Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ambleside > Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile Reviews

Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile
Chapel Stile
Great Langdale
Ambleside
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA22 9JR
Tel: 01539 437150
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 100
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           01/03/2022 to 31/10/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 111 Reviews
                9/10 from 111 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  111 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ClareCronin 1 review from this member

 Discovered this site by accident on the way to the NT site.

Owner was really helpful and warned us of boggy areas, but we managed to find a reasonably solid pitch in one of the top fields.

The location is great with lovely views of the hills. Set well back from the main road through Chapel Stile, there's not much noise from through traffic.

Saturday night was busy, but the 'no noise after 10.30pm' and 'no music' policy seemed to be adhered to, even by the more lively groups. There is also a 'no single-sex groups of more than 3 people' policy and one about no bbqs after 8.30pm (if I remember rightly).

A few older reviews here complained about the rubbish area, but we didn't see evidence of this being a problem. There is a recycling area that cuts down on the amount of actual refuse.

Facilities were adequate for our needs, but could get busy later on in the morning - grab a shower early! Take a pair of flip flops to shower as they can get pretty dirty! I suspect water flow and temperature possibly fluctuates depending on whether they're all in use or not, but I certainly found them hot. There are hooks on the sides of the shower cubicles, but they're very high up. Toilets were clean with a powerful flush! The sinks are very high up - I'm 5'2' and struggled to wash my face but hey, what do you want for 4 a night!

Wainwright pub in Chapel Stile sells food and real ales. Food was pretty bog standard pub fare that I thought was a bit overpriced, as was the beer at 3.10 a pint, but I am from Yorkshire! The village shop has the usual necessities, but again expensive so don't depend on it. The Britannia Inn at Elterwater also does good food.

There is a butty van which is 'open when its open'!

Will definitely return to this site, with my flip flops, and would certainly recommend it. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Davemanutd 1 review from this member

 Just got back from bayesbrown farm. Gound it too be really good with two large fields split down the middle by a river. Would recommend staying on the top field near the farm house and shower/toilet block if your in a tent like we were, because when it rains as it was when we went the bottom field floods. There was a butty van near the house but cant comment as didn't try it.

It cost me and my girlfriend 20 for two nights which we thought was really good. The road into the site an up too the farm house is terrible(full of potholes). The scenery is beautiful you can see right down the valley. There is a shop just around the corner which we found reasonably priced, and just round the corner from that is the pub which is good as well. The toilets an shower block are clean and big enough for the site, only had too queue for the shower once. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Loobyloo1969 11 reviews from this member

 We arrived Easter Bank Holiday Monday, the site was very busy. But as the week went on, it became a lot quieter until there was a few tents on site! We pitched at the top against the wall, so near all the failities, which were cleaned everyday - free hot showers. The site is generously spread out over 3 large fields. In previous reviews people mentioned that it was at least a 5 minute walk to the showers etc. Yes it is if you decide to pitch right at the bottom of the site - which if it were to rain and not stop, will get very boggy!

The scenery is absolutely spectacular and you don't need to get into a car to find some good walks, if you walk through the farm there is a track which runs almost alongside the river. It takes you to Dungeon Ghyll Hotel - where you can get a hearty breakfast! There is also the Sticklebarn Inn where we had lunch, good value for money and the chicken in a sourdough bun is massive and absolutely delicious! The Wainwrights' Inn is ok, but it was very busy, if you're not there for when the restaurant opens (which we didn't know) you'll be queuing for a long time! The quality of food didn't represent the price, you are packed in like sardines too! And it wasn't even high season, but hey just because we didn't like it, doesn't mean other's won't!

There isn't a shop on site but a 10 minute walk away is Chapel Stile Co-Op which also has a Cafe upstairs which serves breakfast and afternoon teas. If you pick up the riverside path which is lovely a flat you'll come to the Britannia Inn at Elterwater, this is lovely and reasonably priced, we preferred this to Wainwrights'! The walk continues right to Ambleside and the flat so if you have a pushchair or young ones it's a good one to do and you'll be rewarded with the spectacular Skelwith Force! 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AndyWak 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from this campsite - it was a welcome relief after failing to get in at the NT site further on. So good in fact that I doubt I'll try the other site if there are vacancies at this one!

The pluses -

Loads of open space,

Owner very helpful and hassle free, good size toilet and shower block - the site wasn't full, bit is was by no means quiet either - but no queues all weekend.

Hot drinks and sarnies served in the morning.

The negatives -

Biting insects! The site is surrounded by water; bring insect repellent / bite cream - you will need it

Finally, avoid Wainwrights Inn; food is overpriced & best described as average at best and service is terrible. Kitchen closed at 8.20 (not 9.00 as indicated in menu). 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JamesMuir 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here twice last year and found it to be a secret gem. The views, the location, the feeling of this site is amazing.

The site does have its downsides, the drainage was terrible and the fields were exceptionally boggy when it rained however reading reviews from this year it looks like the farmer is doing about this.

The lower fields are a long distance from the shower and toilet facilities so if you get caught short you will have a long distance to run.

The ups are that this is in an ideal location to appreciate the lakes and the surrounding mountains. We will be going back that's for sure! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gazzio 1 review from this member

 I have visited this site for each of the last 3 years and have never been disappointed by the facilities or the fantastic views along the Langdale valley.

Visited a few days ago for the first time this season and the farmer has been making some slight improvements - the lower field is now split in two to discourage people from driving right the way across it, in an attempt to avoid excess muddiness and he's also created a sort of 'entrance' to each field where he's put a load of slate down to create a hard path. This will also prevent the muddiness in wet weather.
He was also telling me he has been busy draining the bottom field to try to improve the drainage so hopefully it won't flood at all this year! fingers crossed! Still the same prices - 4 a head and 2 per car per night. Great site with clean toilets and excellent waste disposal facilities - couldn't ask for more for the price! 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RCheesley 8 reviews from this member

 Had not planned to stay at this site, but having arrived at our bunkhouse in Chapel Stile to find it double booked, we had to urgently arrange some accommodation for a Duke of Edinburgh's Award Gold group + supervisors who were doing their first 'orientation' day of their expedition around this area.

The farmer was very accommodating and the site was fairly quiet, so there was more than enough space. As others have mentioned the lower end of the site does tend to get very boggy in the wet weather, so we pitched right at the top near the facilities and cooked out of the back of a transit van!

Quite a cold night, but the site was quiet after 10 and a good night was had by all. It can be a bit breezy on the site but otherwise we had a very pleasant stay. Stunning location and the views are outstanding - you can see so many stars on a clear night, it's wonderful!

Would definitely return again to this site! 


Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Billyedin 1 review from this member

 Visited this site at least once a year for over 10 years, great site amazing walks and views.

Good value for money, warm showers, wash up area and clean toilets.

Close to Chapel Stile, Co Op and Wainwrights pub, a 10 minute drive to Stickle Barn pub great walk up behind to the Stickle Tarn.

The site can get boggy and wet in the bottom field but that's what camping is all about, the farmer is very helpful. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Primrose22 3 reviews from this member

 A great little site where you get what you pay for!

Location is great, there are lovely views from the site and nice little walks nearby. A short walk gets you to a pub, a shop and a post office.

The site is nothing fancy, its on a bit of a slope and the grass needed cutting.

When you arrive, you go to the farm house and pay for however long you want, you then go and find you pitch!

The showers/toilets are basic but clean and warm with hot water.

There was a butty van on site which was always a welcome sight on a morning! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wild Camper 10 reviews from this member

 This is a good site in a very pleasant location. There are two excellent pubs within walking distance. The owners are very helpful, and the facilities are excellent.

However, the site is just too accessible. What I mean by this is that it is too close to Ambleside, and it suffers from having too many large tents and family groups. There's nothing wrong with that if it's what you like, but I prefer more isolated places that are quieter.

The site does get very busy, and this is probably due to people being turned away from the even more popular Great Langdale National Trust site. This would be a decent place to go in winter when there are no crowds of people. 


Previous     111 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Baysbrown Farm Campsite Chapel Stile dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ambleside      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3355 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement