Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Seal Shore Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Isle Of Arran > Seal Shore Camping Reviews

Seal Shore Camping
Seal Shore
Kildonan
Isle Of Arran
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA27 8SE
Tel: 01770 820320
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/04/2022 to 16/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 117 Reviews
                9/10 from 117 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  117 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Claire19 2 reviews from this member

 Really friendly welcome and everything we needed was pointed out.

The shop at reception was well stocked with all manner of items and a good range of basic foodstuffs. Site is immaculate and the views stunning. Fridges and a freezer to keep things fresh and washing up facilities were more than adequate. Toilet block was clean and freshly painted and extra showers were provided too. The use of a microwave/kettle is really useful when you have packed up and are looking for a cuppa!

Tv room and barbeque area were well used - always busy. Even mobiles and gadgets are charged up for you in return for a donation to charity.

Brilliant weather was an added bonus.

There is a hotel next door but meals were not what they were cracked up to be; the beers seemed expensive too.

I would not hesitate to recommend a stay at Sealshore. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: GlosLass 4 reviews from this member

 This is a beautiful site! Quite small, good facilities, nice showers. Lots of nice little touches like a tv lounge, a kitchen with a microwave etc. No extra charge for showers or anything else. I could sit in my camper and look at the sea. The location meant that I could just walk 10 or 20 yards and be on the beach.

The place had a nice atmosphere and everyone was really friendly. I would recommend it. It was not at all expensive either. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Screwdriver32 2 reviews from this member

 After many years of wild camping this was our first campsite so didn't know really what to expect, I was expecting a Mr fiddler from carry on camping but got a pleasant surprise instead,

We stayed here for four nights,

We were met by the owner & given a friendly welcome, then he very very quickly pointed out where the facility's were & told as it was quiet we could pitch where we liked but he recommended the view from the top of the site & he wasn't wrong,

The toilet block was clean but I though not enough loos if the site was busier, there are 4 small showers just next to the toilets as well as showers within the toilet block, but for privacy we used the small showers & was not disappointed as they got warm very quick which was a change from the coldness from the main showers,

The hotel next to the site has great views over the bay for a meal or drink & the staff were friendly, but I didn't think the meals were good value for the price, fish was bland & greasy,

The site itself is on a slight slope so pitching had to be done right first time,

A strong tent is recommended as the when the wind blows in from the sea it can be very harsh,

Luckily I carry extra guys that held ours down well,

We would & will happily go back if we get a good summer with less wind & more sun but being from Scotland myself I know its always a gamble,

I would definitely recommenced this site to anyone that's never been to Arran or like ourselves new to the campsite style of camping as it covers all the necessity for a comfortable camp.

PS:- Just like anywhere in Arran the midges can be a pest so stock up on smidge or learn to run faster than they can fly! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rexxie 36 reviews from this member

 Certainly felt like being away from it all.

Appeared a busy little site - with pitches a short distance from a rocky, seaweedy beach. Some pitches uneven -concrete hardstandings and grassy pitches.

Views over to Pladda lighthouse. Next to the Kildonan Hotel which has a restaurant, bar and community shop.

Bus stop just outside the entrance with regular buses to Brodick and Blackwaterfoot.

Shop in reception.

However -the reception smelt very cigarette smoky and the whole site appeared a little tired.

Shower/toilets clean and basic-with a good coin operated hairdryer in the Ladies.

Had a meal in the Hotel -again tired looking rather dated decor but was pleasantly surprised by a nice meal and friendly staff. Hotel has great sea views and nice outdoor terrace.

Think we have been spoilt by sites on beaches on the west coast and western isles! -but guess this has a different aspect. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Lynn George 1 review from this member

 Just got back after a lovely break on the Isle of Arran at the Seal Shore Campsite. We were met with a very friendly greeting and made to feel very welcome. The facilities were clearly pointed out and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. The shower block was basic but clean and the showers had plenty of hot water. The washing up area was perfectly adequate for our needs. The one thing that totally recommends this site is the stunning location. We actually saw sea otters from our motor home and a walk along the sands also revealed a solitary seal! I have no hesitation in recommending this site to anyone wanting to get away from it all. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DuckyFamily 1 review from this member

 I have been visiting Arran since I was a few months old & my parents have been visiting since they were in their teens, so Arran is very close to our hearts!

Myself, my fiancé & my 2 year old daughter stayed on the Seal Shore camp site for 7 nights in September 2012. It was our first camping holiday & it was brilliant!

The views of Pladda & Ailsa Craig are beautiful, especially at sunrise. It is so peaceful. The waves, birds & seals are your wakeup call. The facilities are superb. The showers & toilets are very clean & spacious. The shop on site has all the necessities. Lovely beaches & walks around the area. Lots of space for our daughter to run wild & very easy access to the beach (there is a gate, so that little ones can't disappear)

We as a family, are very interested in stargazing, and wow, the sky in the evening from the campsite is magnificent. On a clear night, you can see millions of stars, multiple shooting stars & satellites! The sky actually looks white from all the stars! It is amazing!

My daughter absolutely loved camping! She would put on her wellies & coat, and run to the showers/toilet blocks/shop in the morning.

Our family's must sees:

Brodick Castle (I could probably give guided tours myself nowadays!)
The Waverley (Please donate money to keep the last ocean going paddle steamer running!)
The seals in Kildonan,
Holy Isle (Get the ferry from Lamlash Pier)
Get a scone with jam & cream from Made In Arran, Lamlash.
Kilmory Workshop
Brewery & Distillery
Lochranza Castle
Heritage Museum, Brodick
The Lighthouse Cafe, Pirnmill (Amazing food)
Corrie Piers (Gorgeous little village!)

We are visiting the camp site again this year & have booked our wedding at the Kildonan Hotel for 2014! :) 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Snowy55 1 review from this member

 An excellent site with all the facilities you could possibly need. Clean neat and tidy, friendly and welcoming staff.

The views from this site are unbelievable. The atmosphere is very relaxed.

Very good value for money and makes an excellent location for a good holiday.

The site is very family orientated and do not tolerate any rowdy behaviour.

The beach is only yards away from the site and is safe to use. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Pat Kalbasa 2 reviews from this member

 Had a short break at this wonderful site last week, it was a delightful experience and a most wonderful site in an ideal location. The site is straight on to a beach where you are able to watch seals, otters, porpoises, dolphins and basking sharks,

There is a well stocked site shop where you are able to purchase freshly caught lobster, crab and mackerel. The shop is managed by Teresa who was a delight to meet,

The hospitality of the site owner was fantastic and I will most certainly return in the very near future. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Surfercrew 7 reviews from this member

 Ideal site for tents, good clean toilets and showers. However I should warn caravanners that a 5m plus van with porch awning, 2 adults and 2 dogs with electric hook up will cost you £24. 50p per night. Way too much if you use your vans washroom I think. Also pitches are not marked so we had a tents guy ropes and windbreak over our awning strap, no fire break there.

Arran itself is ok, it feels more like the mainland than other Islands, the circular road has some stunning views.

Caravanners should remove your rear 'big feet' on your steady legs otherwise the linkspan could remove them for you, as they did mine. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Peter Coultherd 1 review from this member

 Recently visited Seal Shore with my wife, Jane, on way back from Islay. Have visited site on many occasions, especially when our son, Andrew was young. Ideal place for family holiday, especially if you love the great outdoors.

Discovered that facilities have been improved over the last couple of years with extra showers and undercover cooking area and lounge. The last two are brilliant if camping in the wet, like this year. This site has always been a gem, but is now even better. Maurice, the owner is very friendly and helpful;two years ago our tent was damaged by the wind on our last day and he let us stay in his caravan for the last night.

If you are interested in wildlife, like us, then this is a great place. There are otters on the shore now and we watched a family of them playing for over an hour one evening (the highlight of the holiday). In previous years we have seen basking shark, dolphin and porpoise in the sea immediately in front of the campsite. The seals are around all of the time. But best of all one animal is missing, the midge.

We highly recommend this site to wildlife enthusiasts, sit by your tent and watch gannets and terns catching fish. We hope to be back soon. 


Previous     117 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Seal Shore Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Seal Shore Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Seal Shore Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Arran      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ayrshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4429 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement