Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Holme Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Settle > Holme Farm Campsite > Reviews

Holme Farm Campsite
Horton In Ribblesdale
Settle
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD24 0HD
Tel: 01729 860281
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 96 Reviews
                7/10 from 96 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Swraighte 3 reviews from this member

 Good news: cheap, basic, rustic and plenty of character. Owner is a nice chap who sits at the front of the field in his marquee, which is a tad odd but he was very friendly. Fantastic views and great starting point for the Yorkshire peaks walk, with a country pub at the end of the road for a treat when you have completed the walk. Fairly peaceful, surrounded by sheepies. Plenty of surrounding walks and hills if you don't fancy the peaks.

Bad news: We found the main field jammed packed and so we decided to go to another field, but it was uneven, uncut grass and on a slope. The toilets are extremely basic, avoid if you don't like spiders but I was told the showers were hot. I am not sure whether they live there, but young boys were parked up the front in their motorhome riding their motorbikes around the site which was very annoying and noisy. There was quite a lot of noise from the bigger field over the hedge and I heard a few people cursing at the culprits in the early hours of the morning, but I expect you can get this at any campsite. The biggest downfall for me, was the dogs! Three dogs were chained up on a practically concrete slab which barked constantly every time someone walks by. I felt so sorry for them as during my three days there, I did not see them come out of their pen. They slept in a barrel and howled throughout the night. Maybe I am not used to the life of a working farm dog! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Retfordbadger 1 review from this member

 We have just got back from staying 2 nights at this site.

It really is a lovely little site. Tthe owner is a generous and very hospitable gentleman. We arrived later than we hoped (around 9.15pm) and another group arrived at the same time. He was fine with us getting there at that time and happily advised us on where best to set up our tent. (Advice gratefully received).

He provided us with fruit and drinks upon arrival and made it a very nice stay.

Yeah the toilets aren't brilliant, but its a campsite, you don't expect 5*. He checked regularly to make sure there was enough loo roll and when one of the 3 ladies toilets broke it was fixed and back working within an hour.

The shower costs 1 to use but it lasts a great 20 mins. Its lovely and warm and not slippery like sone showers are. If your in a group of 2 men or women you could easily share the shower with someone else and have 10 mins each. (There is a shower in the mens and womens).

You need to park your car in the car park but it is on site and an easy walk to your tent.

The pitches are a little close together but as long as you don't run and respect other people this shouldn't be a problem.

In the evening Mr Sutcliffe plays music but is respectful and turns it down around 9pm.

There is a pub next door but we weren't too keen on it and didn't eat there. We would recommend the Masons Arms in Ingleton, its on the main road and really easy to find.

Prices:

At 2 per person, per car and per tent you can't go wrong. For two of us for two nights it was 16 so we were chuffed.

We are definitely going back to this site! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mike1982 1 review from this member

 Just back from 4 nights and all I can say is how fantastic it was, stayed 10th,11th, 12th and 13th nights. 3 pound per person per night.

Me and the GF decided to go after reading on here about the place.

The site is fantastically located for the three peaks, we only did Pen Y Ghent while there but the starting point is literally 100 yards from the campsite entrance.

Lovely lil towns and Villages of Austwick and Clapham and Ingleton nearby, The Settle-Carlisle railway line was out of service and not back till August which was a little dissapointing but we worked round it and they had replacement shuttle services.

Horton has 2 pubs both of which were very lively on the friday and satuday nights, Went to the crown on the Monday night as was my 27th Birthday and the food as fantastic, all local produce and home made, Try the Onion Rings you wont be dissapointed, the best I have ever had. 1 shop that sells the basics and the Pen Y Ghent Cafe, which is a tad overpriced but you are in the dales afterall.

The Actual site is a lovely field and the views of Pen Y Ghent at dusk are lovely, was a bit iffy about the toilets after reading some reviews on here but they were brilliant, Shower was a power shower and lovely and warm, the toilets were cleaned daily by Chris the owner and lashings of toilet roll even when the site was full.

Only downfall was 1 shower each for men and women and sometimes a bit of a queue.

Chris the owner is lovely and very talkative asking what you have planned and what your day was like, His tent is alkwys open for anything you may have forgotton or needed from glasses to a bbq.

All in All, A fabulous place. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Liz Sherriff 2 reviews from this member

 This was my first experience of camping ! It was chosen by my sister and her husband because it was so cheap and we were only going for one night. The camp (2 fields )is very basic. There is a toilet block ( 3 loos in the women's and a shower, 1 to use). There was also a prep / washing up room. These were reasonably clean and there was handsoap and loo rolls. Don't think I'd have been brave enough to have a shower! The price of a night on this site (2 per person 2 per tent 2 per car) reflected the facilities. Car parking area was very packed but some people had parked on the field next to their tent. The owner was very friendly (eccentric?!) and had a run down marquee type thing erected next to the toilet block and a table in front where he sat when people paid. He played music (country & western?) all the time. Reminded me of the film Hot Fuzz! The camp was very busy (we had booked in advance). Tents were very close to each other. Ideally located if you are a rambler etc but nothing else there except 2 pubs, a cafe and a small shop. Lovely railway station - expected Mr Tom to be there! Some late night revellers which got very noisy and also some extremely inconsiderate early morning risers and some very noisy sheep! However, all in all as it was my first camping experience it wasn't too bad and it hasn't put me off camping again! At the end of the day, you get what you pay for. If you don't mind roughing it then this is the camp for you! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: IanS293 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for the one night on the 11th July.

Party included 5 adults, 1 teenager, 1 at 11 and 1 at 9.

Very busy site as it is really the official start point for the peaks.

Well kept site with grass in good condition.

Cars are not supposed to be parked near the tents but this is not observed by all.

Nice, welcoming owner (if a little eccentric!) who plays his country and western tracks for all to hear. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sel1 1 review from this member

 Have stayed at this campsite twice for the Yorkshire 3 Peaks. It's nice & cheap at 2 per pitch, 2 per car and has a reasonable toilet block with floodlight outside so you can see in the dark.

Tents can be close together if it is busy though, & if you are unlucky like me, you will get pitched up under the floodlight (I had no idea until it was night time). Anywhere else and I'd have been fine. In 2008, there was a lot of noise on site so we didn't get much sleep, but 2009 was much better.

Parking area is very small. Parking on the road nearby is possible though, so I'd opt for that if you don't want to get blocked in.

The guy who owns it is very friendly. Always happy to accommodate, & if you are struggling with your tent, helps put it up.

There is a cafe/pub down the road. The cafe does huge mugs of tea which are great after a long walk!

A very reasonable place. I'm going again this month. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lancslass16 1 review from this member

 Stayed here 22nd and 23rd may had a great time. Mr sutcliffe the owner a very nice friendly bloke, he has his marquee set up at top of field where you go to pay, makes you feel welcome.
The toilets are oldish but fine and clean enough with plenty of loo roll and soap and one shower which is a 1. There's a pub next to the campsite which we never went in, one further down the rd and they both do food.
The village is small, there's a cafe and a post office.There's plenty of walks to go on and lovely views of pen-y-gent from the site. We will definitely be going here again in the near future. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Justjo 2 reviews from this member

 This was my first camping trip in many years and I really enjoyed it. So the toilets were not the hilton but I didn't expect it to be. That's the whole idea about camping, cheap, cheerful, peaceful and fresh air and beautiful scenery. They my not have been modern but were always clean and tidy, well stocked with toilet roll and hand wash etc.
Mr Suttcliffe? what a grand old lad, no bother at all, we found him to be very pleasant and helpful, welcomes us with a smile and a chat.
The surrounding area speaks for itself, what an amazing little village, we will be returning. We're not walkers but love the countryside and my husband and friends play the guitar round a small campfire we were allowed to have. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: We went TOO FAST 1 review from this member

 A group of us, two men & two women stayed at this campsite 'fer' two nights whilst we completed the Yorkshire 3 Peaks Challenge.

Having read previous reviews about the campsite we were somewhat sceptical about what awaited us, but we can honestly say that this campsite is a fantastic place to stay, no fuss, no messing, no ridiculous curfews (grown adults being treated like grown adults usually helps everyones mood).

It was quick and easy to pitch the tent up before we went to meet the much maligned Mr Sutcliffe the campsite owner. We found him so helpful and friendly when you consider how many people he sees everyday, he made us feel welcome and offered us the opportunity to 'brew up' in his marquee. Unfortunately (or fortunately) he didn't get his guitar out or start singing, possibly due to the torrential weather for both nights. Nonetheless we felt welcomed and accepted.

The facilities were basic at the very least but exactly what we expected, we were camping after all, the amount of people on here that have complained about the facilities alarm me (shouldn't you have booked in 5 star accommodation if you wanted 5 star treatment?). The showers were hot, toilets clean with loo roll, mirrors etc. 2 for everything pitch, per person, car. No frills just affordable happy camping.

The campsite is ideal for accessing the three peaks challenge and has views of all 3 peaks, Pen Y Ghent being the clearest.

Horton in Ribblesdale is a lovely village it has two pubs the Golden Lion Hotel which is situated next door to the campsite, okayish could do with a lick of paint, felt a bit dark and cold, never tried the food, the Crown Hotel was the much better option, nice food and friendly locals. We met 'Ivor' the (day before we did the challenge) in there he had completed the challenge in just '5 hours' in his 'younger days of course', (trust me hard to believe when you're doing the walk)sure enough he came in the pub the following night to see how we had got on and exchanged stories about what we had seen and experienced. Nice fellow would love to meet him again. The pub itself has good food and good beer, what more could you ask. They will also provide breakfast for non residents if you book the night before.

Pen Y Ghent Cafe was a great starting point and has plenty of info on the challenge and surrounding walks, ensure you clock out and in again once you have completed the challenge, this not only enables you an invitation to join their club, but is also a unique way of letting others know that you are back safely from the fells. Their is also a post office, and at the far end of the village the Blindbeck Tearoom which is a nice lady's house. She opens it for all, for welcomed refreshments, once again very nice lady who after chating for a while mentioned the Holme Farm campsite owner, Mr Sutcliffe is a lovely man, who apparently in is marquee has bbq facilities, food and plenty of alcoholic beverages. All the more reason to go back then! 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Noddyman 2 reviews from this member

 I stopped here for one night as part of a group of 4 adults looking for a cheap nights camping that was close to the 3 Yorkshire Peaks.

Here are my findings in no particular order;

Cheap, 16 for 4 adults, 2 cars, 2 tents.
No parking next to tents, separate car park.
Grass was in good condition and well kept.
Some pitches slope but mainly flat. Dry stone walls surround the field offering shelter if you don't want to be in the open.
Absolutely fantastic scenic views, Pen-y-Ghent one side, Ingleborough the other.
Good starting point for the 3 peaks challenge. 100 yds from official start point - Horton Cafe.
Owner let us leave cars on car park free of charge the following day.
Toilet block very basic and tatty, sites biggest let down. For 4 blokes who were not that fussy it was ok for one night. You've been warned!
Eccentric but very friendly owner, always has a smile on his face! Nice genuine chap with many a tale to tell!
Owner also has a 'marquee' type construction next to the toilet block overlooking the site. Played his own type of music quite loud whether you like it or not. Can be avoided if you get far enough away.
Two pubs nearby, 100 yds and 1/4 mile. Cafe's, shops and farm produce also close bye.
Attracts all types, families, walkers, mixed groups, bikers, kids on school trips etc.
Didn't see a kids play area but that's not to say there isn't one.

So to summarize for me on this occasion it was ideal. For some people the state of the toilet block will be the biggest let down. Would I go again? Yes, with the family? No. 


Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Holme Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Holme Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Holme Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Settle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


56897 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement