Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Cartmel Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Grange Over Sands > Cartmel Park Reviews

CLOSED: Cartmel Park
Wells House Farm
Cartmel
(lake District)
Grange Over Sands
Cumbria   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: Touring Closed From 2015

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 58 Reviews
                8/10 from 58 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 51 to 58                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jim01298 5 reviews from this member

 Great campsite, lovely surroundings, facilities spotless and well looked after. Previous comments regarding the owner are over exaggerated. My wife and I are touring motorbikers, the lady who owned the site was very welcoming and helpful. Yes, she has a wander round the site every so often to check people are abiding by the rules (a copy of which are given to you on registration), but this is no bad thing. The site is peaceful, even when busy. The only problem I had was finding the site! The signs at the entrance are tasteful but small, while a "Private" sign on the entrance gate confused matters somewhat. We will definitely visit again (now we know where it is)! 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JudyS 4 reviews from this member

 What a lovely little site. Would have to disagree with previous reviews which seem to make out the owner as some kind of dragon. A lovely woman who just wants an orderly, respectful site that all can enjoy. Love the fact that they recycle rubbish. Picturesque view of the top of the Priory lit up by night. Surrounded by woodland (quite an enthusiastic dawn chorus beginning at around 4:30 am) with plenty of wildlife, woods with small river running through offers a nice gentle walk. Most important of all - 2 minutes walk from the village which has a good number of pubs, an Indian restaurant and a very pricey "posh" restaurant. We ate at the Kings Arms (very nice and good value for money) and the Royal Oak (highly recommended, try the Lamb Henry if you have a good appetite). All were child friendly. All in all a very enjoyable weekend - would definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deembee 1 review from this member

 What a lovely site in Cartmel village close to racecourse. The comments on here about the "overbearing lady" are over the top she was very helpful to us. Welcoming of both children and pets. All the people on the site were friendly and respectful of others, a lot of families with young children (half-term week) but able to relax. Site is clean, well kept and the camping field is large with good level pitches. Toilets and showers clean and plenty of warm water all day. I would recommend this site to all ages for a rural stay in glorious countryside. 


Date of Visit: July 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Diva_72 2 reviews from this member

 Completely agree with reviewer about rather 'interesting' lady at this campsite - we all felt as though she was a 'Mother Hen' coming round to make sure we were all tucked up safe and sound. There were only four of us (two couples) but we had the definite impression that she would have had no hesitation in telling us off had we been 'naughty'. Although we had no intention of starting (or participating in) a camp-site riot, it was rather intimidating, and not condusive to a relaxed stay. Fortunately we only stayed the two days.

On a big plus side, they do re-cycle their camp-site rubbish which is quite unusual. This site is probably best if you don't have kids/dogs and are wanting a very quiet un-disturbed stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Cassonshel@aol. 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site. Large open fields, flat and well sheltered which was well tested when gale force winds and rain hit at 03:00.
The owners take real pride in the site very clean and tidy, Gave us a tour of the site on arrival to help us choose our pitch
Toliet/shower facilities are immaculate the showers are free and hot with ample size changing areas and hanging facilities to keep dry clothes and towels off the floor.
Cartmel village is 2 mins walk away with excellent pubs serving excellent food not just your usual pub fare. I recommend the Royal Oak child friendly, good food with an outside area enclosed for the kids overlooking the stream.
Will definitely be visiting this site again in the near future. 


Reviewer: Shazuser 1 review from this member

 July 2005
We have just returned from our second visit. The first was as a family of 4 and this time with 5 other families to whom we had highly recommended the site. We had a lovely 3 night stay. Cartmel is a beautiful,quaint village and the weather was very hot. The site is ideal for families with a lovely clean shower block and two large fields. The only drawback (and it became a major problem) was the very strange attitude of the lady who owned the site. Our 12 adults and 11 children were extremely well behaved, keeping noise to a minimum, even during the day and respecting those around us. We were complimented by at least 4 other sets of campers, for our well behaved children and the way we all played so well together. The lady however, continually came to us with complaints. While we were there, she allowed her dog to roam free, listened to one couple in another field keeping everyone awake all night and did nothing to ask them to stop and said ssshhhhh all the time to the children even during an organised noisy firework display!!!  


Reviewer: Alix 4 reviews from this member

 May 2005
Excellant site, child friendly, very clean, tranquil, lovely area. Excellent dog walking area, in the woods. Across the field from site. Where dogs can go off lead. Lovely village cartmell. Would recommend a visit to the priory. Which you can see from the site. All village people very nice and friendly as well.

 


Reviewer: Norahcowpe 3 reviews from this member

 15th June 2004
Found this site by accident when trawling through a campsite magazine and what a happy accident! A beautifully manicured site in very tranquil surroundings. There is a very clean toilet and shower block only 2 showers although this did not present any problem during our stay. The showers are free and hot, there is a washing up area, hair dryer 20p, but no laundry facilities.
The owners are lovely people, very helpful even charged our power pack for us! (thanks)
It is literaly 5mins walk from the village of Cartmel with good pubs offering good food and real ale, there is a local spar and the Pig and Whistle does breakfasts and suppers at very reasonable prices. You can get milk and eggs from the site if you order the day before.
There is a park across from the site for children and dogs are welcome. The park is very quiet though and there doesn't seem to be anything for kids to do.
The local bus comes every 30mins or so and there are plenty of walks. Highly Recommended 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 58     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 28/06
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4037 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020