Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Newton Stewart > Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site Reviews

Drumroamin Farm Camping & Caravan Site
1 South Balfern
Kirkinner
Newton Stewart
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG8 9DB
Tel: 01988 840613  or  07752471456
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 98 Reviews
                10/10 from 98 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  98 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Weejanet 33 reviews from this member

Fab site, plenty of space, squeaky clean showers, toilets and washing up facilities. Choose your own space settle down and watch the campers pitch their tents. Going home time we slowly got ourselves together, packed up and left around 2.30ish, (I had asked if we could leave a little later and the lovely lady said there was no problem with this.)
Lovely views and a great base to explore surrounding area, lots to see and do. Will definitely go back to this site.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Neetsa1011 3 reviews from this member

Lovely site, did get bit lost on way but phoned and lesley helped me get there with ease. Great helpful couple had problems with my electric and ralph couldn't help enough
Toilets showers and laundry immaculate, cleanest I have seen and had been to 3 sites during my holidays and they were the best. Spacious bays
They have a butcher and fish van on a tuesday which is both great we had a lovely fry up. Would suit tourers looking for peace and tranquillity, away from the normal entertainment sites which can be noisy.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SANCA 1 review from this member

Got to be one of the best sites around,

Very clean and tidy, shower block and toilets outstanding. Quiet and peaceful, beautiful views,

Local pub the kirkinnen arms about 2 mile walk,

Good breakfast, food served all day, just arrange with alex or jane and they will pick you up from the campsite if you fancy a drink ot 2, great couple very helpful. This site and location highly recomended

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pip2209 2 reviews from this member

This was our second visit to this site, excellent just about covers it, plenty for the kids to do, superb walks for dogs directly from site. The facilities are spotless and there are plenty of them. The owners look after you as if you are family, pleased to say we are already booked again for August `09, can`t wait.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Blueexpo97 23 reviews from this member

Fabulous farm site in the peace and quiet of Dumfries and Galloway.

We selected this site due to its good reviews and we can only add to them. If its tranquillity you want this site has it in spades. Add this to its picturesque location and its aforementioned friendly welcome and 5 star standard shower and loo block and its pretty much perfect. We live in Ayrshire so its only a short drive for us- great for weekends. Might be too quiet for a longer holiday for those who want entertainment, on site bar etc.

There is plenty to do in the area and even in the stormy weather that we had, we found welcoming pubs- we can especially recommend the food in the Bladnoch Inn right opposite the distillery. Beware though the distillery was not open on Sat and Sun at least in May. For ice cream lovers the Cream o Galloway Farm is a must. This attraction is a real working dairy farm that turns out marvellous Ice Cream . They do a tour where you can taste 10 flavours . It is in a very picturesque location with a nature trail and karting track amongst other things to explore. May not be very accessible for extra large motorhomes as some of the road up to it single track. Garlieston Harbour is also worth a visit as it played its own part in WW2.

All in all we loved this site and will definitely go back. On one thing to beware of-don't follow your Sat Nav instructions after you come through Kirkinner. It directs you to take the first lane on the left which is no through. We had to beg quite an irate lady to let us turn in her yard. Its the 2nd lane on the left with the sign to Drumroamin at the top of it. The owners are aware and are working on it.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dingus 3 reviews from this member

My partner and I have just returned from a weeks camping at Drumroamin and we had a great time we cant give it enough praise. Like other reviews state, the toilet/ showerblocks are the cleanest we have ever come across. Lesley seems forever cleaning them much to her credit. The campsite is very level with ample room to pitch. If you want an away from it all holiday with spectacular views this site is a must. Both lesley and ralph are extremely friendly and will do there utmost to make your stay a happy one. We cant wait till we visit this campsite again

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Anyab 2 reviews from this member

A great site. The owners promised a friendly welcome in their leaflet and that's certainly what you get. They were so helpful and keep the place spotlessly clean. The shower block was like being at home and every time I went in they were cleaning in there.

The site is big and even though we were there at the same time as a big school trip, we were never disturbed. It also has the bonus of a lounge room equipped with pool table / TV / magazines etc. Plus I liked the fact that there were drinking water taps all over the site.

The only small drawback is that it's quite rural. No pub or shops within walking distance and the nearest pub in Kirkinner is a little ropey. So pack a BBQ and all you need and relax when you get there!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mcgeezer 2 reviews from this member

We have also just returned from our latest visit to this site, and it seems to get better each time.

We have a large tent [Vango Diablo 900XP] and had no trouble in setting up, with the sun canopy, in the large 10m pitch which is the standard for the site. There are 20 pitches with hook-up if I recall correctly.

With all the facilities for the kids, we didn't need to leave the site for 4 days other than to replenish stocks for BBQing and relaxing [wine/beer etc].

The owners keep the site in a spotless condition, and I have yet to stay at a site with cleaner/better wash facilities / toilets / showers.

A 5-star site in my opinion.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jordan brown 1 review from this member

Lovely friendly stay with great views from the site, although the weather helped. A great opportunity to meet some lovely and enthusiastic people, with the owners treating you almost like family.
Despite the poor make-shift croquet pitch we had an amazing game anyway and managed to beat Geoff Bell (The uncle).

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fsrc 1 review from this member

Just back from our second camping trip. 2 Adults, 2 kids, aged 12 & 3. Arrived at the campsite and got to choose our own pitch, all pitches were flat and facing various ways which gave us a good choice in where we wanted to pitch.
We chose the top of the field near the new play equipment. At other end of the field was situated the toilet, shower and washing area with the tv/games room next to this. Outside this block was an additional play area with sand pit and basketball hoop. The field was well laid out with drinking taps at all four corners and bins throughout the site.
The whole site was well maintained and spotlessly clean at all times. The kids loved this site with plenty to keep them both occupied and we were relaxed with the beautiful views.

This site is very rural but yet still local enough to get to the surrounding areas where there are plenty of small towns.

Previous     98 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1498 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019