area. Seemed like the kids liked the site and cycling and playing seemed to be aloud despite this there seemed to be plenty of peace and quite we never had any issues or had any noise so seems like the site is able to cater for all guests

Will be back.

Previous     260 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4675 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019