Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Clumber Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Nottinghamshire > Worksop > Clumber Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Clumber Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Lime Tree Avenue
Clumber Park
Worksop
Nottinghamshire   (Browse area)
S80 3AE
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 188
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 103 Reviews
                9/10 from 103 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  103 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Elvis24 11 reviews from this member

We spent an enjoyable half term week at Clumber park and it was a big hit with us all.

Clumber is very peaceful and quiet and set amongst woodland. Walks are plentiful and on your doorstep. We were able to drive around the site when we arrived and pick our pitch so we chose one furthest away from the play area which was always busy till 11pm at night! The play area itself is very well set up and our boys, 11 & 9, spent hours there making friends and playing. The pitches are grass or hardstanding. We could not get a mobile or wifi signal anywhere on the site but only had to walk to the main road to get one (about a mile away) It really is a complete get away.

The wardens are friendly and helpful and there is a information 'shed' with tourist leaflets and 2 payphones in. (Quite a novelty for my kids who don't get to use public phones) The wardens lock bikes away for you each night due to thefts from the site. It does mean the boys couldn't use their bikes in the evening though as lock up time was 5pm. The shop sold basics but was quite expensive.

The 2 shower blocks were beautifully clean I only queued once in a morning.

There is barrier access for security to the site.

We loved Clumber park and hope to go back again next year.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jayneee 1 review from this member

Just had 5 days at Clumber. This site is beautiful. Immaculately kept. The shower / toilet facilities were excellent, cleaned every morning at the same time. Likewise the laundry room and the pot washing / veg prep room.
The playground is surprisingly small I'd say for a site of this size, having said that I couldn't keep my 11 year old off it. There is a very poor t.V signal on the site. We had read this and went prepared with dvds. The mobile phone signals are worse but that's not really surprising is it? There are 2 pay phones on site in the tourist info hut which we found perfectly adequate.
The tourist info hut was very well stocked with even a folder full of places to eat complete with menus etc. We found the wardens very helpful and cheerful and were impressed at the cleanliness and tidiness of the site. There are plenty of rubbish bins and water / waste points.

Clumber Park is well known for being popular

With cyclists so there are a lot of children cycling around. Whilst I do think it's great to see children being able to do this in a safe environment, I can appreciate it could be a bit hazardous. All the dog owners were very responsible in keeping their dogs on leads and I didn't see any fouling at all. It's a 5 minute drive to the local town of Worksop which has lots of shops and supermarkets.

We were thoroughly happy with this site, you can just get away from it all. We will definitely go again.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rexel 17 reviews from this member

We were last at Clumber Park about 4 years ago and then it was mid week and out of school holidays. So we were a little surprised to see the difference it makes when the site is full. There has been some additonal pitches crammed in where previously it was open space. I know the CC has done this to increase capacity across it's network, but we did feel rather hemmed in. The facilities coped well though and the only queues I saw were at the washing up sinks. A fish and Chip van calls on a Tuesday and Saturday evening. The kids play area has been upgraded since our last visit and kept our two kids entertained for hours. The wardens look after the site very well and cope with the huge numbers of people with good cheer. There are lots of notices up around the site about the theft problems and people seemed to be taking the necessary precautions.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sean P 12 reviews from this member

Mmmm, I think Clumber has now become a victim of it's own success and in some ways also been a victim of the current need for communication.

First off getting a satellite signal is tricky here, there are only a few of the more central pitches that don't have a big tree surrounding it. Ok, Satellite isn't for everyone but for those with kids and the need - particularly on UK 'Summer' weather - for a good selection of TV channels this can be a show stopper. There are TV connections on the turrets - take a long cable as they will charge you an appalling 13 for a cable from the office (you can make your own for about 5 from B&Q) - you'll need about 12ft. The turret gives you the standard 1-5 channels in a decent quality - not great and not enough for freeview. I think with the thousands of pounds the CC have it wouldn't go amiss if they invested in 3 or 4 freeview boxes and wired this into the system to give 4 more channels of the popular stuff - ITV2, C-Beebies, Sky News etc.

Next the mobile phone signals are almost dead. You may get the odd sporadic bar but for most nothing. Now some say this is great, a real get away from it all but again for those who like to browse the internet on mobile broadband - well you'll need to drive a few miles off site to get it. As a family we rely on mobile broadband when in 'strange' places so we can look for days out and stuff so this is a bummer.

So we have established that as far as communications are concerned - Clumber gives you that 'desert island' experience. For some that's great but for modern caravanners who like to be able to be got hold of (and people like me whose business insists I am got hold of) this can be a pain.

Now many older caravanners will see this as just too fussy, probably the same type who think an EHU is a luxury - but for those younger caravanners with families - they will know what I mean.

So removing the communication issue we then need to look at the site itself and why primarily I won't be going there again.

Clumber is a big park - around 330 pitches I think. It's a nice area and for dog lovers (I ain't one) it's great I'm sure. The problem is, and this is becoming an issue the C&CC and CC need to grab hold of an deal with is kids with bikes.

There were hundreds of kids - you expect this on summer holidays but couple them together with bikes and the site is like being in the middle of Delhi in the rush hour. I couldn't let my twin toddlers out as it was just too dangerous. Even on the grass there were older kids throwing rugby balls - running amok with no cares in the world and usually over your own pitch. Now I have 4 kids, but mine have manners and respect for others. Many of these treasures didn't.

The 'play area' is just a mobile casualty department - again the parents have a lot to answer to. The site have (I think) put a 6 years onwards rule - but this is silly as there is an infant swing. My nearly 5 year old just couldn't go in it as it just wasn't safe and I suspect that's why the 6 years rule is in.

Sites need to have cycle areas or cycle paths for those big enough - the rest need no skateboards, no scooters, no bike rules.

The staff are friendly(ish) but I think the pressure of a big park shows on some of them. Apart from emptying rubbish, grass cutting and emptying the glass bins (very early in the morning - no problem for us whose kids awake at 0700 - but not good for those who like a sleep in) warden visibility is poor. The shop is very dear I think - on the one nice day we fancied some home grown meat for the BBQ but 2 small pork chops were 3.60 - and frozen beyond recognition. Off to Morrisons many miles away! A most sites, the shop sells the basics but at a price.

The pitch itself isn't too expensive - around 17 a night which is good for high season.

Far too hectic, no warden control, insufficient toilet/showers for a site this large and an accident waiting to happen. For me, the charm of Clumber I encountered out of season a few years ago is gone.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lyn hathaway 9 reviews from this member

Just come back from Clumber Park where we had the most enjoyable weekend. It was very relaxing even though we went on many walks the site has to offer. Facilities at this site are excellent and even though the site was full you never queued when using wash and toilet facilities. Will definitely be spending more days and weeks at this site.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dimapps 5 reviews from this member

First time on a Caravan Club site, run by four wardens who kindly put themselves out to help us a couple of times during our 2 night stay. Pitches seemed a little small but we fitted on ok, luckily the site wasn't full though.
Toilets and showers were very clean and modern. Direct access into Clumber Park and all its amenities. There has been trouble with bike theft on the site so the club provides a locked bike store room where you can lock your bike up for the night and retrieve it in the morning. Lock up and retrieval times are quite short - you might want to set an alarm! We missed lock up time but thankfully the wardens kindly allowed us to store the bikes away. 2 bikes were stolen while we were there from inside awnings so it is definitely better to be safe than sorry.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Nickymoz55 23 reviews from this member

Yes, this site is still 10/10 just got back from yet another great weekend here. Excellent if you have children. Great walks, park good for the kids loads of room for bike riding on and around the site, wash and shower facilities still very good. Pitches are a mix of grass or hard standing , all are of decent size with plenty of room even with caravan awning and car. Reception and on site shop good too, with friendly wardens who give lots of good advice about whats in the area. Going back here again soon.

Date of Visit: January 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Molly1972 4 reviews from this member

Just come back from this site, after spending New Year there.

This site is perfect if you want some peace and quiet.

This site is sited right in the middle of Sherwood Forrest. The outlook is stunning, with the surrounding trees and wildlife.

The facilities are to the standard you would expect from a Caravan Club Site. Toilet block (including showers etc) very clean ! Bit disappointed that only one shower block was open when the camp site hard standing pitches were all booked - but you were told when you booked in.

The play park is very large and brilliant facilities to keep kids entertained.

The pitches are spacious.

We understand there is problems with electric (something to do with the power source which is being worked on) so DO NOT overload your power it WILL TRIP and the box is locked so you can only get it put back on if someone is available from the office.

Lots to do in the area. Plenty of shops/supermarkets for all your needs.

The only thing to look out for is the Sherwood Forest is literally through a gate and there is supposed to be a problem with people pinching bikes etc, so be careful and lock up your property. Also due to the site allowing dogs, the first few steps into the forest is a minefield of dog pooh - but the park cannot be blamed for inconsiderate dog owners.

In conclusion, this site is perfect for a quiet break and I will be booking up to go again.

Date of Visit: January 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kinza123 32 reviews from this member

Just returned from 2 nights in Clumber Park, we have been here 3 times before as it is 30 miles from our home.

We had a very relaxing break, ideal to finish the Christmas holiday.

Only one out of the toilet blocks open, we were told this when booking in. As always the shower and toilet facilities were spotlessly clean and very warm.

The playground has been refurbished since our last visit, our 8 year old daughter enjoyed it very much.

The walks directly from the site are wonderful, we went down to the Visitor Centre, had hot chocolate and walked back round the lakes. The water had frozen and we had a great time watching the ducks slipping around on the ice.

Drove into Worksop which took about 15 minutes, there is a good variety of shops and free parking in the centre.

Criticisms? We paid 27 a night, peak season rates, but felt the site had already wound down for Winter and had limited facilities. I think it should change to value season rates immediately after New Year.

We will definitely visit again, we have 2 more bookings there this year, it's an ideal place for us to unwind without travelling too far.

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: JasonSheffield 5 reviews from this member

I can only echo the comments about the site.

The facilities on site are bang on and we really like the mid week price reductions on Tuesday to Thursday nights.

Staff on site are friendly enough.

Plenty of walking and things to do in the area.

Previous     103 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Worksop      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Nottinghamshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2235 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019