Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Amerden Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Berkshire > Maidenhead > Amerden Caravan & Camping Site Reviews

Amerden Caravan & Camping Site
Old Marsh Lane
Dorney Reach
Maidenhead
Berkshire   (Browse area)
SL6 0DZ
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 50
Open: Closed For 2019, Reopening 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 161 Reviews
                9/10 from 161 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  161 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Helenb1 4 reviews from this member

We visited this lovely little site over Easter for our son's 3rd birthday and a trip to Legoland. We had a great time and would thoroughly recommend this site. It is small and very friendly. The owners were very helpful and the site was immaculate. You can hear the noise from the motorway but it is a constant hum and you really don't notice it at all. The facilities are good and were very clean. Only 3 sinks for washing up and 3 showers in each block but its such a small site that we never had to wait. The children's play area is small but great for our 5 and 3 year old and they loved it. We had requested to be near the play area and we were right next to it in a lovely spot which was perfect. The river is only a couple of minutes walk away with a lock to sit and watch the boats go by. Our boys loved it and the lock keeper let them press the buttons to open the gates which they thought was fantastic. The site is perfect for visiting Legoland (but never go on a bank holiday!) and Windsor Castle. The boys loved both despite the queues! There is a Sainsbury a few minutes drive from the site which was handy. All in all this is a great site for families and we would thoroughly recommend it. We will be back!

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kalia 1 review from this member

My first time camping and absolutely loved the experience.

There was a group of 8 plus 2 dogs.

The campsite was well equipped and extremely clean. I like my home comforts and felt at home with the warm showers, hair dryer, washing line and electrical points.

Nice surrounding areas with nice walks to bray and dorney and sainsburys just up the road too.

Despite being by the motorway by the 2nd night we used to the noise.

I felt very safe walking around the campsite on my own at night.

A very enjoyable experience.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Toyotakid 4 reviews from this member

Very easy to get to about 5 mins from motorway

Welcomed by site wardens who were very helpful and informative. site was very clean and easy to manoeuvre into our pitch, which was large and spacious (next to kids play park and as this closed at 9pm this wasn't an issue for us as 2 of our kids 11 and 8 spent most of the time on the play area).

Really nice walk, 10 mins at most, along side of river Thames and under M4 to superb play area which puts our local parks to shame, interactive equipment and swings and swing seats that were brilliant even for my 15 year old and our little man of 17mths.

Legoland 20 mins away, no more than, but get there early: 9.30 is ideal so set off at 9am and buy the qbots, they are expensive at 40 each (excluding entrance fee) but we all got on rides 3-4 times, on a very busy day hot Monday in August

Yes you get some noise from M4 but that's not a problem in the day as you either aren't there or the noise from kids playing etc. drowns it out.

Night time my wife didn't struggle to sleep, although I woke at about 5am from the drone of the traffic

Good site reasonable rates

Great facilities

Camp kitchen a superb idea

Worth staying at

Will stay again

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LlewB 14 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site either side of a day trip to Legoland Windsor. From the reviews it seemed like the best one locally, and if we go again this would certainly be our first port of call.

The site is definitely well drained, on our journey there we came through a torrential rain storm (drains overflowing, lots of surface water). The level site meant we were pitched quickly, and by the morning the few puddles had gone.

Toilet facilities were very clean, and plenty of them. Having got a soaking setting up our pitch, I was greeted by the three words I love to read at a camp site 'Caution, Hot Water' - if only it was always the case.

Although no shops within walking distance, they did have a vending machine which stocked a few snacks at sensible prices and you could order a cooked breakfast nearby. Back in the car and it's only a few minutes from Tatlow, and are considering returning there and using as a base to explore London in the future.

Kids enjoyed the playground, although only had a chance to use it on the morning we were leaving.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kcrozier 9 reviews from this member

Just got back from a great week at this campsite and we agree with the other reviews that this site is the best we have stayed at and could not find fault with anything. The facilities are well looked after by the wonderful wardens and owners and we will definitely visit again soon.

Everywhere is clean and tidy and the wardens did an amazing job of keeping everyone happy and helping where ever they can. The kids loved the park and made lots of new friends as did we. The atmosphere is very relaxed and would recommend this site to anyone wanting to visit this area.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Melbob 1 review from this member

We used this site as a base for visiting Legoland and London.

The wardens work hard all day maintaining the site and it shows, the facilities were very clean and in working order.

Taplow train station is a 5 minute drive away from the site, we parked the car here and got on the train into London and on following the advice from the wardens we found navigating the underground system much easier and cheaper than we expected.

The noise of the motorway didn't bother us at all, you just get used to it, although when we got back home our house seemed really quiet.

All in all a really lovely site which we would definitely visit again.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shadesofgreen 1 review from this member

This site recommended Armeden as a good base to explore Legoland and other local theme parks. Well, What a top recommendation. My two children and I had an amazing time and found the campsite to be everything we had hoped for and more.

We were pitched next to the park (good size pitches) which was ideal for us and found all of the facilities to be of a very good standard and spotlessly clean to boot. To top it all, the wardens really went that extra mile to make our stay an experience to remember. Such a friendly, family oriented place. So. A big thank you for everything!

During our visit we also stayed at the Armeden Lodge B&B which is virtually next door to the campsite and features on their website. Yet another hidden gem. The owners really make you welcome into their quaint, tranquil piece of paradise. The room was great, we had our own fab bathroom and the breakfast, well what can I say. We had to book in for it even while we were camping!

All in all, 'fantastic' and the only draw back to it all is that I'm now sharing my knowledge with you and potentially booking these places up prior to our next visit which. Most certainly will be happening sometime soon in the near future!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nuttycandy 1 review from this member

This site is fab! Great location for visiting Legoland and only a short drive into Windsor. We even went into London on the train for the day from Windsor, with a 5year old and a 4month old baby!

The site itself is very well maintained and you feel quite well screened from other campers as there are a lot of trees and bushes. The facilities are well looked after and clean, I only wish more sites would start adding a plug socket in the bathroom for straighteners :)

There is a constant noise from the M4 but it didn't keep any of us awake, neither did the planes taking off from Heathrow.

We would definitely use this friendly welcoming site again.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Johnny B 11 reviews from this member

Just returned from this site. What a great location and great little site. Went with the wife on her first camp trip with us and she loved the site.

The river is about 5 minutes walk away down a little quiet foot path. My son and I loved watching all the boats going through Bray lock. Unfortunately we didn't have enough time to spend any more time exploring the river so will have to return again to see more of that.

Legoland is around 15 - 20 mins away, just 1 junction up on the M4 and Chessington W. O. A. Is around 45mins round the M25.

There's a Sainsburys supermarket up the road and local shops up on the A4. There's also a Harvester pub about 5 minutes away on the way in to Maidenhead in case you want a break from camp cooking.

The site has great facilities including showers that are clean, large & have loads of free hot water. There's laundry facilities, washing up facilities & a camp kitchen with fridges/freezers & a microwave.

There's even an ironing board & iron if you want it. The wardens are friendly & helpful without being over the top. Its nice to be camping in the orchard seeing all the trees in fruit with apples, pear & I think plums.

Traffic noise is not that bad really and we didn't notice it at all after a bit.

All in all a great successful trip and we will definitely return to this site.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Malcolmtrot 13 reviews from this member

Just back from a lovely stay at Amerden. I had chosen the site due to the proximity to Legoland.

The site was really nice with a great family atmosphere and the owners were really nice and helpful. The location is excellent being close to Maidenhead, Windsor and, of course, Legoland.

There is a little playground for the kids and a well equipped camp kitchen. The washing facilities are clean and never seemed busy.

As others have said, the M4 is very close and the noise from the road us quite loud but it is constant and you soon get used to it. In fact it actually meant that we didn't need to tiptoe around hoping not to wake the kids.

We will definitely stay here again to explore Windsor and London.

Previous     161 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Berkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2504 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019