Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Bowness On Windermere > Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site Reviews

Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site
(was Braithwaite Fold)
Glebe Road
Bowness On Windermere
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA23 3HB
Tel: 01539 442177
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches:
Open: 01/02 To 02/01

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 84 Reviews
                9/10 from 84 Reviews

Photos (9)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <5 miles   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  84 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: FLICK8 7 reviews from this member

 We had visited this area the year before when we were staying at a site near Kendal, so thought that we would try and stay here on our return journey from France.

The place was spotless and in a great location for walking into town. We took the chain ferry across the lake and cycled up and down the other side of the lake, a lot of it was off road and my 8 year old son loved it, He was the only one who could manage some of the hills.

We were here when the town was having a festival of sorts and they had an open air concert, fireworks, fairground. The atmosphere was amazing and we sat in the park with the children till late with glasses of bubbly, very civilised. Will definitely use this site again and again. 


Date of Visit: November 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 554 reviews from this member

 Spent the weekend here for the final weekend before the site closed for winter. As usual, very high standards on site - all hardstanding pitches and facilities immaculate. Site staff really helpful and accommodating, despite us arriving fairly late on Friday. Price was excellent at about £13 per night, due to it being low season

Locally, Bowness is the main attraction. Several shops, excellent pubs and places to eat. There are also regular boat trips and opportunities for watersports are abundant.

Excellent site, hope to return in the spring! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: C_chaston 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed for four nights at the beginning of august. I found the site to be very clean and well maintained in a very good location-only a short walk to the centre of bowness with loads of shops,pubs and restaurants. The pitches were on the small side. You have enough room for unit,awning and car but nothing else. Your car is parked in front of your pitch so it does make the site look a bit like a car park. There was no one to meet us when we arrived(told to arrive after 12:00, arrived at 13:30)There was a board telling us what pitches were free but the toilets needed a key to get in so couldn't use the facilities straight away! No play area for kids and no space for them to play other than riding bikes on the road. A reasonably quiet site until the RAF fly their jets above windermere! To sum up I would say this site would make an excellent stop for couples but if you have kids a weekend would be enough as the lack of space and play areas would get frustrating. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: T25shawn 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a short stay on this fantastic site. I am not a caravan club member and did not book, I just turned up and amazingly for a site as popular as this one I got on (had a cancellation I think). Its location is fantastic being right on the lake and 2 mins walk from the Bowness promenade, where there are some excellent shops and bars. The site is very well kept with excellent clean facilities - probably the best we have come accross! Gravel pitches with grassed areas. Only slight problem we had was that the ground was very difficult to insert the awning pegs into -minor issue. Will definitely be returning to this wonderful site in the future but will book first as I don't think I could be lucky enough to just turn up and get on again. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 554 reviews from this member

 This is an excellent site in a great location. It is situated on the outskirts of Bowness, so you have everything you need on the doorstep: many bars, restaurants, shops and all the tourists attractions associated with this part of the Lakes.
The site gets very busy, so you need to book way in advance or hope for a cancellation! Right outside the site is a nice lakeside walk in National Trust land.
little further is the Hawkshead Ferry terminal, which costs 50p for passengers. It's worth the trip to the other side for the walks and views, as well as the villages of Sawrey and Hawkshead.

Overall, a great place, highly recommended! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hymer655 5 reviews from this member

 Excellent location very close to amenities and marina with stunning boats. Plenty of of pubs that let dogs in nearby.Toilet Block very clean and with Hot Water still available at 10pm for showers.Excellent well run site.Bus taken to Ambleside 1/2 hour trip runs every 20 mins during day - great day out.Family day ticket can be purchased to travel to various locations. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cashdown 7 reviews from this member

 This site is of the usual high standard that you expect from a Caravan Club site.  It is also a fabulous location, easy walking distance of Bowness which has some great pubs and restaurants - so no falling out about who's driving!  It is also a very quiet site.  However the pitches are rather close together and on the small side.  It is not really suitable for families with children - there are no facilities for them to play and not much room to run around.  I would definitely go back, but maybe when the kids have left home. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kernow Camper 169 reviews from this member

 Incredibly popular site - you have to book EARLY to get on. Fantastic position alongside Lake Winderemere with a very short, and pleasant, walk into Bowness itself. Pitches were quite small (OK for us motorhomers, but caravans with awnings had to park their cars in front of their units instead of to the side - looked a bit untidy?!). Washroom/toilet facilities were first class - as expected on a Caravan Club site. Loads to see and do in Bowness. It's a busy little town with loads of shops, pubs, cafe's, restaurants and tea-rooms all within walking distance. Regular boat trips on Winderemere run from Bowness Pier everyday. We caught a bus from Bowness to Grassmere for £5.95 return each (our dog went free!). You could get on and off as many times as you liked, all day long. We also stopped at Ambleside & Windermere. It was open top bus which was ok on the return journey because the rain had stopped by then!  


Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BigMona 97 reviews from this member

 A very popular site and booking is a must, it was full when we were there but the facilities coped well as we never had to wait for a loo or shower. These facilities were clean and inviting. The size of the pitches not as large as other CC sites, but you don't feel crammed in. Good location for a walk into town, where there are a great selection of pubs and restaurants. The Thai restaurant was ace! One thing that niggled me was we were packing up at 10am and there was someone waiting to get on my pitch so I took my time and left at 12.00. 


Date of Visit: April 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shiraz 8 reviews from this member

 This site enjoys an enviable position about a mile from Bowness on Windermere. The site has smaller pitches than is usually associated with CC sites and IMHO is now overdue for a facelift. If you are lucky you may get the one pitch that allows you to see the lake from your caravan. The wardens were very accomodating. The area is blessed with most activities people require although power boats are now speed restricted on the lake! 


Previous     84 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Bowness On Windermere Camping And Caravanning Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bowness On Windermere      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2554 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement