Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisements

Reviews of Castel La Bien Assise

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais > Guines > Castel La Bien Assise Reviews

Castel La Bien Assise
Cd 231
Guines
Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais   (Browse area)
62340
Tel: 0033 03 21 35 20 77
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 400
Open: 06/04/ To 26/09

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 106 Reviews
                8/10 from 106 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  106 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilet / shower facilities will be open. Some communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Catlover174 20 reviews from this member

 We used this site as a final 1-night stop on our journey home before catching a ferry from Dunkerque in the morning. We didn't have a definite booking as we had previously planned to stay elsewhere. The receptionist was very helpful and welcoming and showed us to a lovely spacious pitch close to the swimming pool and recreation areas - ideal for our kids. We had a very enjoyable swim in the gorgeous heated pool and our eldest child even braved the unheated water slide a couple of times! We found a Carrefour supermarket close by to stock up on our final bits before travelling home.

In the evening we treated ourselves to a very good (but quite pricey) meal in the restaurant as it was the last night of our holiday. We enjoyed a drink in the bar area which is very attractive with stylish outdoor furniture and provides pub-style meals priced similarly to most French campsites (i. E. Around 10 Euros for a pizza).

The sanitary facilities were very clean with showers that don't require constant pressing of a button or insertion of tokens, and the toilets had seats and loo paper provided (not necessarily the norm in France!).

The site itself is very attractive, in the grounds of a chateau with plenty of trees, grass and small bushes used to mark the pitches, and the atmosphere was friendly and relaxed. The children were delighted with the ping-pong tables, playgrounds for all age groups and outdoor exercise machines. There were also tennis courts but we didn't have time to use them.

Overall we were extremely impressed with this site and were very tempted to try and change our ferry booking to stay an extra night! We would love to return and will definitely use this site again if there is any opportunity to do so. It is very close to the Eurotunnel or ferry port of Calais and around 45 minutes to Dunkerque so ideal for stopovers but I think you would also be very comfortable should you decide to stay a bit longer. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Madasaman 43 reviews from this member

 Used this site once again as last night halt before ferry. We used the acsi card this time, well happy at the 15Euro price. Registered at reception then told to pick a pitch and let them know number, usually they have shown me to pitch but this late in the season there was room every where. A few of the pitches were cordoned off and repairs were in progress to reinstate the grass. Site was preparing for winter shut down, we stayed Friday 23rd and they were closing on 25th. 5 pitches are available over the shut down with limited use of toilets and showers, Ok if you are on your way south for the winter. Had a good meal in the restaurant. Bar and snackbar already closed up. Will definitely use again especially when the acsi card is in force. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mistrom 14 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this campsite for two nights prior to our journey home.

Conveniently situated for the Ferries and Tunnel. To that end can be very busy with a lot of movement early in the morning.

The pitch that we had was generous, level and private. The grounds are pleasant, however the toilet and shower facilities appear 'stretched' in the high season.

There is a bar providing snacks. The take away is expensive for what you get. There is a restaurant, which although pricey, was very good.

A shop providing essentials, but we used the supermarkets nearby, a lot cheaper.

A lot of British on site.

This is a great base for exploring Calais and it's surroundings. Well worth exploring, very attractive coastline. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Adambrown2499 31 reviews from this member

 When we turned up at this site we were told it had rained for 14 days when we arrived it was waterlogged but on day two it was warm and sunny all week

Really good site facilities were all good and used them all.

Area was really good went to all the villages in the surrounding area and most of them had markets.

Wissant beach was stunning and wissant market was good which was Thursday.

All in all worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: J Hodgson 11 reviews from this member

 I can only confirm what most of the other visitors have said. This is indeed very conveniently located for an overnight stop, and easy to find on a main roundabout. On checking in a sign said complete or full. But pitches were available. I can't fault the excellent check-in, speedy, in English. We were shown to a shady good sized pitch. Close to Calais, comings and goings are frequent and this may affect you if you stay a few days. Facilities are comprehensive with a small busy covered pool and this is reflected in the price which is on the high side - in high season a pitch for two no electricity, was 29 euros. The toilet blocks were a bit worn, considering the price. It's part of a big chain with what looked like Eurocamp tents here and there. It has a corporate feel - in a good way. 

Advertisements

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wildman 1 review from this member

 Never having visited this side of France before we bit the bullet and used this site for 12 very enjoyable nights. We has a perfect pitch which I must say is the largest we have ever stayed on, the grounds are beautiful and worth a walk around. The shop is expensive but there are shops in the village which is walking distance away and also a large supermarket a very short drive away. There is plenty to see and visit in the area, to many to list to recommend. Here's a good tip, there is a bus stop just outside the site gates, it costs 1 euro to take the bus into the old centre of Calais and the same return much cheaper and easier than taking the car in and saves the frustration of finding a parking space.

One the whole this is a clean well kept site with excellent facilities, we would use this again and would recommend to anyone. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Aust.tourists 69 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to France. We went with the Caravan Club on a 'taster weekend for first timers abroad'. The site is close to Calais so you get a lot of people coming and going. It is a huge site and has a lot of static vans as well as tourers.

We were greeted warmly and the reception staff spoke good English. We were escorted to our pitch. The pitches were large and fairly level. We were able to pick up UK satellite TV. There is free wifi down at the bar area. There is a bar on site that also sells bar snacks. Also there is a very nice restaurant on site. There is a covered swimming pool.

Guines is around a 10 minute walk however, there really isn't much there. We went to St Joseph's Village which is around 4 klms. It is a really tatty rundown tourist attraction. Not recommended.

We went into Boulogne for the day. It is a very nice town. There is an old walled section of the town which was very nice with lots of bars, cafes and restaurants.

I would definitely recommend this site and is a perfect stopover if travelling to or from Dover. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: IestynH 5 reviews from this member

 Stopped here for our first two nights in France, a very good option if you've got a whole day's driving in the UK before or after a crossing. We were given a very shaded pitch next to the tennis court, which whilst not the best was obviously one which could not be used by caravans. Wouldn't have wanted to be there for a whole week though - perhaps a longer stay gets tent campers a better pitch?!

We thought that the shop/bar was expensive, but found out later in the holiday that it was more or less par for French camp sites. The price of pitch is a little on the expensive side, but you pay for the convenience of being so near to Calais/Coquelles.  


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lottydog 19 reviews from this member

 This is a very good site - well up to English Standards. Dont expect other sites in France to be this good. Pitches are a good size with easy access to water and drainage. Nice shady tree cover. English spoken.

Although we didn't use the pool (covered when the weather is bad) it looked very good if rather busy.

A must visit while here is the coast with its fish markets and wonderful seafood restaurants. It is well worth spending an extra day of you holiday here and not just using the site as a stop over. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Eddilowe 3 reviews from this member

 We used this site as a stopover en route to and from the Loire Valley, primarily because of it's proximity to the ferry at Dunkerque and because we were able to book it at a discounted low season rate through the ACSI scheme. It is also near to Calais and the Eurotunnel so as you walk around it is evident that a huge proportion of the guests are British.

It was easy to find without a satnav and first impressions were good driving through the gates. The reception was clean and tidy and had plenty of information available (maps, leaflets, postcards, etc). The staff were very helpful and pleasant and although I always try my best to speak in French (albeit somewhat broken), they spoke very good English to help me along a little!

We were escorted to a pleasant shady pitch which we had requested as it was extremely hot. We then had to go back and ask to be moved as our electric hookup cable was not long enough and the staff obliged straight away. The pitches are arranged mainly in groups so not all are separated from each other and there is a good mixture of tents, caravans and mobile homes/chalets.

I recall there were 3 blocks for washing facilities - two large and one smaller one. The facilities were always clean, the toilets had seats though I can't remember if they had loo roll as we always took one with us, hot showers are free (no tokens or anything required) and readily available as there are plenty of them.

The on site bar and cafe is very nice and the staff there were pleasant too. There is seating inside and outside, the prices were reasonable and the quality of the food was good. There is free wifi in the area around the cafe which is situated near the covered swimming pool and slide. Also a small children's play area. The site was clean and well maintained.

It is about 30 minutes from the site to Boulogne Sur Mer which is a nice town and has a lovely long beach. There is a Carrefour a few minutes away from the campsite or there are plenty of the big hypermarkets not too far away by car around Calais, Dunkerque and Boulogne (E. Leclerc/Auchan/Carrefour).

I would definitely stay again as it served our purposes perfectly as an excellent stopover for one or two nights (Two adults, tent & car). 


Previous     106 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castel La Bien Assise child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Castel La Bien Assise have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castel La Bien Assise?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Castel La Bien Assise dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Guines      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Picardy Nord-Pas-de-Calais

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5501 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisements


Advertisements