Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Holme Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Settle > Holme Farm Campsite > Reviews

Holme Farm Campsite
Horton In Ribblesdale
Settle
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD24 0HD
Tel: 01729 860281
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 96 Reviews
                7/10 from 96 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  96 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: March 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barrylewin 1 review from this member

 I had stayed in this site whilst conducting a recce for the Army, and the site fitted our needs.

1. It was well located within the 3 peeks area and easily accessible to them.

2. You honestly get what you pay for. Nothing flash, but that's what camping is about.

3. There is running water, the shower was lovely and hot, it had toilet roll and the dish cleaning area was cleaned and tidy.

We then brought 60 Army to the site for an endurance event, though they didn't stay at the site, we had a base camp there.

I have just booked a couple of nights this April as its quiet and a really nice site.

Like I said, you get what you pay for, and Chris cannot help you enough. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarahbobs 2 reviews from this member

 Just arrived back from holme farm this morning and thought I would do a review to try and give people some insight to what we just experienced!

PRO's - good location for walking and for surrounding towns only 10 mins to settle and 20 mins to ingleton, with caves and other attractions.

CON's - farmer has outlined pitches which are far too close together, we got woke up at 6 am by next tent having a conversation! we stayed two nights, (supposed to be staying for three) 1st night the farmers dogs barked all night (not suprisingly as they are chained up outside and surrounded by their own muck!) played a CD repeatedly in a gazebo that was positioned on the campsite from us arriving at around 3pm until 11.30 pm. Then he allowed a group of lads to play dance music through the night.

2nd night was absolutely horrendous,besides the barking dogs,the farmer and his family brought a guitar out and played and sang in the field until three am singing all sorts of out of tune and off key jingles! hence the reason we packed up after our neighbours woke us up at 6 AM!

Prices were £2 per person,dog, tent, and car. Why you have to pay for your car when you have to park on the main road I dont know! would not go back to this campsite. The toilets were ok although the wood was rotten on the ceiling, the doors were open all night so they were full of bugs and there was no toilet rolls on two occasions when I went in. Didnt go in mens but my partner said they were indescribable! showers were £1 a go, but never used them as they were horrid and I figured I would be cleaner staying well away! pay the extra few pounds to stay somewhere proper, wish we had! 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrs Toffee 1 review from this member

 Ok I shall start with what positives there were: Yes, this site is ideally located if you are intending to do the three peaks challenge. Yes this site is cheap.

The toilets and shower facilities are run down but you get what you pay for.

However, what you also get is loud music until 2.30am, shouting and singing - and don't even get me started on the guitar playing! When someone had the nerve to ask the group to be quiet (at about 1.30am) the response was a mouthful of verbal abuse insulting walkers who may be attempting any or all of the peaks the next day and might need a good night's sleep. In addition there were comments like 'well we will flatten their tents while they are out!'.

I would suggest that irritating those walkers was not the owner's greatest marketing decision. I did overhear the comment that he 'likes to cater for everyone'. Perhaps introducing a curfew at 11.30pm would ensure a return to camping harmony. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jellybeanbaker 1 review from this member

 Stayed here twice now, brilliant campsite well located at the foot of the 3 peaks. The facilities are basic but good it may be a shock to soft town people but I don't know what people expect from a campsite, toilet, showers and a washing area for your pots and pans. You don't need much more than that.

Tha farm is very friendly and his prices are great.

We will definitely always use this campsite for the area. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Severus 10 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site because it was handy for the BHF Three Peaks Challenge.

I'll start with the positives.

1.It's in a smashing location with great views.

2.Horton-in Ribblesdale is really lovely.

3.We enjoyed a nice meal at the Golden Lion Pub (although don't expect food for your party to arrive all at the same time).

However - there are some significant negatives.

1.The toilet/shower facilities were very shabby and dirty. I must be a wuss because I couldn't bring myself to use them at all. Normally we use a tent but I was so relieved that we had been able to borrow a motorhome for the weekend.

2. There was a fair amount of noise from loud music until the early hours of the morning. Not very considerate either before or after the challenge.

3. The pitches are pretty close together, which you really noticed because the site was heaving due to the Challenge.

I love the area, but I don't think I would use this site again. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alisons 2 reviews from this member

 We visited this site for 1 night with a view to doing the 2nd peak.

On arrival we discovered that the 3 Peaks International Fell race was underway. There was a buzzing atmosphere, and as previous reviews have mentioned, the site owner was very helpful, and quite amusing.

The sign outside the campsite declated it was full, although it clearly wasn't - not sure why, luckily we had booked.

Positives - Fantastic views, neatly laid out pitches, 2 pubs closeby and excellent cafe serving pints of tea and the porridge with raspberries looked fantastic.The Crown pub at the other end of the village is by far the nicest of the two pubs.

Negatives - Showers - don't even go there! Golden Lion Pub, nice staff and food 'okay', shame about the 2 drunken, swearing locals.

Mr Campsite owner, please please invest in your toilet and shower facilites. I will glady pay £12-15 per night and have nicer facilities. 


Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Karen J 26 reviews from this member

 Used this site to do the Three Peaks walk from. Cracking site, next door to a great pub with super food at the end of the walk and great beer to wash it down with. Very basic facilities but the best shower ever at the end of the walk for me- lovely hot water and as long as you wear flip flops it's fine. The owner is very friendly. Fairly busy when we went, very quiet, very, very beautiful location. 


Date of Visit: December 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SnowsportsSid 1 review from this member

 I visited this campsite on the first weekend of Decemeber 2007 (I was the only one there!) and found it to be a very nice little site.

When you arrive, you are expected to check in at the farm house before pitching your tent. The farmer who owns the land is very friendly and welcoming. It can also be noted that he dresses like an early 19th century yorkshire man!

The facilities on site include seperate ladies and gents toilets (with showers) and a wash room for washing up pots and pans. The showers cost £1.00 a time if I remember correctly. The temperature was pretty good, but it has to be noted that the pressure of the water was not brilliant.

The site's location is pretty idyllic. It is an excellent base for attempting any or all of the three peaks - Pen-y-ghent, Ingleborough and Whernside. The surrounding scenery is quite picturesque and you can clearly see Pen-y-ghent and other surrounding hills from the campsite.

The site is situated 5 minutes walk from the local post office, which amongst other things stocks a small range of food and drinks. There are also two pubs in the village; one of which I had a few swift halves in and found it to be of half decent standard. The campsite is also only 10 minutes walk from Horton-in-Ribblesdale train station, where you can catch trains North to Carlisle, or South to Leeds.

In summary, this campsite is idyllically situated, reasonably priced and of a decent standard. I would definitely recommend it to anyone considering staying in the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Trekmate 1 review from this member

 My partner and I checked out this site the week before doing the Three Peaks as we wanted to book in advance (being the middle of August) and at that time (a Friday lunchtime) it was very quiet.

When we turned up the following Friday evening however, it was really busy and incredibly noisy. People were drinking copious amounts of alcohol and music was blaring well into the early hours - there didn't seem to be a curfew in terms of noise and we were very surprised that a site that was situated so idyllically, was such a magnet for partying. Perhaps we chose a bad weekend - it was August, after all. It was the same the next night and if I hadn't brought ear plugs I wouldn't have slept at all.

The facilities were basic - one shower each for males and females and a few toilets - but that wasn't a surprise as it was extremely cheap to stay there so we expected it to be a bit rough and ready.

The location couldn't have been more perfect as a start for the Three Peaks Challenge - right next to the Pen-Y-Ghent Cafe where you log in to start the challenge and very close to a few pubs.

If you're a heavy sleeper and you don't mind roughing it, it's ideal. Next time I do the walk though, I'll either drive home aferwards or stay in a B&B (though I might give it a go mid-week) 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Whoopdeedoobasil 1 review from this member

 Cracking campsite totally fit for purpose if you're planning to use it as a base for walking.
 
Pitches are fairly close together and at peak times the campsite gets very busy so expect noise, children, sheep et al.  Chris the farmer/owner is mad as a box of frogs, very welcoming and will help you pitch your tent etc - great guy!
 
The site couldn't be any more perfectly situated for the start/finish of the Three Peak Walk at the base of Pen y Ghent and not even a stone's throw to the Golden Lion Pub, what more could you want?
 
The toilets and the one shower are basic but adequate for a couple of days stay - I don't think I'd like to be using them all week!  Good news is that there is always plenty of loo roll but ladies, only one mirror - so get in quick!  It was totally refreshing to see a queue outside the gents for a change, happy days!
 
The cafe in Horton opposite the post office is fabulous for a full english breakfast and a huge mug of tea the day after walking the Three Peaks, it's also great for basic walking equipment - maps, books, compasses, gaitors, hats & gloves etc just in case you get caught out.  Remember to register your details with the cafe if you're planning on doing the walk - they offer a brilliant rescue service should it be required and if the walk is done in under 12 hours you'll be invited to join the Three Peak Club.  Just don't forget to let them know you're back!
 
I'm back up at this campsite this weekend - v. Happy to use it again! 


Previous     96 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Holme Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Holme Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Holme Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Settle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


60180 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement