Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Little Roadway Farm

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Devon (North) > Woolacombe > Little Roadway Farm > Reviews

Little Roadway Farm
Georgeham Rd
Woolacombe
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX34 7HL
Tel: 01271 870313
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 150
Open: 01/03/2024 to 30/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 58 Reviews
                7/10 from 58 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  58 in total, now showing 51 to 58                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Poshbird 1 review from this member

 Just got back after the bank holiday stay at Little Roadway with a group of friends. Yes the site is basic, but the owners are very friendly and helpful. It does attract groups of young people and sadly some of them decided to vandalise the new toilet /shower block and render them useless for a few hours. Luckily the old block was still in use. Not many other camp sites allow groups and the mindless action of a few could stop even here. It is basic but at only 10 a night what more do you want 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Simi123 1 review from this member

 I have stayed at this site on many occasions and have always found it to be extremely friendly and laid back. It is a great site if you want somewhere relaxed that will accept all of groups of people.

There are newly built ladies and gents showers and toilets which are great and should please all of the moaners on this website who were quick to complain!

Cheap, cheerful, great facilities and very few restrictions. So if you are one of the moaners, go and pay 30 a night or whatever elsewhere and don't forget to pitch between the lines and be quiet by 9pm. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mawalker82 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed at little roadway farm as was looking for the cheapest campsite in the area with good value for money.

When telephoned 2 days before arrival to check prices was told it was 8.00 per night. However upon arrival was told the price has increased to 10.00 per night as they had just finished the new shower block two hours ago.

Still good value at 10 per night as have two dogs and other campsites are charging 1.50 each per night per dog so it works out relatively cheap compared to them.

Stayed a four night stay over Easter. Had a fantastic time. Wouldn't expect to much from this campsite though. The new toilet block that has been built to replace the static toilet block is no-way near up to scratch (home built) and id like to see how they will cope when the campsite is full.

They are not cleaned that regular and there is 3 showers (which were hot) and 2 toilets and 2 sinks. I was in the shower one morning and when someone flushed the toilet my water went of and didn't come back on until the toilet had refilled. So i was standing in the freezing cold for about 2 minutes awaiting hot water. So there is obviously an issue with the plumbing and water pressure.

I found it best to get up at 7 and go when they were cleaned and no one was going to turn your water of by flushing a toilet. There was no mirror in there to have a shave either, but the following day a tatty mirror had been put up.

I would say this campsite if more for young people and not families. There were a few groups who stayed up until 3am but it doesn't bother me as they are on holiday and want to have a good time. Whereas I've stopped on others and no ones aloud to talk past 9pm. So its quite refreshing to find a campsite like this. You can even have campfires!

I will definitely stay here again so long as the price doesn't increase in the summer.  


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Katielefiend 1 review from this member

 I've stayed at this site three times in the last year with a group of friends; we picked the site because the owner was happy to let a group of 16/17 year olds camp there.
The facilities are VERY basic (cold showers, limited loo roll, etc) but it is cheap, friendly and the takeaway chips we bought there were perfectly adequate.
I'd say this is a young person's site; lots of teenage, potentially-rowdy, groups staying there not to mention walking THE HILL! I know that there were some families staying there who were pretty unhappy that it was relatively noisy at 9PM as they were trying to get their kids to sleep, but if you just need a cheap place to camp, close to the beach, and don't mind a grubby toilet block, it's ideal. 


Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sheltond 1 review from this member

 I have stayed at this site around 10 times over the last three or four years, for a weekend each time. I come down for the surfing, generally with between one and five other people, and mostly our of season (the last stay was mid-october 2005).

The site is very basic, but cheap and good for what we want, which is a place to crash within walking distance of Woolacombe (although not when carrying gear). The reviewer who mentioned the hill back up from the town wasn't kidding - it is steep and long, although perfectly do-able if you like walking.

I have mostly stayed here out of the very high season (I have stayed here in May, June, July, September and October), and the most I have seen is about 20 tents/vans in the two large fields that make up the campsite.

I can't comment on how well the facilities handle large numbers of people, but I would tend to agree that they would strugle.

The facilities (at least the gents) are _very_ basic - nowhere to hang clothes in the showers (which are often cold) - I suggest taking a bin-bag to put stuff in, the toilets are generally clean but the paint in the cubicles is flaking and the whole loo area is pretty much open to the elements, so don't expect too much. There was loo roll in the toilets this year while I was there, though.

The shop/reception/take-away is basic but adequate - they have milk, bread, tins of stuff, bacon, beer, camping-gas, etc. I have had the occasional cup of tea and bacon/sausage sandwich from the take-away, and they are fine although nothing particularly special - its basic stuff.

As the site is on the top of the hill, it can get quite windy, so I would recommend pitching reasonably close to the hedge if possible in order to get a bit of shelter.

Having said all that (which may have sounded a bit negative), this is a great site in a good location that doesn't cost much money - if you aren't expecting anything more. I will certainly be going back with my friends for surfing weekends, although when I come down with the wife and kids I generally stay at Warcombe Farm or somewhere like that.

Overall - perfectly good if you aren't expecting anything too posh. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Jat374 1 review from this member

 Arrived on the Tuesday and helped ourselves to a suitable pitch as this is a working farm and the office isn't open all the time, only early am and then again from 5ish. This is a genuine working farm and not a super-de-dooper-deluxe campsite. It's peaceful, quiet, spacious and dog-friendly but the showers and toilets are rough, ready and leave a lot to be desired. The showers are luke warm, there are no hooks in the cubicles and they leak everywhere so by late morning the floors are soaking. The gents were worse than the ladies apparently. I'm not sure what progress has been made since the last review on the site was written but there aren't any new shower blocks, although part of the area does look like a construction site. You don't pay for showers.

The washing up area is small and could do with improving but there are sinks and draining boards that function well, with hot (ish) water.

There is a shop and a "take away" although we didn't get to sample the delights.

The campsite is only within walking distance of the beach if you can cope with the unbelievably steep climb back up to the site afterwards. I mean steep! First gear in places. There are also warning signs because there are adders in the undergrowth! We didn't see any, but did keep the dog on a lead.

If you can cope with the poor shower/toilet facilities then this is a great site. It's friendly, popular but not too busy, and there is plenty of space.

We look forward to returning, but only for a few days before rushing home for a hot, clean shower! 


Date of Visit: June 2005
Reviewer: ChrisMouse 3 reviews from this member

 Unfortunately we felt that the facilities at this campsite were so poor that we were unable to stay. We could only find one small shower block which we felt was in a state of disrepair. This was a shame because we did not want to stay on a large site with a clubhouse and bar that we would not use and hike the prices up. A new shower block would make this an excellent site as it has lovely flat fields and is in a convenient location. Another review mentioned a new shower block being built but I couldn't find it, I should very much like to be able to be corrected if this is the case. However, for a basic site it was much less expensive than the competition. 


Reviewer: happybonzo 39 reviews from this member

 May '04
Very handy site for Woolacombe and Puttsborough.
Little Roadway accept groups, clubs, youth groups etc
If you have your own "on board" facillities then you will be at an advantage because the site is heaving during the Season. I would think that the washing arrangements would barely be able to cope.
There is a new block being built at this moment and some new mobile blocks were being delivered while I was there.
The site also has storage for Touring caravans and Motorhomes which could be a great advantage. It is well placed for touring in Devon and Cornwall so this should be considered.
The prices seem very fair compared to what I had been charged in the same week elsewhere.
So more power to Steve and Vanessa Malin! At this time of year the silence at night was deafening! July and August may prove to be a bit different though! 


Previous     58 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 58     Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Little Roadway Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Little Roadway Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Little Roadway Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Woolacombe      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3634 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement