Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Waterside House Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Lake District & Cumbria > Ullswater > Waterside House Campsite > Reviews

Waterside House Campsite
Waterside House
Howtown
Penrith
Ullswater
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA10 2NA
Tel: 01768 486332
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 120
Open: 28/03/2024 to 01/11/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 208 Reviews
                8/10 from 208 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  208 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RICHARD.A 9 reviews from this member

 We booked this site after reading previous reviews. The site was clean and tidy although the ground on the pitches has quite a lot of stones. The shop is small but sufficient and the toilets and showers were clean although with only eight showers for men and the same for women and only having two small toilet blocks it would be a problem during high season. I had read on the reviews that there was a food van on site however on arrival found that it only opens at weekends during mid season and only opens in the week during high season.

The site was very peaceful and the views were great and you can walk to nearby Pooley Bridge in about twenty minutes which has three pubs which offer food but if you want a takeaway or supermarket you have to travel to Penrith which is about a ten minute drive away. Penrith is a nice place to visit and offers a range of places to eat and I must recommend the Angel Lane Chippie for great fish and chips, we also had an Indian takeaway from the Indian Plaza on Middle gate which was very nice and reasonably priced.

The area is great if your a walker or a cyclist but if you want anything more than good exercise or great views the area doesn't offer much more. However still enjoyed a very nice few days and would recommend the site for a base to walk and cycle in the area. Have to add a slight warning however that there is a problem with quite a lot of insects midges etc, but this can be alleviated by purchasing the anti midge candles from the camp shop or Pooley Bridge which keep the insects away from your tent. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sue Paul 80 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic location, Lakeside on 12v or very close on 240v. If you have Dogs then superb as they can run and play in safety and the wonderful walk to Pooley Bridge has areas they can run wild in and swim, all away from Sheep and people.

There is a Dog walk area although not shown on the Map (next to the boat repair ramp) which is very good but infested with Rabbits which the Dogs loved. Even this is waterside.

Good little shop on site with the usual, bike loans plus Kayaks and boats for hire so lots to do for sure.

Toilets were all clean with good showers, all a bit tired in places with missing hooks/shelves etc now needing some tlc to get back to how they were.

For tents it seems to be a free for all position wise.

Truly great location for adults/kids and Dogs and we will re visit for sure. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Linny32 2 reviews from this member

 Me and my wife were here for our first full week away in a tent ever, great site, great location with stunning views of lake ulswater and the surrounding area.

On site facility's where great with nice clean showers and plenty of hot water, nice children's play area.

On site shop had everything you need should you forget anything or run out of supplies.

Pooley bridge is just a short walk along the side of the lake ( about a 20 min stroll ) lovely village with 3 pubs 2 tea rooms and a post office the sells everything you can think of

Will definitely be returning at some point again this year, loved this site and its location  


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hoyle 3 reviews from this member

 Fantastic campsite, with stunning views. We camped in the smaller 'Garth' end of the campsite, with electric hook up. Unfortunately our electric lead was too short, but the very helpful staff provided us with an extension lead.

The only down side of this end of the campsite was the limited external space. If you require space for children to play you would be better in the family field. All that said, the campsite and staff were excellent, and all the facilities were clean and well maintained. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sam4bill 1 review from this member

 Our first visit to this campsite, absolutely fabulous. Very tranquil relaxing, and the the weather got better towards the end of the week, amazing. The Ullswater steamer journey worth it, will be returning in Aug and hoping to do more walks, fingers crossed we drop on better weather. :) The short walk to the Pooley bridge in is lovely, kids loved walking in the field, looking for creatures, the pooley bridge pub is amazing, staff food atmosphere. Looking forward to returning :) Couldn't understand why caravans are not allowed on site, but then when we got there, the entrance is small and would be tricky for caravans. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SusanMcLaughlin 2 reviews from this member

 I went to this campsite with a number of friends and couldn't have been more delighted. The reception office was always very busy but it was a bank holiday weekend and to be expected and the staff were friendly nonetheless. When we arrived we were directed to a particular field and allowed to pitch wherever we wanted to. There was abundant space right next to Ullswater, although most of it was slightly hilly. There was pitches that were more flat but these were not next to the lake. The facilities were fantastic, with the shop stocking basics, and rooms for both washing up and laundry that were clean, modern and spacious. Toilets and showers were fine, with my only negative being that it was a decent walk from where we were pitched to the nearest portaloo. As this is a vast campsite it would have been convenient to be closer to toilets. There are many activities available in the vicinity, including the rental of sppedboats, rowboats and canoes, as well as regular cruises to the Northern Shores of Ullswater. Highly recommended campsite. A bit more expensive than some but well worth the money! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wild_sam@msn.com 2 reviews from this member

 Oh what can I say? I have mixed feelings about this place so I will start from the beginning. It was a bank holiday and we booked Sunday through till Tuesday, and on arrival on Sunday we were gobsmacked at just how busy it was. I mean, I did expect it to be busy but driving in and seeing scores of campers made my heart sink. After a nice quick and easy visit to reception where I had to try to remember all the instructions and directions we were allocated to the second field. After driving around a few times the spots we could choose from were either on a hill. Or behind two sets of three large groups. You know the ones that come with huge tents and gazebos and pitch facing in on each other. We tucked behind them and glumly pitched our tent. It felt somewhat like a festival in all honesty. We hadn't even seen the lake! Well that evening was interesting. With the no noise after 11pm rule being flaunted by the aforementioned neighbours (surprise).

HOWEVER, and this is a big however, come Monday morning, as expected. All the go outdoors campers vanished and what was left was spectacular. Back to Lakeland normality. A phenomenally beautiful campsite location. The facilities were clean and more than adequate, if not a bit of a walk away. But who cares with stunning views like that to walk with. It truly is a breathtaking place to camp. It's safe to say we fell in love.

The only issue we have with the site itself, is that there is no security barrier stopping every Tom dick and Harry coming through. So for example we arrived back after our day out itching to sit outside with our BBQ and take in the stunning environment only to find a huge camper van had decided to plonk itself right in front of us spoiling the view we had, despite the whole shoreline being relatively tent free. The owners were nowhere to be seen. When they arrived back they stayed for a few hours then packed up and drove off. They were day trippers using the site for its location. Meanwhile spoiling it for us who had paid to be here. I was quietly livid (at least they had a lovely decal on the side of their van of a sailing boat so we could pretend we were looking out to the lake!)

We will be returning to this well run lovely site, but I would certainly advise you to not come on a bank holiday or a high season weekend if you want to appreciate the site for all it's worth. But I suppose that's the case everywhere. We arrived disappointed but left totally in love with the place. I couldn't imagine anywhere better. The staff were lovely, the shop excellent and the facilities clean. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lynseysean 5 reviews from this member

 EXCELLENT campsite. My personal favourite.

Facilities are fantastic. Plenty of showers (even with heated floors), plenty of dishwashing facilities and plenty of toilets. All facilities are very clean.

The park is the best I have come across, with a lot to do for all ages. Great walks from the site in all directions especially along the Lake to Pooley Bridge, which is a gorgeous little village with enough pubs and shops to keep you going and not too much to spoil it.

Easy access from the site to the Lake for Kayaking etc.

It is a working farm and the Cows can be loud so you may not want to put your tent too close, or get ear plugs. But this does NOT put us off.

They have their own shop and burgar van. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cookie0283 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 days in April 2013.

The campsite was brilliant! I can't fault it in any way.

It is very spacious, has good shower, toilet and laundry facilities. The camp shop was well equipped and there were numerous water sports activities on offer.

You are able to almost camp on the shores of the lake and the views are breathtaking. It is in close proximity to local amenities and local attractions. The boat rides and aire force are well worth a visit.

This place is fantastic for budding photographers.

We would definitely stay here again. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Evofylde 5 reviews from this member

 Booked this site after reading so many good reviews on here. I was not disappointed.

It's location is stunning. Right next to the lake and smaller and more secluded than the louder and brasher Park Foot site round the corner. The near field is the family field and closest to all the amenities. It has the 14 EHU. Try to get hook ups 12-14 as they are best placed and away from road nearby, but not that it is busy. There is a field in the middle of the EHU for camping and spots right beside the shore as well.

The washing/toilets and so on were impeccable and there are new ladies showers.

Our kids, 6 and 8, loved the playground which is beside the family field and they literally spent hours there in the evening. The shore line is like another playground which the kids explored endlessly.

We will be coming back. Great site. 


Previous     208 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Waterside House Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Waterside House Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Waterside House Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ullswater      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


57320 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement