Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Pooh Cottage Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (South) > Budleigh Salterton > Pooh Cottage Holiday Park Reviews

Pooh Cottage Holiday Park
Bear Lane
Knowle
Budleigh Salterton
Devon (South)   (Browse area)
EX9 7AQ
Tel: 07875 685595  or  01395 442354
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 52
Open: 20th March

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 92 Reviews
                9/10 from 92 Reviews

Photos (12)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dartengine 5 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this site, the first being a couple of years ago. The site previously was friendly to touring visitors but has changed now and is really only suitable for seasonal pitches. We were told by the warden that all the peripheral pitches except a few on the shaded boundary near the entrance were seasonal only so we had to settle for a middle of the field pitch right next to the new children's playground with climbing frames and slide. As the children's area is not fenced off with a proper entrance there is constant movement of kids on bikes riding past over your own space late into the night and early morning.

The gents toilets and showers are temporary and rather tired without even warm water. All the facilities are looking worn and at 14 pounds a night without hook up (7 pounds a head) we would have expected much better working facilities.

The site is quite convenient for the town of Budleigh Salterton and there are some nice walks nearby. Great if you want a seasonal pitch but no longer suitable for tourers in our opinion. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Irhudson 4 reviews from this member

 Really friendly site on national cycle network with a beautiful 4 mile ride along disused railway to Exmouth.

Basic facilities (as befits a 2 star site) but highly recommended.

Very child-friendly with plenty for them to do.

If you're not too fussy aout amenities, this is definitely worth a visit.

Some lovely countryside and superb walks.

Local pub is also worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Louie01 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived about 9pm on a Friday night, we had warned the owners we would be late, and true to their word, left our pitch number clearly on the door of the office. It was very peaceful and dark!
As this was the first time we had ever pitched a motorhome, we were really worried about disturbing anyone, but we found the pitch quite easily, there was lots of room, easy to find the water, hitch up, and we were done! It was a lovely couple of days here.
The walks were perfect for us and the dogs, the beach cafe at Budleigh Salterton was great, coastal walk wonderful, can't praise enough.
The staff in the office were really helpful, gave us a local map to show us the easiest routes to places on foot. For a first time visit to a site ever, we were very impressed, it was extremely clean, my husband said the showers were a bit basic for men; two showers for ladies which were free, hot and very clean, as were the loos. The water, chemical disposal, grey water, easy to find, lots of points, recycling, can't fault it at all.
Would say absolutely perfect for anyone but especially a family with children who like being active on bikes as you are right on the Exmouth cycleway. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tlck9 32 reviews from this member

 We got to the site just after what was probably a long bank holiday.

The site was clean and tidy, and the weather fair, although as we arrived the wind got up and took someones awning off their caravan

The ladies toilets and showers were nice, although the mens were a little basic and cramped - although they have planning for a new toilet block etc

I think if the wind had died down the mens toilet door would have stayed shut but for some reason it just wouldn't, so it was draughty during a shower

The girl on reception was very friendly.

The site takes dogs and so does the pub in the village which is around 10 minutes walk from the site - but take a torch for the walk back if its dark

The pub was run by ex military guy and the food was fantastic - having ordered fish of the day and a portion of chips the size was huge and very filling - well worth trying out - I like to think I know my fish and his cooking is wonderful - the OH was impressed by his steak and I didn't think too expensive

All in all a good local place for sidmouth and exmouth to stay at 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Seajay666 3 reviews from this member

 Just had a 9 day stay on this site, a child friendly and compact place, pitches were large so no problem with our tunnel tent. Enough facilities so no queues first thing, they were tired looking but this should get better with the new block.
We enjoyed our stay very much which was only marred by them not telling us the pool had been filled in at Easter, even though I only rang a week before arrival to confirm booking. So 2 disappointed children for a few days.
This is a good campsite in a lovely area and would use this site again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fjmcg 1 review from this member

 Just come back from a long weekend here. Love this site! Really friendly staff, good size pitches, decent facilities (there are plans in reception showing the new & improved facility block that's in the pipeline) a great family site. Our one year old loved it - and so did our dogs! Beautiful area - in the countryside but close to the shops & the beach too. Really good recycling facilities.

The kids playground is a good idea although there seemed to be a fair few falls and scrapes on the plastic flooring at the foot of the slide while we were there. There was also a fairly strong sewage smell (definitely not cow/horse/other animal as suggested by a friend!) that kept wafting over us but we kinda got used to it after a while. I'm assuming this is a temporary thing as no-one else has mentioned it on here.

We will certainly stay here again - great site! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Meliaid 2 reviews from this member

 Arrived early, very friendly staff who were more than happy to tell me about the local area and where to find the beaches.

Pitch level and nice space between us and next door. The weather was awful, however the site was great and nice hot showers.

Despite previous reviews found the toilets clean whenever I used them. Local pub serves great ale and were kind enough to let us put Childrens TV on for our daughter.

All in all recommended if you like a nice quiet site. Budleigh Salterton few minutes drive also very nice to walk around. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barbie10 5 reviews from this member

 I will never be back to this site again! There are 2 play areas one is in the middle of the wooded area facing pitches. Make sure if your children go in they have long trousers & wellies as there were nettles knee high!. Our caravan was on quite a slope with tents at the bottom of it.

The showers & toilet facilities are the worst I've seen portacabins which would be acceptable if they were clean & smelt nice. The same hairs & dirt were looking at me all week when I was in the shower & the smell of wee even in the ladies! If you don't mind dirt & cobwebs you'll be fine. There are facilities to wash your clothes at 3 a load which I thought was steep

This is the first camping & caravan site I've been to & was not impressed 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Harrys dad 18 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for the Spring Break week and were not disappointed. We arrived in glorious sunshine and only had one day of poor weather. The approach roads are a little narrow but nothing to worry about.

We were met at reception by the very friendly owner who gave us a pitch number for the first Friday night as we were moving onto the rally field the next day to be with a caravan club we belong to for the rest of the week.

The first night was OK until a tent arrived at 11-30 and was allowed to pitch up. They were still at it 2-00 in the morning.

The site was well maintained and the pitch size was good. As mentioned in other reviews there is a big problem with toilets and showers. No hot water in the men's sinks and showers not working. Although the toilets were kept clean.

There is a small shop on the site and a van calls at 10-30 every day with essential items.

There is a Tesco just as you get into Exmouth.

The site is in a great location being a mile from Budleigh Salterton and 3 miles from Exmouth.

A little bit further afield is Sidmouth and Exeter.

There is a pub in the village that is a five minuets walk from the site that serves good food and real Ales. There is a part of the menu that is called Sausage Heaven where your meal is a choice from 12 different variety of sausage including Venison, Kangaroo, Emu to name three. A bit pricey at 10 though. There is also a Sunday Carvery.

We also found a good pub called The Otter in the village of Colaton Raleigh, four miles from the site. The food here was fantastic.

We had a great week and would definitely go back again. A great site spoilt by poor facilities. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Glory g 2 reviews from this member

 We visited the pooh cottage site over the late may bank holiday. The location is wonderful with glorious views in every direction. The people running the site were very nice and helpful. Pitch sizes were more than adequate for our large tent.

The down side is the poor facilities. There was only 2 ladies showers and 4 ladies toilets + 3 mens showers, (not working.) and 4 mens toilets in our field. None of the hand basins had hot water available. So men had to shave in cold water or take their own hot water in a kettle. None of these basic facilities were particularly clean the only thing that seemed to get done was the floors mopped once a day.
The only other facilities on site although they were functioning seemed to be maintained to the same standard. All told the the lack of decent basic facilities led us and others we spoke to, to feel at 20 per night we were over charged. Plus dog owners be aware there are no dog bins on site. The only one was on its side in the hedge near the bottom of the hill leading from the main road. 


Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Pooh Cottage Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Pooh Cottage Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Pooh Cottage Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Budleigh Salterton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (South)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1107 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement