Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Southwold Camping And Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Southwold > Southwold Camping And Caravan Site Reviews

Southwold Camping And Caravan Site
Ferry Road
Southwold
Suffolk   (Browse area)
IP18 6ND
Tel: 01502 722486
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 100
Open: Ist Marchto 30th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 72 Reviews
                7/10 from 72 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  72 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Organic campers 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here with a number of other families for 4 nights and loved our time here.  The location is quite amazing, harbour with crabbing, walks via the ferryman to Walberswick and great pub for food at the end of the harbour, plus wonderful fish sheds selling the daily catch.  Beach across the road and 10 min walk into the town via the beach / prom which is just charming with plenty mix of shops, cafes and restaurants. Pier is one of the loveliest I've seen in a long time.  Showers in main block did pack up during our stay thus long queue for the other block and these do need updating, but just remember your flip-flops and you'll be o.k.  with the floor which can get quite muddy.  Seemed to very popular with families, will definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fairweathercamp 1 review from this member

 Our primary school has organised a family camping rally at this site for the last 8 years - so we've experienced the best and worst of weather over this period. For large rallies it is ideal in that there is not much on the site (pools, bars, playgrounds etc) to distract from the 'community' aspect of a rally. However, the location is superb and provides loads to keep the children entertained.

The site is relatively flat, so great for children to cycle around on and is just over the road from the most glorious sandy beach. It is also a stone's throw from the harbour where children can spend the best part of the morning dangling upside down hunting for crabs. Although it is slightly outside the main town (approx a mile and a half) it is still within walking distance of a good selection of pubs and places to eat. Excellent cafe / restaurant on the pie. Walbeswick is close by, as is Mimsmere RSPB reserve, which is worth a visit.

Although the site's facilities are basic (toilet/shower block and sinks for washing), they are more than adequate for a couple of nights under canvas. The staff are friendly and helpful. We always come back from the rally tired but looking forward to the next one. 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janetandpaul 22 reviews from this member

 We tried this campsite out after reading the revues and we were not disappointed. I thought the campsite was flat the toilets and the shower blocks were clean and plenty of hot water when we were there
I loved the little harbour and the pier is different to any pier I have been on. The village was also nice. Not far from Lowerstoft. We found it really relaxing and would definitely go again. We stayed 4 nights and it was just over £10 a night for a standard pitch and I thought it was good value for money 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Simes 1 review from this member

  I last visited this site in 1986 with my parents and since then the site has hardly changed. It in is a great location away from the town and so close to the beach although the harbour I find is more entertaining.

Basic facilities (not many showers) in comparison to many sites but a nice homely feel.

I read that the council were trying to sell this site off to developers, it would be a shame to loose this site. Would go back. 


Date of Visit: April 2006 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Tangle. 1 review from this member

 Have been visiting Southwold for many years on and off. What an amazing campsite, so close to the sea! As our family has grown up, they bring friends, we bring friends, infact our base camp has become like a little village! You can always spot us with a flag, and bright red van with overcamp. We will be going for Easter this year 2006, look forward to seeing any regulars.
 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Mikeandangiem 1 review from this member

 Spent weekend at this site, It is in a fantasic location next to the beach and harbour, neither this or the town which is a short walk along the beach has changed much from the pictures taken a 100 years ago.
Unfortunately the site is badly let down by the facilities, both shower blocks were in a bad state (with no hot water in one, the toilets were not clean, and there was a shortage of hot water for washing up.
Given the attractiveness of the surrounding area it is still well worth a visit, but probably best to do this outside peak season when the site is quieter and there is less pressure on the facilities.

 


Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Lightybreeze 1 review from this member

 I have been visiting Southwold and Walberswick for 30 years! Up until roughly 8 years ago me and my family stayed at a little campsite just off Walberswick beach owned by a women we knew. For the past years we have come to Southwold campsite every year! Th elocation is superb! Crabbing is a must and great fun for all ages. The beach is beautiful and the scenery delightful. Recomend bringing or to hire bicycles and cycling to Blythbourgh to visit the cathederal. The actual campsite is pleasant enough the toilets are sanitry, the prices competent and the pitches suitable. A great holiday for all!  


Reviewer: Southwold 1 review from this member

 May 2005
Visited this campsite regularly over the last 10 years, - all seasons. The site is exposed, across the road from the sea-front, and the location for walking, cycling, fishing, and visiting the town is excellent. In rainy weather, the site can become water-logged (in places).

The big shame is the cleanliness of the shower / toilet blocks. They can become disgusting - even when the campsite isn't full - I cant understand why they are not cleaned more often (just once per day when their are hundreds camping and only three toilets on the main field for males!) considering there is only one block on the main field, and another by the static site. This may have something to do with the site making a loss (see waveney council reports 2004) This is due to poor capacity rather than misuse and the ratio of toilets to people is inadequate, so if you are unfortunate to need the toilet, best go just after they have been cleaned (if that ever becomes a regular occurance)

In all if you can cope with poor sanitary conditions (perhaps the female toilets are better) its worth a stay, but if you are a family, it might put you off. 


Reviewer: Sparky

 May 2003
A very pretty town to stay at with a lovely beach and picturesque harbour.
The camp-site is basic but well maintained and (most importantly) Flat! The Warden was both friendly and helpful, he visited the campers at least once a day on his bicycle to ensure we were all ok. The shower blocks were basic with only two cubicles in each but they were of an acceptable standard and there were plenty of sinks outside for washing-up. The site can get busy but the pitches were a good size and we had plenty of room. It is literally a two minute walk on to the beach and there were some magnificent sunsets. The harbour next to the site was great for crab fishing with the kids and a rowing-boat ferry is usually operating to take people over to Walberswick. All in all a great little holiday and we will definately be returning on a regular basis. 


Reviewer: David Worth 1 review from this member

 May 2003
We have stayed at this site several times over the past few years.
What we like about it is the view of the lighthouse in the town and the fantastic sunsets over the sea.
the only downside is that it does get very crowded. 


Previous     72 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Southwold Camping And Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Southwold Camping And Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Southwold Camping And Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Southwold      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Suffolk

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6318 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement