Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Crows Nest Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Crows Nest Caravan Park Reviews

Crows Nest Caravan Park
Gristhorpe
Filey
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO14 9PS
Tel: 01723 582206
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Tourers 50 - Tents 200
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 222 Reviews
                7/10 from 222 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 10 miles   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  222 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jimjam77 1 review from this member

Me and my boyfriend first time visited this site on the may day bank holiday for 2 nights and we really enjoyed it! Got a great pitch, with a beautiful view of the beach.

The weather was gorgeous.

The facilities were to a high standard and very clean

We visited the chippy on site on the first day we stayed and they were really nice!

Can't review the pub as we didn't go in there.

As we both love walking, we really enjoyed our walk along the cliffs and coast line, we even saw some seals basking on the rocks. We would of liked to have walked on the beach but we didn't know how to get down there.

It were only a 10 min trip in the car to Scarborough and Bridlington.

It were really busy on our first day (sunday)

On our 2nd day we had a trip to Whitby and when we came back there were only a few tents left.

We would definitely come back here again as we loved the easy use of the facilities and the view from our tent when we were pitched

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Boxertwin69 13 reviews from this member

Just back from 3 nights at Crow's Nest.

Downsides first:

-First impressions were poor, with an unfriendly / disinterested welcome & no information volunteered (or seemingly known) about anything. Do your own research before coming.

-The standard pitch was a bit on the small side & the manager left it to me to ask my neighbour to move his car off our pitch so that we could put our awning up.

-The on-site pub doesn't serve food (the 'Lord Roseby' at the top of the main shopping street in Scarborough is a Wetherpoons pub & is fantastic value for family meals).

-The pool is too small, has woefully inadequate changing facilities & is staffed by over-zealous lifeguards. Under 5's go free - watch you don't get charged full rate for them.

-The toilet block is small, dirty & still not being adequately monitored despite the many complaints on here.

-Only 3 shower cubicles & 3 toilet cubicles for the touring area

-WiFi charges are far too high, and the 3G signal is poor (there's free wi-fi at Waterstones bookshop in Scarborough if you need it)

-Tv reception is only average (we only managed half a dozen Freeview channels & none were dedicated kids channels. There is a large screen in the bar for football matches etc however.

Positives :

-On-site fish & chip shop is SUPERB - best chips I've had for years!

-On-site playground & shop also very good

-Site was quiet & civilised, despite it being half-term week

-Grounds are pleasant & well-kept

-Scarborough & Filey (both great towns) are 10 minute bus rides away (kids under 5 go free at the moment & one child over 5 goes free with every paying adult, so Scarborough was just 4. 75 return for 3 of us & Filey just 3. 20 return)

-Buses stop right outside the main entrance

-If you want to drive into Scarborough, the Park & Ride facilities are excellent

-There's a Jet petrol station & Spar just down the road.

Overall, not the best site we've stayed at, but far from the worst & has many redeeming features. I think there's a good chance we'll return, but probably not at a peak time.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: I8blades 48 reviews from this member

After being let down on another site, we rang crows nest and were easily accommodated.

We had a super pitch which despite the site being quite hilly was relatively flat.

The chip shop on site was good and not too pricey.

There's a shop which is well stocked, a smallish pool, which we had to ourselves (2 charge to get in ). The on site pub was ok although a bit chavy.

The children's playground looked fantastic.

The toilet block at the top of the site where the super pitches are were immaculate and heated as well.

The views from the back of the site are brilliant.

A short walk off the site gets you to the Plough Inn where we had a very nice meal

Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: EllieBrooks9 1 review from this member

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a week, the last few days in October going into November. We stayed in a tent ( we must be crazy) but we thought it was absolutely fantastic and would definitely camp here this time next year!

When we arrived we checked in at reception and the man advised us not to pitch up on the tent bit at the top as winds were 40mph up there! So he told us we could pitch just across from the Crows nest pub!

But we had a drive up to the top to have a look and found the perfect spot, right behind the top shower/toilet blocks which were great because that protected us from the wind a little, the shower and toilet block up there were amazing! Always very clean, warm showers and a lot of room to get changed after showering.

The view from the top of the cliffs is absolutely gorgeous!

We caught the bus everyday to Scarborough or Filey and didn't mind the walk from Crows Nest to the main road, although some people may find it a bit of a walk.

We went to the Crows Nest pub every night it was open, which we enjoyed. When it was closed on Mondays and Thursdays we walked down to the Plough Inn which is a little bit of a walk especially when you are walking back after a 'few' drinks at around midnight, quite scary! But the 24/7 Spar across from it is always good on the way back to the tent!

The owner of Crows nest is very friendly and even offered us an extra night for free to have the last night on Crows nest before closing for the season.

We tried the chip shop on the site one night and we have got to say their curry sauce is the best we've ever had!

Overall we really enjoyed our holiday and would definitely stay here again, if it was this good at the end of the season it must be fantastic in the summer!

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Babywhale 25 reviews from this member

Stayed for two nights early September 2012. Tents pitch on the cliff edge side of the site. Those needing EHU don't get sea views. Otherwise you can get an uninterrupted view over the sea from the cliff edge pitches.

Site has caravans as well as tourers. Small shop is useful. Didn't try the bar or the swimming pool. Also didn't pay for wifi as quite expensive ie two pounds an hour but worked out cheaper for day or weekly wifi passes.

Our EHU pitch was near the toilet block. Sloped quite a bit. Grass short and dry and ground firm but without stones. Lovely views over the wolds and only a minutes walk to the cliff edge. You would have to negotiate a very steep and uneven dirt track to access the beach. We didn't try it.

Site was quiet and the only sound was distant tractors and harvesters.

Toilets and showering facilities etc in a newly built block. Spacious private wet rooms. Very clean. Lots of cubicles. Cannot imagine queuing unless site was at capacity.

Site is quite exposed and can get breezy so bring strong pegs.

Filey is attractive with a beach that goes on for miles. There's a tesco there. 10 mins by car. Scarborough is 15-20 mins by car. Has some good points but looks like its best days were in the 1950s.

Will definitely return if we're in the area again. The weather was lovely for us which always makes you feel good about a site however this ticked a lot of boxes for us besides this aspect. Dogs very welcome and there's a great exercise area for them - a gated and fenced small hilly field, great for ball etc.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Springy48 1 review from this member

Stayed over the bank holiday weekend.

Very windy - but we were in the overflow field as you enter the site, so the complete opposite end from the cliff top pitches so tent stayed in tact.

The new toilet block in the main camping field was good - but we ended up driving there as it was a very long way from our tent. If the overflow field is used then facilities should be provided - even portaloos would have been OK as there is no way we could have taken the children up to the toilets once it was dark!

There were no facilities in our field - just a stand pipe right at the very top. Thought it was expensive at 30 a night for just a field!

Did like the fact we could pitch where we want - good for groups.

Shop, playground and chippy good - reasonable prices.

Swimming pool OK - bit steep to pay on top of the 30 a night. Small, but better than nothing - and nice staff.

Didn't use the bar so can't comment on this.

Positioned between Filey and Scarborough - you need to use car to get about. There was a big circus opposite which if we had stayed longer we might have visited - not sure if its always there in summer though.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bryanfan 8 reviews from this member

First time camping since 1980s and first time since being confined to electric wheelchair and I must say was really impressed with the site. The accessible toilet and shower were excellent, room to manoeuvre the wheelchair. there were a couple of things that needed improving and after emailing the site was informed they would be carried out eg proper shower chair, handrails in shower and a blind on the door, as even though it is obscure glass when the light is on too much can be seen.

The fish and chips we had from the takeaway were a good portion size and no more than any other fish shop, we didn't go into the club/bar or the pool sadly I couldn't get into the shop but was informed by my husband that there was plenty in there, they have a freezer pack service only 20p per day bargain.

The site was clean and tidy always seemed to have people cleaning emptying bins etc, and even though some of the road surface is a bit rough I managed to get right round the camp. We will definitely be going next year probably take grandsons and hopefully get electric hook up

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jambler1 1 review from this member

Just got back from Crows Nest. Stopped on the new super pitches. Pitch a good size and plenty of room between caravans. The site offered plenty of entertainment and facilities for families. The new toilet block, was very clean and showers nice and hot.

The pitch had lovely views of the Wolds, it was halfway up a hill and backed onto the tents. The other side of the hill overlooked the sea. Our pitch had no protection from the wind whatsoever and was completely open to the elements from all directions. The first day, the wind got up and tore our awning off the awning rail, as the wind blew up from the Wolds. On the third day, the wind had changed direction hitting us from the other side, which was a northerly wind approximately 25 miles an hour, blowing off the sea side, complete with lashing rain. As you can imagine not many of the tents survived this extreme weather and most of the tourers had to take down their awnings or have them broken. We came home early as we didn't feel safe in the caravan.

This site has the potential to be a very good site and in good weather it probably would be. Hedges need to be installed on the super pitches and camping area to create bays for protection from the wind. For anyone considering the Crows Nest I would say check the weather before you go.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PurpleCath 1 review from this member

Really lovely campsite. We were in a tent with EHU and were on the top field that is on the cliff top. Unfortunately we did decide to cut our stay short because it was very windy while we were there, with the forecast to get even windier!

The toilet and shower block were lovely and new and kept clean by the staff, but unfortunately some of the other campers did not respect these facilities and could not be bothered to put there rubbish in the bins provided.

The swimming pool was great and was nice and warm, and the shop was well stocked with very friendly staff.

Didn't get the chance to try out the family lounge and bar, but I'm sure that this would have been really good too.

Kids playground was really good too.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Susantez 2 reviews from this member

On arrival check in was a very quick and easy process and we were given a map of where to pitch which was easy to follow as the pitches were clearly marked,

We were at the top of the site which seems to be rather a new extension to the site,

Our pitch was a corner plot so we seemed to have more room than other pitches,

We came with friends who also were in a caravan and as we booked last minute we were lucky to be placed next to each other.

The pitches have EHU water tap and also a TV aerial point and also a waste point if you have that sort of kit.

They are hard standing so bring your rock pegs.

The toilet and shower block was new too and was well looked after by the staff but not by a lot of the campers who just were either disrespectful or too lazy to walk and drove to them? there is a play park for children and our children seemed to enjoy this though it does get busy,

As this is a family site it does get noisy and one thing that I did notice was where we were pitched it backed on to the tent area,

This tent area seemed a rather unorganised area with tents just stuck up anywhere and the noise that came from them with people shouting and playing load music till late at night was a bit offputting though when in my caravan it waset such a problem however if I was in a tent I would of packed up and left.

The swimming pool though small was ok for my young son of 6 and the chipshop on site served good sized fish and chips at a reasonable price.

We only used the club house once to watch boxo the clown which my son loved and the prices at the bar are good too.

All in all it is a good site and base for all the local areas though it does get busy.

Previous     222 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4491 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019