Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Burrs Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lancashire > Bury > Burrs Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Burrs Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Woodhill Road
Bury
Lancashire   (Browse area)
BL8 1DA
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 119
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 92 Reviews
                9/10 from 92 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  92 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: December 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Andyokeeffe 36 reviews from this member

 Living just down the road from this site, I only ever visit when I visit Burrs Country Park Caravan Club Site when 1) I need to keep the van aired and charged, or 2) I want a grandstand view of something that is happening on the East Lancs Railway. My review is based upon these facts.

Entry to Burrs is via the former Mill cobble road so do no more than 5mph on the cobbles otherwise the van gets a good shakedown. After the cobbles there is a sharp hill and although towing is not the issue, a saloon car towing a long chassis van may scrape the towball area on the to of the small gradient.

There are two barrier gates to the site controlled by key fob system, one of which is near side only so getting in and out of your towcar is required if no passenger travelling each time you enter the site.

Checking in is simple and always very easy. All wardens I have ever met here has been wonderful.

Showers are always clean, hot and tidy. Pitches are of a good size and most tidy. One morning I even saw the winter warden kicking the odd stone out of place back onto the gravel pitches.

There is no play area on the site itself. Kids have to go past both barriers and enter the Country Park via the public access gates but while they play, the kids may well be in view of the lower pitch numbers.

The country park is bigger if you follow all the different paths that lead off the park, but most are not suitable for a long duration bike ride.

Bury town centre is very close by and although I live towards Manchester, Bury is my preferred town to shop due to the massive market that opens 3 out of 7 days.

The nearest pub is at the 1st barrier and is hit and miss, season depending it seems. I've had many a good night there in the late summer, but during the winter the pub is quiet.

You can make a short drive to Bury and park. Then jump on a Metrolink tram that will take you to the heart of Manchester. Trams run from early to late. Manchester has excellent motorway connections and all parts of East Lancashire and Manchester are easy to get to. 


Date of Visit: November 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cheryl.mark 91 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a weekend at Burrs country park and had a very relaxing weekend break.

The showers were clean & warm, the pitches are large and spread out. The wardens were friendly and the check in process was quick and easy. The site is immaculate which is what you would expect from a Caravan club site. The club have put in a small wooden play area just off site at the side in a field and there is also a play area in the beer graden of the pub which in summer would be nice.

We managed a short bike ride in the rain and it is a nice site for walking and bike riding. The steam train is lovely for the kids and goes along at regular intervals during the day. This is a site for relaxing and chilling out, I agree with some of the comments that the road leading up to the site is a little depressing and industrial, however, once you get onto the site it is very open and we liked it.

We will definitely return next year and would like to go in the summer when the weather is better. 


Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jacquie58 9 reviews from this member

 We visited Burrs Country Park site for a week in October. We were very impressed with the layout of the site and the cleanliness of the shower block.

There are several walks adjacent to the site, and the weir just about a half mile walk is well worth a visit.

An added bonus, particularly for steam train enthusiasts is the East Lancashire Railway line, which runs adjacent to the site.

The wardens were very helpful and friendly. We have visited some sites where unfortunately a handful of visitors don't adhere to the rules. This site was no exception, but we, for the first time, saw the wardens asking the culprits to obey the rules.

During our stay we visited Bury Market. The quality and price of food, particularly meat was exceptional, We went back to the market on the day that we left the site to buy food to stock up our freezers.

We were very fortunate to have excellent weather all week. Another plus about this site is that it is open all year.

Highly recommended, and we have already booked again to go before Christmas. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tipsy620tony 23 reviews from this member

 I have been staying at this site 2/3 times each year since it opened some 4 years ago. When I read some of the reviews, I wonder what some people want from a caravan site, because that is what it is. It is not a holiday centre with swimming pool and play area with entertainment. It's a clean, quiet site to relax.

Yes, this was an industrial site that has been re-claimed, but it is now a pleasant country park with a river running through it and a small railway runnung past it, which is run by volunteers. I found the facilities clean and well maintained. You may find the odd cubicle closed during low occupancy to cut down on work load. This is called management. The site is well lit at night. TV reception is via a booster from the hook-up point, but if you choose to use your own aerial or dish the reception is good.

There are bus stops about 10 minute walk away from the site which will get you into Ramsbottom, or Bury Interchange. From Bury you can get public transport to any place of your choice. Last December, we used this site as a base to visit the Manchester Xmas Markets which worked out well. The pub at the site entrance, The Brown Cow has a good selection of ales and lagers and I found the food quite acceptable. The prices are low and it is not a 5 star restaurant. It's a pub!

I always treat people the way I find them, and I found the site wardens helpful and friendly, as were the staff at the Brown Cow.

This site is a bit exposed if it is very windy. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Questceque 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed on this site with three small children during the half term and can't understand all the glowing accolades this site receives. Although it is a Caravan Club site and as such the pitches and toilet block are immaculate, it is not a site to visit if you enjoy the countryside, situated as it is in a sprawling conurbation. The site is difficult to access down a narrow cobbled lane.

It has no play area for the children and ball games are prohibited. We consequently seemed to turn into the site creche and had what appeared to be the entire site's child population playing around our caravan! Fun, fun fun. Not. Trains pass the site on a regular basis but the novelty soon palls.

The wardens were friendly but not very helpful when we needed advice on local cycle routes. There are a couple of run-down pubs nearby, serving reasonable food. Burrs Country Park is a pleasant open area with a few short walks and a few logs for the children to play on. There are supermarkets nearby for cheap fuel and groceries.

It is handy for the Trafford Centre near Manchester and would make a good stop off site if travelling the length of the country. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Colin101 2 reviews from this member

 We decided to visit based on all the great reviews and couldn't help but wonder if we were actually at the same site we had read about. Yes it's a caravan club site and the pitches are spacious and the toilets are clean and there is a bit of a park nearby. Once the children have hopped over a couple of logs and waved at a few trains that's about it. There is no play area on site.

The pubs are a bit grotty. Stacked beer barrels outside, filthy wooden tables, cigarette ends strewn around. Not somewhere I would choose to visit had I not been caravanning next door.
The approach to the site is down a long, traffic-calmed section of road. The fact is this site is located in a depressing conurbation with endless dreary roads and little to entertain a young family.  


Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cufcbarside 68 reviews from this member

 This year short and simple reviews for us.

Bad points:

Access to and from site via cobbled road which will give the springs a workout.

Sticking to site arrival times important you wouldn't want to meet someone coming the other way.

Driving to site via the one way in is past area of somewhat difficult with a roundabout which I can only describe as a waste of time.

Good points

Nice pitches

Nice people

Excellent wardens

Excellent facilities

Value for money

Would we go again: Not sure bury market is a right result a huge market but for a weekend the campsite is fine. 


Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Geordie01 14 reviews from this member

 This was our second visit to this site and it was as good as the last time we were there.

Wardens are friendly and the site was imacculate.

There are two pubs close to the site, The Brown Cow at the site entrance does good real ales and does food but the food is not that good. The food at The Garsland just up the road is better although slightly more expensive but you get 10%discount if you show your site receipt.

The shower blocks were clean but the ladies had 2 shower cubicles closed which did cause ques. When asked why they were shut the wardens said that when there were less than a certain number of pitches not used they shut them, which I found strange as when we booked in they said that they were fully booked. Also my partner told me that the heating was not on in the ladies although the gents were fine.

It is an easy 20 min walk into Bury or to Tesco and the trams to Manchester are not expensive. Plenty of walks close by and good for cycling. Kayak center next door if you like river paddling but I am a sea kayaker and rivers are not my thing. All in all a good site that we will go back to again. 


Date of Visit: January 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Roe_Mobile 16 reviews from this member

 Spent the last weekend in January here this year, with our dog and three children (1mth old through to 4yrs).

I had some concerns regarding how good the site would be due to its location. Nothing to do with Bury, but that it was in a built up area, as we usually aim for something in the countryside, or near the coast to enjoy walking and cycling. I’m happy to say we had nothing to worry about. You would never know that Bury town centre was on your doorstep as the site has a countryside feel to it.

The site standards are as you expect with the Caravan Club and looks to be a favourite of families and dog owners. Do not be put off by the drive up to the site which goes through a residential area. It may be one of the nicest parts of Bury, but we arrived while it was dark and were initially concerned of overnight security due to the proximity of the residential area! Also, once you leave the main road and start the drive to the country park, all site signs seem to disappear and you don’t know if you’re going in the right direction – head for the tall chimney keeping left on the cobbled road.

The site location is excellent. Set in the middle of Burrs Country Park, the site has ample walking. There is an adjoining public field/ park (very popular with dog walkers) and various adjoining river walks, all with paths suitable for pushchairs and wheel chairs. Note that there is no cycling permitted along the river paths.

Burrs Country Park also has some fishing lakes (you need to contact a local angling club for a permit), canoeing facilities, an adventure rope and climbing frame facility (for adults and older children), and a play area in the field/ park. Note that this play area is more of an exercise course for older children rather than toddlers (no swings or slides etc.).

There are two pubs within walking distance. We tried the Brown Cow as it’s at the entrance of the site and permits dogs. It’s a nice pub with friendly staff and another children’s play area, but the food wasn’t the best meal we’ve had (starter OK, but main course over cooked leaving chips rock hard). Price was reasonable though. We would give the food another try as I think they were having a bad day. We never tried the pub further down the road (note that you can get 10% off if you tell them you’re staying at the site).

As other reviews have mentioned, the East Lancashire Steam Railway runs right next to the site. Our children loved this, waving every time a train passed. We never made it on to the train this visit, so can not comment on ease of access from the site, or anything else.

Overall, we loved the weekend enjoying lots a walking and feeding the ducks! We’ll definitely be back and would recommend the site to anyone. 


Date of Visit: December 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rustyfrog 9 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from Burrs having stayed over the New Year.

It proved to be the coldest (-7deg) trip we have ever experienced. We wrapped our water hog in bubble wrap, took the pump/hose inside the van at night and still had no running water as the crystal filter froze!

We, however, were not alone. Most of the other vans were the same. Everyone was swapping stories, helped each other and were so friendly.

The toilet blocks were really warm and wonderfully modern and clean. Plenty of hot water and free showers. A launderette and dish washing room were also in the same block.

The hardstanding pitches are spacious and plenty of room for a caravan an awning plus your car.

The EHU bollards all had a light on the top and had a socket for the TV booster, so don't forget your cable.

The waste points were well lit, with plenty of bins and the areas were always clean.

The wardens were all friendly, helpful and hard working.

They were obviously proud of their site.

The steam trains ran within 50 yards or so of our van. If the kids waved, the driver sounded his whistle and waved back.

Absolutely brilliant!

There is a pub (The Brown Cow) just outside the gates and some super walks along the river within the country park.

Newspapers and some basic essentials are available on site , but there is a large 24 hour Tesco about a mile away.

All in all a great site. 


Previous     92 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Burrs Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Burrs Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Burrs Country Park Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bury      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Lancashire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 13/01 to 16/01
Largest selection of caravans, motorhomes and holiday homes in the North of England ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3212 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement