Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sandwich Leisure Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Site Reviews

Sandwich Leisure Park
Woodnesborough Rd
Sandwich
Kent   (Browse area)
CT13 0AA
Tel: 01304 612681
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 187
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 126 Reviews
                8/10 from 126 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Dog Walk 

Reviews:  126 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paulmich 3 reviews from this member

Have now been twice and will return. Staff very friendly even when you have to contact them out of hours due to an error on our part. No shortage of staff available even well into the evening giving a sense of security. Strict rules in place but these are to ensure the enjoyment of all users to the site and the friendly owners can often be seen walking around the site in the evening.

Some pitches are a little uneven but not a problem in a touring caravan. Toilet shower and wash up area spotlessly clean and when closed for cleaning equal alternatives are made available.

Pitch sizes very generous with ample space for two cars and in the part we stayed were screened in pairs by shrubs (we did however use Google earth to view these pitches prior to booking) Railway line along side site but trains are infrequent.

Site found to be very quiet after 10pm. Short walk to Sandwich town centre well worth a visit along with river trips on the stour. Canturbury city centre and Ramsgate town and beaches just a short drive away along with Deal town centre and it's leisure pool.

A local site for us, just 40 miles from home but a great place for a relaxing break.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Auntiebarnes 3 reviews from this member

Lovely clean site, good facilities that were always clean. Nice separate private area with a wash basin for washing. Medium play area for children which kept our two happy.

Dog Friendly too.

Great to walk into Sandwich and a visit to the Red Cow for good pub grub - the steak and kidney pudding was amazing!

No shop on site but Co-op nearby which was convenient and was great to walk to to buy ice creams after dinner.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dj marco 1 review from this member

The second time I've stayed here in the last 2 years and I just can't knock it. Great toilets and free showers. My only advice is, leave your car on site and travel by train. Its cheap, regular and if you like a lunchtime drink there ain't a problem. If you also like a drink in the evening. A 10 minute walk from the site and your into town.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Petal46 1 review from this member

This is a fantastic site. We stayed here for 8 days in August this year. Level ground made it easy to pitch tent. Fields are divided into small areas where a couple of tents pitch on each. Toilet and shower block was always immaculate and there was always hot water available. Washing up facilities were lovely.
The lit electric and water hook ups were a real bonus. Our tent overlooked the playground so we were able to sit outside the tent with a beer and keep an eye on our daughter. She made friends with loads of other children while there. Reception staff were helpful and friendly.
Number plate recognition was a great security feature to the site, but be aware, if you've got a personalised plate it takes a while for the computer to recognise it but that's a small price to pay for peace of mind.
Co-op only five minutes walk away and our daughter loved having to go there for the chance to see the level crossing in action. Plenty of places to eat out if you don't want to cook and if you want great fish and chips, try Ossie's Fish Shop near the market square. Great food and friendly service.
We would definitely book to come here again and have recommended the site to friends.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: IaninPerthshire 3 reviews from this member

We were booked into this site for two weeks but left within the hour.Frankly, we were extremely disappointed. Although at this time of year I understand that there is maintenance requiring to be undertaken in the park, the place resembled a building site. Our pitch was almost bald ( grass ) and had some of the previous occupants' food waste lying around. The toilet arrangements are odd too with 'communal toilets' being the only ones open. The separate gents / ladies were closed clearly for the park's convenience ( excuse the pun ). The park layout was functional rather than nice though it did have a good children's play area. The owner was very nice, though.She apologised, gave us a refund and we left to find a new site. NOT recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mistrom 14 reviews from this member

A great site.

The pitches are large and generally level.

The toilets and shower block immaculate.

The site is situated perfectly for a five minute walk from Sandwich which is a picturesque town. Convenient for all ferry routes. There are also great festivities leading up to the summer bank holiday weekend. A local supermarket walking distance away. Great area for walking and cycling. Staff friendly and helpful. A great base for touring Kent and it's coastline.

When going to site follow directions given on the website.

Will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stevensp 1 review from this member

Wow what a great site. The toilets were very clean, they had high ceilings so were very light and airy. The playground looked good. The site itself was very tidy and well maintained.

The site is just outside of the town, 5 minutes walk away is a co op and in the car park is a wine warehouse. The town has a lot of pubs, most doing food, it also has boards around telling you about the history of the town.

We went to Dover castle, this was excellent. With tours of the tunnels that are dug out of the cliffs. This is only 12miles away from the site.

The only problem we had at the site were inconsiderate campers, who thought it OK to shout to each other while in their own tents at 2am in the morning and still shouting at 5am. I did complain to the office the next day (while in there another camper also complained, and explained that several people had asked them to be quiet during the night). Within half an hour the owner (a nice man) had a 'word' with them. They shouted at the owner and the owner told them to leave. Later I went back into the office and the owner apologised to me. This is not the sites fault however, just thoughtless people, I felt that it was good that it was sorted.

Would we go back? All I can say is see you next season.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dream Catcher 20 reviews from this member

This campsite ticks all the boxes for me. Clean loos, spacious pitches, great location etc.

Another camper I spoke to found the staff a bit 'officious' but I can only say I found them helpful and professional.

What was also obvious about the site was its obvious program of ongoing improvement. This work was, however, neatly fenced off from the rest of the site and out of harm's way. It's little things like this that show a site owner gives a damn

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jam_Man 10 reviews from this member

Great site, nice pitches and not in the standard row upon row upon row format.

Good kids play area, never saw my kids for 3 days!

Showers are excellent, clean and tidy and no timers on the showers!

Only downside is if you camp down by the play area the trainline runs straight past, whilst not overly huge amount of trains I did hear one at 4-40am and it does make the ground shake!

Definitely go again, and may do in a few weeks.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Unibond 5 reviews from this member

Have just returned from 5 days at this camp site and what a gem it is.

We turned up on Monday with friends, we hadnt booked because my wife was told that they were not so busy during the week.

The lady in reception sorted us out with pitches next to each other, so we drove off and pitched up.Only to be told by the new owner 4 hours later that we had pitched on the wrong plot in the wrong field.He said it wouldn't normally have been a problem, but they were about commence digging and levelling work, which would obviously cause noise and disturbance.

Seeing as it had taken us ages to set up the trailer tent for the first time, we said we would stay where we were and put up with it.

The owner obviously changed his plans to suit us, because the work didn't commence and we were very grateful to him for that.

Everything that others have put in reviews is correct, fantastic toilets and shower facilities that are kept very clean and I never had to queue for a shower, the wife used the family shower block with the kids and this was equally as clean and cosy. Great washing up facilities, very quiet site and a good park for the kids, our 2 made some great new friends and never once said they were bored. Park closes at 9.30 ensuring peace and quiet later in the evening.

Theres lots of work planned by the new owners so this park will get better and better.

Theres no site shop, but this isnt a problem as the local co-op is a 5 minute walk and is open late.

The only grumble was that the bouncy castle is only put up for the kids at weekends which we thought was a little unfair as we and many others with kids on the site had paid the same rate as those visiting at weekends, but all in all a brilliant site and by far the best we have ever visited.Don't often do this but would have to give Sandwich 10 out of 10. Would definitely visit this site again.

Previous     126 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -    All Sites in Kent   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Three sets of AutoSock Car Snow Socks to be won Win a Weeks Holiday at Stafford Moor Fishery

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 19th to 24th Feb, NEC
See the latest ranges of motorhomes, caravans, holiday homes, tents, awnings and accessories ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2451 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019