Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Seal Shore Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Isle Of Arran > Seal Shore Camping Reviews

Seal Shore Camping
Seal Shore
Kildonan
Isle Of Arran
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA27 8SE
Tel: 01770 820320
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/04/2022 to 16/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 117 Reviews
                9/10 from 117 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  117 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Grahamxxx 1 review from this member

 Likeable campsite with stunning views, roads into the the site narrow, we had motorhome and stayed 5 days.

Fairly expensive but worth it as we had nice pitch facing the sea, the manager was helpful and keen to keep you happy, the toilet and showers were clean.

TV room but we had our own tv ect but well used by campers. Ideal base for travel - go up the west coast and park by the Dougarie beach hut, wonderful views and nice beach.

The kildonan hotel is just next door and has a shop, a good bar and folk singers on a Monday night, we had full cooked breakfast(7. 50) every morning in a beautiful glass dining room looking across to the island and aisla craig.

The one and only real fault with the campsite is the beach is dirty and builders rubble has been tipped there, go along to the hotel beach its ok.

There is plenty of grassed space for ballgames on site.

Pleasant 20 minute journey from Brodick to site passing lovely Whiting Bay on the way.

We drove around the island twice, visiting the distillery at Lochranza, about 90mins in motorhome all the way around. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: FNot 14 reviews from this member

 At this site for Jubilee week. What a gem of a site. Views are fantastic. Lovely owners. Only negative is the parents in the tents who allow their kids to run wild around the vans.

Would definitely recommend this site. Great beach & if you don't want to use car then bus at entrance.

Kildonan hotel next door is great for food if you don't fancy cooking. Arran is a great place for a relaxing week. Sunsets over Ailsa Craig are a must.

Yes the facilities are old fashioned but they are spotless with plenty hot water. Caters for both vans & tents with covered area if weather bad. Would definitely return.

One of most friendly sites we have been on with views to die for. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dillonsma 6 reviews from this member

 A lovely site with a very friendly owner. The location could not be better right on the shore line with the added benefit of a pub next door.

The facilities are not brand new but they are very clean.

Take a walk along the road to the next bay, we saw basking seals by the dozen and a sea otter.

Just such a relaxing place to stay. Arran as a whole is now our favourite Scottish island and we cannot wait to return. And do buy the duck eggs on site, the are wonderful and so fresh. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ahunt 2 reviews from this member

 Originally planned to spend two nights here but stayed for four. One of the best sites ever visited (I've camped for too many years!)

Location by the sea fantastic for spotting wildlife, seals, otters, eider ducks, geese, ringed plover etc.

Facilities were spotless. Never had to wait for a shower, power showers were great, with loads of hot water. Fridge, kettle, microwave and covered cooking area big bonus.

Owner sells crab, lobster, mackerel - cant bet the freshness or quality. No noise at night or in the mornings - a real pleasure to stay here.

Bus service around the island is great and would drop you or pick up along the way. Day rover tickets good value.

I would go back here tomorrow if I could. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gedling1570 9 reviews from this member

 Found this site on UKCampsite.co.uk and looked at it from google earth. I was blown away away when we pulled onto site. Fantastic loved it, great views level pitches all landscaped.

New shower blocks great welcome from the owner, nice pub next door free wi/fi. All in all 10/10 stayed three nights and wanted to stay more.

There are great views out to sea we just sat watching the P&O ferries crossing and the view at night was lovely.

The roads on the island are not great very rough with large holes you have to keep your speed down 20mph drove round the island and the views from the west cost are great will definitely go back 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: YIDYID2 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely little site right on the edge of the beach with fantastic views of Pladda and Ailsa Craig, beach has some unusual geology and is quite rocky with islands of sand here and there, getting sandier towards the castle.

The site has a useful range of facilities, washer, drier and fridges, the toilet block is clean with two showers next to the thunder boxes! Four more showers are in a separate block. Day room with tv and undercover cooking area.

The bar is within crawling distance in the kildonan hotel, which also has a useful little shop open till 6, food is good and a nice breakfast can be had in the hotel.

Slight moans are, no working heaters in the toilets or day room, bit parky in April! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marshalldd 20 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a weeks stay at this campsite. The site has stunning views of the sea and is a two minute walk from the beach.

The campsite is peaceful and we had a relaxing week just watching the wildlife on the coast. The toilets and showers are a bit old fashioned but they are clean and the showers are always warm there are four extra new showers which are a bit more modern.

The shop is small but sells the basics. There is a shop next to the Hotel which is a 2 minute walk if you want a wider range of produts. The hotel does lovely meals and you can even take your dog into the bar but not the restaurant.

There are only two washing up sinks but I did not queue once. If you want a relaxing peaceful holiday this is the place for you.

The site does need a bit of TLC but no not let this but you off this is a minor point and to be honest the location is stunning and we will be going back we loved it. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Quinster1973 5 reviews from this member

 Spent 1 week last year and a further 2 weeks this year. If the sun shines, this small family site has all you need. Being a coastal spot the midges always seem to be fine - buy some Skin so Soft just in case.

What do I love about this site?

Beach is about 20 yards away where you will see an abundance of wildlife (otters, seals, on our visit). Rock-pooling was excellent fun we also hunted for fossils and found some for the first time. My daughters are 3 & 6 and really didn't need anything but the open fields and the beach for amusement.

The views of Ailsa Craig and Plada of the south coast is very comforting and some of the sunsets are amazing - everyone appreciates the peaceful moments.

Seafood - Maurice the site owner is also a fisherman and was selling the sweetest lobster, crab and mackerel at the cheapest price. We dined like kings for 2 weeks.

The site is 12 miles from Brodick but there are small coastal villages such as Lamlash and Whiting Bay. The Pier Head Tavern in Lamlash is family run and offered some of the best pub food I have had (really nice staff as well).

This family site is well run, clean and tidy. I do wish Maurice would fix the mens hand-dryer though! Was bust last year as well.

Maurice himself is an absolute gem of a guy - must have the patience of a saint. Never seen that guy have a spare moment, a real grafter. He donates some of the seafood money to his Africa appeal - for 6 months of the year he helps build schools for orphans. That alone tells me I want to make seal shore a regular venture.

The kildonan hotel offers nice pub grub as well, and there are 2 shops on the site that offer reasonably priced goods. My mother stayed in the hotel for some of our visit - it meant she could see the grandchildren camping but had the luxury of a hotel (expensive though). Maurice's prices are fantastic for kids toys and basics. Dont take toys with you they're so cheap its worth buying them there.

For the wet weather there is a undercover BBQ area and a lounge as well - both well kept.

I took 9 fresh crabs home with me for 10! I will always return even if its just for the sweet Arran Lobster (5!).

Gem of a site with a gem of an owner & family, highly recommended to families and couples alike. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: VEGASMAD 1 review from this member

 What a gem this site is and it is only around 12 miles from Brodick. The site is in a great location by the sea and is well kept.

There are two showers in both the ladies and gents toilet blocks together with an additional 4 new showers in a separate block. Fresh crab, mackerel and lobster are for sale when available (see the notices in the shop window)

The site of course has the added advantage that if you don't feel like cooking you can stroll down to the hotel/bar right next door to the site.

The food is good and is reasonably priced, and if the weather is nice there are plenty of outdoor tables 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jaxx73 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from my first EVER camping trip and am fully converted. Lovely site, great showers and facilities and lovely hotel next door.

Two mins to bus stop with full access to all of Arran if you fancy leaving the car ( ticket for bus is 4. 90 for full day around island).

Shop on site and another shop in hotel with cash machine. Easy access to Ardrossan ferry and friendly owner.

BBQ stands readily available and glorious beach within a mins walk !

Midges not too bad but pack the Avon. 


Previous     117 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Seal Shore Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Seal Shore Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Seal Shore Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Arran      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ayrshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4188 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement