Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Riverside Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Site Reviews

Riverside Caravan & Camping Park
21 New River Bank
Littleport
Ely
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
CB7 4TA
Tel: 01353 860255  or  07813 523960
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 49
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 118 Reviews
                8/10 from 118 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  118 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Debbietsos 2 reviews from this member

Had our first every outing in our new caravan, and chose riverside because it's was only 2 hours away and I'm so glad we did. A small site well kept and on arrival was shown to our pitch my the owner. Toilets and showers all very clean and tidy all the amenity were marked well. Shops and pub about 10mins away used the shops not the pub. Had a visit to ely well worth a look around. The trains across the river run about every 30 mins but you get used to the noise, at the back of the site is a pig farm and no the pigs didn't smell! in fact seeing them up close and running around made for a good walk with the dog, the weather was not great but all in all had a good weekend, and yes I will be going back when the weather is better next summer

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Davek0974 8 reviews from this member

Riverside is a very well presented site, all pitches were flat and level and the layout with it's randomly placed trees gives a very secluded feel to it. Check in was fast and easy and the owners are extremely friendly and approachable with any matter that comes to mind.

Being next the river Great Ouse makes it ideal for fishing etc, there is an excellent pub with riverside seating not more than 10 minutes stroll away along the river bank, the food here was good and prices acceptable.

Nearby Ely with it's wonderful cathedral is a great place to spend a day or two with a lot of historical interest to view, about a 15 minute drive from the site.

The site has free range chickens which were great fun and will eat out of your hands if you want, be warned that they can jump quite high

The road alongside the site did give some noise but not annoyingly so, amenities were very clean and well presented, adequate provision for waste and water were also made.

It's a great site for a quiet getaway, being adults only is a good thing were peace and quiet are all that is wanted.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mr bojangles56 3 reviews from this member

My husband and I stayed on this site over the bank holiday weekend in our campervan. We had a hook-up pitch. It's a small and very well kept site. The owners are friendly and helpful and personally show you to your pitch.

The toilet/shower block is immaculately kept. There was an abundance of apples which we were allowed to help ourselves to. My favourite part was meeting the pigs and piglets in the field behind the site(I love pigs).

Littleport is a short stroll along the river bank, there are a few shops (inc Co-op), a pub (friendly service) and takeaways.

A few minutes walk along the river bought us to The Swan bar/restaurant which we found to be a bit pricey for drinks, we didn't eat there. We had a lovely walk, in the opposite direction, to Ely, which was approximately 5miles away. Worth a visit.

We would recommend this campsite to others and would also stay there again. We could hear the trains go by, but they didn't bother us in the slightest.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Thebeeglies 16 reviews from this member

We spent 2 very pleasant days at Riverside in July. On arrival we were shown directly to our pitch by the owner who was charming and could not have been more helpful. Our pitch was level, grassy and enormous and came with a picnic table for us to use.

The site is small and extremely well maintained. The shower and loo block is immaculately clean and we never had to queue for a shower.

We had a couple of nice days out to Ely and Cambridge. Ely is a beautiful city and well worth a visit - gorgeous cathedral and lovely marina.

There were lots of fishermen on the site which is clearly popular with this crowd.

The site was very quiet at night and is an excellent base for touring this pretty area.

I found the road noise to be too much for my taste but if you were in a caravan it would not be a problem at night.

All in all a lovely site run by very pleasant, friendly owners.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Irons 13 reviews from this member

This is a lovely adult only site, beautifully kept and after reading about how they began it can understand why! The site itself is perfectly maintained, toilets kept clean all the time.

We were there for a week with friends who have a caravan and when we arrived the owners were very welcoming and made sure that we were together they gave us all the information about the site and Littleport.

If I was looking for a fault then the only one I possibly could find would be that on site or close by there is no where to exercise your dog off lead, as on site of course they are on lead and the river bank is too close to the road to let them off lead.

We found places a short drive away to let them run free

Watch out out for the friendly chickens

The road didn't bother us or the trains as they are few, there is a Tesco in Ely which is only a short drive away as well as the Co-op in Littleport I would also like to recommend the Indian and the Chinese as they deliver to your tent

All in all a good time was had thank you Steve and Vanessa

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Boxerdog1 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for 1 week site well sign posted easy acsess from road.

Site is well laid out and kept extremely clean and tidy.

Toilets clean and showers free plenty hot water

No dog walk on site but able to exercise dog off site on lovely walk along river bank, be aware of road, it can be quite busy at times

On a slight downside, pitch I was allocated was next to toilet block and fridges about 3 feet from caravan, so quite busy at times

Had at a sunday lunch at the nearby swan pub nice. Can also recommend Indian garden takeaway.

Would return again. Very handy for visiting Ely, Cambridge, Newmarket and surrounding area

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sceptical Camper 39 reviews from this member

Riverside is a small camping and caravan site nestling beside a minor road which runs alongside the high-banked Great Ouse on the outskirts of Littleport.

The entrance from the minor road is clearly signposted and is an easy turn-in for towed caravans. Being so flat, the fen is prone to wind but the campsite itself is surrounded by trees and the pitches are sheltered.

The site is adults-only and has a noise and car curfew - visitors returning late in the evening must leave their vehicles in the carpark. As a result, this was one of the quietest campsites I've stayed at.

There are static units around the edges of the site and grass pitches in the central areas for tents, motorhomes and touring caravans. On my visit, the majority of visitors were in caravans and motorhomes - there were fewer than half a dozen tents there.

The owners live on site and I found them to be friendly and helpful. The pitch fee for my small tent was 7 without EHU (electric hook up). EHU pitches are slightly more and there would be a 5 charge for each additional person.

The campsite is effectively a single field but the gravelled roadways, lengths of hedge and the many trees subdivide it into smaller patches. The pitching area is completely level with well-maintained grass. Pitches aren't marked but there's enough space to ensure adequate separation. The soil is soft and takes tent pegs easily. You can park one car next to your pitch but any additional vehicles must be left in the adjacent carpark.

There are EHU points around the edge of the site and in the centre; it appeared to me that all pitches would be within reach of EHU with a standard length cable.

The brick-built facilities block is in the centre of the site and thus equally convenient for all pitches. Outside, it provides covered washing-up sinks and drinking water taps; inside are the loos and showers. The gents has three cubicles, three showers and four basins (and, I was told, the ladies loos offer similar capacity). Rubbish bins and a sewage disposal point are adjacent to the block. The showers are free and on my visit everything was spotless and there was plenty of hot water.

There is no on-site shop but a shed beside the facilities block houses a fridge and a freezer which visitors can use free of charge - a nice touch, I felt. It was also nice to have the use of a picnic table and bench near my tent.

Open fires are not allowed on any part of the site and barbeques must be raised off the ground - bricks are available for this. Dogs are welcome but must be kept on a lead and exercised off-site.

There is a pub and restaurant right beside the river about five minute's stroll from the campsite and the small town of Littleport is about ten minute's walk. The town has a few shops including a small Co-Op. Littleport railway station (on the London to Kings Lynn line) is about 20 minutes walk from the campsite and offers a frequent service to Ely and Cambridge.

In summary, this is a well-maintained and delightfully quiet and peaceful campsite. Recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caspete 10 reviews from this member

When stayed at this site we had a speedy check in, was shown to our pitch and all seemed great.

Chickens are allowed to roam free and this can become very annoying. This is an adult only site, and one of the many rules states dogs must be on leads at all time (rightly so) both of these rules were kept to by all campers but the owners not only had children on site their dogs roamed free on the site. The owner can be very abrupt at times (Female).

The Swan pub a short walk away is lovely, sit by the river & watch all the boats go by, Food is excellent.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Daffodil41 48 reviews from this member

Visited this site for 2 nights on our way to the south coast.

Lovely site clean and pleasant toilet blocks, could have done with a mop and bucket for the showers to clean floor after use.

No shop on site but a freezer for blocks. A lovely walk on the river (The Great Ouse) to a very nice pub with very good food and you could eat over looking the river.

The walk into the village takes about 20/30 minutes a small coop and one or two other shops and a couple of Indian restaurants and Chinese take away.

Railway line close by but did not hear any trains. I believe there was a bus stop in the village but did not use.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alec wallace 3 reviews from this member

The site is small but well laid out with a mixture of static vans, permanent touring vans with awnings and visiting tents and caravans. I had a pitch with EHU and at 10 a night a bargain. Free hot water in the showers and washing up areas. These areas were kept spotless. The rubbish bins are fenced in and central to all pitches. The ground is level and the area in which we pitched pegs went in no problems. Fridge freezer for campers to use. The couple who own the site are friendly and tho' I did not need help I have no doubt would lend a hand if asked.

The site is off a well used road and within a few hundred yards there is a railway line. So there is some road and rail noise but personally no enough to deter me from coming here again. Its a good central location close to Ely, Cambridge & Duxford. Its close to a small village with pubs and restaurants but we never used them. I would recommend this place and will be using it again.

Previous     118 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2939 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019