Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Lucksall Caravan & Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Herefordshire > Hereford > Lucksall Caravan & Camping Park Reviews

Lucksall Caravan & Camping Park
Mordiford
Hereford
Herefordshire   (Browse area)
HR1 4LP
Tel: 01432 870213
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 145
Open: 1st March - 30th November

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 182 Reviews
                9/10 from 182 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  182 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kathryn J 16 reviews from this member

First time we have visited this site and we stayed for 3 nights. The fees were £20 per night for 2 adults, motorhome with canopy and electric, which I thought was very good value. This site is one of the best kept sites we have stayed on. There are large expanses of grass area which are beautifully manicured. The site is large and very open so plenty of sunshine on the pitches, and most of the pitches seem quite large. If coarse fishing is your hobby then it is an excellent spot as fishing can be done from pegs on the River Wye on the site. There are 3 toilet blocks all clean and well kept. The blocks are cleaned at different times so no need to wait for a shower. We walked to Fownhope for lunch and were disappointed that dogs were not allowed inside The Green Man (it was raining). However, the pub next door The New Inn did allow dogs and the home cooked food was excellent. I had a proper old fashioned steak pie with lots of big pieces of very tender steak and real gravy. We also had lunch at The Moon Inn at Mordiford and again the food was good. We wanted to visit Hereford on the bus but were told that no dogs allowed on the buses! We will definitely return to the site

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: HelenJ47 17 reviews from this member

Only stayed for 2 nights to celebrate a friend's 40th birthday. Easy booking. Friendly staff and very accommodating. Catered for each families' needs which was perfect. Each pitch has plenty of space and is well marked out with ridges, excellent idea. We were next to the river on grass which was just brilliant. Facilities were kept clean. Plenty of toilets, showers, sinks. Cafe an added bonus, we enjoyed their breakfast on the day we were leaving. Well looked after site with many trees and flowering bushes, didn't notice that it was a big site as it was so well laid out. Shop and information point with lots of leaflets. Fab play area for kids. Our 11 year old fished under supervision. Would definitely go again and stay longer. A gem of a site.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tent+Dog 4 reviews from this member

Spent a lovely few days here in July when the weather was hot hot !

Booking was easy and efficient and we were shown to our pitch.

The pitch was large and the grounds of the site were immaculate to say the least.

Staff very pleasant, chatty and helpful.

Facilities very clean, nice shower and plenty of them, toilets and even vanity rooms where there's just a sink, all clean and 3 areas covering the large site.

Site is very quiet and well controlled and the river running by it was lovely. Take your dog down to the river in the far corner of the site (by the boat club) and they can have a swim, we kept them on the lead though as fast current !

It came in handy for the dogs as the weather was red hot and the swim was a welcome cool-down.

Handy shop on site that has the usual and they have a smashing cafe, seats over-looking the river and they cook all-sorts, we had a breakfast on the day we left and it was nice, would recommend the food, good reports.

Try The Moon pub just up the road, a 45 min walk through the woods brings you out at a cracking little pub (on the main road) called THE MOON, real ale, food and a beer garden, what more do you need !

Try it, it's a proper old fashioned pub that we should support - so do the walk through the woods, it's very possibly dog friendly in the front room, not sure though as we sat in the beer garden.

Note - pub closes in the afternoon so go after 6pm :)

Plus Points

1. Very clean facilities

2. Immaculate site

3. Quiet

4. Cafe

5. Beautiful location

Down side

None really if I'm honest, it is a large site and I got a little lost one evening coming back from the toilet, possibly there could be a little more lighting ??

Unable to fault the place really and would 100% recommend so go go go

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Justybiker 6 reviews from this member

We stayed here during the summer and quite honestly can't fault the site in any way shape or form, good weather certainly does make a holiday that much nicer but lucksall campsite truly is a gem, it's an extremely good layout with a mix of open and sheltered pitches all of which were immaculate, the toilet and shower blocks were spotless all the time and very well appointed, all in all lucksall is a campsite I would be happy to return to again and again. Highly recommend.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Ascsbe 9 reviews from this member

Had a wonderful week at this site with glorious weather from start to finish, Very large pitches and all beautifully kept. The toilet blocks vary in size but were always clean. Very difficult to find anything negative. Factors the wardens cannot control is that the B road that runs outside the site is quite busy and you do get some road noise, and the WI FI although free is a bit iffy. But the wardens appear to take great pride in the site. The dog walk on site is only small so if you have a dog that needs plenty of exercise you will need to walk off site. Without doubt one of the nicest sites I have stayed on.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Barbie0800 3 reviews from this member

After a long week on the river, we picked Lucksall as the only official campsite which we were staying at. We arrived and tied our kayaks to the floating landings and checked in. They kindly seemed to realise we were carrying all our kit and so gave us pitch A which was right by the shop, cafe and loos, and also a short walk for us with the kayaks. Great!

We pitched up on the Thursday and the site was fairly quiet with few kids, but by Friday lunch time the site was full, everyone was clearly taking advantage of the great weather we had!

The shop was slightly pricey but that wasn't unexpected. It was well stocked with everything we needed and it was lovely to get fresh eggs, rolls and fruit juices in the mornings. They were out of disposable BBQ throughout our stay, but luckily we had bought one in Hereford the day before. Its not a huge problem for those with a car, but we had no transport so would have been very disappointed.

We did notice we were very outnumbered by posh RVs and camper vans which dominated the place, but we just took that as a sign of how good the site was. The river was running right by the site with 5-6 purpose built fishing stations which my boyfriend thoroughly enjoyed in the evenings.

On one of the days we went on one of their 'walks' which they have maps and directions for. We picked the shortest one which was 2. 5 hours and it took us up over the hills and through the countryside which was a lovely walk, despite getting terribly lost and it taking four hours! haha, but we brought a picnic and also found a pub along the way.

The loos were clean and smelt lovely, with new looking facilities, particularly the middle block. The showers were nice and warm and powerful. The hairdryer was 20p for 3 mins, but I have waist length hair and it managed to dry mine in that short time.

The cafe/restaurant/bar was lovely to sit at upon an evening and a lot of people seemed to do their take away service for food and eat it in their motor homes. We just had a couple of bottles of koppaburg and enjoyed the river scenery.

We caught the hourly running bus to Hereford and got off near the train station when we needed to go home which costed £2. 60 for an adult.

Great campsite, would definitely return.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 2011finley 4 reviews from this member

Very, very high standard site.

We went here to test out our new trailer tent and, need I say more this place was immaculate. We set up, done a bit of fishing on the river.

One minor problem is when we arrived we got put on hard standing and because we took a toddler we wanted to be on grass (We never had an awning groundsheet. )We asked and they reluctantly relocated us(They love their grass)

Another minor problem is at 7:00 pm we had a radio on low and someone was moaning but, that's life. We left it low because, it was only 7:00pm. Despite our low radio they mow the lawn at 5:00am!

Overall, very nice place. The toilet block is perfect. They really do look after the site. Just watch out because they have hefty rules about their grass.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Boris bearcat 4 reviews from this member

After touring North and South Wales with a mix of good and poor sites, we looked at any local sites in Herefordshire near Ross-on-wye and came along this site, it is very clean and well run, good staff, and well located for the area and a short drive to the cycle tracks in the forest of dean, would go back when in the area next, nice location right on the banks of the wye river, even has a small bar/cafe on site.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Fredrock 3 reviews from this member

Went to this site in May, Last year, in our Touring caravan,

The site is very nice, So are the new style shower blocks,

It was very quiet when we visited, so the cafe opened when they felt like it, Good little shop on site, nice people,

I didn't think the pavement issue would be so bad, but it was, it is not safe to walk along the roadside at all,

We turned left out of the site walked to the nearest pub, 20-25 min's, approximately, The pub was OK, but they only do food when they feel like it, maybe a seasonal thing,

Found some of the locals a bit stand- offish,

The woods and the river give this site a nice feel, But the road lets it down, for me, Yes, 100 yards up the road you can walk through the fields, but this would not be good after a bit of rain,

Would I go again, If the footpath went straight to the site, maybe.

Date of Visit: November 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robdor 12 reviews from this member

This was our 1st visit to Lucksall, what a lovely site. The facilities are good, we had a hard standing which meant there wasn't any mud walked into the caravan. Across the road from the site are private woods (belonging to the campsite)which were stunning. There was plenty to see on site we got some good photographs of Gary (owner) feeding the swan. When we hitched up my husband had difficulties with the car to caravan electric plug (new style), Gary was walking past & asked if he could help & within a short time he had the site manager there sorting out our plug. Excellent, pleasant service!

We will return in the Spring.

Previous     182 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Hereford      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Herefordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Love Touring Expo, Scotland 25/10 to 27/10, Aberdeen
Scotlandís newest caravan and motorhome show! The very latest caravans, motorhomes and campervans from all major brands, including the new models for 2020 ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3174 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019