Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Erwlon Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Carmarthenshire > Llandovery > Erwlon Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Erwlon Caravan & Camping Park
Brecon Road
Llandovery
Carmarthenshire   (Browse area)
SA20 0RD
Tel: 01550 721021
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 168 Reviews
                9/10 from 168 Reviews

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 1 mile 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  168 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Little bess 5 reviews from this member

Had a lovely stay shorter than expected though. After one night we had problems with our motorhome and had to return home, we went to let them know we were leaving and they are allowing us to have a free night in the future which they did not have to do as it is no fault of there's. It is a very well maintained site, the toilet facilities were always clean although the site was full. The wardens were very friendly and helpful. We did not get a chance to explore the area but we will go back as soon as our motorhome is repaired. There were a lot of motorbikers on site they we thought may be a problem but they were at the end of the site and we never heard them.

Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Feebee7 5 reviews from this member

We decided to visit this site even though we had had a freak snow flurry. What an adventure, snow under foot, freezing poles and frost on the water pipes but it was great. A friendly welcome. Warm showers and helpful staff. The site had convenient good dog walks and close to the town. I wouldn`t let the weather hinder my camping if all sites were as good as this.

Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Miles1966 22 reviews from this member

This site is in a good location for exploring the Brecon Beacons but is a bit on the basic side.

The pitches are pretty small and annoyingly the seasonal pitches are scattered amongst the touring pitches, which make the place look a bit untidy.

Each pitch however has it's own tap, waste and hook up which is great, for the basic price.

The shower block is ok, and hubby liked the family rooms for the added space, but they aren't cleaned that regularly and are prone to being a bit muddy.

The site is also on quite a busy main road, and the large lorries can be quite noisy.

Wardens are very friendly and helpful.

Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Fossibaer 2 reviews from this member

Since many years I always travel around Wales in February.

Its always a pleasure to stay a few days in llandovery. The site offers a very good comfort and value for money. The facilities are in very good order and always clean and well heated. Also a benefit is the distance from town, 5 min. Walk. Llandovery offers a wide selection of pubs and restaurants for good food. I hope we see us next year again.

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 79 reviews from this member

Our second visit to Erwlon and turned up 'unexpected' as they hadn't received my two telephone messages.

Anyway delighted to be offered a 3 (nights) for 2 offer. Set up and went for a cycle ride and returned to find shower block cold. Nuevogirl went for a shower, only to find the water barely lukewarm.

Asked the warden the following morning if the heating could be turned on, to be told that the biomass boiler was playing up. When we mentioned that the water was only lukewarm, the warden merely commented that it was just like summer temperature!

Nothing improved after 2 days and on returning from a wet cycle ride on day 3 it was still the same. Rather than suffer another cold shower, we decided to head home.

Very disappointed; we felt we should have at least been told that things weren't all right on arrival.

We'd been the only visitors on site for the first 2 days and felt sorry for the 2 foreign couples who arrived on day 3 to be greeted to no warm facilities.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jaybeeretired 2 reviews from this member

Site is easy to find and has a late arrival area, although there is no site security barrier. Reception has lots of information leaflets, and although no real shop, they do have a lending facility for camping stuff you may have forgotten. Site seemed to be lightly used and quiet - then we realized lots of the caravans are permanently pitched all year. Apparently the rates are a bargain. All the pitches looked pretty flat - some are on raised areas. There's a stream adjacent to the site so personally if in a tent, Id favour further down the field. Our serviced pitch was allocated to us and suited, but you get the impression if you didn't like it, you could get put elsewhere. Wardens very easy going and amiable, but seemed to keep on top of what needed doing.

I never saw the single amenities block being cleaned, but it was always absolutely spotless. Individual washing cubicles and family washing rooms available, all lovely and warm. Plenty of hot water just the right temperature albeit delivered with a loud though probably temporary groaning buffalo noise! The water pressure is high, so you need to use the bowl rather than wash hands under ! Shower cubicles would have benefited from grab handle or two, and a second or double hook in the individual washrooms, nice. The shower a bit awkward as you have to press every 30 secs or so for a further dollop of water. Fridge and freezer available for free use at your own risk. Washing machine + dryer facilities available at a charge - iron and board available too. Whether the facilities would always be sufficient over a busy bank holiday or every high season week, I can only guess, but now is August, and it was fine.

Recycling bins behind the amenities block.

The play area was safe looking and perfectly adequate, but if I were to offer constructive ideas, I reckon it could have been added to quite cheaply with things like a row of raised wood slices to jump from one to the other, a 'snake' of 4' thick tugboat rope fixed to the ground to 'tightrope' on, just to add a bit of extra interest, and a wooden 'wendy house' or 'shop' where finance permits would keep kids entertained for longer.

The site is 5 minutes walk from a well stocked Coop via an ungated footpath at the far end of the field, and about 20 mins walk from the village. The traffic passing the site is noisy especially over the weekend, particularly with motorbikes -but my petrol head OH enjoyed identifying them!There is a 'motorbiker'cafe in the village along with several eateries and a chippy.

The dog walk was not much used that we saw. Maybe because its a five foot wide piece of unmown grass with just a narrow footpath trodden by users, down the middle, and is about 100ft long or so. If the middle few feet had been kept mowed short, it would have been walkable without wellies when it was damp with rain or dew. The rest of the site was constantly mowed and well kept. The alternative dog walk on site was on the opposite side of camp, and just a short dead end narrow and overgrown footpath to the river.

Resident caravanners were very friendly as were the wardens. We definitely enjoyed our stay and would go again.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gail_70 5 reviews from this member

This was our 2nd visit to this site and will definitely be returning again. We had EHU as our own preference but there are also pitches without. This visit was only two families but on our previous visit there were 7 families and they were more than willing to keep us altogether. And were very relaxed about how we pitched the tents.

Plenty of space for the kids to play and a river close by for paddling.

The site is well maintained and the shower block & toilets are very clean and well kept.

Less than 5mins walking distance to the Co-op supermarket which is well stocked and the town is a little further with plenty of cafes, pubs, restaurants etc.

Whilst the site is next to a busy road there is some noise but the good points far outweigh this.

The only downside is a lack of camping supplies close by so if you forget anything or run out of gas etc a travel into Brecon would probably be necessary. Although the wardens on site are very helpful with any emergencies.

Overall we've found this to be an excellent site, very relaxed and the wardens are friendly & more than helpful and willing to do anything to make sure the stay is enjoyable.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Yorkypair 7 reviews from this member

Had a 2 night stay at the site this week.

The site itself is very well maintained, toilet block is very good indeed, a credit to the owners.

The dog walk area is very restricted, but sufficient.

The only downside is the proximity to the main road (A40) ie just the other side of the hedge, a busy route including heavy goods vehicles, not too bad through the night though.

The town of Llandovery was disappointing with sparse facilities, again spoilt by the busy road going through the centre.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: WelshWendy 3 reviews from this member

Fantastic campsite perfect for families or couples. We were lucky enough to get a late availability spot with EHU. At only 50 for five of us - two adults and three children - to stay for two nights, I think this is one of the cheaper sites I've found. When we arrived on site and checked in we found out we couldn't pay by card - cash only! But the owner was very kind and allowed us to go pitch up before walking into town for the money.

Toilets and showers are very clean and very warm as was the dishwashing facilities with free fridge freezer to use. Small but nice play area on site.

Co-op for essentials a five minute walk away and town a 10 minute walk away with lovely pubs/restaurants, and a cafe at reasonable prices. Also a fab play area in the town for the kids. Campsite just off a main road but this didn't bother us, we didn't seem to notice the traffic. Highly recommended campsite.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Keithbarman 3 reviews from this member

My first visit to this site was last October and had to visit again this year. Fantastic site. Nothing too much trouble for wardens and a large Cooperative superstore 300 yards away and Llandovery only 500 yards away with plenty of places to eat and plenty of pubs. The site and toilet, shower facilities always clean. Small fenced dog walk. Quiet lanes for cycling. Do yourselves a favour and give it a try, you wont be sorry

Previous     168 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Where is the nearest shop to Erwlon Caravan & Camping Park?   There is a shop within 1 mile    View all facilities

Is Erwlon Caravan & Camping Park dog friendly?   YES    View all facilities


Other Sites Near Llandovery      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Carmarthenshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet NEC Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show 18/02 to 23/02
Birmngham - Caravans, motorhomes, tents, folding caravans and 1000s of accessories all under one roof! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3929 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020