Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Seal Shore Camping

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Ayrshire > Isle Of Arran > Seal Shore Camping Reviews

Seal Shore Camping
Seal Shore
Kildonan
Isle Of Arran
Ayrshire   (Browse area)
KA27 8SE
Tel: 01770 820320
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/04/2022 to 16/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 117 Reviews
                9/10 from 117 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach On Site   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport   Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  117 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Claire19 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Great location and spotlessly clean - difficult with a beach on the doorstep. Dayroom is a great idea and undercover cooking wonderful when you're in a small tent. Can't understand previous comments about fridges they were clean and tidy. Surprised about the water points too as they were pointed out to us on arrival; only 1 person had to ask the owner where they were and she was about 4 years old. Very friendly site and well maintained. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tsummerfield 2 reviews from this member

 I have been Camping and Caravanning for 14 years and visited many sites in many places and Seal Shore is probably the best site I have visited for an outstanding view and its beach location. If you are Camping or Caravanning on Arran “Then this is the site you want”. We stopped here for 5 nights with only one windy night to contend with but we enjoyed good weather for our stay, so we were lucky. The view over Pladda Island and its lighthouse is lovely. There are Otters on the beach and we counted up to 60 seals basking in the sun on low tide just further up the beach on the rocks. There is a Hotel 60 yards away where you can eat or drink along with a ruined Castle and a Waterfall within walking distance. I really rated this site as one of the best I have visited and I think that you will feel the same way. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Simonleeann17 22 reviews from this member

 This is a beautiful campsite with stunning views. The toilet and showers block was quite adequate and clean and there were extra showers for busy periods.

The hotel next to the site is good and there is a small shop within. The nearest decent sized shop is Whiting bay.

The site is right onto the shore which made for some great wildlife watching and one of the best located campsites we have every visited.

There are some great walks from the site along the shore and up to the Eas Mor water falls.

We stayed at the site as a base for visiting Aran and found some excellent walks for discovering some history and some stunning views. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Roda50 5 reviews from this member

 Great Location, managed to spot a few seals just off the beach which was lovely. Great views of the lighthouse and the beach.

The toilet seats could do with changing and the toilet / shower block could do with a clean, deep clean at that, dead flies and spiders in the circa 1970's lampshades in the mens toilets is just poor.

Told to park up inbetween a motorhome and tent when there was only 3 motorhomes and 1 tent on the site

I'm sure the Lounge and Restaurant could be put to better use. The fridge where you're allowed to put your food, was overloaded with butter and moldy bacon, completely gross.

Staff weren't over friendly and after two days we still couldn't find the waterpoint.

Its a shame the poor standards of hygiene and lack of facilities spoil a beautiful place to stay.

Amused by the sign in the toilets which said '4 groups have been evicted this year from the site, don't be the 5th' Doesn't really fill me with confidence that this is a 'family, friendly campsite'. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hopers 1 review from this member

 Wonderful views to Pladda & Ailsa Craig until a motorhome parked in front - sideways - & completely blocked our beautiful view. 'Loads' of tents & kids, but not surprising as it was by a beautiful beach with rock pools, seals & otters. Cannot comment on the shower block as we used our caravan. Good hotel next door with little shop, bar with good bar meals and occasional live folk bands. Beautiful place and will definitely go back. The ferry was expensive so we wont be able to go back as often as we would like. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sbilts 5 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 10 day stay at Seal Shore and had a wonderful time.The weather was pretty good most of the time and although it rained pretty hard in the night a few times we had some beautiful warm sunny days.

The site is in a great location and the views out to sea are fantastic.Its a matter of luck/timing if you want a hot shower and best to avoid busy times as the immersion heaters or whatever they use take a while to heat the water up it seems. The'Hub' (the name given to the shop within the adjoining Kildonan Hotel) although fairly expensive had a good choice of the basic items you might need.

We met a lot of nice people on Arran both residents and fellow campers and the island is a lovely place for a holiday with a great laid back feel.

An added bonus was 2 very clear nights where we witnessed a great display of shooting stars and some truly colourful sunsets.There is a bus stop directly outside the site if you want to visit other parts of the island (I hope you manage to figure out the timetable which borders on the bizarre) Lochranza is nice and we would recommend eating at the Catacol Hotel just up the road.

Brodick is very pleasant with some nice walks along the beach towards the castle.If you have the luxury of a car you can do most of the island in a couple of days. We would definitely return to this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stu_and_Dawn 12 reviews from this member

 Second night of our backpack trek. Arrived very late as we hadn't worked out the buses yet (4 buses a day miss one and weep) though the owners were very good, pitched near the driveway, which is shared with the hotel but traffic noise was not noticeable. There were some pitches right on the shore which would offer amazing views to wake up to though they were totally exposed.

There is a day room and sheltered barbecue area which is a nice touch. Very good, clean showers/toilet block. Washing machines and driers were a welcome find and the campsite has a little shop with the basics (I've never seen haggis in a tin before, it was actually very nice!) Didn't use the hotel shop, so can't comment.

Seemed a good site, It's difficult to leave a more detailed review ad we arrived late and left early. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Swan1 1 review from this member

 Just back from a week in Arran and thought this site was absolutely lovely. Quite sheltered with amazing views across to Ailsa Craig and Pladda and so close to the sea you were almost in it.

Owners very helpful and laid back and the hotel next door had a good bar, shop and restaurant, which was an unexpected bonus.

Don't know why people are moaning about hairdriers, bars of soap, places to empty chemical toilets (Why do you need your own special toilet? Use the site ones!) and lack of playgrounds?? The whole beach is right there in front of you. Children don't need anything more.

We would definitely go back.But not if they built a play-park! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: John, gerry, peter 1 review from this member

 This is our 4th visit to sealshore but this had to be the best weekend we spent there the weather was fantastic, waking up in the morning to see those views just makes this place priceless.

The post office has now gone but now there is a shop

In the hotel with adequate supplies and the pub /hotel is reasonable priced for beers and bar meals.

We lit a fire on the beech which is right on the campsite but you walk along about 100 yards and light a fire away from anyone who is wanting an early night so nobody gets disturbed.

All very friendly atmosphere, my only gripe is wish I could find a flat pitch seemed to be on a slope most of the pitches. Showers and toilets were ok and fridges were very helpful,

Going back for the last weekend in September cant wait hope the weather is ok though 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Magpie11 1 review from this member

 We have just been holidaying at sealshore campsite which was our first time here with the family. Such a great place right on the beach it couldn't be any closer for the kids. The toilet facilities were great couldn't be any better, hot showers and very clean, the undercover area was a godsend as it rained a few times while we were there and it didn't put us off at all. The staff were very helpful, when we arrived we were short on food stuff and heard there was a shop in the hotel, but didn't buy anything from it as it was bare minimal and the fresh food was very grey and tired looking, we were happy to get tin stuff from the site shop! We will be back as we all loved it, and the kids made friends so well on the site! 


Previous     117 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Seal Shore Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Seal Shore Camping?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Seal Shore Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Isle Of Arran      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Ayrshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3332 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement