Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Isle Of Wight > Bembridge > Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park > Reviews

Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park
Hillway Road
Bembridge
Isle Of Wight   (Browse area)
PO35 5PL
Tel: 01983 872671  or  0330 053 7000
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: Tents in summer only
Open: 01/07/2024 to 31/08/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 6/10 from 68 Reviews
                6/10 from 68 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Holiday Homes for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  68 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: FIFIMACCA 2 reviews from this member

 Myself, my partner and my parents visited Whitecliff Bay for the 1st time the last week of July and we had a ball!

We camped on the doggie field and our pitch was more than big enough. The showers, as mentioned previously, cost 20p, but were extremely powerful and plenty of hot water for your money. The toilet blocks were kept immaculate, being cleaned at least 3 times a day. Plenty of sinks for doing your washing up as well.

My only complaint was that the hairdryer in the ladies didn't work for the first few days, although the problem was rectified mid-week. If you have a complaint here, they do listen and try their best to resolve it for you.

We had breakfast up at the main dining area a couple of times, which we thought was great value for money. And the Chippy in Bembridge - the best fish supper we've had in a long time!

The scenery around the site was breathtaking, one of the most beautiful sites we've ever been to. We absolutely loved the pools and the beach, fantastic!

The facilities for kids are excellent - crazy golf, designated play areas, amusement arcade, pool tables and discos at night.

My folks particularly enjoyed the light aircraft's flying above, a real novelty!

All in all, if the weathers great, which it was for us, then you're in for a treat here. We'd mark Whitecliff Bay 10/10. I'm sure it won't be our last visit. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Familyof4 28 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from this site, this was our 3rd year at Whitecliff bay. The site has now been taken over by a new company (had previously been family run since park opened), so all the staff has changed. They were definitely having teething problems, the site has definitely lost the magic we felt it has had the last two years.

Camping field was fine, but toilets and showers not very clean at all, but by the end of the week there did seem to be some new cleaners who were doing a bit better job. Whilst we were there there was no wardens on site (the previous ones had walked out, along with most of the old staff, even Les, anyone who has been before will know who I mean!) and we were told new ones were coming by Friday, but they never arrived, luckily there were no problems on site whilst we were there.

The entertainment had definitely gone down from last year, to be honest the kids entertainment staff did not seem to have a clue how to entertain kids, and the lucky person who was 'Humphray bear' was just as clueless!

The pool was about the same, nice small pool with small flume. Did not use the outdoor pool. If the new company gets their act together quick this site can be saved, luckily it was fairly quiet whilst we were there, they need to sort it quick before it gets alot busier. We will not be returning in a hurry. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Afarainman 2 reviews from this member

 Just had another week on the camping field, very nice stay, toilet and shower blocks ok but I feel entertainment values has dropped from the last visit. Had a meal one night at the culver club, ran out of fish and chips.
The park has been sold to Away Resorts Ltd this year,give them a chance to bring it back to the values it was. Southern Vectis buses has covered the island network well,7 days for £20 adult,Family ticket(2 adults+3 children £40) on and off whenever you like 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lesley/Ian 31 reviews from this member

 Not over impressed with this site, it is in a great location, direct access to the beach, over looking a small light aircraft runway, great to watch the little planes in and out,convenient for access to Shanklin and Sandown, but that is all I can say. When we arrived and checked in, we were not escorted to our pitch we were told to 'drive around and find somewhere, and come back and let us know where you are', all ok on a nice quiet site, but this was height of summer and the place was packed! We had our brand new van on the back and as we weaved in amongst the pitches, an ill placed tree scratched the side of the van! We eventually found a place but were packed like sardines in between two others(as were everyone else) literally, car caravan awning car caravan awning, you get the idea! No privacy at all unless you pay a lot extra for one of their super pitches. The shower blocks have seen much better days and I had to queue everytime and you have to pay for them, there are not enough facilities for the two very large touring fields here. We went to the indoor pool and one of the barriers around the pool was held together with silver duct tape, nice and safe! There is a shop on site and a small launderette, quite expensive, cost me about £6.00 to do a wash and dry. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nigel129 3 reviews from this member

 We spent two weeks here just prior to the end of school term (cheaper) and can generally agree with all the good points listed by others. However, nobody has mentioned that the touring fields are on the other side of the site, seperated from all the activities (Bars, pools, club house etc) by a main road. In Fact the entrance / exit to the touring side is on a nasty blind bend.

Those accompanying their kids should beware for all and if you have an independant 10yr old on a bike, like I had with me, then be VERY VERY careful. We spent most of our time and petrol, shipping our kid back and forth to the other side. Oh I recommend walkie talkies as well.

Nearest pub, the propeller inn (short car drive) but well worth a visit, food excellent value, good quality and reasonable prices.

In all a very good site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: PaulaP49 3 reviews from this member

 We spent 10 days at this site over the Bank Holiday weekend and thoroughly enjoyed every minute. The pitches were of a generous size and relatively level. Given that there had been torrential rain shortly before we arrived, the pitches were in a good condition with any boggy patches having been rectified with sand. The toilet/shower block was perfectly adequate although could do with a bit of updating. However, we chose a pitch on the bottom field and did notice that the facilities we nicer the nearer you were to the main reception! The showers cost 20p per time and this gave ample hot water. I was very impressed that I never had to queue for a shower once, especially as we were there at the busiest time of year.

We found plenty to do day and night and I have to agree with previous reviews that the swimming pools and lifeguards were superb, and lovely and warm. In fact if anything I found the indoor pool too warm, especially once the sun came out and our skin became slightly red. However, as someone else has mentioned, all of the entertainment facilities and pools etc were on the main site which means crossing over quite a dangerous road. Could definitely do with a pedestrian crossing.

On a negative point, although the camp adjoins the beach, it is quite a treacherous trip down (and even worse back up again!) to get onto the beach and certainly not suitable for the elderly or infirm, or come to that quite difficult I would imagine with very young children. My 9 year old son was unfortunate enough to get a sting from a weever fish whilst in the sea and had to be carried back up to the lifeguard on the site for first aid in the absence of a first aid point on the beach.

There was a field that my boys could play ball on until the actual Bank Holiday, at which time it was used for an overflow for campers.

We found all of the staff on the site to be extremely nice and helpful and would not hesitate to recommend the site to anyone. We will certainly be going back. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Loubeelou 14 reviews from this member

 We had been doing a mini tour around the island and this was our final site before catching the ferry.  Site was ok, tiered i didnt use the showers in touring block because you have to pay for those however if you have a swim in the fabulously warm pools, the showers in the changing rooms are free.  The staff told me about that! And the kids were more than happy to have a swim.  These are the best pools we have ever had on a site they are so warm. Life guards are really good with kids.  overlooking the little airport was good fun. We had a pizza which was really good,children really enjoyed the childrens evening entertainment we didnt stay for the adult entertainment.  Smokers from the club now gather outside the door so you have to walk through that but at least the inside is smoke free.  
We did a lovely walk on the coastal path from the site up to the hill and then on to the windmill (the only surviving one on the island) through the woods back to site. Dangerous road to cross from the touring site to the main site.  
We found the pitches a bit small as the caravan next to ours had his awning up then his car so he was right over our bit, but we only have a small camper so it didnt matter. No where for the kids to kick a ball. The launderette was open all night which was good no queues.  


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Grant.lyon 15 reviews from this member

 We have just got back from a two week holiday here and have had a superb time.
The day before we set off we got a phone call to say the site was very soggy and we would have to pitch on a non electric temporary pitch, I explained that we have a disabled child and they offered us a chalet free of charge straight away, which we accepted.
On arrival we went into the chalet which was basic but clean and went to check the touring site. We found a pitch which was ok and moved there the following morning.
We found ALL of the staff to be friendly and just nice.
The site has a large clubhouse with stuff on for the younger kids early evening and more grownup stuff later, bar prices were reasonable and the club was nice enough.
There is also a separate Pub come restaurant overlooking the Bay which had a lovely outdoor dining area.
The outdoor and indoor pools are about the best we have seen and are free to guests.
On the touring site itself the pitches are big (10M x 10M) and in the area we were are fairly level, although there were some more sloping ones.
The toilet/shower blocks were ok if a bit busy (could do with another block) but kept clean and tidy.
The site shops were good (a small one on the touring site and a mini mart on the main site) with good stock and again reasonable prices.
The most impressive thing were the wardens, who worked VERY hard at getting the site back into a usable condition after the soaking just before we arrived.
Nearby are plenty of things to do, nice beeches and a good range of shops. The Island is only 28 miles long so you are never far from anywhere and there is lots to do and see.
All in all this is a super site which is VERY reasonably priced and we will be back soon 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Familyof4 28 reviews from this member

 This was the second year we have been to Whitecliff and found it just as good as last year. The pitches were very generous (we were on the doggie field) and the toilet/shower/washing up facilities were kept clean. Our children loved the indoor and outdoor pool. We did go for the "party dances" in the club house in the evenings with the kids, which they really enjoyed and most of the entertainment staff were the same as last year. Whitecliff bay has a lovely beach too. The camping area is separate from the main site, so you are kept well away from it all. We found the camp site very quiet at night.

To be honest I don't think this site would suit teenagers, our children are very young, and I think you could find it very different during peak times. We went during term time and it was fairly quiet. 


Date of Visit: April 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fiona28 7 reviews from this member

 I went to Whitecliff Bay on a 7-night Easter Break which was very good value for money.  Of course, the weather was brilliant which helped a lot but the facilities were excellent - plenty of toilets and showers, always clean.  Loads of hot water.  The showers were 20p a each but we had plenty of time.  One tip for anyone going there - do not pitch close to the entrance because everyone coming back from the club/bar in the evening walks right past you.  Next time we will pitch further away.  The staff were very helpful.  Only criticism is that the bins could have been emptied more often - they were overflowing by the time we left.
 
We went to the Propeller Inn next to Bembridge airfield for a meal on Good Friday and for Sunday lunch.  It is under new management and the new people had only taken over a couple of days before.  Both times the food was well cooked and plentiful.  Not cheap but well worth it.  I would recommend it. 


Previous     68 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Whitecliff Bay Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bembridge      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Wight

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


58102 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement