Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Alfriston Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > East Sussex > Alfriston > Alfriston Camping Park > Reviews

Alfriston Camping Park
Pleasant Rise Farm
Alfriston
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN26 5TN
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 29/03/2024 to 27/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 107 Reviews
                8/10 from 107 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  107 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MichaelM44 3 reviews from this member

 I stopped here with a small tent just for one night whilst backpacking the South Down Way. The site is set in a lovely valley and is very quiet (apart from the odd rook in the trees!).

The owner was very friendly and it was really good value for money. The site covers two large fields. I pitched up the top so as to be sheltered by the trees with my tent catching both the evening sun and then the sunrise the following morning.

It took a couple of minutes to walk to the toilet block which includes hot showers The facilities are simple but clean.

The village of Alfriston is only a few minutes walk away and it has pubs, a tea room and a good general store. A walk past the church to the river gives beautiful views of an idyllic part of England

I highly recommended this site, especially for those backpacking the South Downs Way. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ben_murphy 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for a night and had a great albeit short stay. The facilities are exactly what you need and are nice and clean. There was plenty of hot water.

It's in a nice place in a valley between woodland. The village of Alfriston is lovely and has at least three pubs serving food and a well stocked shop.

Oh and it was a very very reasonable amount to stay there. The gentleman who came to collect the money couldn't be nicer either and made sure that we were comfortable.

We'll definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scottfree 1 review from this member

 We had a wonderful weekend (of the Royal Wedding) spent in Alfriston. The site was in a lovely setting with good facilities - what more could we ask for? Oh yes, and the weather was warm and sunny too.

Some sites we've stayed on around the world are often just too well appointed, managed and manicured, Alfriston on the other hand is comfortable and friendly and just what we were looking for.

Roy also made the pre-booking arrangements (not that they will always be required) no trouble at all.

We'll be back. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BOBWILDERS 4 reviews from this member

 The site is in a beautiful, quiet location. It is split into two fields; the first is an enclosed, well kept area for Caravan and Campers Members and the second field is a much larger open field for general tents and motor homes.

We stayed in the second field, half of which is flat and the other half on a slope. You can pitch your tent wherever you like. At one end of the field are some electric hook ups, but I think there are only about six of these and so I presume you are best to book in advance for these. Having said that, we decided not to be in the electric hook up section because we preferred to be out in the open area of the field rather than cramped into one end.

On the bank holiday we visited there was a pretty even split of people, half being groups of young families and the other being walkers. Although there were no signs up warning against making noise, everybody was respectful, quiet and made little or no noise after about 10.00pm.

The nearby village of Alfriston is perfect as it is only a 5minutes walk from site and has 3pubs, restaurants, newsagents and grocery store. Seaford is only a 4miles away if you want to visit the beach or go to a supermarket. There is also a small (expensive) zoo about 3miles away.

The only downside to the site is that the toilet and shower facilities are very basic. They are clean and have plenty of hot water etc, but the site would be perfect if they had purpose built, modern showers and toilets.

The site has only been open 4years and so I expect that new buildings will be built at a later date once the site becomes more established. It only cost us 12 a night for two adults, one child and one dog, which I think is a bargain. I would happily pay much more than this if they decided to build some new showers/toilets.

So, in summary it is a hidden gem of a site with lots of potential. We will definitely visit again soon. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hoffen 5 reviews from this member

 Found the campsite well sign posted in a good location just beyond the picturesque town of Alfriston.

The site itself has 2 distinct areas, the first for members which benefit from the mowed lawns and designated flat marked pitch areas. The second, which I used is presumably for the general passing trade and is basically a large field with no special conveniences.

The wash room and toilet facilities are adequate, with good showers and covered open air wash areas. Hot running water was not an issue although it was admittedly quiet.

Fresh drinking water is provided from several taps dotted around the field. As it was not busy we had the choice of where to pitch, which was just as well as much of the field in on a slope.

The owner was pleasant and accommodating and charged us a fiver a head, which was fair. On the whole I would recommend the site to others and use the site again myself.

Its location is well suited to those wishing to explore the south downs and it has excellent road links to nearby Eastbourne, Newhaven and Seaford. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Achappell 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Alfriston campsite. We are a family of three and found the campsite had everything we needed.

The atmosphere is relaxed and peaceful, which started from the moment we arrived. Roy the owner is very welcoming and is on hand for advice on the local area.

The toilets and showers are adequate and clean. It would be great to have a shower block in the tent field in the future.

Our 2 yrs old girl really enjoyed herself. We visited Drusillas Zoo which is a 5 min drive away which was fantastic. The local village has all the shops that you need to restock supplies or grea pubs and restaurants to eat out in. There are lots of walking routes to take from the campsite which we tried to embark on.

Overall we had a very enjoyable stay and will definitely return for another break. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Slm1401 1 review from this member

 We stayed here in August and despite not particularly good weather we had a lovely weekend. The campsite is lovely and quiet with simple and clean amenities - exactly as described and what we were after.

The location is beautiful and peaceful and other campers seem to keep themselves to themselves and keep the noise to a minimum after about 10.30pm.

The new shower blocks for the men have been built and the ladies are being done next month but even so they were acceptable with a handy little kitchen area with a fridge/kettle/microwave if ever you wanted to use it.

We took 4 teenage girls with us and they all managed to keep themselves entertained by going for walks to the local village and keeping a camp fire going (in a fire pit) for the most of the weekend - exactly what camping should be about - not commercialised!

We will definitely be going back to this one - we think we've found a nice little site that's not over crowded - and also a good price.

Great site owner too, friendly and approachable. Thanks for a lovely weekend :) 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ginster-pies 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed here in the week before and the weekend of the bank holiday. Its a lovely, basic site. The showers and facilities are ok - better for the men than for the ladies, but Roy, the ever helpful owner, did recommend that my partner used the mens showers during the week when it was quiet. He also promised a further refurb for october, when the whole shower block is going to be improved.

During the week, the site was really quiet, and a lovely space, despite the weather, but my only complaint would be that it was probably a bit too full for the bank holiday. Part of the main field had been reserved for a rally, but everyone else was sardined in - to the point, where we went out for the day, and found a tent in the spot where we normally left our car ( ie - very close). The caravan field was virtually empty, and you can't help but think that a bit of common sense should have prevailed to make more room for the normal campers.

Alfriston is a lovely little village, with plenty of eating out options, and the surrounding area is great for walking and days out to brighton, beachy head, cuckmere haven, eastbourne. The list is almost endless!

We don't often return to campsites, but would definitely go back to his one if we happened to be back in this area. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brighton-ben 5 reviews from this member

 We made our second visit to Alfriston Camping Park the Thursday and Friday prior to the August Bank Holiday, on arrival there was plenty of space to pitch the tent. There was part of the field roped off for a motorcaravan rally but still a good half left for private campers.

The weather was very wet on the first night but fortunately the new tent held up and the field didn't become water logged. The gents showers were much improved to our first visit as they were out of order on that visit. Nice that you don't have to pay for them and there is plenty of hot water. There is apparently another shower planned for the gents for next season.

Not sure about the female facilities as didn't use.

Toilets were clean and stocked with paper, a bit of a walk from the tent field but there is a portaloo up there you can use if you don't want to walk so far.

All in all lovely stay and good value for money at 6 pppn, no extras for the car or if we put a wind break up. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tmfreitag 1 review from this member

 I've been to Alfriston Camping with my kids aged 12 and 14. Low-priced, quiet rural place on a horse farm with plenty of space and a nice view on the hills. They have separate sites for tents, caravans and mobile homes. There is no electricity on the tents' site. The showers and toilets are basic but clean, with enough room.

Roy, the owner, comes along at least twice the day; he is always helpful.

The village Alfriston is only a some-minutes walk away and has a cute shop with everything you need (not really cheap of course), non-food and food including organic bread, baguettes, croissant and stuff.

We stayed two nights on our way from Germany to the South-West, and we liked it. Also to take a trip to Brighton, Alfriston is a convenient and non-expensive base camp. 


Previous     107 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Alfriston Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Alfriston Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Alfriston Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Alfriston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


43609 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement