Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Alfriston Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > East Sussex > Alfriston > Alfriston Camping Park > Reviews

Alfriston Camping Park
Pleasant Rise Farm
Alfriston
East Sussex   (Browse area)
BN26 5TN
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 29/03/2024 to 27/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 107 Reviews
                8/10 from 107 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  107 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dave Goodman 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from another relaxing stay at The Alfriston camping park with some friends.This camp site is a great place to go for a real switch off from the out side world, take your dogs for a great long walk to the pub for lunch and sit around in the evening chatting to friends.It got a bit windy and wet on the Saturday night and it was nice to see Roy the owner checking on everyone in the morning to ensure they were all OK. Great new mens shower block & my wife is looking forward to the ladies being done next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rupert1 1 review from this member

 My wife and I spent an impromptu weekend break in Alfriston. We hadn't booked and turned up in the hope of a space. As the campsite is spacious we had no problems.

When we visited, the hot showers and toilets were clean and free of charge. The Gents have been refurbished and there are plans to improve the ladies facilities by the end of the year.

On arrival we found a quiet edge of the main field for our tent. Having no car we used public transport which was easy to arrange from Brighton. The surrounding area was rolling Downland with many paths to explore. The location of the site is great as you have good access to the hills and to the village of Alfriston. Given the accessibility and good location we would visit again. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Woods 1 review from this member

 Highly recommend this site. Just spent four enjoyable nights at this basic, straightforward site. Roy is most pleasant and appears to adopt a relaxed approach which is welcoming. Brilliant site for children who have plenty of space and can play in the adjacent woods. And we all had great fun using the tennis courts.

The fellow campers seemed to be extremely friendly and enjoying their stay. The site filled up on the Friday evening which put pressure on the limited facilities. A common problem, due to the time of year, was the constant barrage of wasps when cooking/eating/thinking about food.

Alfriston is a lovely village a short walk from the site with a good range of interesting shops. We can heartily recommend the Tudor House Restaurant which did us proud two nights running. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nige64 1 review from this member

 A nice, spacious, peaceful simple site.

2 portable loos, a small toilet block (2 loos and 2 shower units)- never busy when we were there. Drinking water from tap. Washing up sinks.

Very easygoing. And Roy is very helpful - especially when my hopeless Halfords family tent decided to snap and tear (this has now been disposed of).

5-minute walk into the old village (don't expect to eat here every day, especially with children. Prices are astronomical - 5.50 for a scone and a cuppa in the local tea rooms).

A good base, though. Recommended 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jooshtin 3 reviews from this member

 Alfriston Camping Park is on the edge of Alfriston, which is a lovely bustling village not far from Eastbourne and set in some beautiful countryside. It should be ideal for touring and countryside walks. We've been to many camp sites and this has been the biggest let down ever!

The site is easy to drive past as there are no proper signs - just an apologetic 'camping' sign. At the end of a long dirt track past the Alfriston Riding Centre, a few houses, some tired old tennis courts, and a small complex of dilapidated sheds (the facilities) there are three fields. The first one is a well manicured and pleasant looking Caravan & Camping Club area, then the two not so well tended general camping areas.

There was a small, badly written sign pinned to a gate post directing campers to the end field. The camping area is fine - a large level area in the middle gently sloping to the edges and backing onto/overlooking lovely countryside and views. It feels quite exposed and got very windy so tie your tent down well! Very quiet at night and as there are no safety lights on the campsite at all, there was the benefit of being able to enjoy some clear starry nights.

We were quoted 15 per night by email, then charged 20 when we arrived - so be warned and print out any emails and take them with you!

The facilities are the worst any of us have ever seen. They consist of an untidy complex of home-made looking sheds that have obviously been altered over the years. There are two washing up sinks (outside), two sinks, two cubicles and two showers in each of the toilet areas. One cubicle in the gents had a rusty nail and two sharp screws sticking through the flimsy exterior wall - at small child hand/face height. Lots of cobwebs and dead insects. Facilities are dirty and not properly cleaned. Needless to say our kids hated using the facilities. When more than one person takes a shower or flushes a loo both the hot and cold water cut out! There's not even a hook to hang a towel on or somewhere to put a toilet bag etc. There is only one working water standpipe in the main camping field with a length of grotty hose on the tap.

We had arranged to meet family who were staying nearby so had to endure this site for a few days as everywhere else was now booked up. We saw a few families only stay one night then leave. This site is such a wasted opportunity on the part of the owner, if only the ubiquitous Roy could spent his time updating the site and making it safe for families he would be onto a winner. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Butlertek 1 review from this member

 Spent the weekend there with my partner. We found the campsite to be spacious with clean amenities, free powerful hot showers and very peaceful at night.

Will definitely return and when we do we will ask the ever helpful and friendly owner if we can borrow his shotgun for the crows! only joking. The area has much to offer and is an undiscovered gem. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Salandpaul 1 review from this member

 We only stayed for one night but we wished we had stayed longer!

On arrival we saw a (very small) sign saying to find your own space and someone will come to find you later. We were fine with this and it was nice to select our own spot (near other families under the morning tree shade) but we did meet several lost looking folks in cars asking for the office.

The grounds are nicely kept with a beautiful looking caravan club space.

My only grumble would be the showers and toilets, while they were clean where it mattered and perfectly useable they were very dated and lots of spiders webs which put my small daughters off using them.

The owner Roy came round checked we were ok and familer with the area and took our money and let us know about the local village etc.

A short walk down the track and you are in Alfriston which is a lovely village with lots of cafes, pubs and gift shops to choose from, only one 'useful' village store, so if you need anything like gas or drinking water buy it before hand.

We really enjoyed the stay at Pleasant Farm, looking at the horses and watching kids play tennis, we would recommend it to anyone looking for a quite rustic camp site. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BJHarrington 7 reviews from this member

 This is a great little site. Stayed with two other families all with young kids. Lovely setting, safe for the children and the horses paddocked in the surrounding fields just added to the beautiful setting.

Alfriston is on the doorstep with good pubs and shops and the coast is only half an hour away. The owner Roy was great and the facilities are basic, but clean and work well - one of the best showers I have had on a campsite. We will be back and recommend this place to all. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Truebluesal 1 review from this member

 Lovely setting and surroundings for a wonderful break with friends. Tent pitch was perfect with a great view up the valley.

Daughter enjoyed the local horse riding and I enjoyed the local walks and town of Alfriston.

Facilities were basic but generally clean and the water was hot every shower!

The owner was very helpful and friendly and couldn't help enough with any problems.

Particularly enjoyed the tennis facility although it was too hot for a 3 setter! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Johnb2 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 3 night stay here. The area and campsite are both great - fantastic walking, lots of wildlife and very peaceful. Roy (the owner) was very helpful, facilities are fine. Would recommend this site to anyone wanting a relaxed, non fussy break.  


Previous     107 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Alfriston Camping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Alfriston Camping Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Alfriston Camping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Alfriston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


53628 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement