Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Isle Of Wight > Bembridge > Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park > Reviews

Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
Hillway Road
Bembridge
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO35 5PL
Tel: 01983 872671  or  0330 053 7000
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Tents in summer only
Open: 01/07/2024 to 31/08/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 68 Reviews
                6/10 from 68 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tilltart007 5 reviews from this member

 Me, the wife and the children 2 and 4 years old.

When we arrived we were met by a member of staff who informed us that we were too early as you are not allowed on site until 10:30 so we went to Tesco at Ryde to stock up.

After the shopping we retuned to the site and were given a information pack and our passes so that we could use the pools and crazy golf. The lady who met us told us to pitch our tent anywhere we wanted to.

The site itself is very large and if you are not careful you can pitch yourself a long walk from the toilets, showers and the washing up sinks.

It is quite a long walk from the camp site to the swimming pools and the bars and you have to cross a road to get there.

The showers and the toilets are very good and clean and there is a large shower in the block for if you have a child to wash.

The little shop on the touring site never had anything in there for sale apart from a freezer half full of ice lollies.

The indoor pool is ok for the children but its more of a play pool as it is very small.

The outside pool is nice and warm but it needs doing up as quite a lot of the tiles are falling off!

The beach is ok but there is a lot of stones and the walk down there is VERY steep so be warned if you have small children or old people and wear shoes with some grip to walk down.

We loved our time at whitecliff bay due to location and the things to do on site.

If you do go to this site and you want to go back again then there is an offer that if you re-book while on site then you pay this years price and the price is reduced by 5% and they give you 20 to spend on site. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lyndakevin 3 reviews from this member

 We have just spent a week at whitecliff bay and it seems from a previous report that they are trying to improve in all ways at this site. We had a quiet week and when we turned up we were shown to our pitch rather than free for all and during the week there were slabs laid at each pitch to clearly mark the pitch number. The only real downside to the pitch was the slope however there are many that are completly level.

All the facilities were clean and well maintained. We had our 2 dogs with us and were told as the site was quiet it was ok to exercise them in the lower field that was almost empty. We did walk to the beach and the path is steep but it does warn you of this in their brochure.

The bird noise in the showers does get repetitive but that's the idea so no one spends to long in the shower. There was a happy atmosphere as the site is also used for PGL children's scheme. However they do not use any facilities while they are open to site users.

Also while we were there a new children's play area was constructed near the reception and shower block area.

You can purchase fresh local crab and lobster from a cottage just by the site entrance.The isle of white seems to run at a slower pace which when you are on holiday suits all and we would not hesitate to use this site again. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kate Everitt 6 reviews from this member

 We visited Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park for the first time, this Whitsun. We booked in January 2010 and were looking forward to the break. When we finally got to the site it was pandemonium. After booking in, we were told to drive round and find a pitch but that there were no pitches side by side - this annoyed a few who had booked with friends. There are three fields AB and C. 'A' field is quite steep and has gravelly tracks to the top so a number of people struggled to haul their caravans up to the tops - those who didn't have 4x4's that is. Whilst waiting for various people to sort themselves out grid lock ensued and no-one could move anywhere. No-one appeared to pay much attention and eventually I started sharing the information out about reversing caravans, hills, gravel etc and we managed to free up enough space to get some of the cars turned about and out of the equation.

Eventually, it was realised that something was amiss and more people from the main, static site were called over to help out. Tempers were fraying and alcohol was dished out to waiting adults, it was now an hour since we had arrived and we had only travelled 300yards onto the site. Eventually a pitch was found for us tightly packed between two tents - there was no way there was a 3 meter gap between us and them. We couldn't park beside out van and had to park in front of it which made it difficult for anyone coming along our terrace. We couldn't enjoy the views as we had to pitch with the towbar pointing to the road, so had our back to the view.

It appears that people had turned up on Friday/Saturday and been told to pitch anywhere, as there were no reserved signs out - they did, so that when we came on the Sunday there were no were near enough pitches.

After all that the site is lovely, lots of water points, extremely friendly, helpful staff. Toilets cleaned twice a day, (silly tweeting birds played in the shower block - nice in the morning, strangely irritating in the evening), cleaning staff always ready to come in and have a quick tidy up if things have got a bit out of hand during the day. Showers hot (a bit too hot for my two year old) and free, toilets clean always toilet roll. No sign of hairdryers - though I might have missed them, I'm not a slave to the hairdryer myself ;o)

Good undercover washing up facilities, good laundry area, with ironing board and iron (not sure if free or not - coz I'm even less of a slave to the iron). Obviously washing machines and tumble dryers need to be paid for - not sure how much - didn't use. Site shop stocked soft drinks the odd packet of crisps, but sold gas. The best shop is over the road on the main site - doesn't stock a great deal but has the essentials.

The Culver club is great good shows catered well for the kids at 8.00 each evening a kids show - my 5 and 2 year old loved it. Also has a cash machine inside and a load of those 2p gambling machines, grab a prize machines and other gambling machines so be warned. Also drinks quite expensive 10.00 for two large JD and cokes.

Nab bar - nice dinner here - bit pricey. Free wifi here.

Outside the Nab bar is the outdoor pool, terrace area and crazy golf. The terrace area, for some obscure reason, blasted out 80's music from 8am in the morning - no-one sat here the music was too loud, on a loop and there are only so many times you can listen to Kraftwerk, followed by Falco(?) - Amadeus etc. Crazy golf has been updated, Outdoor pool is falling apart (tiles dropping off - it really needs a good re-furb) and half of it is roped off for the water walkers which is a bit annoying. Sun loungers available.

The beach - beautiful, well kept, clean - two cafe's Wonky Beach cafe sells food and drinks Friday night has a pizza night, saturday night is BBQ night - Caters for people with gluten/wheat and milk allergies - book a table for the evening events.

The other cafe also does food but also sells all the buckets, spades, inflatables etc - also second hand books. The beach is part of the lead in to Bembridge runway so loads of light aircraft overhead but they really don't spoil it at all.

Very steep paths to beach

Didn't use the indoor pool so can't comment on that.

The hairdressers is brill, tends to be open in the morning and evenings, good prices, I had a good cut there. Also another laundrette on main site. Road along here can get a bit busy and can be a bit of a tight squeeze along side the culver club, pedestrians and vehicles. Maybe a barrier would be a good idea here.

We had a great time and apart from the rocky start we would go back again.

I just hope they sort out booking in and either offer a proper, controlled pitch allocation and reservation service or say that there are no reservations - first come first served.

Thanks for reading I hope this is all helpful.

We had a lovely time and I'd like to thank Paul for lending me a book, from his personal collection - before I realised that I could buy second hand ones on the beach

Thanks for a great time we'll be back! 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 050566 41 reviews from this member

 Out of 10 disappointment was 10. We went on a rally to this site in October Half-Term. It was probably one of the dirtiest sites I have ever been to and I have been to some poor ones. The shop on the camp side was closed totally! The Nab bar was appalling and would never eat on the site again.

Everything was so out-dated it should be knocked down and start again. I agree it does appear to be a refugee camp.

If I had not been with all my friends, I think I would have gone home after inspection of the site on the Sunday after arrival. We had a fantastic holiday, but nothing to do with the site.

They need to keep seasonal pitches separate from holiday makers. Their vans need to go through the scrappage scheme. They were as old as the facilities.

Dreadful site and no would not recommend or return. However, IOW is lovely and would go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: _tich_ 13 reviews from this member

 We arrived there & we were in the field next to the actual campsite. When we were there it was at the tail end of all the floods in 2007 & the field was water logged muddy & generally horrible but that's no fault of the site itself Although we picked the best 2 weeks as the sun shone afterwards & it ended up being lovely. When we were there the showers were dated we were having to put in 20p's in all the time just to get a good shower. But as I've read the showers are now updated. We did have use to the main site although they did charge a lot for the use of the swimming pool for some odd reason. The beach is lovely although it is a steep walk down to it. I went in the sea for hours & loved it. The airfield was just over the way & watching the planes wasn't a problem only when a chinook was hovering around for what seemed ages was a right pain. I can safely say though it was the best fortnight's holiday I've had & I do intend to go back again someday. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BCAcampers 3 reviews from this member

 Returned home on 22/08/09 after spending a week at Whitecliff Bay in our Monty 6.

Upon arrival we were shown to our pitch, which as requested was easily large enough to accommodate our Monty 6 with the front extension included.

The pitches are tiered into the hillside and are fairly flat.

Most of the pitches offer pleasant views of the surrounding area.

Once set up we decided to view the rest of the facilities and site. The toilets had tissue scattered all over the floors mainly due to the bins which had not been emptied. The shower areas are reasonably large, however they would benefit from some form of storage area/multiple hooks to place your clothes on while showering. Again the showers were not very clean. I do not think that there are enough showers to accommodate the volumes of people using these facilities.

It is also apparent that waste bins are only emptied on Fridays which did seem to fuel problems with wasps.

The shop on site is reasonably stocked however there is a larger well stocked shop over the road on the main site.

I cannot comment on the club house as we did not use this facility. Nabs bar sells reasonably priced food and drinks (3.50 Pint).

The location is close to the beach. There is a steep incline down to the beach, but it is well worth the effort.

During the day we had a group of men (mid thirties) set up behind our pitch. Even though there were many families with small children on the surrounding pitches, they could not string sentences together without swearing. The evening did not improve. Drinking and swearing until 2:00 - 3:00am. We informed the site staff the following day, however this made no impact as ourselves and surrounding families were subjected to this for a week. I have no problem with people enjoying themselves, however as I have a 5 year old daughter I do not wish to expose her to this language.

I do think this site is geared towards the static caravans that are on offer for rent and sale. This area of the site which houses the statics is well cared for and appears to be the sites main priority over the touring/camping. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bexm44 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a lovely week at the Isle of Wight where we stayed at Whitecliff Bay. Hopefully by reading this it will help you decide if whitecliff bay is for you or not.

To get an idea of where I am coming from, I'm not that fussy or a real snob, I'm used to 3*Hotels and campsites and feel I'm fairly average in my views. So this isn't one big moan, just my advise to others thinking of going here.

The main Site:

This is separate from the campsite, although they say in there brochure that they have invested money into the site, please read carefully, they say the accommodation, not the site! my error.

All of the areas(Bar, Arcade, Pool, Crazy Golf) are dated. Everywhere is just a little Grubby and dirty feeling, the outdoor pool could do with a good clean, lots of mould and grime round the edges.

The main club house, just needs to be modernised.

The whole place feels old and like it needs a little TLC, which is a shame because it has the potential to be really lovely.

Beach:

This is really lovely as it's right on the doorstep, The walk up/down is very steep and I would advise, Don't wear slippy shoes!

Sandown is only 10mins away with plenty of parking if you don't fancy the walk up and down to bembridge beach.

The campsite:

Firstly the good points.

The campsite is set in the most beautiful area, with lovely views all around you and Bembridge airfield in front of you, so it is great for sitting outside and watching the planes/helicopters land. Fantastic sunsets.

All of the pitches seem to be of a good size, although some of the top pitches do slope a little and can be hit by the wind(but have the best views).

There is a lovely friendly pub Called the propeller Inn (Food is wonderful) just down the road and Bembridge shops nearby, where there is a co-op, Chipshop, another nice pub to eat and a Chinese Takeaway. Sanddown and Shanklin are also closeby offering lots of great things to do with the family.

The campsite has an on site shop,which stocked all the essentials and Gas exchange, so no need to panic if you run out of something and there is a nice play area for the children.

So now the bad points.

The refurbished toilets! The outside looks lovely, however this is the only area I can think has been refurbed. The inside is dated, dirty, cleaned once in the morning I think, I never actually saw anyone, the doors do not shut or lock properly, the shower area, curtains and poles are mouldy and rusty, the grates look like they have had there day and clogged up with hair. The water doesn't runs away properly so if you are in the shower on the far left, everyone's water runs into it.

The showers are really powerful and hot, which is nice, but would advise you put all clothes etc into a bag and hang on the door as they will get wet!

The only other bad point about the campsite is the bins were very rarely emptied, so continuously overflowing and attracting lots of wasps and bad smells, however if your not on a pitch near the bins, it won't really bother you.

Again it's a real shame that a little bit of money could not be spent in updating the shower blocks properly as this is really the only thing that lets the actual camping field down.

Hopefully in time they will spend the money as the site could be lovely. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: DeeJayDee 1 review from this member

 The booking process was very straightforward and the site operators very helpful. Good value considering peak season and that the ferry was included in the price.

Upon arrival first thoughts were of a refugee camp - it appeared so crowded. It was quite late and our allocated pitch was in the densest part of the site despite there being other pitches available as the site wasn't full.

Nevertheless next morning our request to move to another pith up the hill was met with no hassle and we ended up with a pitch with a good view over the valley.

Although busy the site was very quiet at night and really my main gripe is the cleanliness (or lack of it). The showers were filthy every morning and the dirt very engrained. To say these were new facilities this year was very surprising. Doors didn't shut and there was tissue all over the floor.

General litter around the site could have been removed so the overwhelming feeling was of a scruffy site. There seemed to be plenty of staff but I didn't really see them doing anything.

Pitch size and hook ups were good although several people had such large outfits that took up the entire plot leaving no room for the car which was parked off pitch - causing problems manoeuvring sometimes. Plenty of water points although no MH disposal point.

The site shop is well stocked although there was no fresh bread available in the main shop due to freezer failure.

The holiday park facilities didn't impress. Very tired - although the pool would be OK for kids. Smell of chips wafting on the breeze and when we investigated the clubhouse our feet were firmly sticking to the floor!

Out of season I guess this site would be better but it cant cope with its capacity.

This part of IOW is definitely the land that time forgot. A nice walk down to Bembridge but don't hold your breath when you get there. Also Sandown is typical of the british traditional seaside resort - rundown and shabby. Other parts of the island up the coast toward the needles were much better and less tired. The local bus service is extremely expensive so that precludes using public transport which is what we like to do with a Motorhome and the roads were very busy for cycling. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karenh10673 1 review from this member

 We visited Whitecliff Bay with our 4 young children. We chose the site because of its location and facilities, esp. The 2 pools, playgrounds and showers, which were supposed to have been updated for 2009. We had a nice week and were very lucky with the weather, but we were disappointed with the site, particulaly the cleanliness of the showers and toilets, and the general maintenance of the place. The toilet/shower block near our pitch was never clean. The showers were hot and powerful but again let down by the lack of cleaning.

The children enjoyed the outdoor pool, although again it could have been cleaner. Little things like the shower at the pool not working, the dog poo bins not being emptied, the bins overflowing by emptying day, no recycling facilities and a fair amount of litter let the place down

We were also worried by the fast road running through the site, separating the touring part of the site from the static site, where the pools, club etc are. We certainly wouldn't let children cross it, even older teenagers.

On the plus side, there was a useful shop, a fun social club, a lovely beach, good tent pitches and helpful staff (just not enough of them!). 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Santamkii 2 reviews from this member

 Booked this site because of reviews I read on here.I must have been very unlucky in the week I went. We went as 2 families who have camped for the last 10 years.

When we arrived our booking was not to hand so they had to access the computer to get our details.Waiting for this and then to be shown to our pitch took far too long.Luckily we were given pitches that were flat, many are on a slope.

We visited the Culver club the first night.When I managed to get my feet free from the sticky floor we moved to a seat at the rear of the room(get there early).Whilst seated my arm stuck to the wood on the seat back.We had 2 overpriced rounds( that did not taste good) and went back to the tent.

There are 3 shower/toilet blocks on the camping site and there needs to be as there are over 400 people on site.They are outdated but that would not have been a problem.The problem was they were filthy. The only time I managed to enter them when they were clean was straight after they were cleaned by the over worked cleaning staff.2 cleaners for 3 blocks and over 400 people!

On the plus side,the washing up facilities were very good. The beach is excellent,but not private as mentioned by others. The sharp incline back to the camp is a small price to pay for a good day out.

Watching the aircraft landing can be fun,the Royal Navy seem to be there a lot in Lynx and Sea King Helicopters and also a Royal Air Force Chinook a few times.

If you look from the hill towards the airfield you can see a pub called the Propeller. When you find the short cut through the bottom field and then the footpath through the field(clearly signposted)you have reached salvation.

This place is run by a man called Hobbit. When you go you will recognise him.He is without doubt the best Landlord I have ever come across. Not only were the drinks considerably cheaper than the sites but he provided his own brand of entertainment. They also have an extensive food menu and most nights food themes,such as curry night at 4.95 a head.

I would go again as I know I can just walk down the road to this boozer and have a good night. 


Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bembridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


56626 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement