Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Le Chant D Oiseau

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Pays de la Loire > Mouliherne > Le Chant D Oiseau Reviews

Le Chant D Oiseau
Le Chant D Oiseau
Mouliherne
Pays de la Loire   (Browse area)
49390
Tel: 0033 241 67 09 76
Visit their website    

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 10 EHU
Open: 1 March - 1 November

Rating: Average Review Score: 10/10 from 94 Reviews
                10/10 from 94 Reviews

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  94 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Welshwyn 8 reviews from this member

Went for a week in May, weather wasn't that brilliant but cannot fault the site or the owners, Stu and Syb, who were excellent hosts. It is a small but beautiful site, which is kept spotlessly clean, and is situated in a love rural location with easy access to local shops, supermarkets and restaurants. It is ideally situated to make a great base for exploring the Loire valley, where you are spoilt for scenery and places to visit. If you just want to relax then pull up a chair sit back and listen to the abundance bird song and the sound of crickets that surround you in all directions. I will definitely be returning again.

Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Trevick 11 reviews from this member

After reading the reviews of this site, I am surprised that my review is as follows, although now after being there and reading between the lines some were saying the same but not being so open. We arrived a night earlier (arranged), with open arms at 10pm with a cup of tea, which was appreciated after a 10 ½ hour journey. The facilities are unisex toilet/shower block which consisted of; 1 shower cubicle, 1 toilet cubicle, 1 cubicle with a toilet & shower and 2 wash hand basins. Outside was a wash-up area with sink and drainer, fresh water and refuse/re-cycling bins, there was a washing line, swimming pool and swings for the children or like minded.

Location was idyllic, surrounded by fields, trees and bird song. Meal twice weekly 10 euros and wine tasting once a week. During our stay there were 7 out of the 8 max advertised that was 16 people including 4 children, the shower block was struggling during the morning, and if the weather was damp then it was full of grass. The wash-up area had no hot water, so those in tents were ferrying water form the shower block, and there was nowhere to put dried pots other than on top of the bins. The fresh water was the only supply, therefore it was also used to clean/top up the chemical toilets, which were emptied in 1 of the 2 toilets. It appears that you have to ask to be able to use the swimming pool, which we though strange as it was there for our use, and our safety was our responsibility. But you could use the swings as an when you pleased. The location; shops/bar was 5.64km, so be aware if you want to walk to the bar it takes about 1 hour each way, as we did it one afternoon, and a car journey is required to collect fresh bread etc in the morning. We partook in the meal on the Tuesday, OK for 10 euros including wine, although all the others took wine, we did feel that when we said no to the Friday night, it was expected that we would be there, we did feel that people went along with it as it was a small site.

Date of Visit: March 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bodie 2 reviews from this member

I dont really think we should be letting anyone know just how wonderful this place and its owners are. Would really like to keep quiet about it but feel its only fair to share it with a few of you. Think Darling Buds of may, this site is tranquil, pretty, and owned by the friendliest people ever. We went as strangers and left feeling like part of their lovely famiy. While there we celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary, Stu and Syb booked us into a wonderful resturant and dropped and collected us from it so that we could have a glass or two of the hard stuff!
We will return as soon as we can. Do yourself a favor and if you are travelling to this region pay them a visit, be warned though you will not want to leave!

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Dave and Jill 1 review from this member

If you are looking for peace and tranquility this is the place to stay. After a lovely welcome from Stuart and Syb who are very friendly and helpful, if needed, this is the perfect spot to chill out and relax. The gites are also very wheelchair friendly with plenty of space to move around,
In our view well worth a visit.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: DplusG 18 reviews from this member

Thanks Stu and Syb for making our holiday great.  The site is lovely with adequate facilities and near to the attractions that the Loire has to offer.  I think the small size and locations are ideal both for those wanting a short stop on the way through or those wanting to stay longer and explore the whole area.  We really appreciated the generous pitch size and closeness of the washing facilities etc and, once we had navigated our way about, were surprised at how close most things were.  I would highly recommend this site.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Winegum 1 review from this member

What a site and what fantastic people!  After many hours of travelling we arrived in the dark to be greeted by Stu & Syb  with open arms & immediately offered a cup of tea!  The site is beautiful (as is it's name) - small, rural and totally enclosed with lots of shady spots.  It is totally safe for children to play freely without danger. 
Twice a week Stu and Syb invite all staying guests to join them for a meal which encourages everyone from the kids to the grandparents to socialise.  We met some fantastic people, many of whom we hope to meet back up with next year! 
There's loads to do in the area, although you could quite happily spend your entire holiday just chilling out on site.  Nothing was too much trouble for Stu, Syb & their family, who "moved in" just over a year ago.  We were lucky enough to be there on their anniversary - another opportunity for them to invite all their guests to join them for a very pleasant social occasion!  Never before have we returned to the same place for a summer holiday - we have already booked for 3 weeks next year! 
You'd go a long way to better this place - and I'd challenge anyone to find better hosts.  Long may Stu, Syb & family reside at Le Chant D'Oiseau - we wish them every success in their venture.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Niall G 7 reviews from this member

We have just returned from two weeks at this great little site. My kids thought it was the best site we have stayed on in France! Stu & Syb have gone out of their way to ensure that families have a holiday reminiscent of days gone by. The site is very secure for the kids and they can play happily and unrestricted. They have added a table tennis table, small net which can be used for badminton or short tennis and a golf driving net. A pair of wooden swing are further enhanced by all kids favourites, a swing from the branch of a tree.
The facilities were adequate for the advertised number of pitches, however at one time there were thirteen! The hot water, toilets and showers were then truly stretched. Thirteen was a pitch too far not just for the facilities but for the aesthetics of the site. Once the large 'Y' dome tent was removed from its central position the site returned to a more open aspect all round.
 
The kids loved the small pool which unfortunately got taken over by algae before the conclusion of our trip. That said, a friend of Stu's was winning the war with it when we left.
 
The evening meals were a great idea which ensured a very friendly atmosphere among the guests and an excellent way to exchange knowledge on days out. If you go here takes Stu's advice and visit the 'The Grand Parc', it really is an awsome day out.  
 
The site itself is set in a beautiful peaceful location with no obvious neighbours to speak of.  If you are looking for a safe haven to holiday with your family in France, this is it.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lassie 7 reviews from this member

We had to book this site in October 2005 and even then we were not able to have the dates we wanted, which speaks volumes for how good this site is! We couldn't wait to get there and we were not disappointed. As so many people have already said this is a wonderful place; Stu and Syb welcomed us with a drink when we arrived which was very welcome after the long drive. We were shown to our pitch and thankfully had some shade to put up our tent. The ability to order from the shopping list prior to our arrival made the first night very easy as we didn't have to dash out to shop for essentials. Facilities were as good as anywhere and the pool was more than welcome to cool off in.
Stu and Syb made us very welcome and we felt completly at home. Everyone was very friendly and  this made for a lovely atmosphere.
The Super U at Vernantes was handy although we prefererred to shop in Saumur (about 15 minutes away).
We enjoyed our two week stay so much we could've stayed longer. We have booked a stop over next year on our way to Bordeaux and we will definitely stay again when next in this area.

Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Trucker Dan 3 reviews from this member

Fantastic, fantastic, fantastic! Joined Stu and Syb for there 1st anniversary on the site. They held a party for all the campers and what a fab night it was. They make everyone feel so welcome and make a point  to get to know everyone that has taken the trouble in visiting them in their front garden.
There is now a small dip pool which is great for the kids and adults for when the sun gets too hot! Very quiet and relaxing and the offer of the meal on a Tuesday and Friday is a must and at 10 euros it's a bargain, if your really lucky you can persuade Stu to get the guitar out!
If your looking for something in the area don't look any further you won't be disappointed.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Carolines 29 reviews from this member

We intended this as a stopover on our way further south, but like many before us were enchanted with the site, and the welcome from Stu and Syb, and so we stayed longer than intended!

A lovely little site, very aptly named, a bird watchers paradise. We saw buzzards, hen harriers, swallows . All from our tent. It was a tranquil peaceful site. We loved a dip in the pool : much needed during the heat of this summer.

It is well positioned to visit Samur and the wonderful lazy Loire with its multitudes of chateau`s : and lovely little villages. Lots of wine tasting to be done! We visited a fascinating Troglodyte village : There are many limestone caves and tunnels in the area where they make wine, and grow mushrooms and live!

A fabulous campsite and a lovely area .well placed if your drive down from Calais as we did as a first stop South .or to fall under its spell and stay! We had a lovely communal meal under the trees with the other campers, catered and hosted by Stu and Syb. We will be back!

Previous     94 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Mouliherne      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Pays de la Loire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1668 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

Amazing daily prizes and a grand Christmas Day Star Prize - Coming Soon!

Register for a Reminder