Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Llyn Gwynant Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Nantgwynant > Llyn Gwynant Campsite Reviews

Llyn Gwynant Campsite
Hafod Lwyfog
Nantgwynant
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 4NW
Tel: 01766 890 302
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 440
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 141 Reviews
                9/10 from 141 Reviews

Photos (19)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  141 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Helen245 1 review from this member

 Just came back from a 1 night stay at this campsite (planned to stay for 2 nights but the weather turned bad and tent leaked, (although the warden did give us a refund on that nights fee)

Wardens very friendly and there is plenty of information on notice boards about weather, the area, walks etc. Firepits excellent idea as it does get cold and you can buy logs for £4.

Campers have unrestricted access to lake and river, so we took a canoe and made use of this.

The toilets and showers are OK considering they are free. Only criticism is that the showers work in 5second bursts before having to press the button again, which is a bit annoying.

Overall, fantastic campsite! The views and scenery are stunning and will definitely visit again! 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sceptical Camper 39 reviews from this member

 I stayed for three nights at Llyn Gwynant Campsite during May 2011 with a group of mates from UKCS. This campsite was the base for our walk up Snowdon.

Many of my comments echo those of UKCS member Gulliver7952 who was in the same group and who has also reviewed this site.

As others have pointed out, the campsite has a splendid scenic location in a valley beside a lake called Llyn Gwynant. It is approached by a metalled track off the A498 Capel Curig to Beddgelert road - look out for a big green sign on the roadside and, if you are coming from the Capel Curig direction, beware the hairpin turn in to the site.

The site is quite extensive, has three fields, and is very level. It is situated on river-deposited sandy alluvium which means the ground is very soft and holds the water in wet weather.

This being Snowdonia, the ground is wet for most of the year and also the location is quite windy. That combination of soft soil and wind means you should take extra long tent pegs (or use Delta pegs).

On the weekend of our visit the grass was in good condition and newly mown (being a wet environment, the grass looks very lush and looks as if it is mown regularly).

As others say, the valley really funnels the wind. The weekend we were there was fairly windy and the location was prone to gusts. To combat this exposure to winds, the campsite has several small stands of trees which have been planted as windbreaks.

One small drawback for car-campers is that the camping areas are roped off from the roadways to protect the soft ground from damage by vehicles. This means you must park on the roadway then lug your tent to a suitable pitch.

Pitches are not marked but you must maintain a six metre safety gap between pitches.

The site is dotted with firepits which visitors can use. It was not apparent to us whether or not there is a charge for firepit use but if there is we were not asked to pay it. As others have said, a towed trailer arrives at roughly 6pm each evening and sells bags of logs.

A warden patrols the site and is based in a little lodge at the entrance. You can either pay on arrival or pay when the wardens is on patrol. The two wardens we met were very helpful and friendly and they enforce a noise curfew at night - that means this is a very quiet site after dark.

I found the toilets were very clean and well maintained. The washing up sinks were also clean and had plenty of hot water. I did not use nor inspect the showers. At the time of writing (May 2011) a new facilities block was being built next to the existing one.

All in all the facilities struck me as good, adequate and clean.

I paid £7 per night for one person in a small dome tent (pricing is per person) but the rate is £9 in 'high season'. I thought this was reasonable.

Note that there is no mobile phone reception at the site on any network. There is, however, a payphone at the warden's lodge.

Activities available on the site include kayaking and climbing skills instruction. The area is, of course, ideal for walking, hiking, hill-climbing and so on.

Llyn Gwynant Campsite is ideally situated for campers who intend to climb up Snowdon. It is midway between the paths up Snowdon from Pen Y Pass and Rhyd Ddu.

A shuttle bus passes the campsite entrance and serves several of the Snowdon path start points. There is also a footpath from the campsite to Pen Y Pass that connects directly with paths to the summit.

In summary, a very quiet and friendly basic campsite in a stunningly beautiful location with great access to the Snowdonia mountains. Highly recommended as long as you don't want any mod cons or need to use a mobile phone. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gulliver7952 11 reviews from this member

 Stayed here over the weekend for trek up Snowdon.

Site is in in a valley next to the lake.

Our week end stay was a wet one, and the ground was soggy in places.

It can and did get very windy here so pick your pitch with care. There are small clumps of trees which will give shelter.

If no one is on the gate, drive in and pitch up.

Note. Gates are locked at 11pm.

They come round in the evening to collect the pitch fees.

This is a no noise after 10pm site.

We stayed till Monday, by Sunday afternoon the site was nearly empty but it wasn't full all weekend. So if you want a quiet time, mid week should be good.

Showers were clean and had plenty of hot water, soap and loo roll.

One problem there was that the grass had been cut and the cuttings got every where.

Canoe hire is available for the river and lake and some rock climbing.

Nearest shop in Beddgelert 3-4 miles or Porthmadog 13 miles (20/25 mins) which has a big Tesco.

Cafe at other end of lake.

Welsh Highland Railway station at Beddgelert. Ffestiniog Railway at Porthmadog.

This is a very nice site but it is surrounded by mountains so the weather can be changeable.

Cost £7 pnpp No EHU available

Fire pits available and log lorry comes round about 6pm 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: PeterMace 3 reviews from this member

 The date on the review is the last time we visited this site, in all I have visited this site 5 or 6 times in the last 4 years. I can't recommend the site highly enough.

The location is perfect for trekking up Snowdon, one route leads directly from the campsite, but other times we have parked by the pub and walked the rest of the way. Just up the road is Capal Curig (20-30mins walk) with plenty of shops and pubs.

The view around the site are great(it was featured in Midsommer Murders), and the morning sun on the lake can be amazing, and great for an early morning walk to wake you up.

The campsite allows fire's in the supplied metal trays and sells firewood at a reasonable price too. (£3 a bag last time we went).

A large clean toilet block near the entracne to the campsite and on last visit they were building a new block too.

During busy times you can hire kayak's and take them out across the lake and river which was great fun. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fedster187 6 reviews from this member

 The best camp site for the outdoor enthusiast and groups in the wales

This is not a site for those after a peaceful weekend or trip it is centred on a lot of outdoor personnel getting away in the area for a assortment of activity s

Awesome facilities been updated in the last few years from what there where back when we went as groups

Amazing prices and what more can you ask for a camp-fire near a lake 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: A.lawton650 7 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a very wet yet wonderful 3 nighht at this excellent site! when we arrived it was teeming it down but despite this we were very impressed, the site sits at the bottom of a valley with the huge hills and mountains towering over it,with a lake and a lovely river surrounding it, it is truly magnificent!

We pitched away from the wind behind one of the fenced off tree areas which are very handy at keeping you shielded from the wind and the fence handy for setting up the kitchen and fire area, we had a tarpe covering all this, very cosy. The site states that there must be 6m between groups, and this works well to giving you plenty of room.

The showers both male and female are good if a little primitive, fairly clean, bar the odd bit of grass and yes the cobwebs on the beams and the odd bird in them, it didn't bother us one bit and we were happy they were there as it just fitted the building fine (there were cobwebs but no spiders, thanks to them birds tho!).

The staff were very good, they came to our pitch for our fee which was £64 for two adults,two dogs for four nts,(left a day earlier due to the forecasted 50mph gales!) a fair price for the great time we had. All in all we are going to return to this site next year as it's a cracker, and my only moan would be that it needs an on site shop and a pub near by for a pint and a bit of tucker when the food runs out to save getting in the car! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Z053pb4 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here mid-week for 3 nights whist we were walking in Wales. Its an ideal position for walking up Snowdon from here, which you can actually do from the Campsite.

I wanted a campsite that allowed fires, and you can have them if you use their metal fire pits and buy their wood. Its quite a large campsite with several different fields, we had to look around a bit to find a field that was not too wet and boggy.

The campsite does get quite wet as described in previous reviews. The children loved playing in the nearby river. The Noise Bond is an excellent idea - groups of campers may have to pay up to £20 per head at check-in which is only refundable with good behaviour!

PROS: Lovely location, fires allowed, well patrolled by wardens.

CONS: Damp pitches even in summer, no shops immediately nearby 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Osmosis 4 reviews from this member

 Great site. Very picturesque with something for all ages and tastes. John the boat hire guy very friendly and reasonably priced. Shower locks very tricky for youngsters and oldsters alike.

Well organised site with well kept amenities (except shower locks). Nice to be able to have camp fires. Not to far from shops and sites to see at bedgellert and capel curig.

Staff helpful and friendly 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AKA963 4 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a few days at this site. Perfect location, being within walking distance of Mount Snowdon (about 1.5 hours walk to Penn Y Pass where there is an outdoor shop and cafe then a 6 hour walk up and down Snowdon!) It is beautiful, just on the edge of the lake, with the river running right beside it. Very busy campsite though with lots of children - not somewhere we would go in the height of the season to relax with a book if looking for peace and quiet!

Toilets and showers kept clean although for a campsite with 400+ pitches, maybe 7 showers in total is a little inadequate. I went at 11pm in the rain and there was still a queue! On the plus side they are hot and free!

Site is flat with plenty of pitches to choose from. Only downside is that unless you pitched next the 'road' you could not put your car next to the tent. The site is also at the bottom of a hill/mountain so was quite boggy in places!

We only stayed for two nights because of the weather and the price (£19 per night for 2 adults and a dog is more than we have ever paid for basic camping!) The campsite seems to be run by a team of young workers because of it's size so it loses some of the homely qualities of smaller sites.

Overall, it is a well located campsite that served it's purpose in giving us a base from which to climb Mount Snowdon. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tedsontour 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here on our first ever camping trip, it was gorgeous waking up to the lake.

Staff were very friendly and allowed you to choose your own pitch. Would recommend choosing somewhere sheltered by trees as the wind can be quite strong coming through the valley.

There is a little bridge at the far end of the campsite that takes you to a nice walk on the other side of the lake.

Kids can play in Dinghies as the river runs alongside the campsite (sometimes can be deep) and people had brought their own canoes to go on the lake. Dogs are welcome on site but kept on a lead. Toilets have a shower and are basic but clean. There is no electric hook up on this site but if you want to enjoy camping as it should be this site is great.

The highlight is that they allow you to have a campfire (you have to buy the wood from the campsite at £4 a bag which is very reasonable) the campsite provide a raised metal grate for you to put the wood in which are dotted all over the campsite. Itís lovely when all you can see at night is people sat round the fires. There is no noise after 11pm which is handy for families with children.

We only had one day with rain and bad wind but were lucky to have some shelter from the trees.

We will definitely be going back to this site as the price was reasonable and the staff very friendly. 


Previous     141 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Llyn Gwynant Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Llyn Gwynant Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Llyn Gwynant Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Nantgwynant      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4648 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement