Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Amerden Caravan & Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Berkshire > Maidenhead > Amerden Caravan & Camping Site Reviews

Amerden Caravan & Camping Site
Old Marsh Lane
Dorney Reach
Maidenhead
Berkshire   (Browse area)
SL6 0DZ
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 50
Open: Closed For 2019, Reopening 2020

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 161 Reviews
                9/10 from 161 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  161 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Blue100 1 review from this member

We stayed here for a couple of nights in order to visit Legoland, which is only 7 miles away - legoland is very good by the way -

this is a lovely small site with excellent facilities for campers; fridges, freezers, microwave, ironing and nice clean spacious showers, all at no extra cost, we plugged our ice box in.

The site has some pitches sectioned off with hedges and the whole site has many fruit tress and is very pretty.

Our 5 year old loved the little play park which you can request to be pitched nearby and the Thames is a very short walk away with the tooings and frowings of a lock to watch and loads of boats.

I was worried about the M4 before we went, and I was right - it is also on a busy flight path, although we do live in the countryside so are used to peace and quiet, but I was glad we were only on this site for 2 nights. The motorway is right next to the site and you cannot escape the constant hum, I found I would fall asleep easily but would wake early with no hope of going back off again - ear plugs might help.

Obviously this doesn't bother everyone and I was chatting to a chap on his fourth visit, as I said it is a lovely site and other sites could learn a lot from their provisions for campers.

I'd use it again for a stop over and if we visit legoland again, but I couldn't holiday there. There is a sainsburys a short car drive away

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The_cryans 2 reviews from this member

By far the best campsite we have ever stopped at!

We had a choice of pitch, and opted for next to the play park as we have a 6 year old son, needless to say, we didn't see much of him! Plenty of other families were staying at the park, so he made plenty of new friends.

We were able to move a picnic table next to our tent for our use, and shopping baskets were provided for camping stoves / bbqs - genius!

Shower and toilet facilities fine - there was a large shower which I used with my son and found very useful.

Other facilities included a fridge/freezer, microwave, tumble dryer, washing machine and a vending machine.

Nearby was a Harvester pub - very busy but we didn't have a very long wait for a table. Also menu's available from reception for takeaways that deliver to the site.

Legoland was about 15 mins drive.

We had a walk along the river at the bottom of the park.

The aeroplanes and traffic on the M4 didn't affect us at all, even though really close.

We will definitely be returning to this site!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alicehsu2 7 reviews from this member

What a lovely campsite. The staff were so lovely and friendly. Even though we had a van, we were allowed it as it was very small and no writing on it.

The toilet block was always spotless and there was plenty of facilities for washing up and washing clothes etc. All of which were also spotless.

There was a small play area which proved to be very useful. The ground was completely flat for our tent.

The only negative I found is that we were right next to the M4 which disrupted my sleep but not that of my 5 other companions. It is clearly noted on their website so I was warned and they have tried their best to shield it by planting big trees.

This would be the only reason I personally would not go back as everything was so perfect.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cadbury109 2 reviews from this member

This was the second time we had visited this campsite and we are already planning a third.

Due to the close proximity to Legoland most of the visitors to this site were families with young children which helped to entertain my girls. They certainly didn't mention the word 'bored' the whole week.

Not many people seemed aware that you can also hire a static caravan that sleeps 4. We managed to convince my parents (who are really against camping) to join us for the week. The caravans are kept really clean and even my fussy mum was happy with them. This is ideal if some of your family are keen to camp, but others would prefer the comforts of a static.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Scoffin 1 review from this member

I checked all the reviews for this campsite and everything was positive, except the location being next to the motorway. Yes, the campsite does not shy away from advising you that the motorway is close by.

The campsite itself is nicely laid out, clean and tidy, and the facilities are second to none. The noise of the traffic didn't affect us too much at night. It is constant and very close by. It was during the day and evening we felt its affect more

It was such a fantastic area but we felt you couldn't have a 'quiet' afternoon chilling after busy days in London because of the noise. If you don't want to hang around the site during the day then don't be put off.

This is a very good campsite. And make sure you go exploring and have a stroll along the bank of the river. The other plus point is its how close it is to the train station and how easy it is to get to London.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Magicmum 14 reviews from this member

We stayed for three nights in this lovely little park. The owners were friendly and very helpful.

The surrounding area has some lovely places to stroll along the river bank, feed the ducks and watch the rivercraft using the lock. It is very convenient for visiting Windsor.

The facilities are of a very good standard, with hot showers and an excellent kitchen area with a microwave and a fridge available for campers.

Plenty of electric hookups and the park has a lovely casual layout.

The only downside is the proximity of the motorway but we quickly got used to the noise. Good value for money, definitely recommend.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Richie78 2 reviews from this member

Arrived to a full campsite, but was pointed to our pitch. The staff were friendly and easily approachable. The kids soon discovered the playground which whilst relatively basic was more than enough to keep them occupied while we got on with the important jobs of getting the tent up and organised.

Plus Points

Good drainage at site (it rained a lot.)

Facilities were in excellent condition and cleaned daily. Showers (three of them in the blokes) were warm. Sinks and toilets also kept to high standard.

Plenty of dish washing sink space with a washing machine and tumble dryer. Also fridges available. There was also a sweet/drink machine which was reasonably priced (60p for a can of coke)

Bad Points

The traffic noise. The site backs up onto the M4 and whilst this is pointed out by the site owners on the website and when you arrive it just never quite blended into the background for us. One positive to take from the traffic noise though was that its impossible to hear the neighbouring pitches as a result.

We would happily go back there to stay though next time we'd take ear plugs for the night time to try and combat the incessant noise of lorries at midnight thundering their way into London. Otherwise it was an excellent and well run site

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: TNADZ 23 reviews from this member

We just had 3 nights at the site. Ideal location for Windsor Tattoo. Previous reviews describe the site thoroughly. The only thing I would add is don't be tempted to set up at the far end from the entry to the site. I'm a heavy sleeper and the motorway even for me was noisy.

Immaculate showers but I did notice visitors laziness by expecting wardens to clear up after them in the shower/toilet block. Not fair and not necessary. Poor wardens when they go to so much effort to make and keep it nice for us. My only gripe bout the showers was the push button water supply. Just something I don't like.

Had a lovely stay, thank you

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Familyof4gocamp 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here over the bank holiday weekend and enjoyed every minute. We were shown to our pitch on arrival and all the facilities were explained by the warden. There was a mixture of tents and caravans/motorhomes on site. The layout is nice with trees and bushes to offer some separation in parts. As others have said the closeness to the M4 is very apparent but we quickly got used to this.

The pitch was large and we parked our car in front of the pitch. There were a few picnic tables dotted about, so if you got there at the right time you should be able to get one if needed. The facilities were very good, nice hot showers, in the ladies one shower cubicle larger than others so good for showering children, large toilet cubicles, hair dryer available and only once did I have to wait for a shower.

The washing up facilities were good and washing up liquid was supplied. There is a huge washing machine and dryer if required and also a rotary line for everyone to use. There is a further shared kitchen area with 2 fridges, 2 freezers and a microwave. There is no charge for freezing ice packs and it is all on a trust basis, they even have a supply of their own ice blocks that you can use whilst yours are freezing, I've not seen this done anywhere else and thought this would be really handy if you had travelled a long way or it was particulary hot. There is also a vending machine which the kids liked.

The playground was small but adequate and the equipment was all in order. There is also an adventure playground which we didn't use.

The wardens were really helpful, I ran out of matches one evening and they lent me a box which was very welcome. They also offered to refill my gas lighter. The reception is filled with the normal tourist leaflets etc.

All in all a lovely little site, well run and great value for money. We used it as a base for travelling to Legoland and it was perfect. I would definitely consider staying there again.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sally Garrett 12 reviews from this member

What a great site and perfect value! Fantastic owners and staff who are all keen and welcoming. They help with questions and problems without hesitation and with good humor. We really felt welcome! I have to give them top marks despite the close location to the M4!

The facilities are ace. All areas were constantly kept clean and fresh, the toilets and showers have heating and an auto freshener spray and extractor. They have hot showers (no silly 20p's) and the loos are spacious, one loo and shower are large enough for disabled access or for parents with small kids - the loo having a small wash basin meant it could be used as a discrete wash area.

I would recommend the only tiny improvement would be a lower hook on he doors for anyone petite and possibly a little curtain to stop your clothes getting wet - I used a bag to protect mine! Nice touches are soap (so many sites never refill but this one does) and perpetual proper loo paper. There is a 20p hair dryer placed by a large mirror and a hand dryer - it all looks brand new!

There a 3 washing up sinks with a couple of site washing up bowls for convenience and believe it or not they are thoughtful enough to have washing up liquid on the wall! There is a specific clothes wash double sink although some people failed to read the small sign indicating this!

A pay washing machine, tumble dryer, and an amazingly well priced vending machine in this area all under cover. There is a small seating area and summer house too, with a whirly drier and in the summer house fridges, a freezer (with borrowable freezer packs while yours freeze!) and ironing bits, and not forgetting the microwave! - seriously they have it all!

They even have picnic tables dotted about and baskets to raise your BBQ!

A small play area great for the smaller kids was in constant use even our 11 year olds made use of it. It is a really safe place along a private road with speed bumps (watch out as they are totally unmarked) I only saw one fast driver on a moped but the bike made enough noise to give good warning.

The loch on the Thames is close but not so close as to be a worry. A big play area is a short walk/cycle away - down water under the M4 bridge the across the big field (zip wire etc). Pubs in the area are good but pricey due to the location! We soon realised it was cheaper to eat in or take away! The Harvester was always full and had over 1 hour wait so we never ate there!

Pitches are not all flat but nothing too steep take blocks to be sure. We were next to the main block + water taps and hubbub of the campsite but some pitches are a walk from facilities and although these have more privacy they are close to the only downside which it the M4!

To be honest it can be noisy depending on the wind direction, but the convenience of the location, the staff and owners and the well thought out facilities make up for this. The reception area conveniently has ear plugs on sale if its a problem!

This is an ideal site for location and specifically perfect for stop offs, theme park visitors and short stops (most visitors seemed short stay) although we stayed 2 weeks - we got totally used to the M4 noise!

Lots of amazing wildlife to be spotted including red kites, swans and we even had ducks come begging food and wandering into our awning! Loads of fish in the Thames and we took bikes and a Kayak and had lots of fun with both! Another time of year we'd have been fishing too!

Locally you are close to all the theme parks (especially Legoland) and some fantastic places to visit including Windsor castle. Sainsburys is a short drive away (either direction!) and several good take aways deliver to the site.

The rail station is approx 15 mins walk and is fast into London times are available on the informative site notice board. We think London was only 30mins and the trains very regular Mon to Sat!

This site is great and the only possible things they could add are tweeks. Perhaps a little honesty shop for milk bread eggs and a few sundries and a OS map on he wall in the reception showing local places to visit in more detail with walks, cycle routes and shops / pubs although the little hand drawn map we were given on arrival with local details was excellent I do love sites with a larger map to peruse or buy.

Perhaps they could take off the late night lock from the loos as he big locking gate must be secure from any potential unwanted night users and mid night rushes to the loo involved a panicked entry of the code!

The closer area lacks a shop as it is off the main road - I think with the loch and the popular Thames walk if someone had the inclination to open a cream tea garden they'd make a nice profit from campers, people on boats, walkers and cyclists who visit or pass through the wonderful loch!

We were surprised as there was nothing less than 20 mins walk away from this idyllic bank of the Thames and a cream ea or ice lolly as we watched the loch operate really would have been perfect! Not the sites problem but a missed opportunity locally!

In short a great site, great people, fantastic facilities - we will return and possibly use as a stop off point for longer trips! Take ear plugs if road noise is an issue! That aside we totally recommend this site!

Previous     161 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Berkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over 205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2774 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019