Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Lothian > Dunbar > Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park
Edinburgh Road
Dunbar
Lothian   (Browse area)
EH42 1TU
Tel: 01368 865956
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 8th March To 30th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 70 Reviews
                8/10 from 70 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  70 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AndyRomain 34 reviews from this member

 This was the last stop on my End to End trip - there were to be 2 more, but between this and the campsite from the previous night, I couldn't face one more disappointing mud patch!

There were 2 other tents in the tent field - or should I say mud bath! Trying to find a pitch that didn't result in lots of muddy squelchiness was hard. Ground was firm enough for use, but just not pleasant. The site shop stocked sweets, no real food - so was recommended a chippy in Dunbar (only 20 mins walk). Found the chippy - not impressed - food greasy and tasteless. Went to the beach - again, more of a mudflat! Featureless and dull. I love beachcombing, but there really was nothing here, and as you get closer to the park, it becomes muddier, and covered in bird poo! Just didn't gel with this location. Showers were ok, but it was just a uninteresting site. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Freyja 56 reviews from this member

 Nice site, this was out third stay here. We were on a hardstanding pitch which I was glad of as Saturday night it rained all night and the grass became very water logged. Showers are old but large, plenty of room to shower and get dressed. Push button type but heat is adjustable and they stay on for about 20 seconds. Clean toilets. Free hair dryer, though no hand drier or paper towels you have to use your own towel.
£21.00 per night for caravan, 2 adults one dog on a hard standing pitch with EHU. Caravan is on the hardstanding but car goes on the grass. Statics are separate from touring area. There is a separate tent areas but some tents were pitched in the caravan area which after the rain we had I felt sorry for them.
Couple of minutes drive to Dunbar, there is an Asda on the outskirts of town, its not a 24 hour one and has no cafe. Good chippy down side street off the main shopping street. Small shop in West Barns less than a ten minute walk, turn right as you leave the site, opens back of six in the morning, sells papers rolls, chiller stuff etc.
John Muir country park at back of site and the beach, which you reach after a walk over the sand dunes. Reception sells sweets and chocolate. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andrew.sharp3 7 reviews from this member

 Not nice. As a site, there is nothing fundamentally wrong with it, but the people running it are rude and inconsiderate. I should have stayed in Musselburough! I was shown my plot on CCTV of all things!

I was given the roughest piece of land full of boulders protruding from the ground and impossible to stake the four corners of my tent successfully. Eventually, I was allowed onto the main camp field, but was treated with terse disrespect, even though I was the only camper there! Then the warnings to get off by 10am in the morning as they were fully booked next day! £3 for a clothes wash and £2 to dry was a rip off too combined with a ban on washing lines shows their mean money-pinching ways.

The shop was full of sweets and cakes, no real food that I could see, so a trip to Dunbar was needed to get dinner.

I feel sorry for the poor sods who have spent any time there. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JohnandKirst 4 reviews from this member

 This was our first camping experience and we only had a cheap tent, but caught the camping bug, and haven't stopped since. (except when it snows and is cold).

The site was very well laid out, flat and the wind was shielded by thick trees. This didn't stop our tent from getting blown about, but we think that was just because we had a rubbish tent.

The town centre has a great chip shop, but dont walk to it if you are hungry, as we attempted but then turned back and got the car.

If you are a surfer Belhaven beach has some of the best swell in scotland, and there are hot showers on the campsite to warm you up when you get back.

We enjoyed our one night stay, and visited the museum of flight on our way back to edinburgh. Definitely worth a visit to see concord!

Would like to go back again, and try out our new tent. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Arkaig 5 reviews from this member

 Irwin Family:- 2 Adults, 2 Kids (6 and 3)

Duration:- 3 Nights (2nd May - 5th May)

Outfit:- Hartford XL 2008

Electric hook up:- Yes

Arrived on site 2nd of May. Wet, wet, wet. The welcome was extremely friendly at reception and the two young lads that were to show us to our pitch were top bloke on their mower! As the previous reviewer states, the opposite tent area was under renovation. The weather had been horrendous in recent days and the site was waterlogged. The site was fully booked and the guy allowed us to pitch in the driest part of the site as our EHU didn't stretch to our designated pitch. SO KIND!

Toilets and shower blocks were great considering the weather. Cleaned numerous times throughout the day. Two showers for males and two for females. Nice big cubicles for dad's and sons and vice versa. Grates to stand on!

Bins were overflowing on Sunday morning, these were cleared away by lunchtime.

Shop has only juice, sweeties and ice cream. Dunbar is a stones throw away.

Beach is 2 minutes walk. 2 small parks for kiddies on site. No infant swings, which was a let down for our three year old. Although she is now an expert at big girl swings now! one of the parks is right nect to the tent area. Very basic.

East links family park five minute drive, east fortune air museum close, dirleton castle, tantallon castle, north berwick (chippietastic!). Dunbar swimming pool superb. Dunbar shops good.

In summary, the site had drainage problems having had really bad rain over recent weeks. We had three dry days and it was dying out nicely. Nice site, nice owners. Definitely visit again as location was excellent. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Freyja 56 reviews from this member

 Good size pitches, clean loos and good hot showers. £15.50 per night for pitch with EHU. Short walk to the beach and the John Muir country park. They are in the process of laying new grass and levelling the tent field. Good TV signal. Small shop ten minutes walk selling groceries, rolls papers and sandwiches. Opens at 6.30 a.m. This is my second visit and would come again. On the outskirts of Dunbar, nice little town. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Clark52 11 reviews from this member

 Camped 31st Aug to 2nd sep 2007, self, wife, boy (in tent) very warm welcome, toilets more than adequate, although site was quiet when we visited. Showers great! good shelter due to vegetation. Bats apparent at night, loads of rabbits. Almost right on beach, very convenient for Dunbar/North Berwick. John Muir trail goes right past campsite. Didnt visit camp site shop/reception ( no reason!) shop nearby within 5 mins walk stocks most items. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Anne71 1 review from this member

 We took our 3 children camping, and our 2 dogs. This is a lovely site, three play park areas for the kids and a two miniut walk to the beach.  the shop is small and only sells sweets and lollys.
Very friendly and helpful site managers, the toilet / shower blocks were kept clean  there are plenty of water taps ect around the park.  Good shelter provided by the trees around the camping area. We went to dunbar swimming which was great, free for the kids at certain times of the day and the kids loved the waves in the pool.  plenty of thing for the kids to do in the area.  Will go back again. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cara89 30 reviews from this member

 We really liked this site very much.You can tell when owners care about their site when they have planted things when you go back a second season and keep the grass e.t.c neat and nice.It is great that there is such a good beach within a nice walk from site.The large pond on site is very peaceful too for a walk. There is a lot to do round about,actually, such as Dunbar leisure pool, harbour, other beaches, John Muir Country park-great for kids.
Showers and toilets were checked and cleaned very regularly indeed and toilets and sinks looked new. They were also very cosy!Good heating in them!It was quite quiet when we were there and very windy but we will be back for sure. 2 adults and 2 young children 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Davalfish 1 review from this member

 Lovely, quiet, well kept campsite.  Well run with friendly, helpful management.  Toilets newly painted and cleaned at least twice a day, more on wet days.  Site near to beach and shops, with excellent transport links to Edinburgh.  Will definitely return. 


Previous     70 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Belhaven Bay Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Dunbar      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lothian

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2944 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement