Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > South West > Somerset > Site Reviews

The Old Oaks Touring Park (adults Only)
Wick Farm
Wick
Glastonbury
Somerset   (Browse area)
BA6 8JS
Tel: 01458 831 437
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 97
Open: 01/3 To 18/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 314 Reviews
                10/10 from 314 Reviews

Add this Site to your Virtual BrochureSave to Virtual Brochure

Photos (24) and Video

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Adults Only   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available    Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop On Site   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf   Tennis 
 Beach   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Location   Dog Walk On Site   Public Transport <1 mile 

Reviews:  314 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25   26   27   28   29   30   31   32  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Chris Hume 17 reviews from this member

Well what can we say.

I found this campsite on line And it was saying they run a bus to the Glastonbury carnival (November 21st) for a small charge of 4. 75. I read all the reviews and they were excellent.

Well we couldn't believe what we saw. Yes everything was excellent. The shower block was excellent. In the same building was the laundry and washing up area.

The staff were excellent. It is an adult only site which made a change.

We booked to go back in November, Just one problem couldn't stay for one night only as it is a minimum of 2 nights nov 21st. Oh dear what a shame we have to stay an extra night. HA HA HA

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: ChasConnal 1 review from this member

Excellent offers, excellent site, excellent helpful and friendly staff, have been before and will go again. We are experienced Motorhomers enjoying 70+ nights away every year and The Old Oaks have really got it right. Our compliments to them, long may it remain. The proximity to good towns and attractions is also good.

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Peter + Chris 1 review from this member

One of the best sites we have used since we started touring in 2004. Very thoughtful planning of the site providing attractive landscaped areas with excellent shower & other facilities.

The location is lovely with stunning views of the surrounding Somerset countryside. Welcoming reception and very good shop stocked with all the essentials plus enticing cakes and other foods. Fish & chip delivery on Frdays plus soon to be introduced Indian takeaway delivery.

Excellent dog walking area with warm shower. So helpful for muddy dogs!

Lovely walks around the site although not for the faint-hearted. Great walk into Glastonbury past the Tor, which is well worth ascending for the stunning views. 1. 5 - 2 miles to the center of the town with steep incline to start. Glastonbury Abbey is lovely & dog-friendly. Lunch in the Who'd Have Thought It pub was great &, again, dog friendly

Lots to do in the area so will return with a car to see more of it.

Date of Visit: February 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Baileybus 29 reviews from this member

Just returned from a long weekend break. Still an excellent site with spotlessly clean amenities and grounds. This site is in a beautiful location with stunning views across the Mendip Hills and beyond. Friendly, helpful staff. Lovely country walks. I would suggest that they maybe install a solar light which lights up their sign by the entrance as it is very easy to drive past in the dark.

Would recommend the 15th Century pub The George and Pilgrim in Glastonbury. Excellent food and history.

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Moonraker40 1 review from this member

The greeting and showing to our pitch was excellent

Even though it rained quite a lot the pitch drained well.

Having a fully serviced pitch was well worth the extra.

Shower and toilet block out of this world so clean and warm.

We went to this park so we could go to the Glastonbury carnival with The Old Oaks arranging a coach and a 2 course meal at a reasonable cost a added bonus.

Lots of walking and things to do in the area.

Good walk to Glastonbury Tor.

Looking forward to next year for another visit maybe longer.

Date of Visit: November 2014 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Collectorbilly 1 review from this member

An excellent park, lots of space between your nearest neighbour. The toilet facilities are the best I have ever come across, it is like being in a really expensive hotel in London. Nice grounds and views, a great walk into Glastonbury if you don't mind a bit of a steep walk to start but nice coming back. Would highly recommend.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Helen368 1 review from this member

Lovely quiet park with excellent facilities. Plenty of free space on site and seating areas to just sit and enjoy the view. Lovely dog walking area and even a warm shower just for dogs. Glastonbury worth a visit, exactly and you would expect it to be like, good places to eat and mystical shops. The walk to the tor is a must, the view even at dusk with beautiful.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Hilly62 1 review from this member

We loved this campsite, the views of the Mendips were lovely from our pitch. We got a lovely welcome from the staff even though we were very early, fortunately our pitch was free. Everyone was so kind and helpful. The toilet/shower block was the best we have ever seen anywhere. We have 2 dogs so needed to be able to walk into Glastonbury. There is a route straight from the campsite that takes you to the entrance of the Tor. You can then go down into the town and do a circular walk from there. The information/tv games room was well equipped. It had lots of information on events in the area from guided walks to bus services etc. , There is also a safe fenced off green area for walking your dog off the lead and also a mile route which unfortunately turned into a longer walk as we missed the turning back to the site. There is even a Fish and Chip Van on a Friday night. The site itself has lots of events throughout the year, eg. Fishing Competitions etc. , We will certainly go back there and take in the Starling Murmurations next year.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nikko136 42 reviews from this member

The site has generally very large pitches on a number of enclosed greens off the central facilities so, despite the spaciousness of the site, no-one is really far from the facilities. Views from the site are excellent and there are unlimited walking opportunities. Being in a very rural setting it is indeed tranquil, with no major roads within hearing distance. This does mean there are no pubs or shops less than a hike away, but a minibus service is provided at times for those with no car or bike.

The new amenities block has the latest equipment but sadly some practicalities were not adequately taken into account in the design. However, they get so many top-rate reviews from others that we wonder if we expect too much. For example, the showers splash out into the 'dry' area and only some have a seat which you can put shoes on to stop them getting wet. None are provided with duck-boards.

The chemical disposal hut is very basic, lacking anywhere to stand the cassette when adding water and chemical, except the floor. There are no hand-washing facilities at the point.

The fenced-in off-lead dog run is of good size and well-mown so balls and 'No. 2s' can be easily seen. There is a warm-water dog shower at the exit.

Overall we would rate this campsite as 'very good' but with a little bit of thought in the planning it could have been excellent.

Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Robert76 3 reviews from this member

By far the best site we have ever visited, the new toilet block is second to none, the pitches are spacious and well spaced out. The grounds are well maintained and are very attractive.

The site is well placed for Wells and Glastonbury, with several National Trust properties a short drive away, and on a wet day the Fleet Air Arm museum at Yeovilton is a must.

Previous     314 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Save to Virtual Brochure  Add this Site to your Virtual Brochure                                Share  Google Plus  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Try our town listings   -   Other Sites in Somerset   -   Search for a site

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win an OLPRO Knightwick 3 Berth Tent worth 109.99 Win tickets to Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 12 to 14 October, Cornwall
3 day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties, with camping ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


598 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2017




0.1328