Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Isle Of Wight > Bembridge > Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park > Reviews

Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
Hillway Road
Bembridge
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO35 5PL
Tel: 01983 872671  or  0330 053 7000
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Tents in summer only
Open: 01/07/2024 to 31/08/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 68 Reviews
                6/10 from 68 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dandensam 2 reviews from this member

 June 2009 was one of many visits to this our favourite family campsite.

We return here time and time again for the fantastic facilities and the wonderful beach. The countryside views from the second and third levels are outstanding and my son loves to watch the light aircraft and gliders taking off and landing from the small runway at nearby Bembridge Airport.

There are plenty of showering and washing up facilities - I don't ever remember queuing. The toilets/showers are also much improved since the recent facelift.

There is evening entertainment on the main site over the road which can be nice for a change, but if you don't wish to be entertained it is far enough away for you not to know it is even happening.

There is a playground on the campsite and an indoor and outdoor swimming pool at the main site across the road. Having never used the pools I couldn't comment on these, we prefer to use the beach which is a bit of a hidden gem.

There is a huge Tesco a few miles away and smaller Co-op in Bembridge just down the road. Also a site shop in peak season and a main shop over the road all season - well stocked. Fish and chip shop in Bembridge is not too good from experience, the one in nearby Brading is much better.

Can't recommend this site enough and can't wait to go back. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Fahey440 2 reviews from this member

 Pitch size more than enough for our caravan, awning and we had our windbreaker up to create an outdoor bbq area too.

Great outdoor pool. Indoor pool rather small, but luckily we had good weather so only used it once as the kids wanted to try out the waterslide.

Immaculate beach, but no toilet so you have to walk back up the really steep hill every time someone needs to go (not good with 3 children!) 10 minutes drive takes you to sandown which has a bar, toilet and parking adjacent to the beach.

The 2 evening cabaret shows we saw were great, but the 10pm start was a little on the late side for our family so we missed the other 8. The children enjoyed the games and dancing earlier on in the evening.

We felt this site was pretty much the same as the many Haven sites we have been to; busy, noisy, food service tended to be poor + overpriced; but at the same time great for the children, and when they are happy, so are we!

A great base for exploring the beautiful isle of Wight- we would go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Braindeadmumof3 2 reviews from this member

 We booked this site for a week going by the review that says the shower/toilet blocks have been revamped for 2009! The week cost us £35 a night plus the ferry so worked out at over £400, so was more expensive than many other sites but this was our main holiday and it looked good.

The site was a little confusing when we got there as there are 2 parts to this site with a road running in between them. We saw a sign saying Whitecliff and turned right into the static park site! The sign for the touring on the left hand side was hidden round a corner and behind a bush!

First impressions we good, it looked clean and well kept.

The wardens and staff were very friendly.

The play park is right by the entrance where cars are coming and going all the time - very scary when you watched kids flying about on their bikes and running! I would not let my children go to the park without one of us! To near the main entrance!

Our pitch was flat and had a good view.

The park was quiet with very little noise which was great.

The site shop was very small and the larger one was over the road by the static caravans!

The beach is fabulous as long as you are quite fit as it is a bit of a hike on the way back up.The kids loved it!

We only used the out door swimming pool (on the other side of the road up past the static caravans, this was very warm and the kids had fun. Though the pool did look a little tired and maybe a little TLC to freshen it up would be good.

The little play park by the pool was small but great fun for the kids so you could enjoy the view of the sea and have a drink from the bar and watch the kids.

The toilet facilities were very poor! Light bulbs didn't work so when you shut the door it was dark and they didn't look very clean with tissue every where! The main bits that campers are paying for is the electric and the shower facilities which maybe on the outside looked clean and ok was let down on the inside! They play a cd of birds tweating and water running!

Showers for ladies in the main block were 5 showers! So by the time you waited for one, you found that the doors did not lock rusty/hair filled drain covers! The floor in the showers filled up with the other showers water, yuk!, even in the little bit were you are supposed to dry yourself ! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jikel 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first big camping trip and also our first family visit to the Isle of Wight. The campsite was ready for us when we arrived . Reception staff had set up check in out on the front lawn and we were taken through to our pitch quickly.

The site is on a steep slope with terracing. We were pretty near the top of the hill and had a great view out over the countryside and the airfield. The toilets were a swift run down the hill away and, although they were cleaned every morning, had wet floors every time we visited. Rather annoyingly, most of the toilet doors didn't lock properly and the shower cubicles were rather small . If you left anything on the seat it got wet.

We were there over half term and the on site shop wasn't open in the campsite . We were directed to the one at caravan site over the road. It did feel after a few days that we were very much the poor neighbours to the caravan site. All the toilets had posters on the back of the doors urging us to buy a static caravan. We'd prefer to stick with our tent, thanks.

There are plenty of drinking water taps and bins. The washing up area is large and has free hot water. The bins didn't get emptied the whole time we were there and were overflowing after 6 days.

Overall, this was a nice campsite with a few niggles. I would probably not visit here again, but the views and the friendly campers we met made it a pleasant camping trip for us all. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Clarkster 12 reviews from this member

 I'm quite disappointed with this site, yes there are signs of investment, but investment into the static caravan part of the park. Everywhere you look are posters and signs advertising the sale of statics. A few posters with useful information on the area or even other services offered by the park would have been more useful.

We were placed on the bottom field of the touring site which is separated by a road from the rest of the park. The ablution block here is quite run down, the graffiti dates back to 2007 in some cubicles. There is no kite flying allowed as you are too close to the airfield.

What is not mentioned in brochures and on the website is the fact that they and a company called PGL host school groups and during our stay here they seemed to dominate most of the facilities, you go to the play area and they are all there, you go for a shower they are all there, you go to the beach and they are all there having a beach party. The daily throwing of wet paper towels at each other does nothing for the cleanliness of the toilets either.

The Nab Bar on the cliff top served good food at reasonable prices which nearly balanced out the drink prices which were sheer daylight robbery. The shop was well stocked with a wide range, there were no meats for barbecues though.

The pools were good and we made use of those quite a lot.

The big point that spoiled this holiday for us was the lack of action by the staff when our dog was attacked by 2 other dogs that were being walked off the lead. We had seen these 2 particular dogs off the lead quite a lot during the 1st day, that evening they ran from across the other side of the field and attacked our dog who was tethered and playing with our 3 year old. Bearing in mind the unprovoked nature of the attack, seriousness of our dogs injuries and how close our little boy was, the staff did nothing more than warn the dogs owner not to let the dogs off the lead again. We at least expected the dogs owners to be ejected from the site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Mattdenny 1 review from this member

 Stayed in the campsite for a long weekend at the end of Whitsun half term and we all loved it. New shower / toilet block is great and kept clean (even has birdsong playing in the background, so authentic that it took a day to realise there weren't real birds in there!).
The beach is fantastic and the real selling point (despite the steep walk back). Staff were all pleasant and friendly, although a little pushy when we enquired about the costs to buy a static onsite. We're already planning to go back in the summer. 


Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 A BIG investment is to be made in new accommodation and facilities at Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park, which will be ready this season.

Carl Castledine, managing director of Away Resorts Ltd which operates Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park, said most of the money is being aimed at extensive enhancements to the holiday accommodation, as well as the touring and camping facilities.

Twenty nine of the older chalets have been demolished to make way for a new development of 33 static caravan holiday homes. The remaining chalets are being upgraded with new furniture and redecoration both inside and out.

Touring and camping guests will enjoy newly refurbished shower and toilet facilities. And there will also be another 70 touring and camping pitches with electrical services being installed.

Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park provides 450 pitches for guests with their own touring caravan, motorhome or tent.

There are also 165 chalets and 85 caravans, of which 60 are privately owned.

Its facilities include indoor and outdoor pools, entertainment venues, pub bar, carvery and beach.

“Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park has been providing holidays to Island visitors for many years and I am delighted to be preparing it for an exciting future with what we hope will be the first phase of a substantial investment programme. This is not only great news for our guests but also the broader Isle of Wight tourism industry,” said Mr Castledine. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Anita Jane 15 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to the site and were very pleased. We stayed in the doggie field which was fantastic as it was right next to Bembridge air field and as the weather was good you could sit out and watch the light aircraft take off and land.

The toilet block was clean although slightly dated but I was told that they would be re vamping them for the 2009 season.

The wardens were always happy and were at hand if needed and kept the touring fields clean.

The shop that covered the touring fields was closed when we were there but you still had the shop in the main park that you could use likewise with the pool that you also had the use of.

Naturally with the Isle of wight there were many attraction to go and see and and as we went at the end of September nothing was ever to busy so no queing and the car parks were empty. 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Muddy puddle 2 reviews from this member

 I have been to Whitecliff many times but this was the first time I had camped there.

The site has some fantastic views and overlooks Bembridge airfield. Toilets and showers were kept spotless. The site wardens were very friendly. The only disappointment was the small camp shop was closed so you had to use the main site shop. This in itself was not a big problem but did mean there was nowhere to refreeze our ice packs.

We had quite a bit of rain and there was poor drainage which meant some of the pitches had rather large puddles next to them. As mentioned in previous reviews the entrance is on a tight bend so you have to be very careful when leaving the site.

A site I would definitely return to. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vsurga 7 reviews from this member

 We visit the IOW at least once a year but this was the first time we have visited Whitecliff bay. We found the site which was spread over several fields very confusing and cluttered with mixtures of tents, caravans and motorhomes. The grass areas were the worst for conformity. We started to pitch up on the second field but the warden, whose RV took up most of the pitch area suggested we find somewhere else as we were too close to his RV. He told us to look in the doggie field and luckily we found a hard standing pitch which did seem to be the best. The site is noisy especially the doggie field as there are more tents than caravans or motorhomes. Music was played until very late at night and the children were kicking footballs around the tents and disturbing the other campers.

The toilet block was clean but outdated. The small shop was always busy but useful for basic essentials. The outdoor swimming pool was the best feature, superb and what you would expect in France or Brittany. The restaurant, although booking was essential was more like a free for all even when you had booked. Too many children riding bikes, playing ball games between the camping units. Before we came we were given the idea that it is a good site but I feel not for those who want a little tranquillity. 


Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bembridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


59879 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement