Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cwm Cadnant Valley

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Caernarfon > Cwm Cadnant Valley Reviews

Cwm Cadnant Valley
Llanberis Road
Caernarfon
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL55 2DF
Tel: 01286 673196
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 69
Open: March To November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 102 Reviews
                8/10 from 102 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  102 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Geoffshumba 10 reviews from this member

 Fantastic facilities, with full disabled access to toilets and showers. Clean and heated, top notch. Excellent washing up area. A sheltered site with well laid out pitches. There is a Spar shop 60 yards to the left of the entrance, and a chip shop next door. The site is 10 minutes walk from Caernarfon town centre.
It is just behind the fire station, so if some emergency happens, you might hear the commotion, but this only happened once during our stay, and was a brief spell of noise.
The people running the site are helpful, and sell camping gas a as well as calor gas. Most of the EHU pitches are hard standing, but some have adjacent grass areas, and the owners will do their best to ensure that motorhomes with awnings can have a spot where they can pitch. You could need rock pegs if you have a motorhome and want to pitch an awning, but no problem with tents. One I would go back to without hesitation. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karen2764 1 review from this member

 We visited this small but ideally situated campsite in July August 2007.  Although it was the start of the school holidays the site was busy but didn't feel crowded.
 
We pitched our small tent on the lower tier close to the shower block and children's play area.  We were a little close to the site road but weren't disturbed by passing cars.
 
My seven year old daughter loved the play area and the stream which runs through the site She made friends with children from Germany and Holland. 
 
The shower/toilet block was very clean and there was plenty of free hot water.  The launderette came in very handy as my daughter spent a lot of time paddling in the stream, it was only £2 for a full wash.  The site is very close to the town centre with its pubs and take aways.  Also Tesco and Morrisons were close by.
 
The Site owners David and June were very friendly and other site users were great and not noisy which was great. 
 
It made a great base from which to visit the great beach at Portmadog  in one direction and the Sun Centre at Rhyll in the other.
 
We hope to be able to return for another visit next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tifftm 3 reviews from this member

 The campsite was quiet, only the occasional siren from the local fire station but it was not a problem. A very good location to go into town a 10 minute walk.
There are a few points I would like to point out.
The showers were hot and plentiful, and there was only 2 showers so sometimes you had to wait. But sadly the floors were very muddy because of the wet weather at the time.
There are 2 disabled shower rooms which is a good idea, although anyone with a disbailty will find it difficult to get to the water and waste disposal points. As the campsite is on a slope the water and waste points are accessable by steep slopes (very muddy when wet!) or steps.
The pitch size we had was good although we was placed in an area at the back on a slope and found it very difficult to put our caravan in place as there were a row of tents in front of us.
Because of the wet weather, although it wasn't the owners fault we got stuck in the mud on the day of our departure. But the owners kindly pulled us out. They also had to pull us up the very steep drive out as it was far too steep for our car. The drive is only suitable for tourers with 4x4's 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lindi21 1 review from this member

 We have just come back from a fantastic week staying at this lovely site.
This site is in an excellent location and is really straight forward to get to. Although it is just off the main road, it is surrounded by trees and edged by a stream which offers shelter and a lovely countryside feel to the site, without overshadowing it.
There are excellent facilities on this site, with a toilet block that has been recently refurbished. The owners of the site work hard to keep them clean and well maintained. There is also a well equipped laundry room, plenty of bins and recycling points and a superb play area for the children, which together with the stream, kept my children entertained for hours.
There is a lovely friendly atmosphere on the site and the owners, who obviously take enormous pride in their site, are very friendly and helpful.
All in all, an excellent site in a great location with an endless supply of things to do in the surrounding area. I highly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Samuel11 1 review from this member

 Arrived back home this afternoon from a 4 night stay at Cwm Cadnant. I must say what a pleasant peaceful site considering it is around a 10-15 minute walk from Carenarfon town centre.
The site itself is on terraced levels with beautiful mature trees which provide great shelter, although we still had a lovely sunny spot and caught the sun. The little shallow river running through the site made the evenings a delight, listening to it run with a glass of wine was heaven. There is a well stocked Spar and tasty chippy a 2 minute walk away.
The ladies shower room (now refurbished) was spotlessly clean and smelt really fresh as well as having ample space. The same goes for the gents (so my husband tells me). As we have 2 young children the family shower room was excellent with plenty of space to dry the baby. All showers had plenty of powerful free hot water, and although the site was full they really were extremely clean. A credit to the owners.
There is a good size well equipped play area for the children that my 4 year old enjoyed playing on ,while Dad did the dishes in the sheltered washing up area.
The owners are very friendly and I liked the way they walked around the site from time to time having a little chat and asking if we were enjoying our stay. (we defiantly  did).
We felt most pitches where a good size, although a few would struggle with large caravans. We had plenty of room to accommodate the caravan, awning, gazebo, car and for the children to play while we sat and relaxed in the evening.
All in all we had a wonderful relaxing break on a well maintained site with excellent clean facilities. On exiting the site the road is very steep which could possibly be difficult for some vehicles in wet conditions.
We will be returning to Cwm Cadnant and highly recommend this site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mistyjy 3 reviews from this member

 We had read previous reviews about this site and they all seemed very positive.  However we were disappointed with the site for the following reasons.  The units are very close together - admittedly we were at the end of the row so there was just enough room for our two cars, large tent and windbreaks, but we were literally 2 metres away from the caravan next to us. 
 
Previous reviews had stated that the owners were very strict about noise after 11pm, except that didn't seem to include the television on full blast in a nearby tent until 3am every morning. In fact on the second day I had to go out and buy ear plugs to get some decent sleep.
 
If you have difficult walking you might find this site a problem as the road out of the site was very steep indeed.
 
We were anxious to find the dog field that was shown on the map we were given so we could exercise our two dogs. However on asking the owners about it we were told that there wasn't much of it left (in fact it turned out to be a compost heap for grass cuttings!) and that there was a nice walk some 100 metres up the main road.  Yes, it was a lovely walk but after 6pm in the evening the entrance to the walk was surrounding by a large group of obnoxious teenagers from the local housing estate shouting obscenities at the campers.
 
On the plus side, the toilet blocks were clean and I believe and there were two nice family bathrooms which provided privacy.  There was a nice children's playground which seemed popular.  The site was within walking distance of Caenarfon and central for other places of interest. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alyn2006 3 reviews from this member

 At constitutes a good camping site is very much a personal thing and while many of the reviewers here are glowing in their praise of Cwm Cadnant, I’m afraid I can’t be for a number of reasons. However, I will try to be constructive in my criticism and point out things that other prospective campers might wish to be aware of and that the owners might wish to take on board. If like us you wish to relax and ‘chill out’ on a camping holiday, then perhaps Cwn Cadnant is not for you. It is situated very close to Caernarvon and local facilities which is good, but it is also surrounded by a council estate and a Fire Station. The latter provides regular sirens at all hours – not quite what we wanted on our holiday.

On the plus side, it is well situated to explore Snowdonia and Angelsey, which are short drives away. The closeness of the town seems to attract bad mannered ‘townies’ (for want of a better word) - so different from the sort of people we met at another, more remote site in South Wales. While the site is within woodland and has a nice stream running through it, it does have a rather claustrophobic feel to it with too many pitches squeezed into the terraced fields. On reflection, we did perhaps end up with the worst pitch on the whole site, situated as it was right next to the children’s play area and the toilet block. This meant a procession of campers wandering past our tent and children kicking footballs near and at our tent. Perhaps the owners should consider prohibiting ball games in the camping fields as there really isn’t sufficient room. Our experience on pitch number 6 was far from relaxing, though perhaps we should’ve asked to move to a quieter area. The space provided for camper vans seemed ridiculously small to me, but I will let others comment on how acceptable they found it.

Toilet and washing facilities on site were plentiful, though a little more attention to maintaining cleanliness is required in the busy times, particularly during periods of rain when the fields became very muddy. So to summarise, we found Cwm Cadnant to be cramped and noisy but great for young children! Please be sure that that’s what you want from a camp site! 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Houndwalker 9 reviews from this member

 What a gem this site is. When approaching from the road you can't believe that there is actually a site here! The owners from Essex were very helpful and always walking the site chatting to everyone.

There are 2 terraces which are very flat and another field just over a stream which looked reasonable though we were camped on the lower terrace. You can walk into town easily from the site so no need to worry about parking.

The toilets were the cleanest we have been to and thay are cleaned well and religously each day.

Reccommend this site to anyone but caution for the night owls. Gate gets shut and the owners don't like any rowdiness which makes it great for a relaxing break. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Squirrel66 2 reviews from this member

 We were rather disappointed with our stay after reading such good reviews. We felt very squashed in - our guy ropes overlapped those of our neighbours - neither of us had what could be called overly large tents.

The facilities were adequate but not overly clean in my opinion and, therefore, a bit smelly. I went into the ladies straight after they had been cleaned - the floor was wet but there was no smell of cleaning fluids, bleach or disinfectant as I would have expected and I noticed a used cotton bud lying next to one of the sinks two days running and yet the facilities are closed and cleaned out for an hour every day?!

I have to say we didn't feel particularly secure at this site, especially about leaving our tent on days out. Two insignificant yet necessary items, which were about the only things easily visible, were taken from our tent on one of our days out. Interestingly one of these items turned up in the washing area a couple of days later!

The site was very busy, and yes I have to expect that in August, but all the usual camping 'etiquette' seemed none existent here and no one seemed to adhere to the few rules that there were. It was very noisy until later than requested by the owners which would have been fine if people were quiet in the mornings but we were woken up more than once by people packing up to leave or just generally making lots of noise before 7am. On one occasion a group of children ran around our tent, jumping over guy ropes, knocking into our chairs and dodging between our wind-break, car and tent while we were sitting in said chairs trying to relax. Another time a ball was kicked into the porch of our tent closely followed by a child coming in to collect it without so much as an 'excuse me'.

I want to add my proviso that this is only my opinion about how things were when I was there - I fully respect that things my be different for others at different times. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Young Ones 1 review from this member

 The site is pleasant, nicely set out giving everyone plenty of room. The shower/toilet block could do with being updated, only has 2 showers in the block (these are free) with one hairdryer (charge of 20p for 5 minutes) and no spare plug sockets to put your own hairdryer in or hair straighteners (I plugged mine in at the laundry room, which again was 20p for 5 minutes.) There are 2 separate large shower areas for Mother & Baby and the Disabled.

It is only 5, 10 minutes at the most, from town centre - where you will find plenty of pubs with good food (nice Chinese Restaurant opposite The Castle and there are also Thai & Indian Restaurants as well as all your usual pub grub places!) Lots of lively entertainment in the evenings (Cofi Roc is good for watching the sport in and is the liveliest place late on!)

Overall a good stay apart from the weather, lots of rain, watch where you are parking as we got stuck in the mud because of all the rain! 


Previous     102 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Cwm Cadnant Valley child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Cwm Cadnant Valley?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Cwm Cadnant Valley dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Caernarfon      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3589 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement