Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ambleside > Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile Reviews

Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile
Chapel Stile
Great Langdale
Ambleside
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA22 9JR
Tel: 01539 437150
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 111 Reviews
                9/10 from 111 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  111 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mapplebeck 1 review from this member

 We have stayed at this site four times throughout the summer. We feel it represents excellent value for money in a prime Lakes location 10 mins from Ambleside.

The site has a great setting and lovely views. We initially chose the site due to Langdale being full but have not looked back and returned time and again - its about half the price.

The farmer and family are lovely and welcoming and the shower/toilet/washing facilities are great. We have always camped furthest from the facilities but it suits us to be closer to the friendly village shop which is well stocked, with fresh bread daily.

The Wainwrights Inn is a couple of minutes walk away and dog friendly but food is average and quite expensive.

One of the great things about this site is at weekends there is a van selling breakfast buns, hot/cold drinks and burgers which is great if you don't fancy cooking the morning fry-up and washing up afterwards.

We would highly recommend this site for its value for money and location. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy b35 10 reviews from this member

 What a lot of effort the farmer and his family have put into this site. Loads of toilets /showers etc always tidy when we visited.

The farmer and his wife were chatty and helpful.And to top it off there was a was a mobile van selling bacon / sausage butties etc in the morning. I would recommend camping on the top field near the house / wall as if you are at the bottom field it's a decent walk at night for the loo. We did notice that the bottom field kept the sun on it much longer though.

Stunning views of the langdale pikes. Co-op 10 mins away but go to ambleside for more choice. There are some pubs close by but never tried them.

Perfect base camp for walking holiday or just a chill out.And probably the best value campsite I have ever been to 'don't need any 50p's here for a shower'

If the prices stay as reasonable in future then this sites got it made.Would like to see it open all year round like the n/trust one down the road (a lot more expensive). All I think you could improve this site is maybe a small set of toilets and water supply for those in the bottom fields.

A great campsite and will be visiting again 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ela2 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from this campsite. £4 adult, £2 child and £2 car (gazebo free). I paid £10 pounds per night - bargain camping!

Facilities here are good. Toilets - good, showers - good, washing up facilities - good (hot and cold water).

The campsite is quite large on a couple of fields. We stayed on the furthest away field but next time would go closer to the facilities. Lovely views surround the campsite.

There is a coop and a pub in the village. Didn't try the pub due to previous reviews but the coop was great (I forgot to bring tent pegs and they have camping equipment upstairs!). There is also a cafe upstairs.

We walked to Eltwater where there is also a pub. Had a lovely meal! It's only about 15 mins walk so worth it.

I enjoyed this campsite. The only downside would be it's size. I prefer smaller areas not large fields - less privacy. But for the price - bargain. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mattelli 9 reviews from this member

 Just stayed at this campsite for 2 nights and it was great. Its quite a long drive up to the farmhouse but this does give you time to pick out a good spot. We stayed on the top field (near the toilets and showers) but there was plenty of room on all the fields.

We paid £24.00 of 2 adults, 1 child, dog and car

For 2 nights which we thought was great value.

The toilets and showers are clean and lit all night and the farmer and wife were very friendly.

There were walks in every direction to suit all levels. We had a meal in the Wainwrights Pub in Chapel Stile, which was dog friendly (always good to know, with our unpredictable weather)it was reasonably priced (£9.00-£10.50 for a bar meal)and delicious.

We will definitely use this site again, hopefully this year.

Just a note- we nearly passed the opening to the site so look out for it on the left hand side(coming from Ambleside way_)its almost on the way out of the village. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Roy + Bev. 2 reviews from this member

 Highly recommend this site. For a very reasonable £10 per night you get a lovely farm atmosphere, spectacular views along the valley and ample walking from the site for amblers or serious walkers.

The site is large so plenty of room for everyone, we stayed during a very busy weekend and it didn't feel crowded or noisy.

Definitely going back again as soon as possible. Loved watching the farmer and his dogs herding the sheep and the free range chickens that wander around the site are great.

No complaints. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Agua-Moose 2 reviews from this member

 Just stayed for a weekend and were blessed with some of the best weather of the year so far. Although I think the owners are hoping for rain as water reserves are getting low.

We stayed with 5 other friends and our dog without any problem on this big site. There must have been more than 50 tents in total by Saturday night but noise was not a problem and we did not have to wait for showers or toilets.

The toilet/shower/washing up block was robust (built to last) and clean with a basic but warm showers. For the price paid we were more than happy.

Just by the bridge over the stream (on the way in to the site) the water is deep enough to jump in and have a paddle after a warm day on the fells. Very refreshing.

Overall a well priced, spacious and clean site. Will definitely stay again.

One suggestion, the lower fields could do with a drinking water tap. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: S o connor 1 review from this member

 This is an excellent site, the facilities are very good and clean. There is a van selling breakfast at weekends which we think is a great idea.

There is plenty of room to pitch a tent as it seems to cover about 4 fields. There is a very good shop and pub close by in the Village of Chapel Style and a little further a good pub in Elterwater.

Above all of this the farmer is very pleasant and helped us out when we ran out of oil in the car which we were extremely grateful for. Also the views of Langdale valley are superb and there is walking all around you.

We totally recommend this site ! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bruskha 1 review from this member

 Great camp site, good price £4 adult £2 car

Owner very helpful but busy on farm

(Keep working on noise level not to much of a problem though)

Plenty of room and short grass.

Well behaved dogs allowed

Managed a whole week at this site with out taking the car out - plenty of walking.

The snack van did open once while we were there on the Sunday morning and did a good trade in bacon butties

Ps Turn up temp on showers a little. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarahandric 2 reviews from this member

 As like most others we were redirected to this campsite as NT closed due to water leak. We were very pleasantly surprised and stayed for 10 days.

The campsite did get very busy especially on Saturdays but the two that we were there for, there were big events locally and the weather was fantastic.

We will definitely consider this campsite over the NT one - which having revisited during our stay seemed small, scruffy & unkempt.

I would agree with the need for flip-flops in the shower but then its something I'd always consider as some people insist on wearing muddy hiking boots into the wet shower area - never a good mix.

The owners were always pleasant and friendly and the small surcharges for things like ice block refreezing is given to the local mountain rescue. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daisymay9 2 reviews from this member

 What a great campsite, like most others we were too late for the NT site, and was directed here. It is a very pleasant site, we managed to pitch up in the higher field so avoided the trek to the facilities, which included very clean toilets and very high wash basins. Good walks are accessible from the site and 2 good pubs with easy reach. The butty van was very tempting but we did resist. Would definitely think about staying again, but need to arrive early as this sit was also full on Friday and Saturday night. 


Previous     111 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ambleside      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3785 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Open Today's Window