Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Greenhills Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Peak District & Derbyshire > Bakewell > Greenhills Holiday Park Reviews

Greenhills Holiday Park
Crow Hill Lane
Ashford In The Water
Bakewell
Derbyshire   (Browse area)
DE45 1PX
Tel: 01629 813467
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 170
Open: February To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 260 Reviews
                8/10 from 260 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (16)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  260 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Jax9041 7 reviews from this member

Fantastic site which has absolutely everything going for it with no negatives. The staff could not be more welcoming and helpful.

Perfect location for walks and for walking to Bakewell to shop or eat, they even provide details of walks in the area. There is a 1. 5 mile scenic walk along the river to Bakewell or a quicker walk along the road.

Excellent dog facilities with a large dog walking area and also an enclosed field for dogs to run.

Very good child facilities.

Great views all around.

Excellent value for money.

We do not normally return to sites as we like trying new places but I know we will definitely be spending more time here.

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jonnmedds 69 reviews from this member

This was a nice site in a lovely part of Derbyshire and is only a short drive from the lovely market town of Bakewell where you'll also find a couple of supermarkets.

The facilities were good, the washrooms and toilets were always kept clean and the showers were hot. The wash up area had plenty of hot water and was under cover.

Most of the caravan pitches were hard standings that were easy for those of us who are new to caravanning to park up.

If you have an awning, don't forget your storm straps as the site is exposed and can get very windy.

Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Livelylass 14 reviews from this member

EXCELLENT site.

Very easy to recommend to others.

Wardens are VERY friendly and accommodating. They were always willingly to go the extra mile e. G. They went and found their personal bike pump to help me get my bike on the go again so I could do the Monsal trail. Also on my day of departure they allowed me to stay late as the site was quite due to it being end of season.

The site facilities are immaculate. The pipped radio into the wash facilities is great way of getting the news & weather whilst showering.

The site is situated just on the edge of the pretty village of Ashford in the Water and is an easy 20min walk from the beautiful market town of Bakewell.

Nearby by easy walks to Chatsworth; Haddon Hall; Magpie Mine; Monsal Head etc.

I will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Tracymariejones 2 reviews from this member

Arrived 1 day late for booking due to mother in law in hospital, and was pleasantly surprised that we were not charged for it! This is a fantastic site, brilliant for kids with extremely child friendly wardens, who were always joking with our daughter. Toilet and shower facilities were always spotless, radio is a very nice touch. Attended the Halloween party and spooky walk, both had taken a lot of work to do from all the wardens and was much more than we expected!Hog roast was excellent!

This was our second visit this year and we will be coming back next season as soon as possible.

Brilliant brilliant site! Can not rate it highly enough!

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Davewardz 6 reviews from this member

We (my wife n I) visited this site, stopping for four nights (Monday thru Thurs)12th to 16th Sept,

This was to take advantage of the special offer of 10. 00 per night all in.

The first two nights were very windy and getting the awning up was quite a task - but was achieved.

Third night was very calm - slight interruption in the early hours of Thurs morning as the local hunt went past. 8/8ths blue for most of day. Dropped awning in preparation for homeward journey Friday AM.

Location:-

Just over a mile north of Bakewell, making it a nice walk into the village.

The road follows the river Wye into the village, plenty of trout - no poaching.

The site is incredibly well manicured, pitches with EHU have hard standing, although rock pins will be needed to peg the awning.

Facilities:-

Toilets and showers are extremely modern and always kept clean - piped music in ablution blocks is a nice touch. During cleaning there is a stand by port a-loo block that can be used.

The site shop is small but carries all the basics that will be needed - although there is a sign showing opening times, if the shop is closed, a visit to reception will result in the shop being opened by the staff.

The bar is a pleasant watering hole although the staff TV behind the bar is a distraction from the music played in the seating area (it becomes bedlam in stereo). The bar staff seem to like Coronation street (mind you, they are not on holiday, they are at work! )

The play areas for the kids are well thought out, allowing a 5 and under their own area. A good peaceful site with rabbits driving the owners of dogs mad when the dogs want to chase the rabbits.

Customer Service:-

The staff are always happy to help and very friendly, nothing seems to be too difficult for the them.

Value for Money:-

Cannot fault the special offer of 10. 00 per night mid season offer. Pitch, with electric HU.

Overall we had a terrific final four days to our season and will be returning, probably with our extended family.

The only aspect that I feel lets this site down is the lack of a disabled wet room that could also be used as a family wet room. (within the one room should be, toilet, hand/wash basin, shower and bath)

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: William-moe 11 reviews from this member

Visited Greenhills just for the weekend, leaving just after the school run. We found the site easy enough and check in was extremely friendly. We were shown to our pitch and given a leaflet about the site which included lots of local information and telephone numbers.

The pitches, although not huge are certainly adequate. The site seemed really quiet although there didn't seem to be many spare pitches left.

My son found the park, there are 2, for different ages, which are located near the bar, toilets and reception area. The children on the site all seemed to play really well together and my son adored it here, especially after purchasing the Bug Catching kit from the shop!

The bar is lovely and snug and there's plently of tables under cover outside to keep an eye on the kids. We also found the bar to be very reasonably priced as was the well stocked shop.

I agree with previous comments about the showers being on the small side however I managed with my 7 yr son and found the facilities to always be clean.

The camp itself is very well kept and the staff are are credit, everyone was really friendly and helpful, giving advice on which are the better take aways to the best walks in the area.

There are some lovely places to visit nearby but only being there for the weekend we only managed Bakewell and the Monsall Trail both of which we would recommend.

All in all this was probably one of the nicest weekends we've had all year and we just wish we had discovered this place earlier. We are already booking to go back in a couple of weeks.

Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Judas_hill 37 reviews from this member

Found this site was clean and tidy. We had a good offer if used sunday to thursday for only 10 per night. Not sure why they do not use the grass field during the week it is used at weekends.

You can visit many tourist areas from here. Like Chatsworth house, Bakewell, matlock also this weekend the Matlock lights was on.

There are copies of walks at reception if you feel that way inclined. The bar is very pleasant ( it is a shame that you can not get any light meals ) we did not see must wild life.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Matt781 1 review from this member

Stopped here midweek just before the august bank holiday. We had not booked anything I just phoned when we arrived in bakewell. They had no problem fitting us in for two nights at a very reasonable cost. It was 50 for two nights mid week for two adults, three teenage children and a baby.

On arrival the lady in reception was very helpful both with site information and local information. One of the wardens was nice enough to point out a nice walk in the evening to try and get our little one to sleep.

The pitches, although a very good size, were we felt very close together. It was not much of an issue as the site was not over busy but had it been full all privacy would have been lost.

The facilities on site were great toilets were always clean and never had to queue, the site was clean and litter free, the park was great even our teenage kids enjoyed it and the bar, although we did not drink in there, looked very welcoming and the prices looked reasonable.

The shop had any basic item that you might need and again was not to bad on price. Especially the icecreams and sweets which always help to keep the kids quiet, if only for a little while.

The site was very easy to find very good central location for all we had planned to see and was a lovely walk in to bakewell the first morning to grab some breakfast.

I can not recommend this site enough we will without a doubt be going back to visit in the near future.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Horswell 2 reviews from this member

3 children under 10 in a 8 man tent. We arrived way to early on a sunday morning (10-30am), to a full site with campers packing up.

The staff welcome was great and very helpful. There was no waiting, and we were escorted to our pitch with electric hookup.

We had pitch 22, which was on a slight slope (to be expected in the peak district), and was able to park next to the pitch which was very big. It was a bit windy, as our pitch was a bit open, but that did'nt worry us, only damage was the windbreak.

The kids liked the play area and the football goal post was a nice touch in the open play area. Great bar with loads of outside covered seating.

There were 2 toilet and shower blocks, one was a portacabin type (we didn't need to use, so I can't comment on), and was very clean, good lighting and mop + bucket provided, we did' nt have to wait to use the shower.

The showers were standard size and the water was just right. The shop was well stocked, but you do need to order your newspaper.

Bakewell is just down the road and has everything you need.

Will be back again, soon.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Aust.tourists 69 reviews from this member

The first impression was good and we were greeted warmly. There is a well stocked shop on site and a bar. The bar looked quite nice but doesn't sell food. The was entertainment on Saturday night and it looked to be really busy.

It is around 15 minute walk into Ashford. There is just one shop and a couple of pubs there. We went to both pubs. The Bulls Head was quite nice but small and you felt a bit cramped. The Ashford Arms was much nicer. The food was really good and reasonably priced.

We walked from the site to Monsal Head which was a nice walk and lovely views. You can also drive up if you don't want to walk. There are many walks around the area but we didn't have time.

It is around 25 minute walk into Bakewell. Bakewell is a lovely town with lots of nice shops etc. We bought both Bakewell tart and Bakewell pudding. Both were yummy but, in our opinion, the pudding wins!

Phone, internet and TV reception was OK.

Previous     260 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Bakewell      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Derbyshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4249 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019