Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Myrus Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Banff > Myrus Holiday Park Reviews

Myrus Holiday Park
Myrus Crossroads
Macduff
Banff
Aberdeenshire   (Browse area)
AB45 3QP
Tel: 01261 812845
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 01/04/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/04/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 71 Reviews
                9/10 from 71 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  71 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Scruffyish 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights and loved every minute of it. First of all I would like to say that all the previous reviews are spot on, this really is a wee gem of a site!

Dot (the warden) was lovely, it was a bit windy on our first day and out of the blue she appeared with a wind-break and mallet for us to use which was very much appreciated we were also offered the use of a pump for the airbeds (we did have 1 with us but it chose not to work!)

The centrally heated toilets and shower facilities are kept immaculately, and at all times were a pleasure to use.

Although we did not use the laundry we couldn't help but have a wee peek in and again the facilities are spotless, washing machine, dryer, iron and ironing board plus a basket full of pegs and 2 large rotary dryers just outside the door.

The dish-washing and food prep area was in a lovely wee wooden shed and thanks to the tireless efforts of Dot was always kept clean.

We are local to this campsite and had intended to go further afield however the weather forecasts were dire and this was a new tent so decided to play it safe and go to Myrus, and I'm so glad we did. We were made to feel so welcome that I wouldn't have any hesitation in recommending this well-run and impeccably kept site. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: SandJBavister 2 reviews from this member

 Had to find somewhere to write a review for this campsite.

I cannot possibly put into words the amazing way we have been looked after here.

This has proved to be a real haven for us whilst we are trying to cycle our way from Aberdeen to Inverness!

We have been shown so much kindness I am overwhelmed.

The facilities and site is immaculate. Never seen campsite showers like it! Absolutely Fantastic.

I would recommend this place. Without a shadow of a doubt the best campsite we've ever stayed at. I have no words for how incredible this place is. Best stop so far. If you're staying in this area, definitely stay here. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Iainmac1 1 review from this member

 Visited myrus caravan park in August 2012. this is a 5 star park. Facilities are of the highest standards. The pitches are spacious and have water, electric, and tv connection. The touring part of the site is adult only and makes the stay even more enjoyable. The warden could not be more helpful assisting us to site the caravan and making sure we had everything we required. This is a beautiful part of the country and well well worth exploring. A return visit is planned for Easter and summer 2013. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarahb0509 1 review from this member

 We were just starting out on our travels around Scotland, and were looking for a campsite near Banff. We followed the signs to the local caravan park, which happened to be Myrus Caravan Park. It was getting a little late in the evening, but we were warmly greeted by the warden Jim.

We set up our tent on the lovely, well kept grass, in-between the nice neat driveways. The layout of the site was very well done with most tents/caravan sites close to the extremely clean and new looking amenities block. (it was almost cleaner than my own bathroom at home!).

It is a lovely caravan park/campsite. We would have loved to stay even longer than the 1 night that we could. We would definitely return here should time be on our side.

Definitely recommend it! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Grass Hopper 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for 1 night on the way home from our holidays.

This has to be one of the best kept, tidiest sites that we stayed on during our holidays this year.

Everything that has been said about the toilets is absolutely correct and it is worth visiting this site just to see them!

Brilliant site, didn't meet Jim but the owners were more than welcoming and helpful. They offered us a tv cable but as it happened where we were sited in the new hardstanding area at the bottom, we got a signal and had a good enough picture. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Firefly12 3 reviews from this member

 What a find! We were redirected here as the site we intended to stay at was full. Great base for exploring North East Coast of Scotland. 5/10min walk from MacDuff where there is a shop and pharmacy. Next door to a driving range with coffee shop.

We were given a warm and friendly welcome by warden Jim, who escorted us to our pitch and offered us a tv cable if needed. Mainly grass pitches but some gravel ones at the back.

This is an adult only site but dogs were allowed. There are residential caravans (about 10 of them) where children are welcome.

Lovely clean facilities, especially the toilet block which was spotless and warm with power showers and music! 5 star.

We will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Val0712 33 reviews from this member

 Just returned from two nights at this wonderful site! The site is immaculate in every way.

The pitches are sum of the largest we have seen and they all have electric / water / waste facilities.

Folk have said in previous posts about traffic noise, yes this can be heard but we were given a choice of pitches and the one we had was at the very bottom of the park away from it all and it was ace!

I must say again what has been said before but the toilet/shower block is far better than 5 star!

Banff and macduff are both about 1. 5 miles each way from the site and are nice little fishing villages with nice harbours and marines.

We took the push bikes with us as we find this a great way to travel on our holiday although the cycle back up the hill from macduff was hard going.

All in all a really nice 10 out of 10 site and we will return 1 day 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The2as 1 review from this member

 Being new to caravanning, we looked about at a few sites before visiting Myrus and our minds were made up straight away that this was a park we would want to use. It really appealed to us in that no children are about the park to cause noise or nuisance but they were only too happy for us to have our dog stay with us. She absolutely loves it. The facilities are all top notch and definitely 5 star. It's wonderful to always go into an immaculate toilet/shower block. There are also more than adequate laundry facilities and your usual waste disposal areas. Having our touring caravan permanently sited at Myrus this year, we have thoroughly enjoyed all our visits to the park. During our last visit in August were very pleased to see the Warden Jim back. He was away on holiday during our previous visit and although the owner was at the site and made us welcome when he did come around, there was no one there to greet us - usually within minutes of arriving Jim is there with his warm smile and offers of help - he is a fantastic asset to the site.

If we had to comment on anything to the negative we would only have two things to mention - 1. The road traffic can be a bit noisy at times but does die down at night and 2. The shop doesn't really supply any essentials (although you can arrange for papers and bread to be delivered) - but then there is a shop about 5 minute walk away so it really is not an issue for us.

If you are not wanting to go into MacDuff itself, the site is really close to Banff and you can be at the beach for walks within 5-10 minutes in the car (or walk down to the marina)and there are also lots of little villages along the coast to visit. We will certainly continue to stay at Myrus for as long as they will have us.

Highly recommended & really is 5 star ***** 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Danne 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for four nights. Warden was on holiday but the owners were on site. They also had someone very competent covering when they were not there. (she was a gem).

Nothing was too much trouble for any of them. It is one of the nicest sites we have been to, and anyone complaining about the site should seriously consider giving up caravanning, as you will struggle to find anywhere better.

Will definitely go back but may have to book weeks in advance if word about this site gets out. Five star. (sorry ten) 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kanno 7 reviews from this member

 We and another couple have just returned from a very nice relaxing week at this site it is small, spotlessly clean, site, there are ten residential caravans and space for around 25 caravans, motor homes and tents. No children are allowed in the touring area, so this is designated an Adults only site.

We arrived at 12:30 on the 23rd of July 2010, to stay for seven nights.

We were met by Jim the very friendly warden. Booking in took us all of three minutes. Jim then provided us with a television Ariel cable; no deposit was required which is very unusual these days. The cable was to provide us with a digital free view connection which was excellent.

Jim then accompanied us to our designated pitch and guided us onto our pitch, and then connected the free view cable up for us. We were asked if we would like daily papers and bread each day, which delivered each Morning at approximately at 08:00.

As has been said in other reviews the toilets are immaculate I Challenge anyone to find cleaner more modern toilets in any caravan park in the UK. These consisted of two urinals, two private cubicles for washing, two wcs and three power showers. The ladies have three of everything except the urinals

There is also a separate disable toilet, for anyone with disabilities. The toilets are open 24-7 no key or number entry system which made for a nice change.

Would be a nice touch to supply a mop and bucket to allow users to mop up any small spills after their shower.

The Launderette contains a new washer and dryer and free use of an iron with two drying areas outside. Jim removes the Shower mats from each shower each day and washes them in the laundry.

This an excellent base for exploring the north east coast of Scotland, Banff is a two minute drive where there is a Somerfields and Tesco supermarkets. And various other shopping there is also various takeaway restaurants.

What I did notice was that some inconsiderate people had used disposable BBQs and placed them on the grass burning it in various places. Perhaps it would be an idea for the site to supply small flag stones to allow people to place their disposable BBQs on to prevent burning the grass.

Every other day Jim would come around and have a chat to see everything was OK. This is a much laid back site I never saw one list of rules anywhere.

Now the not so good bits the Main A947 Aberdeen road runs right past the site. All of the touring area is the furthest away from this road so the noise isnt too bad.

If you are looking for a quiet, clean relaxing site in the north east of Scotland and dont have children then give this site a try you will not be disappointed. I will definitely return and would do so more often if it was not a three and a half hour tow. 


Previous     71 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Myrus Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Myrus Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Myrus Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Banff      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Aberdeenshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the countrys leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2886 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to 599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth 1,999

Open Today's Window