Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Southwold Camping And Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold > Southwold Camping And Caravan Site Reviews

Southwold Camping And Caravan Site
Ferry Road
Southwold
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP18 6ND
Tel: 01502 722486
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 100
Open: Ist Marchto 30th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 72 Reviews
                7/10 from 72 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paulthecamper 1 review from this member

 This site is perfectly situated for Southwold, a 15 minute seaside walk to the pier. However, anyone considering booking should consider the following. Firstly, the charging system. The site charge is £10:30 per night. Then £2.30 per adult (£14:90), £1:30 per child (£17:50) then £3.60 for a pup tent (that you mustn't use for sleeping) (£21:10) and £3:60 for a canopy or awning (24:70 per night). We omitted the pup tent and the awning, which brought the cost down, but were then told by a regular to put them up after 5pm when the staff went home!

Secondly, the pitches are rectangular with a number plate in the south west corner. You must pitch in the opposite corner. Hence the grass in this corner is worn and lumpy. You get told off if you pitch elsewhere!

Finally, you must like rabbits . There are loads of them.

If you go to Southwold, visit the tourist information centre and pick up a 'Days out in Suffolk' brochure. In it are 4 vouchers for a free pint with a meal at an Adnams pub. Worth it at the prices they charge! 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: The Nelsons 2 reviews from this member

 Have visited this site twice, once in May this year and September last year. Although I understand that this site gets very booked this wasn't the case for us and we were able to book a couple of days in advance. There was plenty of room in the field although the indiviual pitches are not that big. If you were to stay here in high season I think the site would have a very different feel and could be a bit cramped. Facilities are basic with no electrical hook up and toilet and showers in need of an update. That said the location makes up for this with fantastic views, just over the road from the beach and within walking distance of everything that Southwold has to offer. Southwold is beautiful with lovely shops, restaurants and cafes. The pier is great and well worth a visit. The beaches are clean. Staff were very friendly on both visits. Will go back again for weekend visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pete Sharman 1 review from this member

 Our visit to this great site was to celebrate our friends 50th. The location is superb with many walks around the area. The beaches at Southwold are family friendly however the sea is cold. With good views of the sea front a must is the interesting walk along the pier.
Although there are no shops on the camp site it is only a sort work along the front to a good mix of shops and places to eat, plus a milk man calls each morning around 9.30am with lot of bits and bobs.
Our group are from different parts of the country and it was good to meet up and celebrate the 50th with a few pints of Adnams, the local beer. We loved it so much that we intend to make it an annual event. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dodgybint 1 review from this member

 This was the first time my husband and I have visited this site together, we both used to visit regularly as kids so it was a bit of a nostalgia trip.

The site itself is lovely, just across the road from the beach and has gorgeous views of Southwold across the fields. The pitches are a decent size and the staff were really friendly, but the showers and toilet blocks are looking a bit tired; (the ladies were really clean with plenty of soap and paper, although apparently the same can't be said for the gents!) and could do with a few more showers and maybe the odd heater here and there to justify the 15 quid a night fee!

We were going to go to the Harbour Inn for dinner on Friday, but arrived too late so went to Casa Mia - just up the road from the campsite. It's not a pub as such, more of a wine bar (they have bottled beers including bitters), but they do fabulous pizzas and pasta dishes and serve food until 11pm - a major bonus as virtually everywhere seems to stop serving at 9!

If we can get a pitch over the summer without having to book it 2 months in advance I'm sure we'll go back, but the site's so popular now I'm not convinced that'll happen! 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Toady503 16 reviews from this member

 Been to Southwold again this weekend (easter) the weather was not good but still enjoyed our stay as always. The camping field was impossible to get on to due to the amount of water laying about everybody was getting stuck we got pulled of by a nice gent in a 4 wheel drive it was impossible to get to our pith we had a word with the staff in the office which were very helpful and we asked if we could stay on a hard standing area in the main static site which they agreed to. The residents from the static caravans complained about this but the staff were very good and let us stay 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Toady503 16 reviews from this member

 Visited Southwold again> lovely village lots of lovely walks and great pubs, the Nelson is our favourite.
Camp site needs a bit of updating in the showers / toilets but lovely place to stay. Right by the sea and very friendly staff. We are going again this weekend. 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Horanzu 1 review from this member

 For the past 8 years, I have been visiting this wonderful campsite, from about the age of 5. Me and a varying amount of kids spend 3 nights in Southwold, supervised by a varying amount of adults. Speaking from a child/teenagers point of view, this is a holiday in heaven.
First, the campsite. Plots are a decent size, and you can't have open fires (naturally). The facilities are okay, from a female perspective. Only 2 showers, but that's fine, so long as you plan to have a shower about an hour earlier than you need one. There should be a gap in the queue. A decent space to put clothes, towel etc. And a curtain.
The toilets are fine, never really a queue that I've experienced. One tip, said by many before me is to bring a pair of cheap plastic flip flops, as the floor gets quite muddy during the course of the day. Plenty of toilet roll in the cubicles.
Sinks enough to satisfy washing in the morning, soap and dryers are usually fine.
You only have to wait a  few minutes for a washing up sink, but bring your own equipment. Hot and cold water, and sinks a good depth. Taps nearby are perfect for cold water bombs!
The toilets don't stink, and there aren't many pitches near them, some walls surrounded by trees, and not noisy in the night.
For the kids, there is a maze sort of thing, a bit boggy sometimes, but great fun for hiding games (cops and robbers, hide and seek, 40/40 etc.). There are several openings onto the road, so parents with young children be careful.
The campsite is very near a nice little shop, with lots of sweets, ice creams, water bombs, snappy snaps and other beachy holiday items. Good prices.
Somewhere nearby you can buy bait for crabbing.
 
There are so many activities around Southwold and Walberswick - you can get to Walberswick by the ferry, practically next to the campsite, or you can walk about a mile up to the bridge, and back down the other side of the river again. Crabbing has always been the best thing about Southwold, except that, sometime in 2005/2006, an iron railing was set up to stop people falling in. Safety has to be taken into account, but it still was the best place for crabbing, so you have to go down onto the rocks which is an adventure in itself.
 
Altogether,it has little foibles but that's all part of going on holiday and camping, right? I strongly recommend this campsite, although it is a good idea to book in advance if you plan on going in the summer holidays. We have started booking in around May/April, but this might be a bit OTT. I don't know. 9/10 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bren92 5 reviews from this member

 We have been visiting Southwold and this site for over 30 years at various times of the year. Admittedly out of season is better due to it being less crowded but we have had some wonderful times there. Looking forward to this years trip with hopefully all the family 


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Johnrsherry1st 1 review from this member

 Beautiful site with great views of Southwold. You have to like rabbits (on a late night trip to the loos you will see them everywhere!) Short walk to the Harbour, lovely fresh fish straight from the sea, and a friendly welcome at the Harbour Inn (Adnams, like everywhere else in the area - still, its great beer, and they do brew it in the town!)

Downsides - gets crowded at weekends, and I'd avoid it during school holidays. Not really enough toilets, showers etc for the numbers when its full (they are cleaned daily, but soon get dirty again. I recommend plastic flip-flops). Rather rigid and idiosyncratic booking system - on arrival we were greeted by a "site full" board, only to be told they could find a space, after which we spent 5 days in a nearly empty field! All pitches are marked by numbered paving slabs, and a neighbour had to move from one pitch to another after a few days as his first plot had been booked to someone else.

Despite this, we'll definitely be going back. Everyone, on the site and out, is so friendly, and the scenery is to die for! 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Huntersp 2 reviews from this member

 Great location and friendly staff. This was our second visit and we are going back in September. Beach is lovely - a mix of mostly sand and some pebbles.

Crown Hotel and The Blue Lighthouse recommend for dinner if you want something smarter than a pub. Fish and Chips from the hut in the Harbour are delicious a must for lunch or supper - best anywhere.

Will the Milkman calls every morning about 9ish selling papers, milk, bacon, OJ etc (summer only ??). Very handy for a bacon butty breakfast.

Just a note of thanks to the parents of the violin playing kid. I am sure you precious son will the next musical genius but I don't want to hear him at 8am on a Sunday morning.

Our only complaint has to be the showers in the static field. Please improve these (but not at the expense of selling the site !) 


Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Southwold Camping And Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Southwold Camping And Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Southwold Camping And Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Southwold      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1233 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement