Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Henlow Bridge Lakes

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Bedfordshire > Henlow Village > Henlow Bridge Lakes > Reviews

Henlow Bridge Lakes
Bridge End Road
Henlow
Henlow Village
Bedfordshire   (Browse area)
SG16 6LN
Tel: 01462 812645
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 200 pitches. 6 Lodges. 6 Cabins. 3 Pods
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 112 Reviews
                9/10 from 112 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  112 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mand1 16 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site. The wardens were welcoming, helpful and friendly and gave us useful information about the nearby walks and local amenities. The toilet and shower block was lovely and warm and always clean, with plenty of hot water. The Five Bells was the nearest pub serving food, it only took about 20 minutes to walk there from the site & was family friendly, very popular and busy so best to book. Only a few minutes walk from the Station too, if you want to visit London, not on our agenda this weekend, but could be useful. We will definitely visit this site again. 


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Davemiles871 2 reviews from this member

 I really like this site.

We went to this site during a very wet period at the end of the year but this is not an issue. Even though it rained almost the entire time, the ground stayed good and solid, and the roads were always usable. The facilities are superb, always clean and tidy, and the shop is well equipped and modern, the staff are friendly. If you are using this as a base for touring the area, then its pretty good as its a few hundred yards from Hemlow Station, and there are quite a lot of things to do within a short drive, including a superb pub just on the way into Hemlow Village itself. My only criticism would be that if you are a sensitive sleeper, the trains and traffic can be (only a little) intrusive.

The site is oriented towards fishing, and from the look of it there are some quite good facilities for this, including dedicated loos/showers etc. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Denise Grayston 1 review from this member

 We have visited this site several times over the past 3 years.

It is always immaculate, the facilities are of high quality and the staff are always friendly, welcoming and helpful.

The pitches are generous in size and are equipped with individual electric and water point.

We are particularly glad of the disabled friendly facilities and environment. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Outwellfan 2 reviews from this member

 This is a great campsite! Owner and all the staff were unfailingly helpful and pleasant.

Facilities are excellent, toilets and showers always clean, water always hot. Really useful disabled/family shower room, especially if you have smaller children who can't cope with high up fixed showers. Free WiFi with long work surface and electric sockets to plug in computers. Free hairdryer and iron. Washing up room with a TV. Plenty of local information, with emergency numbers, places to visit, pubs etc.

Shop has plenty of basics, bread etc can be ordered, alcohol on sale, lots of camping 'bits' if you've broken or forgotten anything + fishing equipment for the lakes facility.

Pitches completely flat (drainage is excellent) and a generous size. Main area has electric and a tap to each pitch. Main part of site is built around a large, well equipped playground with variety of equipment for all ages, it is very much the heart of the site, when we were there the children played there all day long, many families chose to stay on the site all day because of this. Very pleasant walk around the fishing lakes and other footpaths accessible from the site.

Some shops at Henlow Camp but not far to Hitchin or Baldock supermarkets.

Don't do fishing but fishermen seem very pleased with facilities, own loos and we saw some large fish caught.

Only downside is that site is next to A507 so there is quite a lot of traffic noise, this lessens at night but might disturb light sleepers. Arlesey rail station is about 3 mins walk away with trains to London - the trains didn't disturb us at all!

On a wet day, fully recommend the Stondon Transport Museum, quirky and eclectic collection of cars and motorbikes and other interesting things. Sadly their full scale replica of Captain Cooke's ship Endeavour burnt down this year but there is still loads to see. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Rookie55 1 review from this member

 My husband & I are first time campers with a small converted van & awning & chose Henlow for our maiden visit out for a practice run. We wanted somewhere that was quiet with a little privacy to practice putting up awning on van etc & avoid total embarrassment!. The site is beautiful with hanging baskets & masses of flowers all around. Well kept & super clean. The owner was very helpful. We were allocated a hard standing pitch with electric hook up. There was also a drinking water stand on the pitch too, in a snug corner with grass either side & pretty trees. Very cosy. (H16). The site was so clean. Immaculate amenities block with toilets & showers & access to Wi-Fi. There are also fishing lakes on the site & the shop was fully stocked with food coffee machine etc & camping & fishing equipment. We stayed overnight for the first time but are already sorting out a return date. It was so quiet & restful. We didn't have time to visit the surrounding area outside the park but will do so net time we go. A highly recommended site. 10/10. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Knewbury 1 review from this member

 Henlow has the Clarks Field which we hired for our wedding. It included a roundel (treed area with gala tent, BBQ, drinks tent, fire pit with log store, lots of picnic tables and plenty of sunshine! We were also allocated a quarter of the field for our guests who camped all weekend. We had the perfect weekend!

The campsite staff couldn't do enough to help our wedding run smoothly. They laid on special tractor rides for our guests, which they all loved! The pitches were huge and neatly manicured. They have installed wc/shower/wash up blocks for the fields, in addition to the main facilities block on the main campsite. They have a licenced shop selling beer and wine, as well as almost everything else one could need. They have a large playground for the kids which seems to kept them occupied all day. Ideal! There are man made fishing lakes as well as two large natural lakes. Easy to access from the A1M and M1 - what more could you want!

Every one of our guests (day and weekend campers) lived this site and some will definitely be revisiting Henlow. This site has even converted some non campers!

Treat yourselves and give this site a visit :) 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Landy-Trax 15 reviews from this member

 We spent a weekend here with a group of friends. On arrival we were impressed with the site in general but as we progressed through to our pitch we seemed to pass through the nice bit to the cheap seats where the roadway turned into churned mud. This aside, the pitches were a good size.

The toilets and showers are in a portacabin and on the morning we tried to use the showers they were cold so gave up and used our van instead the next day. There is road noise from a very busy road nearby and noise from the mainline into London. When leaving the site the exit takes you out past the Arlesey Station.

The shop is well stocked and the fishing looked good.

On review overall, this is a noisy site and not ideal for a quiet break away. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Keithccs 2 reviews from this member

 This site is excellent. It did not bother us but some may be concerned by road/rail noise on some pitches.

We have a large RV 35' long and accessed the site with a squeeze, though when leaving Chris kindly opened the back gate to ease things further.

Great lakes for fishing, strolling, sitting, or photography like me!

Facilities are very good also. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Soggous 11 reviews from this member

 Booked three tent pitches for my son's birthday party. We only live 15 mins away from this site, we chose it for convenience to home. Booking was done by phone and email, staff were very helpful and accommodating to our needs. We had day visitors coming one day and guests coming for one night only, etc.

Had to pay 20 cash deposit on arrival for a key to open the 5-bar gate that secures the site at night. We also hired a fire pit for the weekend for 25 (included firelighters and a tub of logs, and delivery to the site).

Entrance to the site is via electronic gate, I believe most guests who stay in the main part of the campsite have a key fob to operate this gate but we were not fortunate to receive said fob so had to keep getting in and out of our car to request the gate be opened. Bit of a hassle.

We were located on one of the five rally fields (Maple), which we had to ourselves, great for playing ball games and just spreading out. Other large parties were located in other fields around the site, so despite being spread out and not near anyone else, the campsite was very busy.

Generous tent pitch, EHU pitches were much larger than non-electric ones.

There was a 'new' toilet and shower block for the use of the rally field campers, this comprised portacabins with ladies and gents loos (3 for ladies and 1 for men plus urinal; I understand from the men we stayed with that 1 toilet is not enough. ) Four or five showers (with chair, sink, hooks and curtain; plenty of room to move), and a dishwashing room. Showers were clean on Saturday morning (push button operation) but on Sunday morning they were appalling, grass everywhere. The toilet roll and paper towels also ran out on Saturday evening, not good enough with so many people on site. More attention needs to be paid to keeping the block clean and stocked when so many campers were on site.

There was a large playground, which my kids and their friends spent hours playing on, we hardly saw them! Also fishing lakes if you fancy trying fishing. The site offer tractor rides around the site too, great for kids, not so great for campers when the tractor passes by the tent. ('and on our left is a birthday party. ')

At night there was a lot of noise from the 'inner roundel', where a large party was taking place. We enjoyed the music, and it shut off at 11 pm every night, so wasn't a problem. Other people might not like that though. Road noise is a downside though (A507 constant noise), and the Great Eastern railway runs alongside the site, although I didn't notice the noise from that so much. Also some plane noise from Henlow airfield, again, not really a problem (no flying at night).

Positives of A507 and train line are location, London and Cambridge are easily accessed by rail, and Milton Keynes via the A507. Local towns worth a visit are Hitchin, Letchworth, Baldock; Shuttleworth is nearby, and there's great walking along the Hicca Way, which goes around the site.

All in all, a great local site, but busy and a bit on the expensive side, but good for a last-minute weekend away or party weekend with friends. Just take your own loo roll, and ear plugs. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Robt1972 2 reviews from this member

 This is a really nice site and the team there are very welcoming.

You can hear the train line nearby, but to be honest it wasn't really a problem and wasn't very loud.

Great for children with a brilliant play area for them and great for fishers. Took my children for the first time and they loved it.

Will definitely be returning again. 


Previous     112 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Henlow Bridge Lakes child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Henlow Bridge Lakes?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Henlow Bridge Lakes dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Henlow Village      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Bedfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3475 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement