Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Sykeside Camping Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Site Reviews

Sykeside Camping Park
Brotherswater
Patterdale (lake District)
Penrith
Cumbria   (Browse area)
CA11 0NZ
Tel: 01768 482239
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 111
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 132 Reviews
                8/10 from 132 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 10 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 10 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  132 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Morland05 2 reviews from this member

Site is in an absolutely stunning setting. Ideal for keen fell walkers and outdoor loving families. There are walks to suit all ages and abilities right on your door step. No real children's play facilities, but there is an area set aside for kids to play ball and let off steam.

There is a well stocked and reasonably priced shop on site and also a bar and pub, but I did not use these.

The site is expensive in relation to the quality of the facilities, but you really are paying for the area and the view, not the quality of facilities.

The toilet block is set quite away from where you camp both the toilet block and wash area is very dated and shabby inside, and would benefit from a lick of paint all round and there are broken floor tiles in the ladies shower block.

Strangely the toilets and showers are cloesd for 2 hours each day for cleaning. So whilst they might be clean for an hour or so afterwards, by the time everyone had used them for 24 hours they are quite disgusting. Common sense would be to clean them little and often!

The showers are dated and small impractical cubicles if trying to shower with little ones. The water temp is a real issue. In the morning the water is hot enough to really scald, so don't let little ones wash their hands in the loos unattended, but by teatime, when you want the showers after a days walking the water is freezing!

On arrival we were told to pitch anywhere we liked. Once pitched the warden came along and complained we had not left enough room to get his ride on lawnmower round our tent. Whilst I have no problem with site maintenance, this chap to it to a new level, skimming the blades of his lawnmower as close to peoples tents and pegs as he possibly could. .

Still, there is no denying the spectacular setting of this site and if like us you are keen walkers then its a good site to use as a base to get right into the mountains for walks.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Shinwhip 1 review from this member

We had booked for three nights at Sykeside on the recommendation of a friend. It was the first time we had visited and we were smitten!

We had the intention of spending a further two nights at another nearby campsite that had more facilities for the children, however our five year old and three year old enjoyed Sykeside so much that they wanted to stay and we extended our stay another couple of nights.

I had called ahead to ask what time we were able to camp up and was told that we could arrive as early as we wanted. We arrived at about 9am. We were welcomed by a very pleasant lady in reception who then told us to camp where we wanted. We chose to camp at the far end of the field near the stone wall and the farm track. The warden popped over to say hello, very friendly chap indeed.

Sykeside is situated in an astoundinly beautiful location. The site is nestled in the Dovedale valley at the foot of Hartsop Dodd on the Kirkstone Pass. A very short drive to Glenridding and Patterdale with Ambleside just slightly further afield on a nice drive down the Kirkstone Pass. There are some lovely walks situated right on the doorstep with fishing available at Brotherswater. We had prime viewing of the local farmer and his collie herding up the sheep on the side of hartsop dodd, a locely site to see. Quite humourous listening to the dialogue between shepherd and dog, not what I have ever heard on One Man and his Dog, the campsite owner later told me that the farmers dog is deaf as a post and gets lost when she gets amongst the bracken :-)

I have gave the site 9 out of 10 for location, the only reason I haven't opted for 10/10 is that the site is right on the Kirkstone Pass, the road is relatively quiet however the road is a 'driving road' and heaven for drivers and motorcyclists, my 3 year old has a habit of wandering and on one of his expeditions we found him up by the road. Other than that couldn't ask for better and it certainly wouldn't deter us!

The site itself has a small shop in the reception which is surprisingly reasonably priced! There are two pubs on the site, the Brotherswater Inn which also offers B&B accommodation at very reasonable prices, and also the Barn End Bar which appears to be only open on weekends. Both pubs are very warm and inviting and the food is very nice and very reasonably priced. ( Despite planning not to eat out at all we ate out at the pub every night! ). The staff were very welcoming to our three young children also.

There isn't much in the way of facilities for children, there is no playground as such althoguh there is a sports/games field and as I said earlier the pub and site are very welcoming to young families. My children were quite content having day's out in the local area walking and exploring. The toilet and shower facilities were clean and I had a hot shower everytime I went and didn't have to wait. Washing up and laundry facilities were clean when we used them.

We did suffer some quite heavy rain while we were there and as a result some of the grass near the centre of the main field had become quite chewed up where people had been driving on it, the warden then cordened this area off from cars for a couple of days while the ground dried off, which is fair play. While the weather can't be controlled, the location of the site means that some of the open areas in the centre of the field can get a bit breezy when the wind channels down the mountain pass. We avoided this by camping close to the stone wall and there are lots of sheltered spots around the perimeter.

There is a no groups policy and also quiet time after 11pm. Midway through our stay we ended up with a very rowdy group of adults camping next to us that resulted in very excessive noise at 3am. The warden was very swift to deal with this however and the group soon moved on. (I'm no party pooper and I'm usually one of the noisiest at Leeds Festival, but it was extremely excessive). Nevertheless the warden was on the ball and ensured the rest of the site were able to enjoy their stay.

Our only disappointment was that we couldn't get booked for bank holiday as the site was full! We will certainly be visiting again soon.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Phiwinuk 3 reviews from this member

Visited for a second time. Beautiful location with good well drained pitches. Play facilities for children limited - just a field set aside for games - though they seemed to enjoy themselves despite mixed weather.

Campers bar good, though can get busy on a wet evening (and also when the quiz night is on).

Not cheap, though reasonable facilities provided. As others have mentioned, water sometimes can be less than hot - time your shower visits well!

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Henshawcapes 13 reviews from this member

Sykeside is set in stunning scenery. There are fantastic views from the site and when the sun shines, it must be one of the most picturesque sites in the Lakes.

Good points:

•The views – we looked at High Hartsop Dodd and decided to climb it on one of the days we stayed at the site. We walked a circular route via Caiston Glen – suitable for active 6 and 9 year olds

•The pub on the site serves well priced food – with hand pulled beet too. The Wainwright is recommended! However, at peak times it gets very busy, so get there early as it was evident that some diners had their meal and then settled in for the night and kept their table

•The site is very well kept – the grass is neatly trimmed and well cared for

•Walks from the site suit all ages and abilities – if you are a runner, there is a decent route along Brother’s Water to Patterdale

•The shop is well stocked

Not so good:

•There are signs saying the the hot water is prone to running out at peak times – the water never seemed warm to us

•The toilet block needs some work – it is rather primitive and can not cope with a full site in the rain. Maybe they need to clean it more during times of inclement weather? Some of the floor tiles need replacing too.

•The entrance to the site is quite tight with a caravan/campervan – enter via the pub car park if you are travelling from Kirkstone Pass

•It is a shame that the caravan area (5 pitches) is at the top of the park as the views are restricted by the high trees

Date of Visit: February 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 493 reviews from this member

Spent a weekend at this excellent camp site. It is situated about two miles from Patterdale, at the foot of the Kirkstone Pass. It's one of the best spots in the lakes for walking and you'll struggle to find a better site for scenery. At the site, you have the Eastern fells, like High Street and Angle Tarn Pikes at one side, and the Helvellyn/Fairfield fells on the other. A medium length walk from the site to Priest's Hole cave is worth trying. There's also easy access to Ullswater and Ambleside.

Facilities on site are good,with an excellent pub serving great food, as well as a shop (in season only). Showers are adequate, but hot water is prone to running out! All pitches have great views and there are hard standings for motorhomes.

Date of Visit: February 2010 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Funkyshar 1 review from this member

Well. This is one of the most fabulous views that you can get !

We stayed in the 'bunkhouses' which were very cold and the kitchen was very mouldy. Which was a let down as there were 9 of us staying within 3 different bunk rooms. So eating out 3 meals a day wasn't an option and would of been too expensive. So we muddled through.

Other than that we would definitely go back but stay in a tent. The views, walks, and the Lake were fabulous. The pub on site was good too although we walked to the 'White Lion' In patterdale which was more reasonable priced.

The staff at Sykeside were nice enough. There was a certain 'odd' about them and it took a while to get them to smile. But once we had sorted that out they were ok !

This is an Ideal location for a walking holiday with Patterdale and Glenridding only a couple of miles away. The shop on site is closed this time of year but there are small convenience shops in the next villages.

Overall a good Holiday just disappointed with the standard of accommodation.

Date of Visit: November 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Mulberrybush 16 reviews from this member

This is a nice location at the end of Brotherswater, lots of good walks from site. The Brotherswater Inn next door was excellent. We stayed on the CL part of the site but it all looked clean and tidy. Basic clean facilities and friendly welcome. However it is expensive for what you get and beware - the shower block lights are on a timer and if there is no-one else in there you may find yourself having to leave the cubicle in the middle of a shower and wander around to get the lights back on.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: IandM 2 reviews from this member

Arrived at the site on late august bank holiday Monday after searching all over the Lakes for one that wasn't ankle deep in mud or water. Last ditch effort found sykeside. Went to Barnend bar to see if we could pitch. No problems at all. We were directed to the driest pitch up near the teepees. A little sloped but fine. The main field is flat as a pancake. We were told that if we wanted we could pay daily as the weather was forecast to be so poor. The chap was really friendly and helpful.

We ended up staying for 10 nights even though the weather was so bad. Everything was great, clean toilets and showers. Well stocked shop with some of the biggest onions I've ever seen and good value bacon. Stunning views and good walks. Only a short drive to the touristy areas and a short drive to the start of some excellent walks. All staff met were friendly and happy (or at least appeared to be)

The only negative point is the price - £19.50 a night for 2 adults in a tiny tent. That said we will visit again when the weather is better and see if we like it just as much 2nd time round.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tabs-R-us 7 reviews from this member

Location Foot of Kirkstone pass on the way to Glenriding Ulswater

The site is surrounded by hills and mountains and a popular base camp for serious hikers or backpackers

Just an overnight stay for two of us in a three person tent at a cost of £19.00 at first seems a little steep and it can get very expensive for families but with the two fully licenced bars which both serve food to 2100hrs the handy shop and facilities you have to take it on the chin or don’t stay! The bars are clean and tidy and the food is regular pub grub with no complaints and prices to reflect the area with a main course at an average of £12.00 and a sweet at £4.00 the top bar opened for breakfast at 0800 at a cost of £7.50 for a full English.

The showers and toilets were combined clean enough but were closed for two hours midday for cleaning, although you could use the bar toilets during this time. There was a separate drying room and for washing up etc. I didn’t notice if there were any freezers for your blocks.

We pre booked and found that the campsite full sign in place on arrival. Expecting a crowded site I was pleasantly surprised to see that there was plenty of room to pitch and over crowding was not a problem. There are also plenty of places for EHU camper vans and caravans. Didn’t notice a play area with swings and stuff for children but there was a separate dog walking zone and plenty of fields to play in away from the road.

The staff were friendly and you were given the statutory brief on the local badgers that enjoy rummaging through your kit looking for food. (Much to the joy of my other half who would have gladly sacrificed our stores with a trail of food to the tent door to see a badger). So keep food locked away if you can, however we didn’t see one.

With the recent bad weather the ground was a little boggy (to be expected) but I think this place could get quite bad after a few days rain with some areas still fenced off due to the standing water. You were allowed to park you vehicle just off the road but not on the grass next to your tent and parking could become an issue.

If you want to travel light or your on route backpacking the site facilities are ideal if you can afford it. For those like us that enjoy self catering the shop has enough to see you through. Not sure where the closest supermarket is but would guess it would be Windermere. (quite a drive)

Site rules are: No noise after eleven, but as it was a chilly night most happy campers were tucked up on time

Overall :

Nice little site that can cater for all but the biggest caravans and campers due to the tiny road to get down to the site.

I would stay again but I don’t think I could afford to pitch my regular tent with family shelter and the rest of the trimmings when in glamping mode.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Big Frank 26 reviews from this member

This is probably the most spectacular location for any site we have stayed on.

OK the weather was truly awful and most of the grass areas were a swamp with people hunting out the higher ground this is obviously not the sites fault. We had intended to stay for 4 nights but only managed 2. The mud got too much!

The toilet block is large with plenty of showers & toilets and washing up facilities. Signs indicated that they may run short of hot water at peak times and they did.

The on site bar and pub both serve good ale and reasonably priced food. The pub is open all day as we discovered as we waited for the AA recovery man after our camper decided it had had enough of two weeks of rain and shed a pulley wheel!

The staff were helpful even though there was confusion over our booking and we were put on the wrong pitch.

The area is all about outdoor activities mainly walking and cycling with water sport on nearby Ullswater.

Do I have a criticism? Well yes. This is also probably the most expensive site we have ever stayed on at just under £30 a night, even accepting the stunning location and the fact it was a bank holiday, it upset my value for money radar a bit! Still it was full so it doesn't put people off

Previous     132 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win a Holiday at Woolacombe Bay Holiday Park

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2594 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019