Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Sandwich Leisure Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Kent > Sandwich > Sandwich Leisure Park Reviews

Sandwich Leisure Park
Woodnesborough Rd
Sandwich
Kent   (Browse area)
CT13 0AA
Tel: 01304 612681
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 187
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 127 Reviews
                8/10 from 127 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 10 miles   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  127 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Under Canvas Again 4 reviews from this member

The campsite isn't too far away from home and cuts out the 'are we nearly there yet scenario'!

We have found the campsite to be great for the kids they enjoy the play area, the toilet block is kept very well and the showers are always hot.I even witnessed poor behaviour by other campers and it was dealt with firmly but fairly.

The downside it that there isn't a shop on site however the Co-op is just a few minutes away.

I almost forgot the barrier system works well and makes you feel very safe.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paulmich 3 reviews from this member

Have now been twice and will return. Staff very friendly even when you have to contact them out of hours due to an error on our part. No shortage of staff available even well into the evening giving a sense of security. Strict rules in place but these are to ensure the enjoyment of all users to the site and the friendly owners can often be seen walking around the site in the evening.

Some pitches are a little uneven but not a problem in a touring caravan. Toilet shower and wash up area spotlessly clean and when closed for cleaning equal alternatives are made available.

Pitch sizes very generous with ample space for two cars and in the part we stayed were screened in pairs by shrubs (we did however use Google earth to view these pitches prior to booking) Railway line along side site but trains are infrequent.

Site found to be very quiet after 10pm. Short walk to Sandwich town centre well worth a visit along with river trips on the stour. Canturbury city centre and Ramsgate town and beaches just a short drive away along with Deal town centre and it's leisure pool.

A local site for us, just 40 miles from home but a great place for a relaxing break.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Auntiebarnes 3 reviews from this member

Lovely clean site, good facilities that were always clean. Nice separate private area with a wash basin for washing. Medium play area for children which kept our two happy.

Dog Friendly too.

Great to walk into Sandwich and a visit to the Red Cow for good pub grub - the steak and kidney pudding was amazing!

No shop on site but Co-op nearby which was convenient and was great to walk to to buy ice creams after dinner.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dj marco 1 review from this member

The second time I've stayed here in the last 2 years and I just can't knock it. Great toilets and free showers. My only advice is, leave your car on site and travel by train. Its cheap, regular and if you like a lunchtime drink there ain't a problem. If you also like a drink in the evening. A 10 minute walk from the site and your into town.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Petal46 1 review from this member

This is a fantastic site. We stayed here for 8 days in August this year. Level ground made it easy to pitch tent. Fields are divided into small areas where a couple of tents pitch on each. Toilet and shower block was always immaculate and there was always hot water available. Washing up facilities were lovely.
The lit electric and water hook ups were a real bonus. Our tent overlooked the playground so we were able to sit outside the tent with a beer and keep an eye on our daughter. She made friends with loads of other children while there. Reception staff were helpful and friendly.
Number plate recognition was a great security feature to the site, but be aware, if you've got a personalised plate it takes a while for the computer to recognise it but that's a small price to pay for peace of mind.
Co-op only five minutes walk away and our daughter loved having to go there for the chance to see the level crossing in action. Plenty of places to eat out if you don't want to cook and if you want great fish and chips, try Ossie's Fish Shop near the market square. Great food and friendly service.
We would definitely book to come here again and have recommended the site to friends.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: IaninPerthshire 3 reviews from this member

We were booked into this site for two weeks but left within the hour.Frankly, we were extremely disappointed. Although at this time of year I understand that there is maintenance requiring to be undertaken in the park, the place resembled a building site. Our pitch was almost bald ( grass ) and had some of the previous occupants' food waste lying around. The toilet arrangements are odd too with 'communal toilets' being the only ones open. The separate gents / ladies were closed clearly for the park's convenience ( excuse the pun ). The park layout was functional rather than nice though it did have a good children's play area. The owner was very nice, though.She apologised, gave us a refund and we left to find a new site. NOT recommended.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mistrom 14 reviews from this member

A great site.

The pitches are large and generally level.

The toilets and shower block immaculate.

The site is situated perfectly for a five minute walk from Sandwich which is a picturesque town. Convenient for all ferry routes. There are also great festivities leading up to the summer bank holiday weekend. A local supermarket walking distance away. Great area for walking and cycling. Staff friendly and helpful. A great base for touring Kent and it's coastline.

When going to site follow directions given on the website.

Will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stevensp 1 review from this member

Wow what a great site. The toilets were very clean, they had high ceilings so were very light and airy. The playground looked good. The site itself was very tidy and well maintained.

The site is just outside of the town, 5 minutes walk away is a co op and in the car park is a wine warehouse. The town has a lot of pubs, most doing food, it also has boards around telling you about the history of the town.

We went to Dover castle, this was excellent. With tours of the tunnels that are dug out of the cliffs. This is only 12miles away from the site.

The only problem we had at the site were inconsiderate campers, who thought it OK to shout to each other while in their own tents at 2am in the morning and still shouting at 5am. I did complain to the office the next day (while in there another camper also complained, and explained that several people had asked them to be quiet during the night). Within half an hour the owner (a nice man) had a 'word' with them. They shouted at the owner and the owner told them to leave. Later I went back into the office and the owner apologised to me. This is not the sites fault however, just thoughtless people, I felt that it was good that it was sorted.

Would we go back? All I can say is see you next season.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Dream Catcher 21 reviews from this member

This campsite ticks all the boxes for me. Clean loos, spacious pitches, great location etc.

Another camper I spoke to found the staff a bit 'officious' but I can only say I found them helpful and professional.

What was also obvious about the site was its obvious program of ongoing improvement. This work was, however, neatly fenced off from the rest of the site and out of harm's way. It's little things like this that show a site owner gives a damn

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jam_Man 10 reviews from this member

Great site, nice pitches and not in the standard row upon row upon row format.

Good kids play area, never saw my kids for 3 days!

Showers are excellent, clean and tidy and no timers on the showers!

Only downside is if you camp down by the play area the trainline runs straight past, whilst not overly huge amount of trains I did hear one at 4-40am and it does make the ground shake!

Definitely go again, and may do in a few weeks.

Previous     127 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Where is the nearest shop to Sandwich Leisure Park?   There is a shop within 1 mile    View all facilities

Is Sandwich Leisure Park dog friendly?   YES    View all facilities


Other Sites Near Sandwich      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Kent

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 18/02 to 23/02
Birmngham - Caravans, motorhomes, tents, folding caravans and 1000s of accessories all under one roof! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3643 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020