Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Waterside House Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Waterside House Campsite Reviews

Waterside House Campsite
Waterside House
Howtown
Penrith
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486332
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 190 Reviews
                8/10 from 190 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  190 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cookie0283 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 days in April 2013.

The campsite was brilliant! I can't fault it in any way.

It is very spacious, has good shower, toilet and laundry facilities. The camp shop was well equipped and there were numerous water sports activities on offer.

You are able to almost camp on the shores of the lake and the views are breathtaking. It is in close proximity to local amenities and local attractions. The boat rides and aire force are well worth a visit.

This place is fantastic for budding photographers.

We would definitely stay here again. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Evofylde 5 reviews from this member

 Booked this site after reading so many good reviews on here. I was not disappointed.

It's location is stunning. Right next to the lake and smaller and more secluded than the louder and brasher Park Foot site round the corner. The near field is the family field and closest to all the amenities. It has the 14 EHU. Try to get hook ups 12-14 as they are best placed and away from road nearby, but not that it is busy. There is a field in the middle of the EHU for camping and spots right beside the shore as well.

The washing/toilets and so on were impeccable and there are new ladies showers.

Our kids, 6 and 8, loved the playground which is beside the family field and they literally spent hours there in the evening. The shore line is like another playground which the kids explored endlessly.

We will be coming back. Great site. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flozypots 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed at waterside for 4 days, the site was lovely. When we rang up to book we were told that there was going to be a wedding reception on the Saturday and was told there was going to be loads of music but we didn't hear it. We got a pitch next to the lake which was lovely being able to get up on the morning to look out at the lake, we took our chairs and sat at the lake edge. There is a shop on site that sells just about everything you need, the toilets are nice and clean, the showers are modern and warm, the staff is friendly and helpful. You can work along the lake side into pooley bridge where you will find a couple of pubs that serve food and dog friendly. A store that sells most things. L would go back again 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Halifax Four 2 reviews from this member

 This site was recommended to us by friends and we weren't disappointed. It is within easy walking distance of the village and the path follows the side of the lake. Showers and toilets were well maintained and clean especially the womens. There are lots of great walks some of which you can start from the site itself. We also liked that it's a working farm. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was lovely to hear the sound of owls at night and the views of the lake are wonderful.

Our pitch with electric hookup was perfect right on the edge of the lake. The grass was a bit bare but given we were there almost at the end of the season and the amount of rain during our stay we thought it held up really well. It was also good that we could park the car right next to the tent so it was easy to get our dogs in and out without any fuss.

Penrith was in easy distance for any major shopping you might feel like but the shops in the village and the site shop itself provided most of the basics at reasonable prices. Overall a great site in a great location. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pennybun 2 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this site, and it was certainly busier than the first time we went in June. Due to the proximity of the lake, this is very popular with families and those wanting to get into their boats and canoes.

The first field as you enter the site is fairly level, and has the electric hook-up points. It is also close to the playground, shop, showers/toilets and washing-up facilities. The second field is hillier, and obviously further from the main facilities, however there is a well-kept toilet block here too.

On our first visit we managed to camp close to the lake and had fabulous views. The second time we were more restricted with where we could pitch, and we were disappointed that for our second night a family chose to pitch their huge tent right up to us, despite there being room elsewhere, but that is not down to the campsite!

There is a pleasant walk along the lakeside to the village of Pooley Bridge which has pubs if you want a meal and a drink.

Showers were hot, plentiful and clean, as were the toilets. All the staff we came across were helpful and friendly.

Occasional queues for the washing up facilities at busy times.

Certainly somewhere we will return to again and again, probably out of school holidays though! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Julievonz 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic campsite! The location is excellent; you can literally camp right on the lake. We took our canoes and it was wonderful to be able to just get onto the water at a moments notice.

The staff were really friendly at all times. Even though we had to cut our planned holiday short, they were happy to refund the extra days. My husband had a sports injury and they assisted him with a special stool so that he could at least shower without getting the brace wet.

The shop was well stocked and reasonably priced. The showers are new and wonderful. Lots of nice big stalls, with plenty of hot water, no matter what time of day or how busy it was. Also, facilities were always being cleaned, which is great as it did get muddy quite often.

As we did not have electricity, we could camp anywhere in the family field, which was not crowded and allowed for families to spread out. I loved the fact that the kids could just play football or cricket or fly kites and basically were able to just be kids all over the campsite.

There is also a good play area for the kids.

Catering van when you don't feel like cooking, is always open.

It also only takes 10min to walk to Pooley Bridge for the pub or post office. Brilliant. !

So basically I have nothing bad to say about this place at all and cannot wait to go back.

We met people there who had been going there every year for the last 30 years. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Donwah 1 review from this member

 We have visited this site twice now and have been happy.

The shower blocks are clean and showers nice and hot. Good washing facilities also a laundry on site. Site shop is well stocked for its size, also a Catering van on site if you don't fancy cooking.

Children's play area is very good, my 7 year old loved it. The views of lake Ullswater are fantastic, there is a footpath along the Lake side into Pooley Bridge, which is just a short walk.

Staff very friendly. Would recommend staying there, we will be going again later on in the year. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Middled4 2 reviews from this member

 We had a long weekend here and despite one noisy night and lots of rain, we enjoyed ourselves. The kids would not leave the shoreside, they loved it!

The facilities were great, the access to Pooley Bridge was great with a nice walk along the lakeside. The snack van was open all weekend which was handy if you did not fancy cooking.

The shop was well priced and well stocked. The guy cleaning the showers and toilets must have cleaned about 4 times a day which was very welcome given how muddy everywhere was.

We will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ianvesey 1 review from this member

 A great campsite. I was really impressed overall on our first visit to the site. I booked in advance which was easy to do on the phone. Minimum of fuss on arrival.

A little bonus for us being tired after a reasonable trip there was a caravan cafe outlet on site. So, being July in the UK, we got the outer tent up and then went for a cuppa and a bacon sandwich. The bacon was excellent

I'd booked an electrical hookup & so we were in the family field. A slightly strange pitch to me but clearly marked out. Hard standing for the car and the tent. It felt slightly cramped but was fine. There was plenty of room on the non electric hook up fields.

The facilities were excellent. Showers and toilets all very clean. A small but well stocked and reasonably priced shop. There is a playground for the kids and that went down well with our 10 & 12 year olds. Also some pay to use the boats etc which we didn't do.

It is a short mile on the Lake shore to Pooley Bridge which is well stocked in pubs ! Also they were reasonable for the food n drink. Average mains 10. We had one night out and a bbq on site the next.

It's either walking or the water for us in the Lakes and this time it was the walking. We did a circular route around 6 miles starting at the campsite and rising up to a walk parallel but under the High St for those who know the area. A lovely walk which was a great intro for the kids. They are very keen to go back and go higher :-)

I had a car problem on the last day and the site helped out with no fuss or charge ! I will definitely be up there again :-) 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Logans 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 2 week stay at this site. We were very impressed with the site and the standard of the showers/toilets. The ladies showers are very new and kept really clean and the toilets kept clean.

We arrived at the end of a very wet spell and could not use our pre booked pitch (EHU) but they were able to get us another spot. There was a lot of mud in some parts of the fields but the other campers were great.

This site attracts a brilliant crowd of campers who respect the general ethos of the place. We finished off our trip on the first weekend of high season and sadly one group of 3 families failed to respect the quiet at 11pm rule and continued on til 1am in the family field. This was the only night this happened. However we were kept awake by the crows, doves, owls and sheep - but isn't that why we love camping!

The lakeside access is fantastic and we were able to keep the canoe at lakeside for no extra charge. The kids got hooked on the fishing - lots of kids seemed to enjoy that.

There are some amazing lakeside pitches on this site - arrive on a Sunday evening or Monday to get the best pick of them. This is a well organised, well located, clean campsite which I recommend to families and couples and anyone who likes to base a holiday around water activities. 


Previous     190 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Waterside House Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Waterside House Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Waterside House Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1623 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement