Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Crows Nest Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Scarborough > Crows Nest Caravan Park Reviews

Crows Nest Caravan Park
Gristhorpe
Filey
Scarborough
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO14 9PS
Tel: 01723 582206
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: Tourers 50 - Tents 200
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 222 Reviews
                7/10 from 222 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool On Site   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 10 miles   Golf 1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 10 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  222 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kpartingtron 4 reviews from this member

First time visiting this site and was impressed with the views of Scarborough. Filey was very close by too which made it a great location. The tent field was very big but unfortunately there were no restrictions as to size of tents etc. So we felt some people took advantage of this having far too much space and were far to close together. Fortunately we pitched overlooking the sea so had a perfect spot.

The amenities were good, the swimming pool was rather small and was an additional 40 for the week. The changing rooms were tiny too which made changing unpleasant. The kids enjoyed it although the slide wasn't up to much.

The toilet block was super although I was really frustrated by the way some people used it. There were permanently teenagers sitting on the sinks charging mobiles and using them there. And toilet seats snapped off, loo paper on the floor, even the hair-dryers were missing their tubes by the end of the week. Disgusting behaviour at times and very disrespectful.

Also, we found ourselves opposite 6 young girls who were very noisy, using inappropriate language and keeping us awake. We were under the impression that single sexed groups weren't allowed but I think these were staying in separate tents but just met up every night. Very noisy and inconsiderate too!

Great shop, friendly staff too.

Evening entertainment was a disappointment with only one event for the kids in the 6 nights which started quite late too. We would have preferred more.

Despite these grumbles we did have a good stay and the weather was good. We are considering coming again but would prefer set pitch sizes, and closer monitoring of the toilet block.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: A.l.2810 2 reviews from this member

Not been here for ten years so it was interesting to see how it had changed. Firstly our pitch was on the tent field in one of the good sized hookup pitches with a small fence on either side.

Only down side to the tent field is the 'pitch where you want' approach meaning many of the non electric tents were way too close together. Would it be too much to mark pitches out for all?

Toilet blocks are new and the best we've seen in a long time but as others have commented on not treated with the respect they should be.

Staff were friendly and dealt firmly with rowdiness, first time in 25 years of camping I've seen anyone thrown off a camp site. Good shop and club on site and the prices in both are reasonable,

Overall a well maintained site with great views

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CameraMan095 1 review from this member

The campsite is well laid out and the staff are very friendly. Easy travelling distance between Filey and Scarborough.

There is an on site pool which is nice and with a day pass costing 2 it really good value, our kids loved it.

Entertainment I thought was a bit of a let down though although the bar areas are lovely.

The toilets and shower area is immaculate. Be wary where you pitch your tent though, can be very windy on the cliff top.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Denbycampers 2 reviews from this member

We arrived early but this didn't seem to matter, were given a map and told to go find a pitch. It was rather busy so stopped at the first pitch big enough to accommodate our large tent. The sea views were stunning but this meant as on a cliff that it was rather windy.

The toilet facilities were obviously new and immaculate, being cleaned several times a day.

The kids loved the playground and this did mean that we stayed on the park more than we had planned. The swimming pool was a bit of a let down, it was very small with a 'rubbish slide' as my 6 year old son said. I also thought it should have been included in the price of the park. We didn't use the bar but it looked nice and clean. The fish and chip shop was open long hours and we did sample some chips but were rather greasy.

It is a fabulous base for both filey and scarborough and further afield should you wish. It was a shame that the path down to the beach was not really accessible due to the steepness of it.

Would definitely consider revisiting the site.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paulp1 1 review from this member

Just returned from our first visit to Crows Nest. Excellent pitch at top end of site close to new toilet block.

Facilities very clean, staff very helpful. Our vehicle broke down and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and flexible, despite being fully booked they managed to find us a pitch for an extra night and even moved our caravan for us.

Our 4 young children (all under 10) had a great time.

Thank you once again to the staff.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Likestotravel 2 reviews from this member

Crows Nest is a site with stunning views.

We had an electric pitch but was unhappy to find that they were all situated around the adventure play area. Silly me for not enquiring in advance where they were as there is no mention of this on their website.

Younger children in the park until gone 22. 00 and then the teenagers arrived until even later during our stay.

Toilet and shower block excellent and cleaned twice a day. However, such a shame that disrespectful campers left them in a mess very quickly after they had been cleaned.

Only visited the bar a couple of times, considering it was peak season, we found a seat very easily. Did not venture into the entertainment area, but what we could see of it, was very small.

Location was excellent for Scarborough and a park and ride was a few minutes up the road.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lynnie123 1 review from this member

This was the first time we stopped here and we will definitely stop again.

Excellent facilities, friendly and helpful staff. The park was busy and had a good atmosphere.

The views were spectacular. The toilet/shower block was very impressive, very clean and never too full.

The playground was well equipped from what we saw. Excellent fenced in dog walking facility, which our boxer enjoyed.

My two girls both enjoyed the pool, which came in handy when it rained.

The shop was well stocked and reasonably priced, the fish and chip shop was ok, not the best we have had but not the worst.

Enjoyed a day in Filey.

Only downside, I managed to break my wrist the day we were leaving but hey ho, carry on camping

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: J longstaff 1 review from this member

We stopped at the crows nest for 2 nights in a tent, it was pleasant, the site was big. the fish and chip shop on site was nothing to write home about and the showers only last seconds so you are always having to press the button but apart from that they were clean and hot. The children liked the park and the swimming pool, it was warm. The bar was nice and cosy with plenty to do. The shop on site had everything you needed and was cheap enough. The entertainment on a night was top quality. We will be back to this site again as it has every thing you need and is good value for money. I would recommend this site to others.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jaygee123 1 review from this member

Arrived at a respectfully clean campsite. Very full and site well cared for.

Newish shower block on arrival was smelly because of so many using facilities toilets blocked - some in a very disgusting state, even in one of family shower rooms. Even showers were not draining effectively. By the next day the toilets were unblocked so staff were very quick to rectify problems.

Temperature of showers can not be altered and showering a 3 and 5 year old is like doing Russian hokey kokey to dodge the far too hot water for young children. I'm not surprised that a previous review suggests that ''the great unwashed' were using pool to do so - it's the only way to safely bath your children.

Lighting at night for tents is very poor. I felt like a poor relation as the caravan area is like Blackpool illuminations. At 25 per night I expect a decently lit walkway.

We have not used the bar so can't comment on it. On the whole it is clean and usable campsite but would expect washing facilities to cope with the number of people being booked since someone is meant to be managing the site.

Management response: Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. There are a couple of negative points i would like to explain.

Due to the amount of water needed to supply our new toilet block, we do require a large amount of stored water. The temperature of our showers is at the legal level for stored water, this is for health and safety reasons to avoid legionnaires disease.

The main roads to the tent field and around the toilet block is well lit. Obviously tents allow a lot more light in than caravans which is why the tent field itself has no lighting, I'm sure we would get more negative comments if our customers could not sleep with it being too light.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Onslowian 2 reviews from this member

I am very disappointed with this site, the caravans (tourers) were packed in so tightly it was almost on top of each other, I also had a small bag stolen by the idiots behind me,

The toilets were not kept clean and the hand dryer didn't work, one of the toilet seats was missing,

The surrounding area was superb and the views of the rolling hills were excellent,

The camp swimming pool was good and very warm,

There was a good bar on site and a pub a short walk away and was real good food at reasonable prices,

I did have a walk around the site and was pleased to see a child friendly play area with swings etc.

There were walks across the cliffs which was a beautiful area to view,

The site I felt catered more for the static caravan people mostly,

There was a shop which sold a good choice of food and drink and items which were for parts for your caravan,

Altogether I felt there was more faults than good things, so I wont be going again.

The item I got stolen was only worth about 25 pounds, but its the principal that means more to me, but I will be going nearby very soon.

Previous     222 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Scarborough      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5618 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019