Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Castle Point Caravan Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > By Dalbeattie > Castle Point Caravan Site Reviews

Castle Point Caravan Site
Rockcliffe
By Dalbeattie
Dumfries and Galloway   (Browse area)
DG5 4QL
Tel: 01556 630248
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 55
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 80 Reviews
                9/10 from 80 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  80 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ROY AND LYNN 2 reviews from this member

 We spent 4 nights at this site, it was quite windy when we arrived and as we wanted electric hook up, we were given a pitch in the section for the touring caravans, which was great as the tent section was on top of a hill which didn't have many level areas for our large tent.
The soil is very shallow, stoney and hardpacked, so take note if your going with a tent, you'll need good quality tent pegs and a lot of patience to get your pegs in.

The site itself is very well maintained, the toilets were always clean. This site has beautiful views over the Solway Firth and the hills beyond. Not a lot to do locally other than walking and golf, although there is a pony trekking centre at Barend a couple of miles away. As experienced riders, we had a 2 hour trek and thoroughly enjoyed it. There is a good general store at Covend which has a wide veriety of produce and a very good cafe next door to it. We would recomend this site if you like quiet, peaceful, relaxing holidays. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Zozzer 21 reviews from this member

 What a little gem this site is. We arrived on the Thurdsday evening to an extremely warm friendly welcome. A small site, that is well laid out and caters for campers, caravans, motorhomes and statics.

The camping area is high on the hill giving the best panaromic view of Rough Island and Rough Firth. Being a Bank Holiday the site was full but at no time did you feel packed in like sardines. The flat level pitches appear to be very well drained as after heavy rain on our first night, there was no problem moving the motohome.

An area of the site away from the main pitches was kept clear and soon proved to be a magnet for anyone wanting to kick a ball around. We particulary like this as it always a worry when some children playing football around the vans can forget how easy it is to damage a vehicle when having fun.

Facilties are well maintained and very clean having been painted recently both toilets and showers. But as remarked on before, there is only one male and one female shower available, causing people queing at peak times.

The site has no shop, Dalbeattie is about seven miles away so better no run out of milk late at night.

People with Motohomes, wishing to fill their tanks will have to hand carry a container as the tap for drinking water is not easily accessible (without blocking site entrance with van).

There's lots to do in Dumfries & Galloway as can be seen in the tourism magazines. We particulary like the Galloway Red Kite Trail, The Bellymack Feeding Station on the B795 just outside Laurieston and is 18 miles from the site via Castle Douglas.

For those who like to know, TV recepetion is good. Especailly with Freeview.

Would we return to this site. YES, DEFINITELY. It's a little cracker. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 8367 Lesley 3 reviews from this member

 What a lovely site. Facilites are very clean and the location is fantastic. Only one shower in the ladies so would imagine this could be a problem during busier periods. Would recommend a trip to Kippford as the harbour is wonderful and the pubs server good food. Wonderful walks directly from campsite. Owners could not have been more helpful. Will be returning. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adasb 20 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a weekend's camping at this beautiful site.  Very quiet and peaceful and stunning views all round.  Site owner is very friendly and helpful. The facilities have been upgraded and are excellent.  However, when we camped approx. 5 years ago the tents were very close to the facilities - as I think they should be.  This time the area we had camped in previously was made over to static holiday vans and touring caravans. The tent field was up a short lane behind the campsite and it was quite a hike to visit the loos etc, especially in the middle of the night! The views from the field made up for the shortcomings, as regards closeness to facilities, but we are finding that sites are increasingly relegating tents a good distance away from facilities and we have started avoiding sites because of it.  I have to say that the kind owner did offer us a pitch where the tourers are, as it was free this particular weekend,  but we would have been in the middle of them - no view and no privacy, so we declined. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sanhozay 10 reviews from this member

 Very pleasant little site in a charming bay. Nice flat pitches and good facilities for a site of this size. Owners and warden very friendly and helpful. Ideal spot for anyone needing a stop over if travelling north from England or south from Scotland.
 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Braeside 6 reviews from this member

 Used this site as a stop over on our way home and what a find! Mostly level pitches but we noticed that the owners were very helpful to anyone having problems with levelling etc. Showers hot and powerful.
A beautiful part of Scotland! Some magnificent views from the coast, only a few minutes walk from the site. A walk over to Rough Island with its cockle shell beach, when the tide was out (except for nesting season) and a short climb to the Mote of Mark well worth it. Directions on an information board in Rockcliffe. Ideal for cycling too. Oyster catchers and herons feeding on the mudflats,deer in the wooded area along the footpath to the beach. Not enough time to explore, will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Greystokead 2 reviews from this member

 Visited during the last week in May with two other families. The weather was glorious. The site was busy yet quiet. We were probably the noisy ones once the kids had gone to bed and the guitars came out.

Facilities excellent. Wonderful showers. No shop on site but there is a good market shop just over one mile away.

A short walk to the beach and if you hit the tides right, some glorious sand. Two evenings during the week we gathered drift wood and lit camp fires. Even gathered some nice mussels to cook on the bbq.

A nice easy cycle to Rockliffe and Kipford even for the little ones. Dalbeattie forest for the serious pedalers

All in all a wonderful few days on a small but smart and friendly site.

we will return. 


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tim and Cary 60 reviews from this member

 The site is a large field, partly sloping. There are lovely views, across the adjacent field,over Rockcliffe Bay and Rough Island from parts of the site. There are electrical hookups. Tents are sited at the front of the field and have good views. After leaving the "main" Colvend-Rockliffe road there are no further signs to the campsite - just keep straight ahead along the single-track road which and climbs quite steeply for the last part.

It has one clean and adequate toilet block but this could be busy at peak times. The water and CDP are at the toilet block which is quite a walk from some parts of the site and a laundry block, not used. There is an information room with a wide selection of magazines, books and tourist info. There was no playground. There is no playground but children tended to play ball games on an empty area of the field.

There are quite a lot of statics and seasonal pitch caravans. When we visited the site was full and The touring and seasaonal caravans were pitched close together in rows. Pitch views depend on who was in front of you!! Many of the best spots were occupied by seasonals.

There is direct access to a coastal walk from the site. Popular with Max our collie. In an easterly direction this leads to the Castle Point, 10 minutes walk, site of an ancient hill fort. Castle Point has wonderful sea views across the Solway to Cumbria. The path can be continued further east along the coast. In the westerly direction it descends to a very very rocky shore, about 10 minutes downhill walk (strong shoes recommended) The coastal path continues west to a minor road which leads to the village of Rockcliffe village, about 20 minutes walk. Rockcliffe has a sandy beach, public toilets and tearoom. The village is very exclusive with lovely detached houses with lush gardens overlooking the unspoilt bay.

There is no pub but there is the Baron's Craig Hotel. The Hotel is quite expensive but serves bar and restaurant meals from its bar and restaurant and terrace which has stupendous sea views. We didn't sample the menu but it has a very good reputation. The food was excellent when, as a student, I worked there as a waiter for the summer 30 years ago!! The Hotel, also, has an art gallery adjacent.

The nearest shop/post office is approx 1 mile away in the hamlet of Colvend. It, also, has a Church. The next nearest town is Dalbeattie about 4 miles away which has a range of shops.

The site is well situated for touring this beautiful part of Dumfries and Galloway with its lovely beaches and countryside and quaint towns and villages.

There are a number of good, waymarked, walks in the Rockliffe area. We particularly enjoyed the walk across the tidal causeway to Rough Island, acessed from between Rockliffe and Kippford. There are, also, a number of woodland walks near Rockcliffe. The Mote of Mark ancient site near Rockcliffe gives lovely view over the bay and further. Kippford is a pretty yatching port.

We enjoyed the site and would be happy to return again. 


Reviewer: gbagguley 2 reviews from this member

 July 2004
The shower and toilet facilities were very clean and the showers were hot and powerful.

The tent pitches were level and well drained with fantastic views to the coast.

The beach is a few minutes walk, and the village has an excellent coffee shop to relax in.

We will definately visit this site again. 


Reviewer: Sue Welford 7 reviews from this member

 July 2003
This campsite has lovely views and good walks directly from the site.
Whilst we were at this campsite various improvements in the facilities were completed. The toilets and showers were clean with plenty of hot water. The new washing up facilities were also well presented and a new laundry area was completed early on in our 5 night stay. We were able to pitch our tent on level ground, although some of the pitches would not have been as level. Despite the wind and rain that we suffered the ground did not become waterlogged. The warden was helpful and friendly. A site we would visit again. 


Previous     80 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80     Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Castle Point Caravan Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Castle Point Caravan Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Castle Point Caravan Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near By Dalbeattie      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dumfries and Galloway

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6570 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement