Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Riverside Caravan & Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > East Anglia > Cambridgeshire > Site Reviews

Riverside Caravan & Camping Park
21 New River Bank
Littleport
Ely
Cambridgeshire   (Browse area)
CB7 4TA
Tel: 01353 860255  or  07813 523960
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Pitches: 49
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 118 Reviews
                8/10 from 118 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  118 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cottage 2 reviews from this member

Have just spent four days at Riverside and what a delight it was. As an adults only site it was extremely quiet and peaceful and in a wonderful position just by the River Ouse. We woke up to the lovely sound of the birds singing.

Vanessa and Steve were so friendly and helpful as were the two dogs and very friendly chickens!

Beautiful walks by the river with our very old dog - she really came to life and enjoyed herself. There is a lovely pub/restaurant a few minutes walk away right on the rivers edge. The little town has all the shops you would need.

The gardens are beautifully kept and the toilet/shower block very clean and smelt great. Husband says the washing up facilities were very good! Really looking forward to visiting Riverside again in the near future.

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Benpedersen 1 review from this member

Fantastic site, no noisy children, therefore very quiet. Very very clean and tidy.

Toilet block was very clean, free hot showers. The pub 5 minutes away is on the riverside and serves very good food and drink.

The site is very dog friendly and there are loads of nice walks, with or without a dog.

I stayed for 3 nights and had a fantastic time.

No need to cook as Littleport 10 minutes away has every type of takeaway you can think of. I'll be back.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shirldick 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a most enjoyable long weekend at the riverside. After booking in we were taken to our pitch by Steve and told about all the facilities on site. The pitches were all well spaced and clean with lots of room and hookups are available if you wanted them. The showers and toilet blocks were always clean with plenty of hot water but can get very busy in the mornings as there are only 2 showers in the ladies. Free use of a fridge & freezer was a great bonus. As we took the dog we did lots of local walking along the riverside and marina and into Littleport. A must is a visit to Ely which have a really good market on Saturdays.

The only downside was the speeding traffic outside the camp at night which was quite loud at times. Lots of people that we spoke to had returned many times and I'm sure we do the same.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bigstorr 2 reviews from this member

Lovely, quiet, friendly site with reasonably good facilities. The free-range chickens can be a little too friendly! Toilets /showers are very clean if less palatial than at some sites. They did not seem to be heated so the plastic seats were a bit chilly. The railway is nearby but you are more likely to be disturbed by birdsong than by the infrequent sound of trains. Only ten / fifteen minutes flat walk to the centre of Littleport for the hourly bus to Ely. The first few hundred yards of the walk are delightful if you climb up onto the river bank which brings you to the bridge and pub. The Swan pub is excellent in every respect (friendly staff, well kept beer, comfortable riverside seating and high-quality bar and restaurant food at reasonable prices). Heartily recommended. We will be back.

Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fordnutz 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site in well-kept surroundings, although a little short of hard-standing. Thankfully the owners created a space for us on one of the pathways as the grass was so wet. Site owners thoughtfully provide an excellent information centre, complete with games to borrow. Enjoyed a lovely meal at The Swan, following a short pleasant walk along the riverbank. Cycled into Ely on Saturday, along lovely flat(ish) roads. Enjoyed Ely's small market, cathedral and riverside walk. Will certainly be returning as we didn't have time to enjoy the view from the cathedral towers or visit Wicken fen - a weekend was not long enough!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: David Klyne 214 reviews from this member

To Find Site:- The best approach to this site is from the Downham Market end of the A10 Littleport bypass. At roundabout, immediately past level crossing take third exit onto road that runs along riverbank. Continue past bridge on right and campsite is on left hand side a little further on.

Riverside is a small peaceful adults only, open all year, campsite. The site is situated just across the road from the River Great Ouse. The resident wardens, Ann and Jim, are very pleasant. The site is a mixture of static vans, seasonal pitches and touring pitches for caravans, motorhomes and tents.

There are about 25 touring pitches. All pitches are on grass and are reasonably spaced. There is one central facility block containing toilets and showers and outside there are a couple of dishwashing points and the chemical toilet disposal.

The toilet block is clean and functional rather than being luxurious. Campsite pricing offers good value with a base price of 10 for two, add-ons include 2.50 for electrics and 2.50 for awnings. There is a small addition surcharge for Bank Holidays.

Bookings can be made by e-mail or telephone and no deposit is required. There is site wide WiFi available through provider Caravan Connect which you pay for online. Costs during our visit were 5 per 24 hours with reductions for longer periods. This proved to be useful as I was only able to get GPRS on my Vodafone dongle. Date of our visit, early August 2010.

The site is ideally placed to explore the Fenland area with Ely only being about 10 miles away. Littleport is about a 15 minute walk away and has a butcher and baker plus a small Co-Op supermarket. There are also restaurants and takeaways in the village.

There is an hourly bus service from Littleport to Ely. Fishing is available on the Great Ouse and the wardens will be happy to advise about day tickets.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sos2301 20 reviews from this member

My husband and I went here as he is a keen fisherman and wanted a few days fishing, on arrival we were met by the warden, who was very friendly and helpful. Littleport is a short walk away and has all you will need in the way of shops etc.

The shower block is clean and tidy, however could do with updating. Site is very clean and tidy and well maintained, the bait fridge was a good idea, as was the fridge and freezer for camper use. There is a bit of road noise at times and you could hear the trains if they sounded there horns, but nothing to distracting.

Fishing is just a short walk onto the bank and a good array of fish was caught, (the pegs beyond the bridge and pub are better kept)as the ones opposite the site are a private club and cost 5 per day which we felt was a little steep as the pegs were very reedy. The pegs beyond the bridge are owned by a different club.

Overall a very nice site and we will be going back again.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: freckles63 48 reviews from this member

Had a Monday to Friday stay here. The wardens who look after the site are very nice and helpful people. You're escorted to your spot, not marked out pitches but they like you to be in a certain area. The showers/toilets adequate as is the washing up facility.

The river is outside the front of site and across a very fast road, good spot if into fishing(we see 2 decent sized pike caught). A short stroll to the nearest pub The Swan, this had just re-opened after refurbishment the previous Thursday. Pub is on the river and has a nice decked area to sit and watch the boats go by.

Littleport is about a 15/20 min walk, Co-op supermarket and Barclays bank plus indian restaurants and chinese take-aways. Went into Ely for market day Thursday but not a very good market, the rest of the shops are just your normal highstreet stuff.

The road noise not a problem but can be heard as with the train entering the level crossing, it has to sound it's horn for safety reasons, only really heard it in the morning around 8am. Overall not a bad site for a get away, no kids so even in the 6 weeks summer holidays quieter than other sites. Very well kept small site.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chrisnpete 3 reviews from this member

This is the 2nd time that we have stayed at Riverside, and I must say the time I spent here was very relaxing. The on-site wardens Ann and Jim are the most helpful with lots of knowledge of the area and always on hand with any queries. The showers and toilets are kept immaculate and are cleaned daily.

The grass is cut regularly and always looks immaculate, the site is overall very tidy and everyone is friendly.

Its nice to see the chickens running around and pets are welcome.

There is a pub across the river which is very nice and the meals there are very nice.

The setting is very tranquil and if you want a relaxing time with peace, beautiful countryside and some nice walks this is an excellent site to go to.

I would recommend this site over and over again.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: CaravansTV 1 review from this member

We arrived mid week and spent four days at this site. The on site Wardens greeted us on arrival, and throughout our stay was very friendly and helpful with any information about the local area - Nice People !

As an adult only site, it's very quiet, and makes for a very relaxing stay, the shower block, toilets and waste facilities are all central to everyone, so no problems there.

It's a nice little site, that is obviously more popular at the weekends with every pitch being occupied, and yet it still retained it's charm and quiet atmosphere, although the ladies shower block can become a little congested at times with constant chatting, hairdryers and makeup sessions.... No such problems for the guy's.

Previous     118 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cambridgeshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a 299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save 20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2911 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019