Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Riverside Campsite Malham Cove

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Skipton > Riverside Campsite Malham Cove > Reviews

Riverside Campsite Malham Cove
Town Head Farm
Malham
Skipton
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD23 4DJ
Tel: 01729 830287
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/03/2024 to 31/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 89 Reviews
                8/10 from 89 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  89 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Worksop 2 reviews from this member

 Had a two day break with my 13 year old son on this campsite. The site is basic, clean and quiet, just how we like it, but I thought the £12 a night was a bit steep for a two man tent and a added 80p for a 4min shower was a bit much, but your paying for the location which is fantastic. Malham cove on your door step and gordale scar a short walk away, and if you are up to it the climb out of the gorge is a must. There is two local pubs, a outdoor shop and a small general shop just a few minutes walk down the road. This area is a must to visit, but I hope this campsite doesn't price its self out off the market. ( cheaper in the lakes ) 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Puppy And Baby 2 reviews from this member

 Very good site been here a dozen times. The site is split into 2, one for the tent and car and on the other just tents.
Very good prices too, its the best campsite in malham. Toilets and showers very clean and tidy. Owners Mr and Mrs Moon very friendly.
Only a 5 mins walk to the village centre plus other good walks. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ThirstyKirstie 1 review from this member

 8 of us stayed here for the half term week. It is a great base for the fabulous walks in the area, and the four children we had with us enjoyed their time there very much. The facilities are basic, but adequate. There are many signs around the campsite, as previously stated on the review.
Most of which are repeated - the one I found the most amusing was about buying your shower tokens before a certain time(I think it was 5pm)??! The showers (of which there are 2 of, were fairly clean, but very expensive for a 4 minute shower!) 
All in all, we had a very relaxing time and enjoyed a fabulous meal at the Lister Arms, as well as having a well deserved pint of Black Sheep after our walk to Janet's Foss and completing the Malham Safari with the children.  


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dodge 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed for three nights the weekend after Easter. The weather was perfect. Malham Cove and Gordale Scar are unique examples of the finest Yorkshire scenery. The camp site is right in the middle of it. We parked the car on Friday morning and did not move it until Monday afternoon.  
A large, slightly sloping grassy field divided in two. One half for tents only, cars in the car park and the other for tents and cars together. A good idea. Toilets and showers are basic but clean.  Free hot water for washing up and in the wash basins. 70p token a little steep for the showers but four minutes is long enough for a good shower. Farmer and his wife easy to chat with. Late on Sunday there were only two tents left on the site and the Farmer actually asked us if we minded him cutting the grass around our tent!  There are lots of hand written A4 laminated signs about but no more than anywhere else. If we were all the considerate campers that we claim to be then there would be a few less.  Malham is 5 minutes walk down the road and both Pubs sell good food and beer. I class this as a real campers campsite and if you have been camping for forty years like me then you will know what I mean.  


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Melissa Hubberstey 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed just one night at this campsite and it was really impressed with it.  The field is fairly big to pitch plenty of tents and the toilets & showers are right nearby - these were fairly basic but okay for a short-term stay.  There are 2 pubs within walking distance - literally a short 5 minute walk away (always an added bonus).  The Buck was by far the better one - the food was really tasty and large portions.  The only thing I wasn't keen on was the walk back to the site at night as it was pitch black and there are no street lights or anything, apart from that I found it an enjoyable site to visit and would definitely go back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nick@90 12 reviews from this member

 I had the pleasure of staying at this camp site in October; although the web site says it's not open to camper vans, that's only because of the lack of electric hook-up; if all you need works on gas or battery, it's not a problem.

Don't be put off by the apparently unwelcoming nature of the place; there are fierce notices posted EVERYwhere, a more comprehensive array of do's and don'ts (mostly don'ts) you'd be unlikely to find anywhere else outside Sellafield. My personal favourites were the twin signs forbidding us from touching or throwing stones into a large mound of slowly rotting vegetables stationed near the shower block. A hard impulse to resist, but I managed somehow. The showers themselves are fine, but the lights switch off when the 70p token runs out; no allowance there for getting dressed too (that's extra, unless of course you manage to take a shower in daylight).

A word about Malham itself : any village that boasts a pub selling Real Ale is worth visiting for that reason alone, in my view. Here there are, splendidly, TWO pubs offering that vital service; of these, the Buck has undoubtedly the better food, and a splendid Malt Whisky selection to boot.  


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Russpen_1 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed for two nights, facilities basic but adequate. Surroundings perfect. If like us you are looking for peace and quiet then go during the week, lots of children at weekends. Malham is a dog owners delight,the nearby pubs both accept pets which made the evenings very enjoyable. I would thoroughly recommend this site.
 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debbie+Steve 1 review from this member

 We have just camped for four nights over the Bank Holiday weekend. We arrived on Thursday night but by Friday teatime the campsite was full although they still accept hikers. For two adults and a german shepherd and it cost £10.50 each night. Showers are 70p per token and last approx 5 mins. The toilets, showers and wash up areas are very basic with a lot of cobwebs and spiders! But they served their purpose, were reasonably clean and always had loo roll available. It is a very picturesque campsite ideally situated for walking and around the corner from Malham Cove. Also nearby is Janet's Foss waterfall and Gordale Scar both worth a visit and take your camera. The campsite is also a 5 minute walk to two very good pubs. The Buck Inn was our favourite and pulled an excellent pint of Old Peculiar and welcomed our muddy dog in the Hikers Bar. We usually finished up there after a long walk with a pint and a large plate of homemade meat pie and chips which we had twice it is so good! There is also a walking shop, general shop selling papers and sweets and a good cafe for breakfast. The only downside was there was a lot of wasps around our tent. We did pitch near the stream but the wasps were an annoyance. And there was a lot of children but it was the Bank Holiday! Overall we would certainly recommend this campsite and will return again soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gillpinder 5 reviews from this member

 Small 'no frills' campsite in attractive location on edge of Malham village. Good value for money - £10.50 per pitch per night for a small dome tent for 2 people plus 70p tokens for showers (queues possible). - 10 minutes walk from Malham Cove - 5 minutes to village centre which has two good pubs and a cafe serving wholesome food. Excellent base for walking around Malham. Would return for a short stay 


Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lexiie 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for the weekend quite a few of us. The lady wasn't very helpful when we first arrived and although we had booked to all be together it turned out to be a free for all as far as pitching went no marked areas luckly we managed to all get together. The site has stunning views of the cove but isn't the most even site i've ever stayed on. The shower tokens have to be the most expensive i've ever known at 70 pence a go I needed 1 for a shower 1 to dry my hair and 1 to straighten it so not cheep! The facilitys although clean where basic all in all I would probably try somewhere else next time. 


Previous     89 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Riverside Campsite Malham Cove child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Riverside Campsite Malham Cove?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Riverside Campsite Malham Cove dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Skipton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


58749 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement