Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cashel Camping In The Forest Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Glasgow > Cashel Camping In The Forest Site Reviews

Cashel Camping In The Forest Site
Loch Lomond
Rowardennan
Glasgow
Argyll   (Browse area)
G63 0AW
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 168
Open: 26/04/2021 to 18/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 99 Reviews
                8/10 from 99 Reviews

Photos (14)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  99 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Redguscat 15 reviews from this member

 My friend and I stayed for three nights at this site during the 'Glasgow Fair' weekend. Despite being a local holiday the site wasn't particularly full - probably due to the poor weather and poor forecasts for the weekend.

I found this to be a pleasant site, some of the problems identified by earlier reviewers regarding the upkeep of the site appeared to have been addressed. The toilet block was clean and well-maintained, although there could be a few more showers perhaps. Good washing up facilities and a well-stocked shop, which is just as well as the site is several miles from the nearest shop (Balmaha).

Lovely views of the loch although the site can't do anything about the idiots on jetskis / speed boats etc who blight the area.

Having stayed both here and at the neighbouring site in the last few months, I think I prefer this site - quieter, and no one revving 4x4s and putting boats out at 6.30am! 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: TracyJen 13 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site over Easter. Was dubious about what to expect due to recent snow a few days before.

Completely taken by surprise! What a fabulous site, right on the shores of Loch Lomond! Large hard standing pitches with Electric hookup, some with picnic benches. Site had two toilet and shower blocks with dishwashing areas at both blocks. Yes, as said in previous reviews, floors did get grubby due to mud, but mops and buckets were in both, so no excuse not to clean up after use.

Staff were exceptionally pleasant and helpful, especially when my Husband felt that river running through site may burst its banks during the bad weather on Easter Monday and block us in. Staff were happy for us to change site, even though it was unnecessary in the end as site did not flood.

Weather was lovely for first few days so had plenty of walks around the Loch and in the Country Park opposite. Our Dog had an exceptional time as he was obviously a mermaid in a previous life. On arrival he saw the water from the window and that was where he flew as soon as we parked.

Local restaurants had menus on site, we did not venture to them as they were about 6 miles away in each direction. Excellent Recycling facilities on site. Plenty of space for children to play as well as a designated playground. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Glencarron 1 review from this member

 The location is stunning and idyllic right on the edge of Loch Lomond with Ben Lomond in the backround.

We found the site very quiet peaceful and as others have said it is a wee bit remote with the nearest town Drymen (Dri-min) a winding 9 miles away. The west highland way goes past the gate.

In our experience the toilets were very clean with lots of hot water there was also a washing machine, tumble dryer and ironing board.

We had a problem with our awning and the girl at reception came down and helped us to put it together we thought this was very helpful and kind of above the call of duty.

We will be back soon.

To sum up maybe a bit quiet but stunning scenery on Loch Lomond shore.

Have your camera ready all the time as the light changes constantly.

Very steep hill just after Balmaha a mile or two before the site engage low gear and you will not have a problem :) 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campergirl77 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed for 1 night in a tent without EHU. Spur of the moment trip - woke to a glorious Saturday morning and decided to through the tent in the car and go.

Tried to get in at a few campsites on the way but were all full - so gave Cashel a call - they were also full but offered us a quiet pitch by the pre-erected tents without hook-up for a reduced rate. Turned out to be the best pitch on the site - away from the madding crowd and with a stunning view of loch lomond!

I have seen cleaner toilets and showers to be honest - but I think because the site was so busy they were finding it difficult to keep up! Nice shop with cafe - didn't try it and only bought milk from the shop but seemed well stocked.

Minor annoyance was the noise of jetski's - only to be expected I suppose - this site is very popular with speedboat and jetski owners - many of whom have seasonal vans pitched along the waters edge.

However all was quiet by about 8pm allowing us to enjoy a beautiful sunset with a glass of wine as our kids played at the little play park adjacent to our pitch.

All in all a lovely site but next time I think we'll go for mid-week rather than the weekend madness! 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Amandajane77 3 reviews from this member

 The first impressions of the site upon arriving were not that great. We booked the site through the main booking office and were sent no instructions what so ever. I booked a premium pitch with hook up and own picnic table. I feel that I was wrongly led we were expecting to get water drainage and own water on pitch sadly I was wrong.

In the book it said there was a coffee shop and the sites idea of that was to sit in site office and drink from a machine. Granted we went early in season and they were only just setting up. The site was a mess to get to our pitch we went over bumps and pot holes and through a quite deep puddle.

We felt the site was very neglected. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The views from the pitch did just about make up for the poor state of the site. The toilet and shower blocks were o.k but only one was open at the time of visiting so we had a trek over the muddy site. Alas it did rain a lot but the walks around there are superb. Will not be visitng again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Enalla 7 reviews from this member

 We booked through Eurocamp (who we have travelled abroad with many times). I was delighted that they were doing UK for the first time though and even more pleased that they had a few sites in Scotland.
The site was beautiful. On the day we arrived it was sunny and warm and we couldn't believe the location. Right on the Loch, as it was pictured in the brochure. The kids got their wellies out straight away and headed for the Loch. There is a river on site too, so the kids needed nothing more really. There's a small park, which is really for the younger child, and mine are all older, but like I say, it wasn't necessary.
The Forest Holiday's rep was an absolute darling! As it's the first time in the UK, Eurocamp are using the FH reps instead of their own, and she bent over backwards to make sure we were comfortable.
We had a pre-erected tent, which made a change from our own one, but there was no electric, which meant that we didn't have a fridge (as you do on the Continent). There is a 4 ringed hob and a grill though.And because it's Scotland, a fridge is not entirely necessary. We've been spoilt in the past though, so I really think they should consider it, because of the price. We were 250 for a week, but if you go with your own tent and have electric, it's cheaper?! So, I guess it's up to the individual.
The weather was changeable, but it's Scotland!, and this meant that wellies were pretty essential, but we had some great days. However the toilets got messy (see other reviews, all say the same) but because we'd become friendly with the rep, we knew that she was sometimes doing everything singlehandedly. I think it was a shame, as it let the site down and at one point they closed the toilet block nearest to us for 2 days! After a mountain of complaints, the rep got up at 5am! and cleaned them out ready to open. When you see that kind of dedication, it makes you not want to complain too much.
There are a lot of static caravans at one part of the site, cleverly hidden at one side, but lots and lots of space for tents and vans. It's on the West Highland Way, so there's a small area for one-nighters and they all seemed perfectly happy with it. The shop was very expensive on site and very basic. They didn't have bbq coals, but the croissants (baked on site) were delightful in the morning.
The midges were out in force day and night, worse in the evening, but it's the West Coast! Waking up with a view of the Loch is fabulous. It never failed to take my breath away.
However, as beautiful as the place is, I wouldn't go back. The road to it is gorgeous, but too remote for me personally. The closest town / village is Drymen (pronounced Dri-min) and I must have travelled that road about a million times (I exaggerate, but it felt like it).
We went to Stirling a few times, it's only about 29 miles away, for cinemas etc. Balloch is also closeish. I'd go to Stirling if you want shopping etc. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 576 reviews from this member

 This campsite is in an amazing location. It is on the lake on the eastern side of Loch Lomond. This is the best side to visit, away from the main road on the west. Walking in the area is great, with the Ben Lomond trail starting just up the road at Rowardenan. Water sports are great on the loch, and there are regular ferries to take you on excursions.

The site's facilities were good, although a little tired at times. However, it was very busy. Prices were slightly expensive, but well worth it for the stunning location. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Brown05 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a couple of nights end July. Unfortunately it rained quite a lot and there were huge puddles across the paths and on quite a few of the grass pitches which were quite bumpy.

There were plenty of toilets and showers, but all the mud made them a bit messy - they could have done with a clean a little more often due to the wet weather.

The site was pretty basic really and was tucked away up a very windy road with a steep hill on a corner - we were glad we had a tent and didn't have to get a caravan up there!

There is a 10 deposit for the barrier card if you want to leave / return to the site during your stay, otherwise there is a parking area near the entrance.

It does have stunning views across the loch and is close to Ben Lomond if you want to walk up there - sadly the weather let us down. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Surfrat 4 reviews from this member

 Have used Forest Holiday Cabins before and was so impressed I thought we'd try out their camp site as well. For the money they charge I did expect a little more and was on the whole a little disappointed.
The site didn't feel very tent friendly, we were offered very limited areas to pitch in due to the wet weather which whilst I understand is not their fault the site is in Scotland and I should imagine is wet a lot of the time!
The toilets/showers were ok, a bit grubby, over flowing rubbish bins. Shop was ok, food choice was limited. Great location, right on the loch's shore line. Probably expected more due to Forest Holiday's lovely cabins but think I'll be trying a different site next time, shame as I was really hoping for better. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LeQueen 1 review from this member

 We'd read rave reviews about this site, so felt confident booking one of their Super Tents for the bank holiday weekend.

There's no denying that the location on the shores of Loch Lomond is beautiful. But unfortunately the camp site looked neglected. In some places the grass was 8-10 inches long, and the various pathways and tracks were deeply pot-holed, and were very much in need of repair.

The showers and toilets weren't especially clean. This situation was made worse by the consistent rain over the weekend, meaning that a lot of mud was being walked into the toilets. As far as I could make out the showers/toilets were only being cleaned once a day, not nearly regularly enough, especially in wet weather. The staff had left a mop and bucket in the toilets and left a notice asking people to clean up after themselves.

Our tent was roomy, with all the necessary basics. But it clearly had only been given a cursory clean before we arrived. The mattresses on the camp beds were covered in a fine layer of grit/sand and underneath the beds, and in the corners of the bedrooms, obviously hadn't been swept for some time.

The staff were friendly, but we arrived at 7.50pm to find Reception closed, despite it being advertised as being open until 8.00pm. But, they let us in with a smile, although they didn't seem to realise that we were arriving. We had booked only 5 days before, but in this instant techno-age I wouldn't have thought this a problem?

The camp site was busy, but I got chatting with several regulars who all expressed disappointment at how standards had slipped since the new owners took over. They said that although the new owners were friendly enough, their standards weren't nearly high enough for what had been a first class camp site. I had to agree - the whole camp site just didn't appear well looked after, it looked shabby and run down. It had all the facilities you needed, but everything just desperately needed smartening up. Cashel looked very much the poor relation compared to the immaculate looking Caravan & Camping Club site just down the road.

Locally, I can highly recommend The Oak Tree Inn at Balmaha. Excellent food and a good lively atmopshere. But don't bother with The Inn at Inversbeg. They have just had a multi million pound re-fit, and it looks very smart - but the staff are hopelessly inexperienced. Our meal took over two and half hours to complete, and whilst we were dining several other customers complained about their meals taking too long. One poor bloke asked a waitress for another drink, and she told him to go and get his own from the bar because she was too busy! 


Previous     99 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cashel Camping In The Forest Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cashel Camping In The Forest Site?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Cashel Camping In The Forest Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Glasgow      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5265 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement