Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Abbey Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > London > Abbey Wood > Abbey Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Abbey Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Federation Road
Abbey Wood
London   (Browse area)
SE2 0LS
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 185
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 69 Reviews
                9/10 from 69 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  69 in total, now showing 61 to 69                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Rochnia 14 reviews from this member

 This site is the Caravan Club at its best. The facilities were ample and spotless, the pitches were big and well laid out and the staff and warden very friendly and helpful. So close to the railway station for easy access to London. The site is as it says "positively rural" with all the benefits of a Caravan Club site very well maintained without being made to look like a housing estate - not a hanging basket in site! I will certainly return here.  


Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Floss_regularly 1 review from this member

 Location has to be seen to be believed - it's in the middle of what can only be described as an 'Only Fools & Horses' set!

A beautiful site (and quite a treat for the surrounding residents), clearly well looked after and just 2 minutes from the main bus route into Greenwich (15 minute ride).

After tackling the M25 for an hour on the Friday evening, our warm welcome from the staff was just what we needed - we didn't even need to 'clock in and cough-up' till the following morning!

Taking our 20-month-old certainly puts sites to the test, and we found all facilities to be perfect (the blocks were bone-dry containing spaceous cubicles and showers, lots of dishwashing/veg prep space and ample space for baby-changing).

Parking the 'van was a doddle - an ideal place for 'newbies' to practise.

You will need to drive or use public transport to get anywhere worthwhile, but the site has been located as the ideal 'park & ride' for tourists and weekenders alike.

A WORD OF WARNING - pay attention to the direction advice in your handbook. If we had listened to our GPS, we may have needed some reversing assistance from Del Boy & Rodney!

The verdict? Great for couples with babies who don't need parks or pools, ideal for beginners and perfect for a weekend's getaway! 


Date of Visit: January 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lozzer 4 reviews from this member

 Visited this site for weekend when site seeing around London. Very clean and tidy site, wardens were excellent and very helpful. Train station only short walk away.
Just planning are next visit to this site (Cant wait) 


Date of Visit: March 2002 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: David klyne 235 reviews from this member

 This site is open all year for Caravans, Motor Caravans and Tents. Non members also welcome. Advance booking advised Bank Holidays and July/August. 360 pitches. The Abbey Wood site is set in 9 acres of sloping woodland surrounded by suburban London. No doubt when the leaves on the very mature trees are out you would not be able to see so much of the surrounding houses. Despite the closeness or suburbia the site is reasonably quiet.
Our visit was in late March. Most of the site is on grass and most pitches are on a gentle slope, so levelling blocks are advised. There are some hardstanding areas but these can only be used by motor caravans and caravans without awnings. Tents have their own area which looked reasonably level.
There are three toilet blocks, although during our visit only one was open because the site was no where near full. Whilst kept perfectly clean the toilet blocks are not of the most modern design and perhaps not up the usual high standard normally found on a Club site.
The site office does not sell milk or newspapers but there are local shops only ten minutes walk away. Television reception is quite poor and there is no signal booster on this site.The main attraction of this site is the excellent public transport links to central London and other points of interest.
The station is right by thelocal shops. The Travel Cards are the best value but the station staff will be more than happy to advise on the best ticket to buy. The Dome and Greenwich are only a few stops along the line from Abbey Wood. Please note there are no car parking facilities at the Dome, except for Orange Badge holders. Central London is a 30 minute trip into Charing Cross. Also nearby is the Thames Barrier which has a visitor centre and parking. If you want to shop until you drop and you don't want to go into London, the Lakeside shopping centre is on the north side of the Dartford Crossing. The excellent state of the art Bluewater Centre is now open and this is just a 15 minute drive from the site.
Abbey Wood is quite easy to find. From the M25 take the A2 towards London. Leave the A2 at the Danson Interchange and follow the international camping signs. 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Lion_tamer20 18 reviews from this member

 My husband and I spent a week here and enjoyed every minute. After an initial bad start (we found the directions given to find the site confusing) once we found it we never looked back. Cannot rate the wardens and toilet/shower facilities high enough. Enjoyed spotting the local fox and although it is in a built up area once on site you immediately felt as though you were in the country.

The train station is a 5mins walk from the site and trains run every 10 mins to take you into central London (£7.20 return fare and that was for both of us)and took about 45mins. Even on evenings when we went to see a show there was no problem catching a train back. We found this to be an excellent site from which to see the sights of London and feel confident to recommend it to anyone wanting a similar holiay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: JanOz 5 reviews from this member

 Absolute gem of a place. A haven to return to after a busy day sightseeing in London and surrounds. Facilities are excellent, clean and there are heated floors in toilet and shower blocks. Tourist information in abundance. Wardens very helpful and sites large and level. 


Date of Visit: June 2005
Reviewer: Alan Dykes 9 reviews from this member

 The best site for access to central London. It is 7 minutes walk from the station and it's two pubs. There's a few late-opening shops at the station and trains into London Bridge and Charing Cross are frequent from Abbey Wood station (25 minutes by train).

Very nice tent area on site but watch out for kleptomaniacal squirrels. I was warned about these when I arrived but was neverthless surprised to find a packet of biscuits stolen from my tent and a small squirrel-sized hole deftly burrowed in the side of my inner tent. The empty packet was found outside the tent with no sign of the contents.

Quite expensive at £9.50 for just me in a one man tent but it is London I suppose. 


Reviewer: Lynne H. 12 reviews from this member

 Whitsun BH 2004 Th. - Mon.
Abbey Wood is the flagship of the Caravan Club sites and as such it provides facilities up to the highest expectations of tent and caravanners alike. It is a pleasant sloping site surrounded by trees and really doesn't feel as if it's in the middle of a town.
1 Shower block has underfloor heating, the others are heated also but not underfloor, but that lovely warm feeling.....can't beat it! Design of the shower cubicles very good, no more damp shoes as the floor gently slopes even outside the shower enclosure, and there is plenty of hanging space for towels and clean clothes. Showers and hot water always available, but not sure what it would be like in the Peak Season.
Other facilities to usual high standards, however unable to use spinner in only block that was open when we arrived (2nd block opened on the Saturday) as it was waiting fitting of safety stop to prevent it being opened whilst still rotating. This meant that washing took longer - and therefore cost more - in the tumble drier. Hope it's been sorted now.

As Caravan Club members we've visited many sites, and although this was our first time here it wasn't by choice - the Crystal Palace site was fully booked over the BH weekend. We probably would use this site again. Keep up the good work Abbey Wood. 


Reviewer: Cas54 20 reviews from this member

 New Year 2003/04
This was our second visit to Abbey Wood
We chose Abbey Wood as we were where going to London theatre for New Years Eve

We arrived 30th Dec with 6 year old and was sited next to play area, which was a bonus. The weather was kind until midnight on the 31st, then rain on and off till we left on 2nd Jan, but didn't spoil are stay. There were plenty of other camper's on site including a tent (very brave)

The site was very clean and tidy. The warden clears the leaves etc. from the walk ways daily. The toilet blocks are perfect (they are spotless with heated flooring and smell beautiful, a pleasure to use. The kitchen earea is the same. Two of the 3 blocks were open.

At the information office there is an internet computer, very handy. London transport tickets are on sale at reception, and the station is a short walk from site (not so good coming back as it is all uphill. The West End is only 30 odd minutes away

We will definatly be going back there again. 


Previous     69 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 69     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Abbey Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Abbey Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Abbey Wood Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Abbey Wood      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in London

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3000 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement