Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Holme Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Settle > Holme Farm Campsite > Reviews

Holme Farm Campsite
Horton In Ribblesdale
Settle
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD24 0HD
Tel: 01729 860281
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 96 Reviews
                7/10 from 96 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TallBigMe 3 reviews from this member

 Used this site to camp for doing the Yorkshire 3 peaks walk.

Too much noise at night and people shout at all hours.

Toilets doors don't even shut proper in the gents toilet block.

It is a nice site being let down by a toilet block that needs redoing properly, the tents are to close together, people shouting and using open fire Brasiers so potential for your tent to get damaged, burnt. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barrie23 1 review from this member

 I had a fantastic time. People are very friendly especially farmer chris sutcliffe who was the owener of the camp site. The views were amazing, it's right next to the cafe where you start your trek for the 3 peaks

Will be going again, just like to say thanks to chris, who was very caring and looks after all his guests. There is nice pub round the corner, there is a local shop and the cafe is really good. The staff are friendly 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pickers79 1 review from this member

 This campsite is basic, functional but very well placed for your three peaks challenge.

The owner, Chris, is quite simply a legend. He is extremely helpful and friendly and let's say a 'tad' eccentric.

If you're one of those people who likes campsites with absolute silence after 10pm then your in the wrong place. Music and merriment can and often does continue until the wee small hours and usually your host Chris will be up sharing stories with his guests and entertaining.

This is my kind of campsite. Yes it can be noisy but you know what? We should all not worry so much and enjoy the world around us and the people in it. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DplusG 27 reviews from this member

 This is a basic, relatively cheap site ideal for the 3 Peaks start point and somewhere to rest afterwards. The field is neatly kept with pitches marked by lawn cutting and the car park is nearby.

The major downside are the facilities which are old and in bad need of updating. They are relatively clean for their age but the shower (only one shower for the whole site) is expensive at 1 and not all that clean- there's not even a shelf to put your dry stuff on whilst you shower. Other than that the owner is a jolly, polite chap who is always around and the village has enough facilities available. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Teknofobe 2 reviews from this member

 Found this site on line and decided it was the one for me and a friend for one night! - fab! wished we could've stayed longer.Chris is great - very nice, friendly and helpful man. Helped us out by blowing up an air bed (we're mature and need SOME comforts.)when our pump broke. Horton is small but gorgeous and has inspired me to do the 3 peaks next year - or maybe the year after.

Lots of loud music and revellers - but they were celebrating their 3 peaks walks!

Definitely returning to this basic but very friendly site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Dalex 2 reviews from this member

 WOW! What a truly awful camping experience. We've just got back having spent 2 nights at this campsite in our campervan. I had read the very mixed reviews on here and so was expecting something interesting. I wasn't ready for this though.

GOOD BITS: It is a campsite, there's a toilet and a shower(kind of).

BAD BITS: Bagpipes being paid out of tune, drums, very loud wierd music - being played by the campsite owner and his mate - they apparently have a band. All of this until well after midnight when most people on the site are getting up at 5.00 or 6.00am to do the 3 Peaks walk.

I can honestly say that in the 25+ years that I've been staying on campsites this is by far the worst I've ever experienced. The toilets were really grubby, there wasn't any hot water in the sinks and the shower was a trickle that never got warm.

Overall totally rubbish!

There is absolutely no way I'll be staying here again and I wouldn't recommend it, unless you like listening to out of tune bagpipes. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Puncturedairbed 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a couple of nights commencing Saturday 12th. Site itself is in the perfect location for tackling the three peaks. The field is in excellent condition and on the Saturday night was very full.

For us the only let-downs were the state of the toilet blocks and the amount of them, really if you allow in excess of 200 people on the site you need more than one shower per male and female. (Also best to use some type of footwear if you venturing into the showers).The other major failing was the noise. I have no problem with revelry, but music and kids screaming about until 11pm was a bit much. Sadly some of the loud music was instigated by the owner himself, which didn't help the control of the situation. If you are after a good nights sleep, look elsewhere, or perhaps one where parties of school children are actually monitored by the teachers from the campsite rather than the pub! If your after a bit of a party atmosphere this is ideal. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pandk 15 reviews from this member

 If you are planning to walk the Yorkshire three peaks and you want to camp at the start there is nowhere better placed than this. The site is at the very start of the climb up Pen-y-Ghent.

The facilities are pretty basic, but always clean and working. Plenty of hot water was available. Little things like the Loo roll being always there and dry more than make up for the stone floor. Parking is just to the side of the site off the main road thru Horton.

Some of the pitches get a little water logged but the owner is really helpful and points out where best to camp.

Sunrise over Pen-y-Ghent from the comfort of your tent followed by breakfast in the local cafe is pretty hard to beat. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shedevil 5 reviews from this member

 Yes it is a basic site but we really enjoyed our stay. Mr Sutcliffe (the farmer) is fabulous. Very friendly and helpful- quite a character! We had a few drinks with him in his 'gazebo/living room' and got used to his music. Yes the farm dogs barked in a morning and the sheep made sheep noise. It cost 2.00 per person / dog / tent / night.

There were quite a few of our family staying on the site together and yes it was a bit noisy and busy but it all added to the experience!

Showers were hot / toilets worked / views lovely / loads of walks / lovely Sunday dinner at the pub down the road / cafe right next door. Local shop a bit expensive. Supermarket is in Settle if required.

Site is easy to find right next to the painted green pub / Norman church. Loads of dogs / kids / BBQ's / music / walkers. If you like a nice quiet site with lots of rules and all the mod cons then this is not the site for you!

We will be back as soon as we can! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrsk 5 reviews from this member

 We've just come back from another brilliant stay.And are booked in again for this weekend. We camp lots but think that this can't be beaten for value, yes its basic but the village amenities make up for that; a lovely village shop with good opening hours and The Crown pub which does gorgeous food. We always find no matter where you go in Horton you always receive a warm welcome. 


Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Holme Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Holme Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Holme Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Settle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


56538 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement